Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [71]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Veritas Prep

Veritas Prep offers the most diverse and experienced MBA admissions consulting team ever assembled. Your MBA admissions consultant will assist you during the entire admissions process, helping you share your unique story with the admissions committee in the most persuasive and compelling way.  Browse through the profiles of our consultants to see who has the expertise to meet your needs.


  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Dreams Realized
April 07 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 24, 2013 | 105 | -8 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
Besides my undergraduate program, my VP consultant is the single largest purchase that I have made to date. I was terrified at the thought of spending $5,000 which amounted to a little over 90% of my savings. Veritas has been my guardian angel during this process. I would have paid double had I known the lengths that she and VeritasPrep would go.

Let me reiterate this previous point by attaching a Thank You that I had written to Veritas about half way through the process: "I wanted to reiterate my thank you from earlier. My biggest fear going into this was not connecting with my consultant more deeply than a surface level; I would be yet another client among hundreds, and I'd be treated as a business transaction (understandably so).

I don't expect people to care as much as I do about this- this is much more to me than "I got into a top school!" It's the opportunity to look my mother in the eyes and tell her that everything is going to be okay, and the ability to look at myself in a mirror and whisper, "I did it."

Your passion is evident and I feel genuinely cared for. No matter the outcome of this journey, thank you."

I left this process with a much better understanding of who I am and what I want, and that is invaluable. Veritas has grown to be much more than a consultant and has inspired me to be a better person. I can not thank her enough, and I can not thank VP enough for putting us in touch and their continued support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A+ for Veritas
April 15 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By aztec123 joined: May 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I’d like to add to the myriad positive reviews for Veritas Prep’s MBA admissions consulting services.

My background: male, white, circa 30, financial markets w/e, UK based but with quite a geographically diverse background, slim to no extra-curriculars, highly quantitative undergrad from a top 10 UK university with what would translate to a reasonably high GPA (1st Class in the UK) and a moderate GMAT – high 80th %-ile. Nothing particularly special relative to other candidates at the top schools.

I think the first thing to say is this: I got accepted to my target school with the help of Veritas Prep’s services. Simples! Could I have got in anyway? Perhaps. Did the admissions consultant make a considerable difference to my application? Definitely!

Two general points about Veritas Prep’s admissions consulting process I wish I had given more weight to before I started out. Firstly, Veritas adopts a multi consultant model. What this means is: you get access to a head consultant, a school specialist and if you wish an independent director review. This became hugely important because as I worked through the detail of the application with my consultant; edit after edit, review after review, we became so engrained in the story/essays that it was, at times, hard to see the wood from the trees so to speak. This is where having access to an objective pair of eyes is invaluable.

Secondly, and I think in hindsight this is very important, Veritas has on its roster previous admissions committee members. Choosing a consultant with actual admissions experience takes considerable guess work out of the equation. On countless occasions my consultant was able to draw on actually experiences from reading candidates completed applications and relating that to how admissions decisions were made. I can’t emphasize this enough, I really saw this as the biggest value add of the whole process.

Below is an outline of the various elements of the consulting process:

Personal MBA game plan
After an initial chat, which included various housekeeping aspects – methods of contact, reply times, target schools etc, I received my personal MBA game plan. My personal MBA game plan commented on each individual aspect of my profile and how it related to my specific school, and if that characteristic would be viewed as a positive or negative in the eyes of the specific school to which I was applying. For example, I’m a white guy with a finance background and I applied to some finance heavy schools, putting me in a very oversubscribed demographic bucket. Not a particular strong selling point. These insights gave me the framework to start to consider how best to address the essay questions.

Head Consultant
My head consultant, Christine, was absolutely brilliant. She has previous admissions committee experience which I greatly valued and her advice was always 100% on point. My original essay drafts were generic, verbose and bland. With Christine’s help we transformed my original material into three very streamlined, well articulated, to the point responses that really showcased my individual strengths and characteristics. Christine was always very quick to respond to my questions whether they be short, subject line only emails or long, rambling paragraphs. She even made time for me over Christmas to help me out with some niggling issues.

I felt Christine really went above and beyond. On many occasions I would get an email saying something akin to – Oh I’ve just been thinking again about what we spoke about 2 weeks ago I think we should actually do it like this. This really gave the impression she was committed to giving my application 100% attention.

