Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [62]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Veritas Prep

Veritas offers a network of admissions consultants from the world's top Business Schools and pretty much all industries and backgrounds to help you connect best and help bring out your strengths in the application. Get 14 free business school guides ($420 value) through GMAT Club*

*Discount available when you purchase a Veritas Prep GMAT Course, Admissions Consulting Package or Private Tutoring


  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
A+ for Veritas
April 15 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I’d like to add to the myriad positive reviews for Veritas Prep’s MBA admissions consulting services.

My background: male, white, circa 30, financial markets w/e, UK based but with quite a geographically diverse background, slim to no extra-curriculars, highly quantitative undergrad from a top 10 UK university with what would translate to a reasonably high GPA (1st Class in the UK) and a moderate GMAT – high 80th %-ile. Nothing particularly special relative to other candidates at the top schools.

I think the first thing to say is this: I got accepted to my target school with the help of Veritas Prep’s services. Simples! Could I have got in anyway? Perhaps. Did the admissions consultant make a considerable difference to my application? Definitely!

Two general points about Veritas Prep’s admissions consulting process I wish I had given more weight to before I started out. Firstly, Veritas adopts a multi consultant model. What this means is: you get access to a head consultant, a school specialist and if you wish an independent director review. This became hugely important because as I worked through the detail of the application with my consultant; edit after edit, review after review, we became so engrained in the story/essays that it was, at times, hard to see the wood from the trees so to speak. This is where having access to an objective pair of eyes is invaluable.

Secondly, and I think in hindsight this is very important, Veritas has on its roster previous admissions committee members. Choosing a consultant with actual admissions experience takes considerable guess work out of the equation. On countless occasions my consultant was able to draw on actually experiences from reading candidates completed applications and relating that to how admissions decisions were made. I can’t emphasize this enough, I really saw this as the biggest value add of the whole process.

Below is an outline of the various elements of the consulting process:

Personal MBA game plan
After an initial chat, which included various housekeeping aspects – methods of contact, reply times, target schools etc, I received my personal MBA game plan. My personal MBA game plan commented on each individual aspect of my profile and how it related to my specific school, and if that characteristic would be viewed as a positive or negative in the eyes of the specific school to which I was applying. For example, I’m a white guy with a finance background and I applied to some finance heavy schools, putting me in a very oversubscribed demographic bucket. Not a particular strong selling point. These insights gave me the framework to start to consider how best to address the essay questions.

Head Consultant
My head consultant, Christine, was absolutely brilliant. She has previous admissions committee experience which I greatly valued and her advice was always 100% on point. My original essay drafts were generic, verbose and bland. With Christine’s help we transformed my original material into three very streamlined, well articulated, to the point responses that really showcased my individual strengths and characteristics. Christine was always very quick to respond to my questions whether they be short, subject line only emails or long, rambling paragraphs. She even made time for me over Christmas to help me out with some niggling issues.

I felt Christine really went above and beyond. On many occasions I would get an email saying something akin to – Oh I’ve just been thinking again about what we spoke about 2 weeks ago I think we should actually do it like this. This really gave the impression she was committed to giving my application 100% attention.

I think it’s important to say you in no way get your essays written for you. If that’s what you’re looking for this is probably not for you. I spent a considerable amount of time thinking about material I wanted to try and use and examples that demonstrated characteristics I wanted to highlight. Christine really helped shape the material, providing perspective and context. She even got in touch the day before decision day to provide some calming words of encouragement.

School Specialist
The school specialists are chosen because they have attended the specific school to which you are applying. To that end they can provide insights only alumni can offer. For example, my school specialist, Milind, was able to suggest specific elements of the programme that matched well with my profile and thus should be emphasized in the application. Milind offered little tit bits of information that I could research further and comment on in my application.

