MBA Admissions Counseling Packages Reviews
    Number of reviews [47]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
With this package your Admissions Counselor will guide you through every step of the admissions process from school selection and choosing/coaching recommenders to outlining/editing essays and preparing for interviews. Pay by the number of schools to which you are applying.
Stratus Prep Review
July 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By chocks5 joined: January 4, 2015 | 3 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Asha Banker
As a JD/MBA candidate, I worked with Stratus for both law and business school admissions. On the business side, I applied to six schools in R1 and enlisted Stratus' services for help with three of them (H/S/W); law prep is a flat fee for any number of law schools. While I got dinged (without interview) from H/S/W, I attribute that to the inherent difficulties of getting into these top schools. I applied what I learned from this process to my remaining applications (Kellogg, Fuqua, and UT McCombs) and was accepted to all three, with scholarship offers from Kellogg (matriculating) and McCombs. I worked with Asha for MBA prep and Michelle for law prep and--while I wasn't admitted to any of the b-schools for which Stratus helped me prepare applications--I attribute my admissions successes to my interactions with with Asha and Michelle. Both were professional, responded to my emails in a timely manner, and strictly adhered to timelines during the essay drafting process. I found working with both Asha and Michelle on the introspection exercises and essay drafting to be extremely helpful.

In addition to the admissions package, I did a couple hours of 1-on-1 LSAT tutoring. If you are self-motivated and can learn from reading a book, then there's nothing earth-shattering about this (or any) LSAT prep experience. I would recommend the PowerScore LSAT Bible series, which I found to be incredibly useful and much better than Kaplan.

For what it's worth, no matter who you work with--Stratus or otherwise--don't be surprised if you get a ding from the top schools. Stratus will, however, put you in as good a position as any to put your best foot forward and make you a competitive candidate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
MBA Admissions
July 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Jeff Mroz
It was a pleasure of working with Shawn O'Connor and Jeff Mroz. From start to finish both Shawn and Jeff provided me with both support and advice. Although their process is rigorous, at the end if you want to get into a good business school it is definitely worth it. Through multiple iterations my initial drafts were changed considerably in order to put together the best application possible. Jeff was also very helpful with the interview process, as well as making a final decision on what school to go. I would highly recommend Stratus Prep to anyone who wants to get into a great school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Admitted to dream school with Stratus
July 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kaoruchan20 joined: April 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Shawn OConnor
Working with Stratus Prep was the best decision that I made. I'm really pleased with the results and ecstatic to be attending my dream school.

To give a sense of my background, I worked for 5 years in tech/consulting, 720 GMAT, and 3.85 GPA from a well-ranked public university. I worked for good but not elite firms, so I decided to hire an admissions consultant to give me my best chance at getting into a top school. I chose Stratus, because I liked that they're not a huge operation (where you may not get as much individual attention and there are more hourly consultants), and I liked Stratus' approach in getting both your consultant's and Shawn's feedback.

I was first assigned to Vanessa Gil, and she helped me through the initial introspection exercises and the first draft of my essays. She gave me advice to not rush and apply for R1 and that allowed me to prepare much stronger applications for R2. At some point, she stopped communicating, and I was not surprised to find out that she had resigned.

The weeks after Vanessa's resignation were extremely stressful, because it took time to get assigned to my new consultant, Sara, and I had to wait 2 weeks to hear feedback from Shawn. I'm not sure why, but it was not Sara who picked up where Vanessa left off in reviewing my essays but Shawn with Sara mostly answering some of my questions along the way. Once I received feedback from Shawn, I had to move really quickly to get my essays in decent shape and worked nonstop throughout the holiday season.

The feedback that I did receive was what made all the difference in my essays. I felt okay about a few but one or two were pretty mediocre. Shawn's feedback helped me to really turn my essays around. And I like that he will continue to give you feedback until you are completely comfortable with the essays that you wrote. When I finally submitted my applications, I was confident that I had the very best essays that I could have possible written, and I owe it to Stratus who helped me to get there.

I ended up interviewing with Kellogg, Booth, Columbia, and Wharton with acceptances at Kellogg, Booth, and Columbia. I truly believe that I wouldn't have had as much success if I hadn't worked with Stratus. It's still a ton of work and you have to be disciplined in following the process and giving it your absolute best, but I'm glad that I chose to partner with Stratus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Consultants aren’t just for getting into your dream school
July 13 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By chrisrichling joined: July 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Vanessa Gil
A good consultant isn’t even going to come close to writing anything for you. A good consultant is going to force you to take the time and put in the effort to generate meaningful responses to every facet of presenting yourself to Business School.

Vanessa and Shawn worked tirelessly to ensure I was putting my best foot forward. For me this process started 8 months before the first application was even due. We worked each week on brainstorming and refining my story: looking at each individual application holistically.

For those who believe they should have no problem getting into their target school and thus assume a consultant would be of no value, they should consider that some scholarships are awarded based on application strength. I personally believe that Stratus Prep helped the application board see my value as a future alumni, which in turn helped in their award determination.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Stratus could be the difference between “Accepted” and “Waitlisted”
July 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Salma Qarnain
If you are serious about getting accepted into a top tier MBA program, than Stratus Prep is a smart investment for your future. I decided to apply to only 3 of the best MBA programs in the country (HBS, Wharton, and Kellogg), so I wanted to make sure that I got in.

My experience working with Stratus Prep was quite good, and the results speak for themselves. I was accepted into HBS and Wharton even though I had major gaps in my application (i.e. a 3.0 undergrad GPA). Stratus (and my consultant, Salma) helped me craft my unique story to highlight my strengths and enhance the strongest parts of my application.

Salma was very responsive throughout the entire process, and continuously pushed me to “dig deeper” into my personal values and motivations.

