Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [477]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Worth the Cost
March 11 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
Kevin was more than I expected as an instructor. It is hard enough to engage over thirty 20+ year olds for 3 hours, but he was able to get participation from everyone throughout the course. He truly cared about your individual progress and doing everything in his power to increase your understanding.

The course material Veritas provides is well worth the cost. The books, online resources, practice tests, and admissions counseling were even more helpful than the actual classes. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT. The only thing I would improve is better directions on where the class was being taken and parking/transportation options for the Gleacher Center in Chicago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Must-take course for non-quant students
February 01 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By joined: December 31, 1969 | | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
I can't say enough good things about Veritas Prep ... and especially Kevin. He took an individualized approach to each lesson once he had gotten to know each student's strengths and weaknesses. He gave me specific study advice on breaks and before/after class that really helped me. Overall, the course is very thorough--the books are great, the OnDemand sessions that accompany each book are infinitely helpful for those of us who don't always "get it" in the course of one evening, and the fact that you can call for help with any of the problems and even retake the course if you need to makes Veritas Prep a stand-out GMAT prep course in my opinion!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Take it to the next level
August 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I signed up for Veritas because I wanted to seriously increase my GMAT score. I was only interested in attending one of the top MBA programs in the nation so I needed to perform extremely well on the GMAT. Veritas provides structure, in the form of classes held two times a week. It also creates accountability in terms of attendance, performance in class, and homework.

All attendees for Veritas were the top of the class that were interested in attending one of the top MBA programs. The course instructor knows this and focuses on preparing you not only for GMAT but for how the application of these skills in the test are essential for your business career.

Veritas provides you with multiple resources to enhance your GMAT studying and fully prepares you to sit for the test. With the full in-person course you are provided with 12 books that are complete with an introductory section, lesson, homework, and explanations to the answers. These 12 books focus on 12 different subjects that will help you prepare for the GMAT. The course grows during the 7 or so weeks that it takes place. Beginning with the basics to help you refresh some skills that you may have forgotten or don't use on a daily basis. After you are fresh with these building blocks you are then prepared to solve what makes up the major portions of the test. During this middle period is where you can control your score and you breakdown each section by question type. The instructor helps explain every and all types of questions making it easy to understand how to increase your effectiveness. After hitting the meat of the test you are presented with the 90th percentile questions of each section. Based on your strengths, this is where your performance can put you over the 700+ mark. The instructor guides you through these final sessions and helps students who are stronger in these areas. For those that are not as strong in these areas it is encouraged that you focus on the meat of your weaker subjects before trying to conquer the more difficult sections of the test.

The in class sessions are extremely valuable not only as a way to go over questions and answers but to understand how to approach every type of question that you will be presented on the GMAT. The instructor will interact with all students and get to know you individually. He will make it a point to call on you for subjects that you need the most work on. They make it clear that it is important to score well on your strong subjects and to improve your score on your weaker areas. This type of focus is the difference between self study and Veritas. Veritas helps you understand the breakdown of these questions and how to see them as your stronger subject type. A verbal question can be explained or formatted as a quantitative and vice versa. This analytical breakdown of the test helps students take control and see it from the view of the test writer. Understanding what the test writer is trying to test puts the student in a position to succeed.

To go along with the in class experience you are also provided "Class On Demand" sessions which are video overviews of each live class. Problems sets from each book are also provided online with the solutions and their explanations. Veritas also provides a large set of practice tests. These test are built into your online schedule that Veritas provides but will also be guided by your instructor. Your instructor will suggest when and how to take these practice tests as well as how each type of practice test can be measured in relation to the actual GMAT. Other resources include homework help through a online live waiting room as well as help through email.

Veritas prepares you for every aspect of the GMAT and truly prepares you to succeed in the business world. Veritas takes you to the next level and is a great resource for anyone looking to maximize their business career potential.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experince
February 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best course out there
October 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I took the 6 week full course with Kevin.

As long as you keep up with the homework and class material you will definitely see a 150-200 point score improvement. They teach you the techniques you will require to answer each question correctly and within the given time.

The math techniques that they teach you are very helpful in answering questions.

Don't look at the price for this course it will be the best investment you will make in your life. I took the MGMAT course before but that did not help as much as the Veritas Prep course.

