Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [91]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Veritas Prep

Veritas Prep offers the most diverse and experienced MBA admissions consulting team ever assembled. Your MBA admissions consultant will assist you during the entire admissions process, helping you share your unique story with the admissions committee in the most persuasive and compelling way.  Browse through the profiles of our consultants to see who has the expertise to meet your needs.


  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great experience with VP
December 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2014 | 35 | 21 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Drew Brinkoetter
Edit: I was accepted to one of my top choice schools and am currently waitlisted at my first choice, Kellogg. I know I wouldn't have seen this result without Drew's assistance.

About me:
I have less than stellar stats, low GPA but decent 700+ GMAT, and an interesting career in healthcare/pharma with a lot of growth and progression.

Experience with VP:
With my background out of the way, I want to focus on my experience with VP and Drew. Drew was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable throughout the applications process. I opted for the 3 school package, a big investment for sure, but knowing the amount of time and effort Drew put into all of my applications materials justified the price. The application process will be stressful no matter what, but Drew was able to keep me on point and motivated to finish successfully.

Experience with Drew:
What I enjoyed most about working with Drew is the feedback he gave on my resume and essays. He is very focused on making sure your voice and story are expressed clearly and succinctly. He is forthright about what doesn't work, and what points I should stress more.

As a non-traditional applicant, it was really necessary for me to craft a compelling story that converted my scientific/technical background into something desired by business schools. Drew certainly did that while keeping my voice heard throughout my application materials. Additionally, his advice was very important in my selection of schools to apply to.

I did a before and after comparison of the first and final drafts of my essays and resumes, and the versions I ended up with are on a completely different level. I had to work hard throughout this process, but Drew's guidance was essential in bringing my apps to a place where I was proud to submit.

Experience with School Specialists and Director review:
This is one area I struggled with. The timing is tight, especially with a 3 school package. I would recommend that you get an early start on your applications so you can give your school specialists and director ample time for review. The feedback I received from the school specialists and especially the director were very helpful.

Outcomes: TBD. Too early to say, but I received some interview invitations already (no dings).

You'll get what you put in, but the monumental effort and expert guidance that Drew provided will greatly benefit anyone applying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Admissions Consultant at Veritas Prep!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rockoutgmat15 joined: December 16, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Marc Feder
I hired Veritas Prep to assist me in applying to business schools. They paired me with an admissions consultant named Mark who was absolutely incredible. He pushed me hard (sometimes mentally draining!) to always make my application more compelling and unique. His overarching theme was, how can I present my application in a way that stands out from the pack and is unique to me (aka others cannot imitate)? Mark has a very solid understanding of the fundamental mindsets of these schools, and his work speaks for itself. He also made himself very available and was fair with hours. I highly recommend Veritas Prep for admissions consulting!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep - cannot recommend highly enough
December 16 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Waitlisted
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Christine Balzano
As some context to the following review, here is a little bit about me: Accountant with 7 years of work experience under my belt, currently applying to three UK Schools (a Top 3, a Top 10 and a Top 25 ranked globally)

Before I continue, I think it is worth putting it out there from the get-go – do yourself, and your applications, a massive favour and sign up to the Admissions Consulting Services of Veritas Prep. I honestly believe I would not even have received an offer of an interview from my two target schools (my third one ding’d me) had I not signed up with Veritas Prep and utilised their consulting services. That is no exaggeration. I genuinely think Veritas Prep’s services and their consultants were/are that important to my applications.

So why did I sign up to an admissions consultant?

Put bluntly, my CV, work experience and academics are decent, but they are not stellar. I knew that I would be up against applicants who had cured cancer, climbed Everest unaided and built water wells in African villages, and who had also scored a straight 800 on the GMAT. You get the idea. I knew if I could get an interview with each school, I could put in a good performance. Getting an interview was always going to be the big obstacle for me. I realised I needed something to give me that leg up, that help and expertise to put forward the best applications possible. The leg up came in the form of an admissions consultant.

Why did I choose Veritas Prep?

Before signing up with Veritas Prep, I weighed up the services offered by the other Prep/Consulting providers. To be honest, there isn’t that much difference on the face of things. You really are splitting hairs if you go on their websites alone.
My decision was made when I read the reviews on websites like this. The reviews of applicants who had previously made use of Veritas Prep’s services were largely the same – the setup is almost military in its planning and organisation, the consultants and specialists are unrivalled and the results are tangible.