For me, the most valuable aspect of the Stratus Prep package was the guidance on the application essay. Since I did the 1 school package, I only had Salma’s guidance on my HBS essay, but I used a very similar version for Wharton (to which I was also accepted). For my Kellogg application, I had no help on the essays, and I was waitlisted.

I am very excited to be heading to HBS soon to start this new chapter of my life!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Terrible service, avoid at all costs.
July 07 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Shawn OConnor
I wrote up a detailed review, and it disappeared.... sigh.

Along with some of the others who left reviews, I had a terrible experience with Stratus Prep.

1) Counselors unresponsive. When a response is received after multiple chasers, the response is incomplete. Have to revert back re-asking the same question. Counselor unresponsive. Rinse and repeat.

2) The quality of essay editing is poor. Edits come with spelling and grammar mistakes. Comments were very generic and not easily applicable. If you are hoping to get individual and tailored strategy for your application, you can forget about it.

3) When requested for help for video interview, I was provided a list of generic questions I can prepare myself with, rather than a hardcore one-on-one preparation I was promised by Shawn O'Connor, the CEO. I found the same list on the internet with a quick google search.

4) When finally fed up with the terrible service, I approached Shawn with my dissatisfaction. Shawn got very defensive, then proceeded remove me from Stratus Prep's emailing list and ignore all of my subsequent emails. This was before all the results came out and the service I paid for officially concluded.

Result? Rejected from all the schools I applied to with Stratus Prep with no interview. Interesting to note that I got accepted to the only school I applied to without Stratus Prep's help. For your reference, I was a fairly strong candidate with a high GMAT score, top-tier investment banking work experience, decent undergrad, and diverse background.

The subpar core service, incompetent counselors, and exorbitant prices all make for a terrible experience. But for me, the fishy way this service is run and the unprofessional CEO leaves the sourest aftertaste. Not worth your $6000. You can do it on your own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly Recommend for Wharton Admission
July 06 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mich1216 joined: July 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Jeff Mroz
My profile is Asian American, Female, Consulting, top 20 US undergrad with ok GPA, and 740 GMAT. I knew I needed to differentiate myself for admissions purposes and I wanted to hear it from the professionals who won't sugarcoat it for me. I worked with Jeff who is a Wharton alum and Shawn who is a HBS alum for my 2 applications. I was admitted to Wharton and will be attending in the fall.

I got the service also because I had some extenuating circumstances that I wanted to explain from my transcript and I wanted someone who can guide me through it. Overall, highly recommend getting this service if you're coming from a background where there aren't a lot of people in your network who have gone to these schools. I think if you know enough alums, having them read your essays and bounce ideas off of them will suffice but not everyone has that kind of resources at their disposal at that specific time of year. If you're aiming for a top 3 school, better safe than sorry!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Stratus Prep Admissions counseling review
July 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Only my safety schools
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages  
I got into NYU Stern with the help of Stratus prep. I contacted them almost 10 months prior to the R1 deadline and chose them after a conversation with Shawn O'Connor. I picked them because: 1) They limit the number of clients per counselor to a smaller number giving more time to each client and 2) Their process seemed the most personalized and adaptable than what's available out there.
After going through my profile, Shawn assigned Dan Carroll as my counselor based on his experience working with other clients. I am grateful to Dan for helping me get an admit into NYU. Coming from a very generic demographic, I required a lot of assistance to make sure that my story was told in the right way and the adcom connected with my story. I could not have done this myself. Dan's experience and knowledge about the admissions process came in very handy in making sure that the most important aspects of my profile were highlighted appropriately. I had several conversations with Dan before every application to get feedback on my essays; Dan connected me with school specific counselors and finally with proof readers in a timely manner. Following the Stratus prep guide to MBA applications proved very helpful in that it served as a structured and organized guide to everything that needs to be done to complete a decent application. I thank them for all the help they have provided in helping me get into Stern !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great experience
June 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By harishmu joined: June 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Asha Banker
I am an older applicant in an overly represented category (Indian IT Male). Though my GMAT (740) and GPA (3.9) were good, i felt that my chance of acceptance was very low. I applied to Kellogg, Columbia, Wharton and MIT during the first round. I got accepted into Columbia and Kellogg, and interviewed at Wharton.

My consultant was Asha Banker. She was amazing and she was completely invested in my application process. She had genuine desire to see me succeed. I learned quite a bit from her during this time, as she was very accomplished HBS graduate. She was thorough in her feedback and didn't let even a single word or mistake slide by.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Personal Touch - Helped Keep Me on Track & Get In!
June 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Admissions Counseling Packages   Consultant:  Salma Qarnain
Stratus Prep did a fantastic job of pairing me up with Salma Qarnain, after my initial conversations with Shawn O'Connor, the head of Stratus.

I cannot recommend Salma highly enough! She paid very close attention to the story that we were conveying, and was able to firmly guide me in the direction needed for each application. I was the type of applicant that had a lot of big ideas for each essay, and Salma provided the solid guidance that I sought.

From other friends that used Stratus - and also got into their schools - Stratus can provide smaller packages and be more hands off if you desire. For me, however, the deep dive into my background with their robust Stratus templates provided a very personal consulting experience, and ultimately helped identify what Salma saw as the most compelling aspects of my story. The interview prep once I got into the schools was also VERY helpful.

Extremely responsive, friendly but firm, and very high quality work. The full package - from picking the schools that fit, to the interview. Salma was amazing, and I would recommend her to anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Stratus Prep GMAT Instructors
Samantha Merton [USA]
    
Shawn OConnor [USA]
    
Vanessa Gil [USA]
    
Get a Special Discount on Stratus Prep
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Learn more