The above is only one part of the school specialists role. The real value comes if/when you get invited to interview. And if you pick suitable programmes and listen to your consultants advice you probably will. MBA interviewing is, in my opinion, a bit of an art and practise really does make perfect. Things in my head that I thought I wanted to say I realised I couldn’t say when it came to actually speaking the words. If what you say sounds disingenuous chances are the interviewer will pick up on it and you’ll lose a bit of credibility. Having a school specialist that has not only done the interview process themselves but also, if you’re lucky, is still involved with the school, affords you a great opportunity to iron out all the little intricacies and inflections that make the difference between sounding polished and prepared and a bit of an amateur. I did a full mock interview with Milind and got very detailed feedback on my performance. By the time I actually had my interview the material was so natural it flowed brilliantly. Milind’s guidance was instrumental in this.

Independent Director Review
Yet another fantastic piece to the application puzzle. At the later stages of the application process when you’ve collected all your materials, completed the short answer questions on the application form itself and written your essays, an actual admissions director reviews your file cold. This is supposed to replicate the mechanics of the admissions committee at your target school receiving your file. The feedback is very objective, blunt if you will, but provides another angle from which to consider your application as a whole, making sure your entire application is promoting a consistent story. This was vitally important because up until this point I had been working on my application piecemeal and as a result it had become somewhat fragmented. This overall review allowed me to tie together the loose ends before submitting my application to the school.

Overall I was very impressed with the service I received and I would recommend Veritas Prep 100%!

As a final point, I actually used another prominent admissions consultancy for one of my other applications and I can honestly say Veritas Prep’s service was so far ahead on all levels. I’m not one to bad mouth on a public forum but I’d be happy to share that experience with anyone interested to hear more. If that’s you just PM me.

I feel this review has morphed into a bit of a general MBA application rant but if it helps one future MBA candidate have a easier experience I’d be happy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The Best Admissions Consulting in The World
April 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I purchased the 4-school admissions consulting package from Veritas Prep. Little did I know, that it would be one of the best decisions I would ever make. Veritas Prep was extremely professional in setting my package up. Unlike other consulting companies, Veritas Prep paired me with consultants who had actually gone to the schools I was applying to. Each consultant gave me valuable feedback that improved my essays, resume, and overall application.

I am glad to say that I was admitted to the Yale School of Management with a substantial scholarship! And I owe it all to the Veritas Prep team. Thank you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas - Rachel Shelton - Five-star consultant!
April 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
Not all consultants are alike and Rachel Shelton is terrific. I am convinced that her advice and feedback played a vital role in my acceptance to business school (Wharton). Throughout the process, she seemed genuinely invested in my success, unfailingly patient with my questions and essay iterations, and consistently reassuring and encouraging in the face of my anxiety.

We were in a bit of a time crunch with one of my applications, and she was always ready with timely, thoughtful feedback and constructive criticism that was delivered in a way that I always felt empowered and optimistic after our talks. Her feedback was spot on - she knows what she's talking about. She helped me with interview prep, and everything she said would happen did happen. She also helped me to recognize strengths I didn't even realize I had, and she helped me to emphasize them in my application.

With the other application, we had more time, and she would periodically check in with encouragement while I was working on those essays. Working with her felt like working with a really smart, invested friend who was extremely generous with her time.

Having worked with other consultants, I can report that they are not all this way! But Rachel is excellent and I recommend her unreservedly.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep got me in to the Kellogg Executive MBA Program
April 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By krm8164 joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I retained the services of Dave Gent at Veritas Prep to help me with my application to the only school that I wanted to attend - Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University. I applied to the Executive MBA program, and I feel that without the help of Dave, that my application would not have had the impact that was needed for my acceptance. The areas that Dave really helped me shine were with the refinement of my resume, and the essay portion of the application. I always considered myself to be a good writer, but Dave pushed me to dig deeper and to become more substantive in my writing. I must admit, I sometimes felt frustrated about the several iterations of each essay that he pushed me to rework, but I can't argue with the results! I was accepted to Kellogg the day before Thanksgiving, which provided me with a feeling of thanks and gratitude to Dave Gent and Veritas Prep. I highly recommend Veritas Prep consulting services to anyone applying to B-school. You may think that you can do it on your own, but you will be amazed at how much stronger your essays and resume will be as a result of working with Veritas. Furthermore, Dave provided great coaching to prepare me for my personal interview. You will never second guess the money you spend on this service when you get your acceptance letter in the mail!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep 3-School Package
April 07 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jklarue joined: January 29, 2014 | 3 | 4 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
When reviewing my options for admissions consultants, the question that kept coming up in my mind was whether or not the cost of admissions consulting would be worth it...was the juice going to be worth the squeeze?