Would I recommend Veritas Prep?

In a heartbeat. Honestly, the whole package is unmatched, in my opinion. Though I used only Veritas Prep, I find it hard to imagine another Prep/Consulting provider offering as comprehensive a service as Veritas Prep.

The services offered by Veritas Prep are not solely aimed at decent-but-not-stellar applicants. I believe every applicant can make use of Veritas Prep’s services to some degree – yes, even those with an 800 on the GMAT and 6 months of charity work in some remote village somewhere.

I would first suggest visiting their website and reviewing their Consulting Services section for a basic overview - http://www.veritasprep.com/. If you want, give them a call or an email to get a more in-depth discussion of their offerings, and how they can really help you.

If you want to hear it from the horse’s mouth, this is how I would summarise the consulting services from Veritas Prep.

Upon signing up, applicants are allocated a head consultant based on personality tests, so ensuring compatibility. This person takes the lead in managing your relationship with Veritas Prep. They are your go-to person for all application matters. The head consultant is more of a coach – they guide you through everything from drafting essay responses, to compiling fantastic CVs, to contacting your recommenders for reference letters.

Once your application is progressed far enough, Veritas Prep then starts to involve school specialists and directors. That is to say, once your core applications are done, you work with people who are specialists in each school to whom you are applying. These specialists really know the schools well – the culture, what aspects they want to see in your application, what makes that school standout against others, and so on. This is where generic applications begin to become very honed and school specific. Having now made your applications school-specific, your applications go to School Directors for final review. These are people who know the school as well as the specialists, but who have hands on admissions committee experience. They review your applications and give you brutally honest, but constructive, feedback about where to improve and what ideas to emphasise. If they don’t like something, it is better to find out at this stage than get rejected for real, right?

Once your Director gives you the thumbs up, you can hit that submit button and pay your application fee. Now, rather than wait it out, your head consultant will shift your focus from applications to interviews. They will encourage you to think about the interviews you’ll soon be invited for, and how you are going to answer the standard questions all MBA interviewers ask. Once your interview invitation arrives in your inbox, school specialists will come back in to the fray, and carry out mock interviews with you, either over the phone or in person if possible. Of course, the specialists will ask the standard questions plus a few curveballs. Again, it is better to fluff your lines here and get the real one perfect.

At every stage of the process, I knew I was working with an expert. Not just some clever MBA Alumnus from that school, but people who work on admissions committees in real life. They know what schools want, what they look for, what areas will ring alarm bells, and so on.

As a note, there were no limits on the number of hours I could speak to consultants, or on how many emails I could send, or on how many iterations my essays could go through. This epitomises their approach, I think – they just keep going and going until you get that offer of a place. Ok, you can’t call your head consultant at some ungodly hour, but my impression is that they will bend over backwards to help you put forward the best application you can. And this, after all, is your main aim.

Finally, if you do sign up to Veritas Prep and are allocated Christine as your Head Consultant, thank your lucky stars. This woman is an absolute Godsend. She is my Head Consultant, and I couldn't be happier with being matched with her. She has coached me all the way through my three applications – from the basics like thinking about why pursuing an MBA right now is the correct path to take and which schools I should consider, to interview preparation and coping with being Waitlisted (at a Top 3 school in the world) over the Christmas break! – and I think she has been my secret weapon. Though I’ll never know for sure, I am confident I would have been ding’d at all of my three schools without her and her coaching.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Richard and Heidy are great!
December 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Richard Vincent
I got into to Stanford GSB and I have to say Heidy and Richard played a big role in helping me survive the process. Richard is very considerate, smart, and inspiring as he offers very helpful suggestions to shape my essay better. Heidy is knowledgeable and she offers very sharp and strategic comments to help me thrive in the interview. Both are GSB graduates themselves so they know what they are talking about and can help me make my application for Stanford much more in-depth and in point.I am grateful for their help and I recommend Veritas and Heidy and Richard enthusiastically!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Terrific GMAT and MBA Guidance
December 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
To preface this review, let me clarify that I plan to apply to business school in the Fall of 2015 (to enter in 2016). I completed the Veritas GMAT Prep Course along with two hours of MBA consulting this summer and took the GMAT shortly afterwards.

