Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [574]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Best GMAT Instructor: Ravi Sreerama (Veritas Prep)
January 10 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
To put it simply, Ravi Sreerama is the absolute best! I had the pleasure of enrolling in one of his live online six week GMAT prep courses with Veritas Prep. The curriculum is intense, rigorous, and very well-organized for those who are serious about their GMAT studies. Ravi is an incredibly skilled, talented, and highly intelligent instructor who possesses a rare and unique ability to relate to each and every one of his students. His educational and professional background is a significant asset (he holds both JD and MBA degrees in addition to real world work experience) and he draws upon this expertise to break down tough, abstract content into simple, digestible morsels of information. One of the things I appreciated most was Ravi's candid and multifaceted approach to teaching content. He is in no way one-dimensional. A sign of a great teacher is one who can articulate concepts in more than one way and tailor explanations for the audience being addressed. Ravi's commitment and drive to help others succeed is demonstrated through and through. For example, he manages to teach a three hour lesson while making himself accessible for individual dialogue. He juggles personal messages with his students and shares insightful, relevant content with the class. People like Ravi are few and far between. If you want a remarkable and genuine instructor who will provide you with the tools to be successful and challenge you to best yourself, Ravi is your guy. I can't recommend him highly enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas!
January 10 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I think the format of Veritas Prep is unbeatable. After asking around, I choose Veritas Prep over Manhattan GMAT. I could not have been more satisfied. I took my class online with
Ethan Todras-Whitehill, and was initially nervous that the online format would not be engaging, however that was not the case with Ethan. Even though the class was online (which I assume is much tougher to instruct than an in-person class), Ethan was able to keep the sessions lively and engaging (they were on both Saturday and Sunday). In the end, I was able to boost my score up by 140 points, which I attribute to the first-class instruction skills of Ethan and the great materials prepared by Veritas.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Strategic thinking
January 11 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2014 | 13 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I undertook the full Veritas online course last from August to Sept last year. It was my first try at GMAT so I had very little knowledge about the test content. I found its course books very clear, especially the Quant materials. The verbal books gave a good overview of verbal test strategies, invaluable for test takers.

My online course experience was much better than expected. Before I committed to/paid the course I called the company to check what the online learning experience would be like - I was told that the course would be very collaborative. When I joined my first class the following week, it became clear that I was indeed in for a very collaborative/practical experience.

Ravi Sreerama was my online lecturer - he was extremely knowledgeable about all GMAT content. I was impressed by the way he ensured each student was following the content ok. For example, I was struggling with a few subjects thus couldn't answer some of the practice questions during class - Ravi noticing this messaged me to see how he could help. I am also extremely (x2) impressed by Chris Speck, Ravi's TA. I had a lot of questions in and out of class and Chris always managed to respond quickly with clear explanations (thanks very much and appreciate your patience Chris).

Please note: I took my 1st GMAT in Dec 2014 and I am actually going to retake it again because I'm not happy with my score. This has nothing to do with Veritas however - I've been out of school for over a decade and need to spend more time to practice more questions. Another thing I learned is that it's often not about one course being better than another course - as a student each of us need find a course (more courses) that best suite our own learning style. For example, I started with Veritas I found is fantastic in teaching strategic thinking - you need this if you are aiming for 700+. However, I knew I needed more foundational and practical guidance thus I also enrolled with GMAT Pill which I feel is very strong at showing me practical skills. It all comes down to practice. It is true when Ravi and Chris both said pacing is the most important thing with GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is excellent, Ravi is the best
January 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By efg015 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I would highly recommend Veritas Prep to anyone considering a full GMAT prep class. The customer service team was very helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. I was able to sample the first class of the course before paying for the course, and customer service made sure I had all the materials I needed to be prepared for that first class which was very appreciated. They also made sure to follow up throughout the course to make sure everything was going well.

I think the best part of Veritas is that along with the in-person class, you are given access to an online student account for 1 full year. The student account includes quizzes, problem sets, homework problem solutions, 7 full practice tests, and full videos for every lesson of the class to review. In addition, all the books were available for download to tablets/mobile devices through the online account. There was also access to comprehensive top MBA Programs guides. I took advantage of all these resources, and the experience wouldn't have been the same without them.

What made my class stand out the most, however, was my instructor RAVI. Ravi is among the best teachers I have ever had, and his true and deep understanding of the GMAT makes him an invaluable resource when preparing for this exam. Ravi was also able to control and lead the class of about 20 students while still giving a certain amount of personal attention to every student - I definitely did not have this caliber of a teacher in my Kaplan SAT prep class. His control of the class, and easy to understand and apply GMAT tricks made each 3 hour session fly by. I was nervous about signing up for a 7PM-10PM class twice a week after work, but I was amazed to find that solely due to Ravi's teaching style the class flew by, and I nearly always felt at the end of the class that I could continue learning/practicing for another hour at least. I cannot say enough good things about Ravi. He made me feel so much more confident about a test I was fearful of, and on test day his words "do it right, do it once" resonated as I went through every single problem and successfully got a score I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great course!
January 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By caitlinwebster1 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I had initially taken the GMAT without taking a course and didn't get the score I needed for my program. Although I've yet to have re-written, I already feel like I've improved. Ethan was a great instructor - he had loads of enthusiasm and was very encouraging (something quite important for 3 hour classes on weekend mornings). I think my instructors thorough knowledge as well as the helpful study guides really helped my chances of improving my score on the GMAT. I benefited primarily from the Quant section. The Data Sufficiency class is great and will really make you re-think the way to approach the questions. Overall, I think the most helpful part of the class was learning how the GMAT tries to trick you and how to overcome those barriers. I highly recommend Ethan's course!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Prep at its Best!!!
January 17 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
When looking for a GMAT Prep course, I researched a few companies. I decided to go with Veritas Prep because they had the most friendliest customer service representative when I called to inquiry about their courses. Their customer service reps were really patient in explaining their course options and the different perks with each course option. Initially when I registered with Veritas, my course met on Mondays and Wednesdays. After my 1st class, I suddenly had a schedule change and work conflicted with my schedule. I called Veritas Prep and asked them to change my course to a weekend course due to the sudden change in my work schedule. Veritas was very understanding and switched me into a weekend course with Ethan. They did this with no additional charges and no hassle. I started attending Ethan's class shortly after.