After working with Richard and the Veritas team, I can tell you that the juice is in fact worth the squeeze. Richard and the team of school consultants go above and beyond in all levels of service to ensure that your applications portray a complete picture of who you area. From suggesting tweaks to my resume/essays, as well as their assistance in thinking about the overall theme of each application, the Veritas experience was unbeatable.

Knowing that I was balancing multiple applications, the Veritas team was in constant contact with me to keep me on schedule. This helped me manage the stress that's sometimes associated with applying to business school, as I knew that there wouldn't be a situation where I was cramming to finish my applications before submission.

Further, the team was very professional and thorough, particularly with the mock interviews, something that was much appreciated in settling my nerves before each of the big days.

I highly recommend Veritas to anyone considering admissions consultants.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Dreams Realized
April 07 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 24, 2013 | 105 | -8 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
Besides my undergraduate program, my VP consultant is the single largest purchase that I have made to date. I was terrified at the thought of spending $5,000 which amounted to a little over 90% of my savings. Veritas has been my guardian angel during this process. I would have paid double had I known the lengths that she and VeritasPrep would go.

Let me reiterate this previous point by attaching a Thank You that I had written to Veritas about half way through the process: "I wanted to reiterate my thank you from earlier. My biggest fear going into this was not connecting with my consultant more deeply than a surface level; I would be yet another client among hundreds, and I'd be treated as a business transaction (understandably so).

I don't expect people to care as much as I do about this- this is much more to me than "I got into a top school!" It's the opportunity to look my mother in the eyes and tell her that everything is going to be okay, and the ability to look at myself in a mirror and whisper, "I did it."

Your passion is evident and I feel genuinely cared for. No matter the outcome of this journey, thank you."

I left this process with a much better understanding of who I am and what I want, and that is invaluable. Veritas has grown to be much more than a consultant and has inspired me to be a better person. I can not thank her enough, and I can not thank VP enough for putting us in touch and their continued support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Couldn't have done it without Veritas Prep
April 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I can't say enough for the consultants at Veritas Prep. There was only one school that I wanted to get into and I got in. Richard was incredibly patient and helpful as I wrote and rewrote each of my essays multiple times. He was very responsive and provided quick turnarounds as I was nearing the application deadline. I also have to thank him and Heidy for suggesting the right program to apply to and not just the right school. Both of them helped me focus on having a coherent theme across my essays and my application, which I believe was key to getting in. Thank you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Team Effort
April 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I chose Veritas because I needed extra help with admissions strategy and my essays. What is great about the company is that they pair you up with a primary counselor that works well with you, whether be the same professional industry, graduated from your desired MBA program, ect. My primary counselor was Nita. I definitely recommend her, though I'm not sure if you can request a certain counselor. She went above and beyond throughout the entire process. She really knows when and what you need to focus on at each stage. She also makes time in her busy schedule for skype meetings and returning emails. Frequently, she would be on a business trip half across the world but would still email me back or suggest a skype meeting.
All in all, the entire process working with Veritas was definitely a team effort. They will try their best but you must try your best as well. Do not expect them to do everything for you. If you are independent and on top of things, then working with Veritas will be a blast. They will get their parts done but they will also expect you to do the same (finishing your drafts on time, working hard on the GMAT, ect.). You are an adult. They will treat you as an adult. Definitely be honest with your primary counselor. If you feel stressed out or unsure of some things, let him/her know right away. Do not hide any elements of your life from your counselor. They are there to help you, but if you are not honest, it will be very transparent when your specialists ask you questions that AdCom people will most likely ask as well. Also, from the very beginning, ask your primary counselor where you stand, before you begin the essays, in terms of schools. That way, you will get a realistic idea of which schools you can or cannot get in. Work with your primary counselor in choosing some schools above and some below. These people are not wish granters. You may want them to help you with both your dream schools and your safety schools or just your dream schools, but knowing where you stand definitely helps with getting into a MBA program. You do not want to end up not getting into any, unless you don't mind trying again next year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Why Veritas Prep is the right choice for you
March 31 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I contacted Veritas quite late in my process and was convinced I could still aim for Round 1 for some Schools. The first thing that impressed me was their quick reaction but at the same time their upfront assessment and advice on where I currently stand vis-a-vis my objectives - Together we decided we would rather have a thorough plan for R2. On several occasions Veritas provided a very quick turn around with tight deadlines and constructive and detailed feedback.

