Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [329]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 and get 14 free business school guides ($420 value) + get a $250 bonus with GMAT Club!”

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Ravi will give you all the tools you need to beat the GMAT
May 14 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DoItRight joined: February 18, 2013 | 30 | 12 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took a GMAT course with Veritas Prep because they have the most classroom hours and practice tests. I wanted to get the most bang for my buck, but the real value of the course was my instructor.

Meet Ravi, half man, half GMAT destroying machine. This guy is amazing. He teaches the class at a 99% or bust mentality and keeps the class engaged. He knows his material. He breaks down the question, solves it using different strategies and shows you the best approach.

He wants everyone to do well and it really shows. He is quick to respond to emails and he tells us what we should be doing everyday to improve on different sections. Now I have the tools and confidence I need to beat the GMAT. I still have to continue to study after the course, but now I know exactly what I need to focus on, and how to study. If you want to take a GMAT prep course, I highly suggest you take it with Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi and Veritas make you like and want to learn
February 22 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hobiet joined: February 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas was not only accommodating and friendly, but experienced and knowledgeable. My instructor, Ravi, seemed perhaps overqualified, having both passed (with flying colors) the LSAT as well as the GMAT. Despite Ravi's wealth of knowledge, he always did well in presenting the material simply. He made sense of all the oddities and eccentricities of the GMAT. He never made you feel dumb for not understanding a concept; nor did he show any favoritism towards smarter students. He showed a true caring for everyone in the class, getting to know them not only as a student, but as a person. By doing so, Ravi gained my attention and helped my learning experience immensely.

The homework was never too much or too little, and I loved the ability to do it online. Having the answers explained clearly helped immensely. The skill builder quizzes helped me see where I needed more work (though I would've liked explanations/answers on them as well), and the practice tests, next to the official GMAC practice tests, were the best, most accurate practice tests I have experienced; getting 10 of them was a fantastic surprise and a awesome tool for both seeing progress as well as weaknesses and for future studying.

The location was great, as was the ability to only take a class once a week on weekend, a service not offered by many test prep companies. Veritas also goes out of their way to provide additional benefits such as AWA grading, live homework help 7 days a week, and classes on demand.

Overall, I'm beyond glad I chose Veritas over their competitors. My practice score has already increased from 540 to 600 thanks to my instructor; I have the utmost confidence I will do immensely better on the actual GMAT thanks to Ravi and Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas is way to go
March 05 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I chose Veritas because my co-worker recommended this place to me. First time he got around 550 points, but after taking the course from Veritas his score went up to 700 points.

Veritas provide well organized resources, from fundamental to complicated problems. Also, online recorded instructions, online help, quiz, and 17 practice tests are very useful resources for me to prepare for GMAT. The plethora of resources amazes me.

My instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was simply awesome. He definitely knew the material, how to teach and motivate students. I really had a great experience with Veritas!

I will definitely recommend Veritas to my friends who are studying for GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi is the greatest!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas course was incredibly valuable in both the quantitative and verbal sections, but particualrly quant. Our instructor, Ravi was the best! He really knew the material and was able to answer every question we had clearly and effectively. He knew the best shortcuts to attack each problem which has really helped me save time in and put energy into more complicated 700 level questions. He is also able to quickly pick up on each student's weakness and really cared about making sure that everyone was making progress. I highly encourage students to take Ravi's class if they go with Veritas.

Overall, the services offered by Veritas are top notch. The customer service is incredibly attentive and available. The online help is invaluable and the service even graded my practice AWA papers within a couple of days with notes on how to improve each paragraph. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great class, highly recommended!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 21, 2012 | 2 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This review is for a 6-week GMAT prep class through Veritas. This is the second time I took the class (you actually get the a free retake), and was pretty impressed with the level of material. The GMAT is not really the most exciting subject, however my instructor Ravi did a phenomenal job. He did great at encouraging his students, and really explaining what was up. He didn't use any smoke and mirrors and just say 'oh, you're doing a great job.' His approach was very straight forward, and created a very relaxing yet focused environment. I am pretty sure that he was able to get 100% class participation, to one degree or another.

The material on the My Veritas portal is also pretty useful. In case you miss a class (or need a refresher), you can watch a recorded "class" which is pretty engaging. Also, I found it useful that all of the homework problems are on the website. It is useful to get used to answering everything on a computer, as opposed to a printed book, because this best helps simulate a real test environment.

While, Ravi was a great instructor, I was a little disappointed with the level of quality in the course material books. I think they were very thorough and detailed, however they were plagued with numerous typos and errors. I can certainly understand that a first print of a book can have typos, but in a book that people rely to study on this is just unacceptable. Veritas should have spent more of their resources is creating a grade A product, instead of rushing this first edition to be published.

