Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [70]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Veritas Prep

Veritas Prep offers the most diverse and experienced MBA admissions consulting team ever assembled. Your MBA admissions consultant will assist you during the entire admissions process, helping you share your unique story with the admissions committee in the most persuasive and compelling way.  Browse through the profiles of our consultants to see who has the expertise to meet your needs.


  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
The consultant of all Consultants
July 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jobyale16 joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
When starting my application process I had no idea how strenuous the process was going to be. Luckily Veritas Prep put me with Rachel Shelton. Rachel was one of the most professional and positive people I have worked with in my life. She was also demanding and did not allow me to slip up. After all, you may only get one shot at your dream school. She pushed me past my limits, and that was a key factor in my acceptance at Yale. She exceeded all my expectations, and her weekly “check in” calls keep me on schedule, especially when the application process got stressful (Gmat, essays, multiple interviews, and etc). Also, I always felt Rachel had my best interest at heart. She cared not only about me getting into school, but also about my life and well-being. Actually, at certain times, she was more like a therapist helping me deal with the stresses of the application process and life. The application process is long (for me 5mnths) and anyone applying to school definitely needs a consultant who is willing to invest their time with them. Rachel did just that, and I can’t thank her enough. After working with her I was a better applicant and a better person. Anyone looking to get an admissions consultant should seriously consider Rachel, and then they should hire her. I may be biased but Yale MBA class of 2016 here I come.

P.S. Thank you Rachel!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THANK YOU Veritas!
June 24 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Barbara
I decided in January it was the best time to go to business school and reached out to Veritas Consulting after taking the GMAT at the end of February. The application deadlines were less than a month away, so I had less than a month to prepare to retake the GMAT and complete every aspect of the application process while working 50+ hours a week. My consultant managed my expectations and was honest and upfront with me from the get go about the serious hurdles I had to overcome, including my below average age, my below average GMAT score, and the fact that I was applying in the last round. I decided to go ahead and apply, and my consultant said that if I was committed to giving it my best, she was too; she would work just as hard as me and make herself readily available since we were working with a condensed timeline. She did just that and far exceeded my expectations. She helped with narrowing down the number of schools I was applying to, with strategy (why MBA, why now, and basic info that was necessary to nail down before we moved forward), with essay editing, with my resume, with interview prep, and with other miscellaneous items and questions that came up. Her feedback turnaround was so quick but was still thorough. We came up with a game plan together and mapped out a strategy and schedule. During the whole process she reminded me to tackle one task at a time and to just keep putting one foot in front of the other.
My consultant had worked at two top MBA Programs and her knowledge about the application process was extensive and proved to be a huge asset. She took the time to get to know me and what drove me and helped pinpoint what I should emphasize in each application.
I retook the GMAT, and my score didn’t improve. However, I was so pleased with the progress my consultant and I had made on my applications that I decided to go for it. She supported me and was my biggest cheerleader during the process while simultaneously managing my expectations and providing constructive criticism on areas for improvement. Within two weeks of submitting my applications, I had been invited to interview with two of the three schools I applied to.
The interview turned out to be the most difficult part of the process for me. My consultant practiced with me on the phone, skyped with my several times, and even offered to do another mock early in the morning before my interview. I also had access to a specialist who helped with strategy. With Veritas’ help, I was able to walk into the interview prepared and confident.
I am attending my dream school in the Fall, and I believe my consultant’s guidance, feedback, and support truly helped me gain acceptance into the program. With the help of my consultant, I was able to produce applications of higher caliber in a short amount of time. She went above and beyond what I had expected. In addition to helping with various components of my application, she helped me manage stress and recommended ways to relax and stay calm. Her constant support kept me motivated and focused. I believe she truly cared about me, about how I was doing, and about how she could help. She would text me almost daily to check in on me. She provided the emotional support I needed while managing the stressful application process that I had condensed into a couple of months.
Another awesome thing about Veritas is that they don’t nickel and dime you. My consultant didn’t keep a time log and the whole team was flexible about how to create a package that worked with my time frame and that addressed all the items I needed help with. I was hesitant about the cost of a consulting service at first, but I can assure you that it is WELL worth it. I couldn’t be more pleased with the Veritas team and especially with my consultant who was there with me every step of the way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Outstanding consultant
June 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Katty Ooms Sutter
I worked with Katty Ooms Sutter to prepare my applications. Though I originally considered INSEAD and HEC, we decided to go for INSEAD (R3) and LBS (R4) (not safety school; all in). I got interviews at both schools and was accepted at INSEAD.
Katty is a very knowledgeable consultant, having 10 years of experience as admission director at IMD.
She took all the time needed to get to know my story, review my essays over and over, and always with great turnarounds. She has a great sense for personal contacts and she quickly understood who I was, what my needs were and how to push me to give these essays the best of my story.
Her assumptions have always been right and it seems she knew the end of the story in advance. I always knew I was in good hands and I could rely on her. Having this support during this stressful journey is just outstanding and help me achieve my dream goal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Company
June 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
Veritas has an advisory process with constant conversations and feedback. My experience was as follows: I let them know what type of program I wanted to go to, in my case it was a Master of Science in Information Systems, based on that I was matched with an excellent advisor with a masters in the area who worked in the field that I was pursuing. With my advisor we set up a game plan chose what schools to apply to and reviewed my profile focusing on how to emphasize my strengths relevant to the type of program I was applying.