What I think sets them apart:
- PERSONALIZED GUIDANCE: My head consultant provided guidance that allowed ME to determine the best schools, programs and goals for ME, and evolve into the MBA candidate I am today, and tell MY story the only way it should be told - as a reflection of who I am. For this reason I was convinced of the school choices and I see a fit with the schools I chose. As a result I enjoyed the process and learned more about myself than I expected to.

- SPECIALIST FEEDBACK: Specialists I dealt with for specific schools were, well, true specialists. Some had served on previous AdComs for the schools in question and were willing to go into the details of what my application has to offer that could be interesting from their point of view an knowledge of that school, and how to emphasize it. Specialists also helped me rehearse by providing mock interviews and challenging me to bring out my best during the real interview

- DIRECTOR FEEDBACK: I had the opportunity to get feedback from Veritas Directors on some questions that reinforced my confidence in my approach and allowed me to cover all grounds up until the interview prep.

Veritas met my expectations and are always improving their services in terms of giving customers visibility to track their progress and map their MBA application journey.

I would definitely recommend them
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Rough Start, Amazing Finish
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I'll start with a bit of background information - I had an above average GPA at a top 15 undergrad business school, I had a 650 GMAT, and only 2 years of work experience as a sales representative at a logistics company. I hired Veritas for their 3 school program.

Before I begin explaining how amazing my experience was with Christine Balzano, I need to send a warning to any of those planning on using Veritas to avoid being paired with Nick Kamboj. His introductory emails were arrogant and embarrassing, our first phone call he acted as a therapist and asked my about my relationship with my parents, ex-girlfriends, and personal questions that were embarrassing and completely irrelevant to getting to understand who I was as a person and applicant. He also dismissed my goal schools (all in the top 25) stating they were not worth the Veritas service's and told me to apply to a part-time program at Kellogg and Booth because "he knew the entire admissions committee." I made it very clear I wanted a full time program, so he allowed me to choose one of my full-time programs as a back up. After I submitted my resume, he assured me I'd have a response within 48 hours... three days later I had to email him on the status. I was advise by my father to stick it out because maybe he was just an intellectual that did not know how to communicate well with people. However, after he did not respond within 4 days of my first essay submission and blamed it on food poisoning. It was at the time I asked for a new consultant.

Veritas was extremely understanding and helpful with my transition with a new consultant. Within 2 days I was paired with Christine and I consider myself SO lucky. I know that without the Veritas GMAT Prep courses and consulting from Christine, I would never have been able to get admitted to my stretch schools, Vanderbilt and Georgetown. Christine was everything I was looking for in a consultant and more. Even with the time difference in London, she gave immediate and insightful feedback, was almost always available for a phone conversation, perfected my resume, and helped me form thoughtful essay responses. Christine was much more than a consultant during my process, she was my entire support system. With very few friends and no family receiving an MBA, I was completely counting on her to guide me through the process. I sincerely could not have done it without her. She took a personal interest in my life and where I came from, it was refreshing to think someone cared as much about my success as I did. I will forever be grateful for my experience with her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more