Overall, I highly recommend this course. It is a little on the pricey side, but I think it is a worthwhile investment. I think the issues I was experiencing with typos in the course material are being resolved as I write this review, so I wouldn't use that to dissuade you from taking this course. Lastly, I would strongly recommend taking the 6-Saturday course. I highly advise against taking the Tues-Thursday evening course...if you are a working professional during the day, you will be tired by the time the class roles around, and you will not get the most out of your experience. Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Course, Awesome Instructor
November 28 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Given that I completed my undergraduate degree over ten years ago, the emphasis on classroom hours in conjunction with adaptive practice exams made Veritas Prep the best choice for me. I was also extremely fortunate to have a great instructor leading our class. Our instructor did a tremendous job of creating an atmosphere that was relaxed, yet focused. The atmosphere greatly contributed to making everyone feel comfortable enough to participate in class, thereby enhancing the overall experience.

Our instructor also encouraged us to review the course materials in between classes, and ask questions that he could then address before the group either before or after class. Both the instructors tips and course materials provided a good starting block for my GMAT preparation, and I cannot recommend both more highly.

I think the only area in which Veritas can improve is in its facilities, especially in ensuring each facility can provide the tools (such as black board, dry erase board, markers, etc.) necessary for an instructor to effectively teach a class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
This course will open your eyes to the world of the GMAT! BEST course out there...
December 05 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By alexandervien joined: December 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Prior to taking this course, I wasn't too familiar with the test and had only dabbled in self-study. After taking it - I feel like I know all the ins and outs of the test and how to score well. The Veritas Full Course is not only a great value for your money, but it gives you the necessary tools to succeed at the GMAT.

For around $1500, you get a full set of Veritas books (covering each of the topics tested on the GMAT), a 42 hour in person course, and complete access to their online site which includes 15 CATs, quizzes on each topic, and on-demand lessons for each topic. The books you get are high quality and cover each topic of the test in-depth as well as provide great practice problems for each topic that are indicative of the level of difficulty seen on the test. The online stuff is also great and the CATs are very close to the real thing in terms of question variety and scoring.

Now, about the course - it will most definitely open your eyes to the test and will give you the opportunity to master the patterns and topics tested so that you can achieve well. The best part about the course was our instructor - Ravi Sreerama. This dude was amazing! Not only is he an incredibly smart guy (just in general) but he's incredibly knowledgable about the GMAT and will give you the tools to succeed! He knows everything there is to know about the test and comes to each lecture prepared to teach you how to succeed. His teaching style was great - he gives you encouragement where needed, but also knows when to tell you to man up and be accountable when you're studying on your own (time yourself when doing practice problems!, take practice tests every week!, Review your mistakes thoroughly so you don't make the same ones!). After taking the course with Ravi - you will feel inspired, confident, and ready to succeed. He's that awesome. I'm not sure what locations he teaches at - but I'd say take the course at Pasadena if at all possible - because I know he teaches that one. He can get you that 700 score that you dream about!

What're you waiting for? Take this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The class is well worth it, great instructor as well (Ravi Sreerama)
February 07 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By MMGomez81 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I attended the Saturday class in Pasadena. Initially when I decided to take a GMAT prep class I was really nervous. Once I started the class Ravi eased my worries. He is a great instructor that really cares about his students and tries to make them understand tough content, in real world ways that make sense. He uses food like sandwiches to explain quant questions, we would have a laugh and in the end remember the content he explained.

The class is really organized and runs smoothly week-to-week. The books have good questions and equally good explanations. There are 16 online practice tests that are good as well. I began to look forward to attending and was kind of sad when it was over.

Between having a fantastic instructor, learning strategies and insight to the GMAT, and the dynamic between students, I really enjoyed this course. I also, attribute this to Ravi, he is an easy-going instructor that really wants students to do well and does what ever he can to make that happen. I'm taking the test this month and know that the help I received from this course has been invaluable in reaching my goal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas GMAT Pasadena w/ Ravi Sreerama
February 12 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By JolieCrush18 joined: February 16, 2010 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Last year, I decided to take Veritas (partly because they offered more in-class time and there was a sweet deal online that was way better than Kaplan).

At any rate, I was lucky enough to have Ravi as our instructor for the course. I'm pretty sure the man memorized all the Veritas Lesson Books by heart. But he always tries to find a better way to solve a problem - either more efficiently or provide a better explanation than what the book gave. He can speak a bit fast, but I think its really because he has this memorized. Just ask him to slow down when that happens. Ravi will tell you his honest opinion if you ask him a question...no sugar coating. He is a down-to-earth instructor but at the same time I feared him. Maybe because I would feel guilty inside if I didn't come to class prepared.

I took the Veritas held at the Marriott in Pasadena. The venue was okay. We had some a/c and blackboard issues but that was no biggie as the hotel tried their best to accommodate us. I highly recommend Veritas & Ravi as your instructor. If you happen to miss a class, you can always re-play each lesson via on demand or e-mail Ravi and he'll bring you up to speed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Super Ravi
February 18 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As international student, I was struggling with both the verbal section and quant section in the GMAT. However, when I took the Veritas Prep Private Tutoring with super Ravi, I improved my GMAT score by 100 points.

He started to build my confidence as well as my math and verbal skills. Not only he gave my all the useful strategies but also he created a customized study schedule for me. After two months, I successfully increased my verbal score by 43 percentile while my quant by 40 percentile.

Because GMAT is an important step in your application think of it as an investment and go with the Veritas Prep Private Tutoring. I would highly recommend Ravi of Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
111 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more