I think it’s important to say you in no way get your essays written for you. If that’s what you’re looking for this is probably not for you. I spent a considerable amount of time thinking about material I wanted to try and use and examples that demonstrated characteristics I wanted to highlight. Christine really helped shape the material, providing perspective and context. She even got in touch the day before decision day to provide some calming words of encouragement.

School Specialist
The school specialists are chosen because they have attended the specific school to which you are applying. To that end they can provide insights only alumni can offer. For example, my school specialist, Milind, was able to suggest specific elements of the programme that matched well with my profile and thus should be emphasized in the application. Milind offered little tit bits of information that I could research further and comment on in my application.

The above is only one part of the school specialists role. The real value comes if/when you get invited to interview. And if you pick suitable programmes and listen to your consultants advice you probably will. MBA interviewing is, in my opinion, a bit of an art and practise really does make perfect. Things in my head that I thought I wanted to say I realised I couldn’t say when it came to actually speaking the words. If what you say sounds disingenuous chances are the interviewer will pick up on it and you’ll lose a bit of credibility. Having a school specialist that has not only done the interview process themselves but also, if you’re lucky, is still involved with the school, affords you a great opportunity to iron out all the little intricacies and inflections that make the difference between sounding polished and prepared and a bit of an amateur. I did a full mock interview with Milind and got very detailed feedback on my performance. By the time I actually had my interview the material was so natural it flowed brilliantly. Milind’s guidance was instrumental in this.

Independent Director Review
Yet another fantastic piece to the application puzzle. At the later stages of the application process when you’ve collected all your materials, completed the short answer questions on the application form itself and written your essays, an actual admissions director reviews your file cold. This is supposed to replicate the mechanics of the admissions committee at your target school receiving your file. The feedback is very objective, blunt if you will, but provides another angle from which to consider your application as a whole, making sure your entire application is promoting a consistent story. This was vitally important because up until this point I had been working on my application piecemeal and as a result it had become somewhat fragmented. This overall review allowed me to tie together the loose ends before submitting my application to the school.

Overall I was very impressed with the service I received and I would recommend Veritas Prep 100%!

As a final point, I actually used another prominent admissions consultancy for one of my other applications and I can honestly say Veritas Prep’s service was so far ahead on all levels. I’m not one to bad mouth on a public forum but I’d be happy to share that experience with anyone interested to hear more. If that’s you just PM me.

I feel this review has morphed into a bit of a general MBA application rant but if it helps one future MBA candidate have a easier experience I’d be happy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
THANK YOU Veritas!
June 24 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Barbara
I decided in January it was the best time to go to business school and reached out to Veritas Consulting after taking the GMAT at the end of February. The application deadlines were less than a month away, so I had less than a month to prepare to retake the GMAT and complete every aspect of the application process while working 50+ hours a week. My consultant managed my expectations and was honest and upfront with me from the get go about the serious hurdles I had to overcome, including my below average age, my below average GMAT score, and the fact that I was applying in the last round. I decided to go ahead and apply, and my consultant said that if I was committed to giving it my best, she was too; she would work just as hard as me and make herself readily available since we were working with a condensed timeline. She did just that and far exceeded my expectations. She helped with narrowing down the number of schools I was applying to, with strategy (why MBA, why now, and basic info that was necessary to nail down before we moved forward), with essay editing, with my resume, with interview prep, and with other miscellaneous items and questions that came up. Her feedback turnaround was so quick but was still thorough. We came up with a game plan together and mapped out a strategy and schedule. During the whole process she reminded me to tackle one task at a time and to just keep putting one foot in front of the other.
My consultant had worked at two top MBA Programs and her knowledge about the application process was extensive and proved to be a huge asset. She took the time to get to know me and what drove me and helped pinpoint what I should emphasize in each application.
I retook the GMAT, and my score didn’t improve. However, I was so pleased with the progress my consultant and I had made on my applications that I decided to go for it. She supported me and was my biggest cheerleader during the process while simultaneously managing my expectations and providing constructive criticism on areas for improvement. Within two weeks of submitting my applications, I had been invited to interview with two of the three schools I applied to.
The interview turned out to be the most difficult part of the process for me. My consultant practiced with me on the phone, skyped with my several times, and even offered to do another mock early in the morning before my interview. I also had access to a specialist who helped with strategy. With Veritas’ help, I was able to walk into the interview prepared and confident.
I am attending my dream school in the Fall, and I believe my consultant’s guidance, feedback, and support truly helped me gain acceptance into the program. With the help of my consultant, I was able to produce applications of higher caliber in a short amount of time. She went above and beyond what I had expected. In addition to helping with various components of my application, she helped me manage stress and recommended ways to relax and stay calm. Her constant support kept me motivated and focused. I believe she truly cared about me, about how I was doing, and about how she could help. She would text me almost daily to check in on me. She provided the emotional support I needed while managing the stressful application process that I had condensed into a couple of months.
Another awesome thing about Veritas is that they don’t nickel and dime you. My consultant didn’t keep a time log and the whole team was flexible about how to create a package that worked with my time frame and that addressed all the items I needed help with. I was hesitant about the cost of a consulting service at first, but I can assure you that it is WELL worth it. I couldn’t be more pleased with the Veritas team and especially with my consultant who was there with me every step of the way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Top consultants around
July 30 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rrsoccer99 joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I met with over 10 admissions consultants when considering engaging one and was blown away by the initial conversations I had with Veritas. The unique opportunity to work with a head consultant in conjunction with a consultant who actually attended the school I was applying to was priceless. Not only did my consultant help me with my essays (which were very rough at first, exchanging over 20 iterations before deciding together they were complete), but he also was incredibly helpful in deciding on my schools, preparing an appropriate resume, and taking extra steps to make me stand out as a unique candidate. Congrats Veritas, you have taken this service to the next level.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas: Rachel Shelton: hire, hire, hire...she is amazing
November 11 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
I was quite skeptical about hiring a consultant for the MBA application process. However, I thought I would give it a shot. Working with Rachel Shelton from Veritas was a game changer and a huge reason for my acceptance into a top 5 business school.

