Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [512]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great teachers, including top MBA schools graduates
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By epigram joined: November 4, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I will highly recommend Veritasprep GMAT course that I have just completed. Our teacher was Columbia MBA graduate Rob Stringham. He is very knowledgeable, professional and helpful. He would stay with us for 2-3 hours after the end of the class to answer our questions and do the problems together that we asked him about. Not at all like those teachers that behave like they know it all and you’ll never get even close to their level of understanding the topic.


He has a very personal approach to every student. If you are suffering from anxiety passing the exam he will recommend the ways to work with this issue, good literature to read on this topic and some tricks that will help you to reduce the level of anxiety about the test.


Pros:
-Online tools that include the recording of every GMAT topic and the correlating problem solving
- Great teachers, including top MBA schools graduates
- Teachers do not watch the clock. They are very helpful and friendly
-Very friendly and helpful people at the clients’ department. Mark offered me a discount for the course when he saw that I took private tutor lessons with Veritas Prep some time ago. He also proposed a bonus time with tutor if somebody of my friends will enroll with Veritas. Very client oriented company!
- Great location, Grand Hayatt in Manhattan


Cons:
-Expensive, but you can repeat the course free of charge in case if you need it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great class, highly recommend it
September 23 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I was very pleased with my experience with Vertias. Each class focuses on a specific part of the GMAT, preparing you for almost any kind of problem. The skillbuilders are great for helping you brush up on the math and verbal skills you haven't used in a while. Brandon is very good at explaining how to approach each problem, making even the most complex ones easily understandable. He was also very responsive via email during the week for homework questions. Vertias also provides detailed solutions for all of their homework problems, on demand video of each class, and loads of other resources in their online center. I haven't taken the test yet but will follow up.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas full course review
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
The course was excellent and our instructor, Brandon Pierpont was engaging, helpful and made a stressful subject matter entertaining.He took the time to help all the students before and after class and really cared that we understood the material. I have used the Manhattan books on my own and they don't compare to the Veritas ones. They are arranged in a way to teach you the pitfalls and mistakes that most students make and the challenging questions were excellent.

It was great to have a step by step guide showing you how to approach the test. I feel more confident then ever in my abilities. The money was absolutely worth it and I would recommend the course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course- Brandon is a great teacher
March 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I did not know what to expect from the GMAT before starting the course, but now that I have taken it, it is obvious that the people at Veritas really know what they are doing. The course was very comprehensive in the different sections and types of questions that it covered. Also, the location for the classes seemed questionable at first, but it ended up being super convenient. Overall, I don't have anything negative to say about the course, and I hope all the best for Brandon because he was a pleasure to work with. Best of luck to everyone choosing a course and taking the test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Outstanding Course and Resource
June 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By luggy joined: June 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Joseph Dise
This course was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. They provide you with so many great resources to use: from HW problems, one on one assistance, accurate GMAT tests, to help with the MBA admissions process.

You can tell they genuinely care about their students from their follow-up and dedication to making sure you understand everything. My instructor Joe was great, and has even offered to critique and review our practice tests after the class has completed.

There are really no negatives I have to say about this class. Prior to taking it, my scores were horrible and I had no direction. Now, I have purpose when taking the test, and am armed with the tools/tricks to get through even the stickiest problems.

My score jumped approximately 200 points from the start to finish of this 6 week course. Well worth the investment and a great tool.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Review
March 07 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I thought Veritas did a very good job at preparing you for the exam. The books were very helpful. You need to be willing to put the time in as most of the learning happens on your own through the materials rather than in the classroom setting. That is where you should be fine tuning concepts and not learning them for the first time.

I do wish there was more emphasis placed on the problems as I felt there was a lot of theory and test taking strategies being taught. Though those are helpful, when you only have 8 classes, I would prefer an onslaught of problem reviews.

All that being said, I would most certainly recommend Veritas.. especially over something like a Kaplan - I did not have a very good experience with one of their products.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course and good Content
April 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Jen Begasse
New Brunswick, NJ (Not Listed)

Overall I liked the course. The professor was highly knowledgeable. I did not do as well as I thought, the atmosphere got me nervous, but that is my own fault. The content that is provided is definitely great and covers all aspects. I recommend doing all of the homework and take all of the practice tests provided. There are about 12-15 practice tests which is good practice. Retake policy is great as well. No questions asked they will sign you up for the next one you want to take. The work provided did tend to keep you focused more then I think I would have done on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Time-Consuming but Worthwhile
May 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
New applicants may be overwhelmed by the amount of text books they receive after joining the Veritas Prep program, but you will find that the amount of supplemental work that is included for personal studies outside of the classroom is almost as vital as the classes themselves.

I can't speak to all teachers for Veritas, but my trainer was extremely well versed in the GMAT terminologies and had an uncanny ability to reimagine textbook questions with new figures off the top of his head.

Working 9-5 made keeping up with the class and homework a bit of a challenge, but if you stick with the program and track your progress through their site, you'll inevitably improve your score or reach the high score that you desire.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more