I enjoyed the optimism that my advisor had about my possibilities of getting in to a top program school. After continuous conversations and in depth review of my work experience, knowledge and application essay, I was told to choose my recommenders wisely. My advisors optimism during the application process was transmitted to me, as an end result I was admitted to my dream school. I definitely recommend Veritas to anyone who is wishing to apply to a Masters program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Outstanding Coaching
June 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
I did not grow up in the U.S. For my BA, I chose a company sponsored school and never went through the American college application process. When I decided to attend an EMBA program at a top university I realized I needed help.
At first I worked with a consultant at VERITAS that I was not satisfied with and the company switched me to Rachel Shelton without any hassle. Once I started working with Rachel, I knew I was dealing with an outstanding consultant.
Rachel’s greatest strength is her ability to coach you on your self-discovery that will lead you to the connection points with the MBA program that you are applying for. She will also help you realize if a school is a good fit or not. You are competing in the “game” and doing the work, but you have a world-class coach in your corner. I think a submitted the absolutely best application I could have possibly submitted.
I applied to Cornell and USC and was admitted into both programs. Based on my work and life circumstances, I’ve chosen to attend USC. Not only did Rachel help being admitted to both programs, but she also gave me valuable feedback to help me make the choice that is best for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas School Package - the way to go!
May 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I just finished the application process for the MBA program. I chose Veritas to assist me with this process and to evaluate my application. I had two consultants that were incredible. Neil & Nita were absolutely terrific. They got back to me within 24 hours of any question I had. They were extremely thorough and displayed great confidence when assisting me through the process. I know it can be a bit pricey but you can't put a price on your MBA. It was absolutely worth it and I am so happy that I selected to have Veritas assist me. I could not have done it without their help!

Thank you Neil & Nita and the rest of the Veritas crew.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Experience
April 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I was very nervous signing up with Veritasprep given the size of the investment, however, after talking to Travis and Marc I felt reassured that this was the right choice. My consultant (Larry) was very helpful from the onset of the engagement and was very helpful in giving feedback on how to effectively craft the essays.
When I was not able to secure a place at any of the schools I was using Veritasprep's services for, I requested Larry and Travis to help out on a different school where I had applied on my own. I was pleasantly surprised that they arranged a school specialist for mock interviews without any extra charge which helped me secure my place.
I would highly recommend Veritasprep and the team there. Even if you are not sure I would suggest talking to one of the consultants there to discuss your profile.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Sloan Masters' Program Assistance
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jellison98 joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I purchased several hours of time from Veritas to receive advice on improving my Sloan Masters' Program applications (to the programs at MIT and Stanford). Dave Gent was assigned to work with me.

My experience exceeded my expectations. Dave emphasized that these schools aren't interested in philosophical discussions in their essays -- they want concrete examples that demonstrate a clear point. With Dave's coaching, I was able to re-write my essays such that they were more compelling and succinct.

I was fortunate enough to be admitted to both MIT and Stanford. While I would have had a shot at these programs without Veritas, I am certain that having Dave as a coach helped me clarify my message and improved my chances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
A+ for Veritas
April 15 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By aztec123 joined: May 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I’d like to add to the myriad positive reviews for Veritas Prep’s MBA admissions consulting services.

My background: male, white, circa 30, financial markets w/e, UK based but with quite a geographically diverse background, slim to no extra-curriculars, highly quantitative undergrad from a top 10 UK university with what would translate to a reasonably high GPA (1st Class in the UK) and a moderate GMAT – high 80th %-ile. Nothing particularly special relative to other candidates at the top schools.

I think the first thing to say is this: I got accepted to my target school with the help of Veritas Prep’s services. Simples! Could I have got in anyway? Perhaps. Did the admissions consultant make a considerable difference to my application? Definitely!

Two general points about Veritas Prep’s admissions consulting process I wish I had given more weight to before I started out. Firstly, Veritas adopts a multi consultant model. What this means is: you get access to a head consultant, a school specialist and if you wish an independent director review. This became hugely important because as I worked through the detail of the application with my consultant; edit after edit, review after review, we became so engrained in the story/essays that it was, at times, hard to see the wood from the trees so to speak. This is where having access to an objective pair of eyes is invaluable.