Oh and you can retake the course within one year without paying anything extra.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful!
March 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 13, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
I have not yet taken the GMAT (I will in a few weeks but mt practice score has gone up) but I fell prepared. The course materials were very thorough and our instructor was great. He was accessible outside of class to answer additional questions. He did not make anyone in the course feel stupid for asking a question.
Having access to the Veritas website was extremely helpful, too. If I wanted to review a topic, I could watch the lessons on demand at anytime. Also, the diagnostic tests provided me with the opportunity to gauge how I was doing on a specific subject before jumping in and taking a full length course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
the bomb
May 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By derpaderp60 joined: May 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Well to begin with veritas sends you quite a few books which should be enough to keep you inundated for a while but once you get started with a private tutor they really help you sift through the most important parts but most importantly they really help you find tips and tricks that will help you with the test quite well.

The overall quality of the program with the tutor was hands down the best tutoring available. This is because the relationship you can forge with the tutor in person is very important at least for me to really connect the dots in learning the material and internalizing it and you also have the benefit of learning at your own pace which I think everyone can benefit from.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gleecher Center
August 16 | 2012

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Karite joined: November 11, 2011 | 49 | 12 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Frankie Beecroft
I signed up for the in person class located in the Gleecher Center. I started the course in May 2012. The class was supposed to help me to gain a better understanding of the GMAT. The problems in the workbooks are very similar to the actual GMAT problems and the On-Demand classes were very informative and helpful. You can always go back and watch the lessons again.

I gave Veritas Prep a very low score because the instructor for the course did a very poor job. The individual was always second guessing themselves and he or she did not seem thrilled to be teaching. At first the class started out very well but it went down hill from there. We went into the class somewhat confused and left out even more confused.

I did contact Veritas Prep regarding the situation and they offered me a retake. But why should the students have to retake the course because of a poor performance by their instructor. We expected more from a company with a reputation such as Veritas Prep. I cannot recommend this course because of my experience with them. And I did read the reviews and most of them were good.

PROS:
• Workbook problems are similar to GMAT problems
• On Demand classes are very useful.
• Retake Policy

CONS:
• The workbooks are instructor driven and you cannot self study with them because most of them consist of practice problems. Note: The workbooks have lots of space so the students can write in them.
• Veritas Tests are not representative to the actual GMAT
• No IR section
• Our instructor told us that he or she only takes practice tests to stay up to date.
• There are 14 workbooks for the class.
• Instructor’s lack of availability after class and lack of response when responding to emails.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great course!
September 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Steffi Spear
I really enjoyed the Veritas Prep course. I started the course with a basic understanding of the GMAT & left feeling completely prepared. My instructor truly had great teaching skills, and knew the material well. Specifically, her background as an educator and knowledge of how to break down the material in a honest thoughtful way, made the class worthwhile.

The Vertias course material was convenient and easy to use. I really liked the TruTrack online resources for practice tests. The online hub allowed me to take multiple practice tests and track my progress. I would highly recommend this course to folks of varying levels trying to ace the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful 6 week class for quick cramming
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
As I was on a short deadline to take the GMAT and apply to schools, I chose Veritas Prep because it had a 6 week course that met twice a week for 3 hours per session rather than the 12 week course that most prep companies offer.

I was impressed with the breadth and depth we covered during those 6 weeks. Our instructor, Kevin Richardson, was very good at managing and catering to the varying degrees of understanding from the ~25 students in the class. Specific to me, he provided key shortcuts to use on more difficult problems which I previously would have wasted time solving completely. Additionally, Kevin also had a great, natural sense of areas where specific people would struggle and would point out hints to people individually.

To get the most out of the 6 week class, my advice would be to make sure you keep up with the homework and really follow the guidelines on the Veritas Prep website. Do the homework before class to make sure you get the most out of the homework review and so that you can be prepared with questions specific to you. Also, take advantage of the online help Veritas Prep provides and the 15 practice exams they offer. I only got through 5 of them due to the short time frame I had, but found them incredibly helpful in my preparation since they include explanations of why each problem is answered in a certain way.

All in, I thought this class was excellent and tremendously assisted in my short preparation for the exam. Additionally, their career services staff were also helpful and willing to assist in any way possible. Everyone was very attentive, making it an overall excellent experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
108 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more