First the course - Veritas provides a terrific combination of in class guidance, online multimedia (video lectures) and practice tests. Between the three, I had no problem developing a strategy for each problem type that I encountered on the actual test. The structure of the course was intuitive, the pacing was appropriate and the instructor (most importantly) was exceptional. I would have liked to have seen more content targeting the IR section, particularly given how difficult it can be to manage time for this part of the test. Aside from that one shortcoming, I highly recommend the course and accompanying tool kit for anyone who plans to take the GMAT. My score improved by ~50 and was comfortably above the average for top 10 schools.

As for the consulting aspect - I came into the conversation with only a very general sense of the business school application process. My adviser, Matt, was enormously helpful in providing a deeper understanding of the process and how to think about the key criteria that top business schools consider when evaluating potential applicants. More critically, Matt provided a candid assessment of my profile relative to the overall applicant pool and helped me craft a story that would be compelling to MBA admissions officers. He has been extremely supportive after our initial conversation and has continued to help me think through the application timeline post-GMAT. If you plan to sign up for a Veritas course, I strongly recommend coupling that with one of their consulting packages.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome Super Fantastic Incredible Consulting (should be the name)
December 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Montu Gupta
Montu's a stud. Ended up applying (and getting accepted) to a different school, but our sessions help shift my mindset into what admissions officers are looking for. The strength of my application increased tenfold on his recommendations. A wise investment.

As an example, my resume needed to focus on achievements rather than the scope of my work. What might have been pertinent to a potential employer wouldn't paint the picture of what makes me effective in the workplace and as a leader. Montu helped me see the difference and steered me in the right direction.

Here are five more words.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Essay Consulting
December 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Basic Evaluation   Consultant:  Max Wein
Applying to schools can be extremely stressful, especially if you are NOT a good essay writer! My essay consultant Max Wein got right down to business with figuring out my "game plan" for applying. Max used his first hand knowledge of my reach school to really help me. I received consulting for two essays for my reach school and could not have been any happier with the outcome. The feedback was thorough and productive. This proved equally handy since I had to tackle Duke's "Top 25 Things" essay, which caused Max to really get to know who I am, my strengths and weaknesses. Having graduated college seven years ago, Max helped me with all of the ankle-biting gramatical problems that develop over time. Could not have been happier with the basic essay consulting package!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
They really know their stuff!!
November 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I would highly recommend working with Vertias for MBA admissions consulting. Being the only one in my family/friend group to apply to an MBA, it was immensely helpful to have a support system and someone to walk me through the process. The team was also incredibly responsive and easy to work with. I really felt like they were really rooting for me.

The most valuable part of the program was the help with the essay questions. I was really happy that not only did they help me with my writing, but took the time to get to know me and craft my story for each school. The school specialists were also fantastic in helping make my applications customized to each school. I truly believe that my essays wouldn’t have been nearly as impactful with out Veritas. I have a non-traditional background and they really helped me to craft my application in a way that was both a strong representation of who I am as well as appealing to an admissions committee.

In the end I was accepted into Duke (my dream school) early action, and received al scholarship.

I couldn't be happier with both the process and it's outcome.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tepper/Fuqua
November 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Max Wein
I believe Max Wein was an outstanding MBA consultant. It is hard to judge an mba consultant’s work because it is a unique experience with no frame of reference, but I feel like Max did an outstanding job. He was honest and provided feedback that made sense and was extremely quick to send things back. He was always ready to chat on the phone if I needed him and answered all emails within a timely manner. I believe he truly cared about the job he was doing and put a lot of time into his work. I think we worked very well together and hopefully our hard work pays off.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting
November 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AJM123 joined: February 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
I purchased 5 hours of time with Veritas to help refine my story and get strategic advice regarding my applications. I worked with Rachel Shelton, and could not have been more pleased. Her help with refining my career goals and essays, as well as interview prep was invaluable. She was also a great source of support throughout what was an extremely stressful process. Ultimately, I was admitted to Ross, Johnson, Anderson, Kenan-Flagler, and Foster, along with a waitlist spot at Tuck. Even during my decision process, Rachel and Travis (CEO of Veritas) were always available to give me advice. Ultimately, I chose Anderson, and am very happy there. I would highly recommend Veritas to anyone embarking on the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more