Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [456]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Allow Ravi to lead the way to your MBA Dreams!
September 29 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Taking the Veritas Full Prep Course with Ravi as the instructor was definitely worthwhile. Many GMAT instructors have background packed with impressive credentials and Ravi is no exception to this general observation. Like many others, Ravi was a career- changer, however unlike many others he came from the world of law, into the MBA test prep world.
Being out of school for over 7 years and in need of a structured study plan, Ravi's wit, abundant energy, and style of teaching suited my needs. I needed a teacher who can be kind and challenging at all the right moments. I needed a teacher available to answer any question and would be open to getting to know me and my background. I'm not that smart so in order to succeed I needed to outwork my competition. It follows that I needed a teacher who knew his stuff and could explain concepts to me in a easy-to-understand method in order to lay a great foundation that I could build on by drilling homework problems. Ravi was all of these things and did an outstanding job considering the limited amount of time that was given to him from Veritas Prep to teach his class. This goes without saying--I highly recommend Ravi!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi: the man, the myth, the legend
September 29 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was pretty skeptical about taking a live online course but was pleasantly surprised at how convenient yet effective it ended up being. Ravi is the one who made this class worthwhile. From day one, it is apparent that he truly cares about your success on an individual level, and is excellent at explaining all concepts from verbal to quant. I found it amazing that he would start right on time and end right on time all while covering the vast expanse of the topic of the day. Not only that, but he messages you one on one in a live online class of 30+ people, which I though was amazing. The class uses timed polls which makes it interactive and GMAT-like. I would highly recommend this course, but more-so Ravi S. My test is in November and I have a lot more studying to do, but Ravi definitely pointed me in the right direction! Take this course with him and you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep On-Demand
September 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online |
I highly recommend the Veritas Prep On-Demand course. It is a very flexible study program that you can adjust to fit your schedule, areas of most need, and timeline. It is a very comprehensive approach to studying with a skillbuilder lesson to brush up on basic skills, a video class to explain more about the logic and reasoning behind taking the exam, and then a large set of homework problems with detailed answers to test your knowledge. The practice exams also come with very detail analysis and recommendations for how to adjust your study time to your needs. Highly recommend Veritas On-Demand
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Pretty good
September 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA |
The course is good if you take full advantage of the course. Each book goes over different topics found on the GMAT, and these were helpful. My instructor was knowledgable about the business school admission process, which was helpful.
However, my official GMAT score was lower than the scores of my Veritas Prep practice exams. The questions on the practice exams did not seem as difficult as the questions found on the real official exam. I will definitely be taking the GMAT again but may take a different prep course for future preparation.
I would recommend Veritas Prep for GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course and Great Instructor!
September 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By OnePlusOne joined: August 18, 2014 | 3 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I recently completed the Veritas Prep Online Course taught by Ravi Sreerama. All in all, it was an awesome course. He taught test-taking strategies in an effective manner, and his style is such that it keeps you interested throughout, while tossing in a little humor along the way. That works wonders when you're teaching a GMAT course. Ravi is a down-to-earth guy who knows his stuff, and this only inspires further confidence in the course and in yourself to do well on the exam. As far as material, you cover a little bit of everything that the GMAT tests- quant, verbal, and the various subcategories of each subject, as well as tips and tricks to use during the test.

I took a real GMAT about a year ago before I took this course and scored 570. I was thinking I'd be content with breaking 600+ on my next go-round. I took a practice exam after Ravi's course was over- I scored 660. This was a game-changer. Now I'm aiming for a 700, and it's no longer an unrealistic expectation, and I have to say part of this improvement is all thanks to Ravi. Now, this doesn't mean you can take the course alone and do well- you have to put in the work by reading and taking "skillbuilder lessons" outside of "class time" to ensure you know the GMAT fundamentals you'll be tested on.

Ravi does an excellent job of giving you the basic tools to succeed. He's like a climbing guide- he won't carry you to the top of the mountain- you have to put in the work- but he's a tremendous help along the way. I can't say enough good things about Ravi- he's a funny, smart guy who I highly recommend. Not sure how much of this is grammatically correct by GMAT standards but whatever. Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid Refresher for those who haven't been in school for a while.
September 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vigilante joined: September 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob Stringham is a fantastic teacher. He has a huge amount of enthusiasm for the material which really makes a difference when it comes to learning new content. Rob made the content fun and engaging.