Veritas Prep is a great company with really phenomenal instructors, like Ethan. I am a person that usually does not write reviews after courses or services are rendered because I don't always find them the most helpful. However, I decided to write a review because it was the reviews of Ethan that impacted my decision to enroll in classes with Veritas Prep. Ethan is a great instructor. He is very interesting and engaging. He truly is a resource and an instructor who cares about the success of his students. One of the things I really liked about Ethan is that he took time to create additional resources to go with most of the lessons. These resources were composed of the most important strategies and techniques to use on the test. With the interactive SmartBoard, I felt as though I was sitting in an in-person classroom and sitting in the classroom. With this interactive SmartBoard and class, Ethan could see how many people were online and engaged in the lesson. I also felt as if Ethan was talking to me directly which is a totally different experience from other online classes. This online class didn't seem like an online class at all. I really enjoyed Ethan's stories and metaphors to the different sections and strategies for the GMAT. Ethan made GMAT Prep easy and interesting.

In additional to resources, Ethan was great at storytelling and dressing up in different costumes to drive home specific concepts. I really liked the pirate costume to drive home the Data Sufficiency strategies. The explanation of the classic blunders and "Don't for the Trap" was really meaningful. It made Data Sufficiency easier to comprehend than before. If you were also concerned about the quantitative section, the number of strategies and tools that Ethan goes over are very helpful. Although I consider myself stronger in math than verbal, I still learned a lot of useful strategies to do the math on the GMAT.

As a person who is changing career fields, I am happy about my experience with Veritas Prep and having Ethan as an instructor. Before Veritas Prep, I was unfamiliar with the GMAT test itself and struggled studying and learning on my own. Now I have all the resources available to me by Veritas for a year and the additional resources that Ethan also provided to assist in my studying process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Exceeded my expectations!
January 19 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Ethan is an awesome teacher. I highly recommend that you try to take the Veritas course from him should the schedule fit within your study window.

Ethan really puts his heart into making the course fun and effective. You will absolutely not be disappointed.

I am a mid-career professional, so it had been decades since I took any of the classes that are fundamental to the GMAT (algebra, geometry, etc.). The Veritas material (homework, skillbuilder videos, and practice tests, etc.) were all very well organized and really helped me to not be surprised on test day. Ethan also gave us great guidance on how to best use those materials. Before I knew it, the material was all coming back to me.

My only regret was not allowing for 2-3 more weeks post class to keep studying. I was personally in cram mode and bracketed my study to just the 5-6 week course length.

Still, I felt so much better about walking into the test room after taking this class! If you have a bit more time, you will be all the better off.


I have no reservations highly recommending both Ethan (and Veritas)!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep -- High-level Instructors
January 10 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nbooky joined: February 1, 2007 | 64 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
In general, there are a set of strategies everybody cover. For example, for CR-type questions read question stem first; for RC understand the gist of the passage etc. There are some stuff I learned from Veritas though: like SWIMMER, advanced math and logic etc. I believe some other programs also talk about SWIMMER (Manhattan?).

The most I appreciate on Veritas is that they hire only instructors at 99-percentile. Some had commented that good test takers do not necessarily be good teachers, which I totally agree. However, I would argue I don't need to pay if I am just learning the fundamentals - all these were covered in good materials like Kaplan. I got my money worth for observing these instructors tackling advanced problems - these are techniques not covered in any books. For example, they use shortcuts to get to answer quicker, techniques to spot tricks by GMAT test writers, methods/their gut feels to eliminate incorrect answers etc.

Note that I am already very familiar with the techniques and type of questions before taking Veritas. Veritas do cover every one of them. Personally, I found the advanced techniques are the most useful to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent course
January 24 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rahuldesai joined: October 17, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
I joined Veritas Prep's online GMAT course in Dec 2012 and I think that this is one of the most useful course for people who would like to score higher on the GMAT. those who have given the GMAT before will see increase in their score after this course.

I took my GMAT before this course and my score wasn't what I expected. But now on the practice test, I feel I can do better in my next attempt. Non-native people will find the verbal help very useful. Veritas have their own 'strategies' which will be explained in the course and the books they will provide.

I would recommend this course to anyone who is thinking of taking a training course for their GMAT.

The online feature gives the advantage of not driving to a class location and and even if you miss one, you can watch the recorded video of the missed class. The software used for this class in also easy and powerful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Take Veritas, save time and money!
January 31 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 31, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Houston, TX USA |
Most people preparing for the GMAT are so busy with their full time job that it is challenging to find a course that can adapt to their busy schedule. Also, truthfully speaking, taking some online course really does not help much because it is hard to focus staring at a computer screen after one has been in front of the computer all day long for work.
I wasted my time and money on books and online courses, but finally took Veritas, which I really enjoyed. The instructor was great and it is nice to sit in a classroom environment with other students who are going through the same process as you. So, save your time and money and go for VERITAS!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more