Secondly, and I think in hindsight this is very important, Veritas has on its roster previous admissions committee members. Choosing a consultant with actual admissions experience takes considerable guess work out of the equation. On countless occasions my consultant was able to draw on actually experiences from reading candidates completed applications and relating that to how admissions decisions were made. I can’t emphasize this enough, I really saw this as the biggest value add of the whole process.

Below is an outline of the various elements of the consulting process:

Personal MBA game plan
After an initial chat, which included various housekeeping aspects – methods of contact, reply times, target schools etc, I received my personal MBA game plan. My personal MBA game plan commented on each individual aspect of my profile and how it related to my specific school, and if that characteristic would be viewed as a positive or negative in the eyes of the specific school to which I was applying. For example, I’m a white guy with a finance background and I applied to some finance heavy schools, putting me in a very oversubscribed demographic bucket. Not a particular strong selling point. These insights gave me the framework to start to consider how best to address the essay questions.

Head Consultant
My head consultant, Christine, was absolutely brilliant. She has previous admissions committee experience which I greatly valued and her advice was always 100% on point. My original essay drafts were generic, verbose and bland. With Christine’s help we transformed my original material into three very streamlined, well articulated, to the point responses that really showcased my individual strengths and characteristics. Christine was always very quick to respond to my questions whether they be short, subject line only emails or long, rambling paragraphs. She even made time for me over Christmas to help me out with some niggling issues.

I felt Christine really went above and beyond. On many occasions I would get an email saying something akin to – Oh I’ve just been thinking again about what we spoke about 2 weeks ago I think we should actually do it like this. This really gave the impression she was committed to giving my application 100% attention.

I think it’s important to say you in no way get your essays written for you. If that’s what you’re looking for this is probably not for you. I spent a considerable amount of time thinking about material I wanted to try and use and examples that demonstrated characteristics I wanted to highlight. Christine really helped shape the material, providing perspective and context. She even got in touch the day before decision day to provide some calming words of encouragement.

School Specialist
The school specialists are chosen because they have attended the specific school to which you are applying. To that end they can provide insights only alumni can offer. For example, my school specialist, Milind, was able to suggest specific elements of the programme that matched well with my profile and thus should be emphasized in the application. Milind offered little tit bits of information that I could research further and comment on in my application.

The above is only one part of the school specialists role. The real value comes if/when you get invited to interview. And if you pick suitable programmes and listen to your consultants advice you probably will. MBA interviewing is, in my opinion, a bit of an art and practise really does make perfect. Things in my head that I thought I wanted to say I realised I couldn’t say when it came to actually speaking the words. If what you say sounds disingenuous chances are the interviewer will pick up on it and you’ll lose a bit of credibility. Having a school specialist that has not only done the interview process themselves but also, if you’re lucky, is still involved with the school, affords you a great opportunity to iron out all the little intricacies and inflections that make the difference between sounding polished and prepared and a bit of an amateur. I did a full mock interview with Milind and got very detailed feedback on my performance. By the time I actually had my interview the material was so natural it flowed brilliantly. Milind’s guidance was instrumental in this.

Independent Director Review
Yet another fantastic piece to the application puzzle. At the later stages of the application process when you’ve collected all your materials, completed the short answer questions on the application form itself and written your essays, an actual admissions director reviews your file cold. This is supposed to replicate the mechanics of the admissions committee at your target school receiving your file. The feedback is very objective, blunt if you will, but provides another angle from which to consider your application as a whole, making sure your entire application is promoting a consistent story. This was vitally important because up until this point I had been working on my application piecemeal and as a result it had become somewhat fragmented. This overall review allowed me to tie together the loose ends before submitting my application to the school.

Overall I was very impressed with the service I received and I would recommend Veritas Prep 100%!

As a final point, I actually used another prominent admissions consultancy for one of my other applications and I can honestly say Veritas Prep’s service was so far ahead on all levels. I’m not one to bad mouth on a public forum but I’d be happy to share that experience with anyone interested to hear more. If that’s you just PM me.

I feel this review has morphed into a bit of a general MBA application rant but if it helps one future MBA candidate have a easier experience I’d be happy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
The Best Admissions Consulting in The World
April 12 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I purchased the 4-school admissions consulting package from Veritas Prep. Little did I know, that it would be one of the best decisions I would ever make. Veritas Prep was extremely professional in setting my package up. Unlike other consulting companies, Veritas Prep paired me with consultants who had actually gone to the schools I was applying to. Each consultant gave me valuable feedback that improved my essays, resume, and overall application.

I am glad to say that I was admitted to the Yale School of Management with a substantial scholarship! And I owe it all to the Veritas Prep team. Thank you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more