I haven't been in school for 6 years, and it was definitely difficult getting back in to the academic mindset. I knew I had a ton of work to catch up on and a slew of topics I needed to refresh or even relearn. When I first started looking at GMAT content, I had forgotten things like how to multiply fractions or find a percent increase. Obviously, I had a lot of learning to do.

The Veritas prep course gave a good foundation of knowledge on all of the areas of the GMAT. The set of books were well put together and had a really wide selection of homework problems to tackle. A real highlight of the course for me was the ability to go online through Veritas' web site, track my progress, do questions, and tackle content and practice tests.

I would say that the Veritas practice tests seemed a bit easier than the official GMAT and official practice CATs.

Scores:
430 - GMAT Practice CAT - First attempt at anything GMAT related.
1 month of self study
540 - GMAT Practice CAT2
Veritas prep 6 week course
680 - Veritas Practice Test 1
690 - Veritas Practice Test 2
690 - Veritas Practice Test 3
690 - Veritas Practice Test 4
620 - GMAT Practice CAT3
600 - GMAT Official

For the official GMAT, I definitely froze up on some really easy questions, super easy, and I just couldn't think of how to do the problems. (Simple work-rate problems)

I have rescheduled for next month and plan on getting a 650+
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Would've been lost without it
September 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
Honestly, I was tempted to attempt the GMATs with self study but that would've been very foolish. There are just some things you need to know and a lot of things you will waste so much time on, thinking you need to know. This course directs you to use your time efficiently, only on the skills you need to know for the test. It breaks down the material in a very organized and approachable manner. If it wasn't for the course, I probably wouldn't have had any direction. I would've been scrambling around trying to solve every problem individually and concluding that I just have to relearn all my junior high math and grammar rules.

If you want to save time and not overload yourself with unnecessary skills, you need to take this course. Veritas was the toolbox I needed to attack this thing and I'm so glad I learned to use it.

If you take the course with Cliff, take advantage of his expertise. He's always willing to help and it is very obvious that he knows this stuff like the back of his hand. He also breaks down everything you need to know in individual study sheets for your convenience!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Organized, relevant, and fast-paced
September 20 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas Prep curriculum, while demanding, gives you every skill set you need to nail the GMAT. The pre-lesson skill builder work gives you the knowledge you then learn to apply during the lessons. To that end, completing the pre-lesson readings and activities will determine how much you get out of the course. Despite the heaviness of the readings, I felt that they could not be streamlined any further without compromising quality.

Ravi is a great instructor. You can tell from the first day that he has taught this course numerous times, and his true value comes from his ability to highlight the most important information in each lesson (not that everything isn't important!). His approaches to certain questions are also unique, which really helps you to save time if you can internalize his thought process. He also pushes you hard in terms of grilling you for your mistakes, which I personally find to be an excellent motivational tool.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone studying for the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent!
September 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was brand-new to all things GMAT when deciding to take a course to help my study plan for taking the exam. After some extensive research online, I had narrowed it down to Manhattan and Veritas, but after talking to a representative from Veritas on the phone, my decision was quickly and easily made. Lucky for me, I called at the right time as a course with Ravi was just about to start soon; the representative assured me he's one of the more popular instructors, and after taking his course I could see why. While there is naturally alot of material to cover in a short amount of time in each class session, he goes about it at a good speed for someone of any level to understand. What I personally liked most was his insistence on getting students to score in the 99% ... he wants students to REALLY achieve, not just get by on the test which I appreciated. He offered up many tips and tricks, and helps you look at problems in ways you probably wouldn't have just by doing it on your own. All in all, I'm glad I took a Veritas course...and am especially glad it was with Ravi. Any quick search online will show his name coming up repeatedly as one of, if not the, best instructor for online Veritas courses, and after completing the course with him I can easily see why!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great, quality course
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ras1212 joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
It is a safe bet to guarantee that this course will raise your score a significant amount. But as with everything, it goes down to how you treat it. Pay attention and ask questions in the lesson, utilize the supplemental material online, and take your time through the lesson books and you will definitely be in good standing to get a high score on the GMAT. The instructor was great, friendly, and helpful. I was very impressed with the quality that the lesson books had and with how thorough they were. The convenience of having it be an online class also is nice. There are no gimmicks to the online structure, it works well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
108 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more