Simply- she is amazing. The process is stressful but Rachel was so helpful and made it fun (as much as it can be). I've never written a review for anything or anyone is my life. I am writing this review for Veritas consulting and Rachel because they made the process and experience manageable. They are a huge reason for my acceptance.

Rachel is responsive, intelligent, and always brings a positive attitude to every conversation. She understands the application process better than many and helped me distinguish myself from other applicants. Hiring a consultant is an important part of the process. Hiring Rachel Shelton is a "no-brainer." I highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep worked for me!
November 20 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Scott Bryant
Veritas was wonderful! I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience. I used Veritas for both GMAT prep and admissions consulting. I hit my goal on the GMAT and was accepted to my #1 choice for grad school. They help relieve a lot of stress. I took the GMAT years ago and bought a package then. When I finally decided to pursue applying almost four years later I had no issues. They just picked up where we left off. My consultant was very helpful and very available. If he didn't have answers to my questions he reached out to others to find out what I needed. Often times exams and applications are a foreign process because they are all so different. There is no perfect guide. Veritas does a great job of guiding you through the process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
INVALUABLE SERVICE
January 13 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By InfoCarve joined: January 13, 2014 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I cannot recommend Richard and the entire Veritas Prep consulting team highly enough.

I serve in the military and learned that I would have the opportunity to transition to the private sector this summer after previously being told this was not possible.

I started applying to a couple schools R2, but reached out to VP with an SOS less than a week out about my dream school. The VP staff was friendly and genuine. After reviewing my profile and VP matched me up with Richard. Richard made himself available not only by email, but also by phone. Richard played a critical role in helping me present my story in a unique way that aligns with what my target school looks for in candidates. He also provided expert guidance in areas I should highlight about myself as well as the school.

Coming from a military background, I found Richard engaging and more than able to help translate my experiences into everyday terminology. In fact, I found his insight even more useful than those of fellow veterans who have already gone through the process because he was able to focus on how my story translates to the AdCom.

I do not know the net results from our effort at this time, however I know without a doubt that Richard helped me put my best foot forward on an extremely demanding timeline. No matter the outcome, I give VP and Richard my highest endorsement and could not be happier with the process, it was an absolute pleasure.

I will post an update once I receive notice. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

VP Consulting was the BEST decision I made in my application process as Richard truly helped me make the strongest case possible for my my dream school. I only wish I had come to VP sooner!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep 3-School Package
January 24 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ats9585 joined: December 15, 2012 | 6 | 13 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
I had the privilege of working with Rachel Shelton of Veritas Prep consulting during my admissions process. A consultancy is only good as its consultants. If Rachel is any indication of the high caliber of head consultants at Veritas Prep, then I would have to say that Veritas is a world class admissions consultancy.

