Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [406]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Vertias Prep worth the cost
August 20 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bladen45 joined: June 26, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
If you are looking for a class that covers every aspect of the GMAT in depth, Veritas Prep should be at the top of your list. Yes the class is expensive but the material presented is worth every penny. It is not
enough to simply know what information is covered on the GMAT. You need to know strategies for
answering each different type of question and Veritas Prep will give you those strategies.

Veritas has excellent material but the real difference maker for me was the instructor. The instructor in
my Veritas Prep class was Eric Maltzer and he was phenomenal. The classes ran late into the evening
(7pm-10pm) on Tuesdays and Thursdays but he did an excellent job presenting the material with energy
and insight. Eric was well prepared for each class and made a good effort to get to know each student. I
had one, sit-down, one-on-one discussion with him but others in my class had two or even three of
these discussions. He made himself available outside of class hours and even after the class was
complete. About 4 weeks after the classes ended I emailed Eric a question about the GMAT and he
responded the same day. He truly cares and wants to see each person he instructs perform well. Like I
said earlier, it isn't enough to simply know the material for the GMAT you need to me mentally agile and creative in how you solve GMAT problems and that's what Eric taught us.

Veritas is good at explaining a section then giving the class a couple of problems to solve. These
problems allow students to apply new knowledge and ask questions. Doing a couple of problems right
away helped the information sink in more for me.
My starting score on 25 May was 580 (38Q, 29V, determined through a Veritas GMAT exam).

Immediately after the class finished my score was 600 and I had done almost no studying beyond sitting through class. I know a 20-point jump isn't much but my verbal (weakest part of the test for me) went from a 29 to a 35 simply by sitting through class. Three days before I took the GMAT, I took my final practice test (again through a Veritas GMAT exam) and scored a 670 (40Q and 40V). I knew a score that high would get me into the program I wanted so I was completely relaxed going into the exam. I took the GMAT exam on 26 July and scored a 680 (46Q and 37V). I scored a 4.5 on the analytical writing. To Veritas’s credit they had excellent material on analytical writing and Eric gave an exceptional 90 minute class on writing. I simply chose not to focus my efforts on the writing portion and it showed. I received a 6 on the integrated reasoning section. Veritas had good material on the integrated reasoning section and Eric had taken a GMAT exam with the integrated reasoning about two weeks before the class ended so he had a lot of insight on that section. I felt my time was better spent focusing on the quantitative and verbal sections so that’s what I did. Overall my total score improved by 100 points from my first practice exam to the actual GMAT. Simply put, the results speak for themselves.

On 15 August 2012 I received my acceptance letter from the University of Michigan. That was my
ultimate goal and I truly believe Veritas Prep and specifically, Eric Maltzer were a big part of me being
accepted. I am now enrolled and starting classes on 5 September. If you need a high GMAT score to get
into a business program I highly recommend Veritas Prep. If you’re in the DC area, you should look up
Eric Maltzer.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I was very pleased with the Veritas Prep Full Course. The lessons were well organized, comprehensive, and very useful. The instructor covered all sections thoroughly and was very open to homework questions outside of class. Anthony was friendly and used easy to understand language throughout the course. The course can be challenging due to the amount of homework and class time required; but the whole experience was definitely worth it. The class location was very convenient and provided a comfortable learning environment. The online resources, particularly practice tests, were very useful. I recommend this course to all users of this website.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas GMAT Prep is the best prep course in town! You will not be disappointed!
December 04 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA |
I highly recommend Veritas Prep GMAT course. There are 12 books in total and all of them are very well structured. You can also practice on-line. During the certain hours, you will have an access to tutor who will gladly help you out with your math problems.

Out GMAT teacher made sure we understood the structure of the exam and that we are familiar with the various GMAT tricks. In overall, I recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is for a GMAT challenge! You definitely will not be disappointed.

Also, Veritas Prep offers a free make-up course, which is great! Many other prep schools do not offer this option, so take advantage of the great resources Veritas Prep offers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
March 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA |
The Veritas course is able to break down the GMAT into clear components that logically build on each other throughout the course. These building blocks helped me understand the GMAT in a way that I would not have been able if I had approached these topics on my own.

Anthony, my instructor, was both knowledgably and funny. Six hour days in class are long, but he kept everyone engaged and made the time fly. My only complaint is that we didn’t have quite enough time. The course should add another day so that important material is not rushed. That said, I’m confident that this course contributed in a big way to my success.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great course
February 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I enjoyed the course a lot and hope that it will help me to improve my score. I decided to go with Veritas because it is well known for the high quality of its teachers and I can definitely confirm that this is very true.
I already took the GMAT a year ago but without any course preparation. The Books and the class have helped me to have a much more structured study approach and I feel much better prepared than last year. It has also motivated me to study even harder.
I recommend to go through the skillbuilder before each class and to be disciplined with the homework so as to get the best out of it.
Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is excellent!
March 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Try to get Anthony, he is very knowledgable and a great instructor that makes complex problems easy to understand. I took the course in Washington DC and was in the Hilton. The context is a heavy workload on top of work, but I am in the process of taking the test in the next 3 weeks after finishing the course 3 weeks ago. I am not a good test taker and I think this course will be very beneficial when I take the test in a couple weeks. You learn a lot of the "tricks" that the test makers use. I highly recommend this course and if you're in DC get Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas - GREAT program
April 13 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By malhotrashawn joined: April 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I have just completed my Veritas program (March - April), instructed by Anthony Ritz, and found this program INCREDIBLY helpful.

