Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [479]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Recommend to anyone
October 29 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Babak88 joined: October 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
The Veritasprep course was helpful in terms of learning strategies. For gmat, it's more about skills than knowledge. Therefore, one needs to learn the strategy. That being said, I recommend students to purchase On Demand course instead of live online course. It's cheaper and more productive. The on demand instructor does a good job of explaining the material. But it's about your biology. If you think you don't have enough discipline or can't study effectively without an instructor, go ahead and purchase online course.

The customer service is also great. By the way, I still haven't taken the exam because I'm undecided about timing. But I do recommend taking a prep course to any student unless you're really good with math and strategy exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Teacher, Great Course, Great Results
November 13 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Taking a Veritas Prep GMAT course with Eric Maltzer is the best thing you can possibly do to fully prepare for the GMAT and achieve your highest possible score.

Veritas is the real deal when it comes to GMAT test prep. I was extremely impressed with the resources available to me. The books, problem sets and online lessons are all very useful tools, as are the 15 realistic practice CAT exams that are available.

If you are looking for a knowledgeable, energetic, hilarious and caring teacher, Eric is your man. You will learn more about the GMAT exam and the test taking experience from Eric than from any book or website. The lessons and strategies that Eric teaches get results. You can tell Eric truly cares about each one of his students - he took the time both before and after each class to answer questions, meet with students, and coach us every step of the way. He did not have to spend so much time outside of class with us, but the fact that he did really proved how much he wanted us to succeed.

If you are looking for magic tricks and cheap guessing strategies, then Veritas is not for you. If you really want to understand the ins and outs of the exam, and how to answer every possible question that the GMAT can throw at you, then sign up for a Veritas Prep course and, if you can, request Eric Maltzer as your teacher. You will not be disappointed.

Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Comprehensive skills, insights, and perspective to score well.
December 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Cliff Smith
enrolled Sept 13 2012

The instructor was quietly passionate about the material, which made the course engaging through twelve 3-hour sessions. He taught with slides that were well designed and executed. He covered all of the course material and provided useful summary handouts. He knew the material well, sometimes providing alternative solutions to problems.

The curriculum is comprehensive and the study materials (12 course books) are well organized. The books consist of a Skillbuilder to do prior to class, a Lesson section that the instructor more-or-less follows in class, and then homework problems. The problems in the lesson section seemed to be higher than a 75th percentile level of difficulty and were carefully chosen to get a concept across. The homework problems are typically organized, like the GMAC Official Guide, from easier to harder. There are a good number of difficult problems to work on. Homework problems can be done online, in which case the time spent on each problem is tracked. As long as the course is, I don't feel that any time was wasted going through the course materials.

Veritas' online on-demand lesson videos are okay, although not as engaging as those taken in person. VP's practice CATs seemed to me to be about as difficult as the real GMAT. I would not agree with those who suggest that VP's CATs are more difficult, although one section or another would seem easier or harder, so it's important to take several practice CATs (or at least some of the sections).

Overall, Veritas Prep gives you everything you could need outside of your own dedication to expend the effort needed to score well on the GMAT. The course gives you many opportunities to think hard about the nature of your weaknesses and therefore how to strengthen them. The instructor and the curriculum drives home the crucial message not to mistake activity for achievement (although a lot of activity is involved!). I don't' think I could have achieved my score without the help of the Veritas Prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great fundamentals
August 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By GmatReview800 joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Going into this course I knew nothing about the GMAT. From day one I found this course to have everything I needed for a good understanding of what I needed to do to be where I wanted to be. The online course gave me a structure and a schedule that easily fit my life. The work load is intense and you will learn the fundamentals of the GMAT and how to improve your score. Ravi is a great teacher, every lesson was great. Veritas has a great system of pre-class work, the lesson and then homework to follow. If you are looking for a GMAT course, this one is for you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Take it to the next level
August 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I signed up for Veritas because I wanted to seriously increase my GMAT score. I was only interested in attending one of the top MBA programs in the nation so I needed to perform extremely well on the GMAT. Veritas provides structure, in the form of classes held two times a week. It also creates accountability in terms of attendance, performance in class, and homework.

All attendees for Veritas were the top of the class that were interested in attending one of the top MBA programs. The course instructor knows this and focuses on preparing you not only for GMAT but for how the application of these skills in the test are essential for your business career.

Veritas provides you with multiple resources to enhance your GMAT studying and fully prepares you to sit for the test. With the full in-person course you are provided with 12 books that are complete with an introductory section, lesson, homework, and explanations to the answers. These 12 books focus on 12 different subjects that will help you prepare for the GMAT. The course grows during the 7 or so weeks that it takes place. Beginning with the basics to help you refresh some skills that you may have forgotten or don't use on a daily basis. After you are fresh with these building blocks you are then prepared to solve what makes up the major portions of the test. During this middle period is where you can control your score and you breakdown each section by question type. The instructor helps explain every and all types of questions making it easy to understand how to increase your effectiveness. After hitting the meat of the test you are presented with the 90th percentile questions of each section. Based on your strengths, this is where your performance can put you over the 700+ mark. The instructor guides you through these final sessions and helps students who are stronger in these areas. For those that are not as strong in these areas it is encouraged that you focus on the meat of your weaker subjects before trying to conquer the more difficult sections of the test.

