Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [329]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 and get 14 free business school guides ($420 value) + get a $250 bonus with GMAT Club!”

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Excellent Course
February 17 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By s4sehgal joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Repairing for the GMAT exam, I was lost where to start until I was pointed to Veritas preparation through google search. Although I am from technical background, but was totally rusty with high school maths skills . On top of that, the verbal section made no sense to me when I looked up official GMAT study guide.

Luckily surfing internet on how to prepare for GMAT in a short time, I ended up on Veritas GMAT introduction class. From the very first sentence Brian (the course instructor) made a lot of sense behind the GMAT methodology and how to approach the test logically.

After going through the Veritas on demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Veritas instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner.

All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me. One useful tip though: Make sure you practise the GMAT simulated exams before appearing in real one. I lacked this component but will do better on my next try.


Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Live Online
March 03 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 3, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This class was a little bigger than I expected. However, they had two instructors on at all times, one that gave the lecture and one that answered any questions. They did a great job of making sure that every question got answered. In terms of quality of material, the books were excellent and the course pace was perfect. Since it was online I got to go back and see classes I missed. Both instructors were great and well educated not only in the material but also in terms of understanding the GMAT. As long as you put in the effort in the pre class studies you will certainly see improvements.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Class! - 700 score
March 28 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Houston, TX USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
When I decided to take the GMAT, I had no idea what to expect. I work full-time and I knew that studying for this exam would be challenging and require a lot of effort. I needed a prep service that would force me to consistently study throughout the week. As a result, I decided to sign up for the Veritas Prep full course.
Mark Robinson, the instructor, was very helpful and kept the class focused. There are way too many tips and tricks you would not learn from simply reading the textbooks. Mark's teaching style enables his students to stay motivated and see these GMAT problems in a new perspective. He wants his students to think like a CEO, a mentality that will carry on past this course and into business school. To be honest, I found the experience in class to be way more helpful than reading the material on my own.
The structure of this course enabled me to really understand core concepts and solidify them through the homework assignments. The practice tests were also crucial in helping me with the GMAT. It enabled me to get the timing down for each section as well as review my weaknesses.
I took the GMAT in early March and ended up scoring a 700. As an engineer, I knew my weakness would be the verbal section. To my surprise, I ended up scoring in the 90th percentile in the verbal section. I honestly believe I would not have been able to achieve this score without Mark's help. I highly recommend this course to anyone preparing for this exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Loved the course
April 07 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jessie5936 joined: April 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA |
I found at first that Veritas was pretty pricey. But after having gone through the course, I do and would recommend it. I had class 2x per week, online access to tutoring and also test question samples. Besides that the books that we got for the class had more questions and homework. My instructor was Brian, he was very helpful and thorough. I found that I wasnt able to do the online course on my own because couldnt set aside time. This course is great because of the info thats available. If your not going to study or keep up with the course outline then this isnt for you, you have to put in the work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep -- High-level Instructors
January 10 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nbooky joined: February 1, 2007 | 64 | 2 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
In general, there are a set of strategies everybody cover. For example, for CR-type questions read question stem first; for RC understand the gist of the passage etc. There are some stuff I learned from Veritas though: like SWIMMER, advanced math and logic etc. I believe some other programs also talk about SWIMMER (Manhattan?).

The most I appreciate on Veritas is that they hire only instructors at 99-percentile. Some had commented that good test takers do not necessarily be good teachers, which I totally agree. However, I would argue I don't need to pay if I am just learning the fundamentals - all these were covered in good materials like Kaplan. I got my money worth for observing these instructors tackling advanced problems - these are techniques not covered in any books. For example, they use shortcuts to get to answer quicker, techniques to spot tricks by GMAT test writers, methods/their gut feels to eliminate incorrect answers etc.

Note that I am already very familiar with the techniques and type of questions before taking Veritas. Veritas do cover every one of them. Personally, I found the advanced techniques are the most useful to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent course
January 24 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rahuldesai joined: October 17, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
I joined Veritas Prep's online GMAT course in Dec 2012 and I think that this is one of the most useful course for people who would like to score higher on the GMAT. those who have given the GMAT before will see increase in their score after this course.

I took my GMAT before this course and my score wasn't what I expected. But now on the practice test, I feel I can do better in my next attempt. Non-native people will find the verbal help very useful. Veritas have their own 'strategies' which will be explained in the course and the books they will provide.

I would recommend this course to anyone who is thinking of taking a training course for their GMAT.

The online feature gives the advantage of not driving to a class location and and even if you miss one, you can watch the recorded video of the missed class. The software used for this class in also easy and powerful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Take Veritas, save time and money!
January 31 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 31, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Houston, TX USA |
Most people preparing for the GMAT are so busy with their full time job that it is challenging to find a course that can adapt to their busy schedule. Also, truthfully speaking, taking some online course really does not help much because it is hard to focus staring at a computer screen after one has been in front of the computer all day long for work.
I wasted my time and money on books and online courses, but finally took Veritas, which I really enjoyed. The instructor was great and it is nice to sit in a classroom environment with other students who are going through the same process as you. So, save your time and money and go for VERITAS!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Must-take course for non-quant students
February 01 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By joined: December 31, 1969 | | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
I can't say enough good things about Veritas Prep ... and especially Kevin. He took an individualized approach to each lesson once he had gotten to know each student's strengths and weaknesses. He gave me specific study advice on breaks and before/after class that really helped me. Overall, the course is very thorough--the books are great, the OnDemand sessions that accompany each book are infinitely helpful for those of us who don't always "get it" in the course of one evening, and the fact that you can call for help with any of the problems and even retake the course if you need to makes Veritas Prep a stand-out GMAT prep course in my opinion!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Phenomenal Instructor
February 22 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bofamous joined: February 22, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA | Taught by:  Ashley Newman-Owens
Let me start off by saying, I've taken a competitor's LSAT course. I hated every second of it. The teacher was inexperienced and I felt like I threw away all my money. I was extremely wary coming into this prep course.

All of the Veritas staff are excellent. My instructor was amazing. She clearly has the experience and the flow of the course nailed down. I never felt lost or confused in regards to how the course was organized. She was approachable and could explain things in various ways so people who learn differently could grasp the same concept.

I came into the course more looking for confidence and the "tricks" of the GMAT. I found both. I decided to wait to take the test for a bit, but every time I email Ashley she is always there to help me out!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
111 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more