I found out about Veritas through a friend who previously took the program (who scored a 740). He told me how this program was exactly what he needed to make him get the score that he did eventual receive. I of course was skeptical, and a little intimidated, however, now that the class is complete, I can say with utter confidence that I feel significantly more prepared for the test - and ultimately agree with my friend. I have my test scheduled for later this year and feel much more prepared for the test.

1.) The resources - Veritas has done a great job of providing everyone with all the tools they could ever want to prep for the test. Between a video catalog covering all pre-class work/classes/homework, to the weekly classes, you can never feel lost through the work.

2.) The instructors - As said earlier, my instructor was Anthony Ritz, who keep the class engaging and informative, while keeping everything professional and tailored to what the students needed.

3.) The discipline - While having a 9-to-5 job, it is initially intimidating to consider how you can keep up with the work. But, if you are serious about the test - the discipline is something you need to have, and the Veritas program supports you throughout the development.

I recommend this program to anyone who is serious about the GMAT and getting into a top B-school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Personal Recommendation for Eric Maltzer
January 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ZNSpencer joined: December 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Let me start off by saying that I would definitely recommend the Veritas program. The study materials, web-interface and abundance of practice tests were extremely helpful, but the larger point I want to make is how great of an instructor Eric Maltzer is.

I have not taken any other prep courses, but I have to believe that Eric is a bit of a rogue instructor; he doesn't believe in teaching the Veritas curriculum verbatim, instead he uses the curriculum as a foundation on which to build. Eric adds his own experiences and strategies to his lessons, which makes his class invaluable. He also does a great job of instilling confidence in his students so that they can succeed on the exam. Additionally, Eric was really good about responding to emails quickly...regardless of the time of day. For example, I emailed Eric two weeks before I took the exam for some last minute advice, and within two hours Eric responded via email and scheduled a time for me to call him the next night, even though he was away on a business trip. Great guy. I felt totally prepared (albeit a little anxious) going into the exam.

One of Eric's maxims is "the GMAT is a test of confidence and poise...nothing more" and I really think there's a lot of truth to that. I took approximately 10 practice tests before the exam, and when I got my lowest score (550) it shook my confidence. But I then made the conscious effort to "buy-in" to the Eric Maltzer system, and ended up surpassing my target score (700).

Now let me give Eric an "out" just in case someone takes his course and doesn't have similar results... regardless of the instructor, you (the student) have to put in the effort. As an avid college football fan, I missed pretty much this entire season, and had to turn off numerous games halfway through, so I could study. In order to succeed you're going to have to make some sacrifices, but if you're willing to buy-in to his system, Eric Maltzer won't lead you astray.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep GMAT Review (Washington DC, Anthony Ritz)
April 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By LewisJR23 joined: April 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I just finished my Veritas GMAT Course and am very very pleased with what I paid for. The Veritas Course was extremely comprehensive and did an amazing job at breaking down each skill that was required for the test and reviewing each problem type that could possibly be tested. I was in a class that met every Saturday from 10AM to 5PM in Washington DC. The Saturday meeting time was perfect and it gave me ample time to work through the required Homework during the week.

Each lesson is basically set up in 3 sections, the skillbuilder, the lesson, and the homework. To me, the Skillbuilder is a key differentiator for Veritas. The Skillbuilder is done prior to class and basically reviews all the raw skills that are required for that days lesson. I spent a lot of time on each skillbuilder, and in doing so, I was able to take advantage of the class time more effectively and really grasp the high level concepts that my instructor was teaching. The homework also was really helpful as it was specific to the days lesson and provided more than enough GMAT problems to test your ability to implement the skills you had learned that day.

The lessons were amazing. I cannot say enough good things about the format of each lesson and the way my instructor delivered the material. If you spend a good bit of time becoming familiar with the skillbuilder concepts, the lesson will really do a good job in preparing you for advanced problems and implementing all the skills you have learned.

My instructor, Anthony Ritz, was absolutely amazing. He is very knowledgeable on the test material and takes pride in making sure each class member understands each problem type. He has an endless book of tricks that he is able to articulate in a very easy to remember way. I emailed and instant messaged him many times during the week, outside of class, and he was always quick to respond with multiple ways to look at problems that were confusing me. He always went above and beyond to ensure that everyone was clear on what was going to be tested. He always offered to stay late to review any additional problems that may be confusing.

The resources that were available through Veritas are also absolutely amazing. The books they provide breakdown all of the concepts to fine detail, and you can re-watch any of the classes on their internet which you have access to for a year. I often would re-watch parts of the lesson when I got stumped on the homework and would immediately remember the concepts that were taught. The online resources also have 10 practice tests and more questions that you could imagine broken down by each problem type and sub-type. They have a homework hotline for any additional questions that a student may have and they offer 10 practice tests and each question that is missed on the practice test has a very detailed explanation that refers back to parts of the lessons. Amazing!

I give Veritas and my instructor, Anthony Ritz, my highest possible recommendation and look forward to seeing how I perform on my exam. I feel very confident in answering all question type and am very satisfied with the service I paid for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it.
October 21 | 2013

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
About the Teacher:
A good man. The teacher was amusing and definitely knew what he was talking about. A bit socially awkward, but that's what made him funny.

The course:
The pace of the course is obviously fast paced, covering 12 full books in 6 weeks. I took a practice test in week 5 and my score jumped 70 points, and I hadn't even warmed up with a little review session beforehand. After researching, I found Veritas to be more fully equipped with a plethora of information, how-to videos, practice tests, and online live sessions 7-10pm. They have formatted it where you have easier problems before class, then you get the lesson with more problems in class, and then you have harder homework problems after class.

Long story short, they teach you how to think like the testmaker so you can recognize traps, and even to recognize the answers without having to do the problem.

If you want fundamentals taught to you, don't take this course. Take the online version instead.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
109 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more