The in class sessions are extremely valuable not only as a way to go over questions and answers but to understand how to approach every type of question that you will be presented on the GMAT. The instructor will interact with all students and get to know you individually. He will make it a point to call on you for subjects that you need the most work on. They make it clear that it is important to score well on your strong subjects and to improve your score on your weaker areas. This type of focus is the difference between self study and Veritas. Veritas helps you understand the breakdown of these questions and how to see them as your stronger subject type. A verbal question can be explained or formatted as a quantitative and vice versa. This analytical breakdown of the test helps students take control and see it from the view of the test writer. Understanding what the test writer is trying to test puts the student in a position to succeed.

To go along with the in class experience you are also provided "Class On Demand" sessions which are video overviews of each live class. Problems sets from each book are also provided online with the solutions and their explanations. Veritas also provides a large set of practice tests. These test are built into your online schedule that Veritas provides but will also be guided by your instructor. Your instructor will suggest when and how to take these practice tests as well as how each type of practice test can be measured in relation to the actual GMAT. Other resources include homework help through a online live waiting room as well as help through email.

Veritas prepares you for every aspect of the GMAT and truly prepares you to succeed in the business world. Veritas takes you to the next level and is a great resource for anyone looking to maximize their business career potential.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT with Bobby Umar
February 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By samirchowdhury joined: January 16, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
The Instructor Bobby Umar is great, has many years of experience with Teaching the GMAT, with a lot of tips and is always there to help students. Made good friend from the course also.

Makes class very entertaining and really pushes his students to do well. And always there to help students even after course hours. Gives advice to students about Career and MBA. Someone who is passionate about motivating his students.

Location is great too, right near Union subway station and Go Transit downtown Toronto.

Veritas gives tons of material to practice both online and from the books and free- retake policy no questions asked!.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas was great!
February 06 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I had a wonderful experience throughout the course.
I am very pleased with the set of books they prepared and sent to our address before the class started. The test subjects were all covered in the study materials. There were also more stuff for practice with all the explanations online. Also, if we missed a class we could take an online class on demand.

The highlight of the course was our instructor, Ravi Sreerama.

He is a very smart guy in general and is incredibly knowledgeable about the GMAT. He was able to teach difficult concepts in easy ways. He gave many helpful hints to make us think like the test makers.
He kept the class full of energy and covered all subjects, even those vague in a clear and timely manner.

I strongly recommend Veritas and our instructor, Ravi Sreerama, to all interested students.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The class is well worth it, great instructor as well (Ravi Sreerama)
February 07 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By MMGomez81 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I attended the Saturday class in Pasadena. Initially when I decided to take a GMAT prep class I was really nervous. Once I started the class Ravi eased my worries. He is a great instructor that really cares about his students and tries to make them understand tough content, in real world ways that make sense. He uses food like sandwiches to explain quant questions, we would have a laugh and in the end remember the content he explained.

The class is really organized and runs smoothly week-to-week. The books have good questions and equally good explanations. There are 16 online practice tests that are good as well. I began to look forward to attending and was kind of sad when it was over.

Between having a fantastic instructor, learning strategies and insight to the GMAT, and the dynamic between students, I really enjoyed this course. I also, attribute this to Ravi, he is an easy-going instructor that really wants students to do well and does what ever he can to make that happen. I'm taking the test this month and know that the help I received from this course has been invaluable in reaching my goal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Experince
February 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas GMAT Pasadena w/ Ravi Sreerama
February 12 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By JolieCrush18 joined: February 16, 2010 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Last year, I decided to take Veritas (partly because they offered more in-class time and there was a sweet deal online that was way better than Kaplan).

At any rate, I was lucky enough to have Ravi as our instructor for the course. I'm pretty sure the man memorized all the Veritas Lesson Books by heart. But he always tries to find a better way to solve a problem - either more efficiently or provide a better explanation than what the book gave. He can speak a bit fast, but I think its really because he has this memorized. Just ask him to slow down when that happens. Ravi will tell you his honest opinion if you ask him a question...no sugar coating. He is a down-to-earth instructor but at the same time I feared him. Maybe because I would feel guilty inside if I didn't come to class prepared.

I took the Veritas held at the Marriott in Pasadena. The venue was okay. We had some a/c and blackboard issues but that was no biggie as the hotel tried their best to accommodate us. I highly recommend Veritas & Ravi as your instructor. If you happen to miss a class, you can always re-play each lesson via on demand or e-mail Ravi and he'll bring you up to speed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
108 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more