I would like to provide a little context, if I may. I come from a predominantly non-business background, I avoided quantitative classes during my undergraduate years like they were the plague, and I fell short of my 90th percentile goal on the GMAT by more than a few points. I’m an ambitious guy, and I desperately wanted in to a top 15 full time MBA program. I knew I had the charisma and a compelling background to impress an admissions committee and win the interview, even if my stats betrayed my goals. I needed to ensure that my story was presented in the best possible way. That’s where Veritas and Rachel came in.

It was June 2013 when I began working with Rachel and the Round 1 deadlines were fast approaching. From day 1 we discussed my goals, addressed my strengths and weaknesses, and created an admissions strategy. We developed a plan to put a spotlight on my strengths and render my weaknesses less significant. Before I had the chance to protest, I was enrolled in a financial accounting, statistics, and calculus course (gulp). Through the summer we steadily worked through one self-imposed deadline after another. We trimmed the fat on my resume, and sharpened it into a formidable beast. Next, we took on the essays with a vengeance. Like I stated earlier, I knew I had a compelling story, but even in written form, it was raw. Rachel helped guide me through draft revision iteration after iteration. My narrative was now succinct, stylistic, and poignant. Additionally, the team of schools specialists was worth its weight in gold. By my first interview, I was armed with four mock interviews and more than ready. I applied to three schools(US News Top 15(Businessweek top ten :D)) and landed interviews with all three. Ultimately, I was admitted to my dream school and have since committed.

Rachel truly is a consummate professional. I never felt like I was a client when working with her. I felt like I had devoted big sister guiding me through a difficult process. Equal parts therapist and taskmaster, we emailed one another on a daily basis and spoke on the phone weekly, working through our plan of action with a unity of purpose. Not only is Rachel a premier consultant but she has personality for days. We immediately developed a rapport and common ground based on our quirky love of dogs and our shared family links to the military. If I could do it all over again, I would work with Rachel in a heartbeat. If any of you out there think that you are almost there but just need an edge, call Veritas and request Rachel.

I’ll see you in Ann Arbor :D
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great help to sell your story the right way.
February 03 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bwayne joined: February 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
Being a re-applicant I wanted to make sure that this time things turned out differently. So I decided to go ahead with some consulting and now I am sure it’s totally worth the price. I had a tight time-frame and with the holidays in between, but the results were still amazing. Scott was very professional and helpful during the whole way, starting in getting to know my story, diving into last year’s applications and very helpful in the brainstorming sessions as well as proofreading all the copies until I got things right.

The whole system that Veritas prep has with the head consultant, school specialists and directors gets you not only one opinion, but a great array of opinions based on the different experiences. I found it very beneficial and would say it’s one of the great strengths of this consulting program. At the end of the day when I sent my applications I can say they were much better than what I could have done on my own, greatly improving the chances of acceptance and exceeding my expectations.

I strongly recommend the Veritas Prep school package and Scott as head consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Experience
February 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By piggles joined: December 5, 2010 | 210 | 32 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I used the Veritas Prep full package for three schools based on a recommendation from a friend and had an excellent experience. PM if you want more details about my consultant--she was great. Their interview prep service was also really nice. My consultant wasn't a lead for any of the schools I applied to (my fault, not their's) but I was mock interviewed by an alums from those schools, which was a great service because they really knew their schools head to toe. I was rejected by HBS, but so are a lot of folks, and have been accepted by Notre Dame and Texas. I'm still waiting on Michigan, but that was easily my best application and interview.

I think it's important to have realistic expectations for admissions consultants. I began my process before schools published their essays by working on my resume and getting that down. Then I tackled essays as they came out and had finished products by the beginning of September. I went in expecting someone to help me refine my message, prevent any significant mistakes in my message, and act as a high-priced proofreader. A consultant can't change your GMAT score, undergrad GPA, or work experience, so purchasing services isn't going to instantly make you an attractive candidate at HBS. However, if you put the work in early on in the process, a good consultant can really help you tailor yourself to each school and make you (in my opinion) more attractive.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more