Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [516]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
A little expensive but worth every penny
November 04 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By TIMIVERSEN joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the course with Ravi in LA and he nailed it. The course was very fast paced and you get what you put in. Keep up with the homework and you WILL be in the 90th percentile. Ravi made this course worth it. The veritas customer support was very helpful and sent out books right away. Coupons are available if you search the web. I started with a free trial and knew I had to enroll. Books come very nice and prepare you well. Do all the homework and skillbuilders. Class is not at all easy but Ravi is more than happy to help. Plus you have online homework help. Veritas does everything they can to help you make it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Online -- I personally loved the Veritas program
January 12 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sweiner joined: November 5, 2009 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
There seems to be quite a bit of suspicion regarding positive comments on this site, so let me preface my post by saying I don’t work for either of these testing companies. I’m just a guy who had ok grades in college and realized he’d need to completely destroy the GMAT to have any prayer of getting into a decent MBA program. I chose to do the Veritas Prep online course and admittedly really don’t know much about Manhattan GMAT, so I can’t compare the two curriculums. I can, however, say that I was extremely pleased with my GMAT score after completing the Veritas Prep course.

Before starting any of the online lessons, I completed one of the practice exams offered in the online course and scored a 610. I realize that you could argue the validity of using this score as a baseline considering that it isn’t “an official GMAT score,” but it’s, quite frankly, the only score I have to go off, as I’d never taken the GMAT before. After completing the Veritas course, I sat for the GMAT last week and scored a 730. Any way you slice it, baseline score or no baseline score, that is a pretty good place to be when testing day has come and gone.

I personally loved the Veritas program. The online course gives you a ton of flexibility and more tests and practice problems than you would ever really want to do. It puts all the resources that you need to get a great score on the exam at your fingertips, and helps to ensure that the time you’re investing in studying for the GMAT is being used efficiently. I think the highest compliment you can really pay to a preparatory course is that it ultimately gives you control over how well you will do on an exam, such that the more you dedicate yourself to their curriculum, the higher you’ll score on the exam. I honestly believe that the Veritas course meets this criterion, and that you can rest assured that there won’t be any surprises come exam day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas is way to go
March 05 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I chose Veritas because my co-worker recommended this place to me. First time he got around 550 points, but after taking the course from Veritas his score went up to 700 points.

Veritas provide well organized resources, from fundamental to complicated problems. Also, online recorded instructions, online help, quiz, and 17 practice tests are very useful resources for me to prepare for GMAT. The plethora of resources amazes me.

My instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was simply awesome. He definitely knew the material, how to teach and motivate students. I really had a great experience with Veritas!

I will definitely recommend Veritas to my friends who are studying for GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi is the greatest!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas course was incredibly valuable in both the quantitative and verbal sections, but particualrly quant. Our instructor, Ravi was the best! He really knew the material and was able to answer every question we had clearly and effectively. He knew the best shortcuts to attack each problem which has really helped me save time in and put energy into more complicated 700 level questions. He is also able to quickly pick up on each student's weakness and really cared about making sure that everyone was making progress. I highly encourage students to take Ravi's class if they go with Veritas.

Overall, the services offered by Veritas are top notch. The customer service is incredibly attentive and available. The online help is invaluable and the service even graded my practice AWA papers within a couple of days with notes on how to improve each paragraph. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great class, highly recommended!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 21, 2012 | 2 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This review is for a 6-week GMAT prep class through Veritas. This is the second time I took the class (you actually get the a free retake), and was pretty impressed with the level of material. The GMAT is not really the most exciting subject, however my instructor Ravi did a phenomenal job. He did great at encouraging his students, and really explaining what was up. He didn't use any smoke and mirrors and just say 'oh, you're doing a great job.' His approach was very straight forward, and created a very relaxing yet focused environment. I am pretty sure that he was able to get 100% class participation, to one degree or another.

The material on the My Veritas portal is also pretty useful. In case you miss a class (or need a refresher), you can watch a recorded "class" which is pretty engaging. Also, I found it useful that all of the homework problems are on the website. It is useful to get used to answering everything on a computer, as opposed to a printed book, because this best helps simulate a real test environment.

While, Ravi was a great instructor, I was a little disappointed with the level of quality in the course material books. I think they were very thorough and detailed, however they were plagued with numerous typos and errors. I can certainly understand that a first print of a book can have typos, but in a book that people rely to study on this is just unacceptable. Veritas should have spent more of their resources is creating a grade A product, instead of rushing this first edition to be published.

Overall, I highly recommend this course. It is a little on the pricey side, but I think it is a worthwhile investment. I think the issues I was experiencing with typos in the course material are being resolved as I write this review, so I wouldn't use that to dissuade you from taking this course. Lastly, I would strongly recommend taking the 6-Saturday course. I highly advise against taking the Tues-Thursday evening course...if you are a working professional during the day, you will be tired by the time the class roles around, and you will not get the most out of your experience. Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Instructor
October 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I think the Veritas books could use improvements on its explanations. My instructor Ravi was great though. I took a few make up classes w/other instructors and Ravi was by far the best. He trims the fat and tells you real life advice that will help with your studying. He emphasizes on self study, which is true. Taking the course will supplement your studies; 85% of how well you do on the test depends on how much you study, 15% is the prep course.

The veritas site has a lot of practice tests and quizzes. The practice tests are very helpful. You must do the coursework in the books to take full advantage of the classes and utilizing review time during classes.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great teacher
November 07 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi sets you up from day 1 with a process to succeed. He drives home the point of learning from your mistakes. If you are dedicated to the process and you put the work in you will almost certainly see positive results. Ravi keeps class interesting with nice anecdotes and gets everyone participating. He's great at showing you what will be the best bang for the buck to study time-wise. Most importantly he cares about your individual success as a student and is willing to help you out when you have specific problems. I know I was having a lot of issues a few days before the test and Ravi gave me some good advice to keep me calm for test day.

The course in general is pretty good for overall review. The books explain concepts well and are organized intuitively. The HW format is nice because it gets you in the habit of answering questions on a computer screen. I also found the practice tests to be fairly accurate to the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
560-710-760 Finally Done
November 11 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Danbstn joined: September 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I just took the GMAT yesterday and got a 760 Q49 V44. Overall I am happy with the score, I know I should be ecstatic but I keep thinking about the mistakes I made.

So my GMAT journey began about six months ago. I decided to take the GMAT after I interviewed with a school and they said I needed a 650 to be considered a competitive candidate. I have been out of school for more than 10 years and did not have a strong academic background to begin with so I knew I needed help. I looked for a prep class on the internet and decided to go with Veritas. My initial reasons for choosing them were because the time frame and location fit perfectly into my plan.

I enrolled in the live course in Santa Monica. The class was small, only four of us which was great. The books were well written and I learned a lot.

I have to say the best part of the course was the instructor. His name is Ravi Sreerama and he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He broke down the problems in a way that made them easy to understand. Not only was he great at teaching but he gave me the encouragement and motivation that I needed to reach my goals. I took my first practice test about halfway through the course and it did not look good. I was averaging about 560. I didn't know if I would make it. I continued to study about 2 hours a day and by the time the class finished I was testing in the high 600s.

I continued to study for two weeks after the course ended and then took the test. I was so nervous that I barely slept for two days before the test. I ended up with a 710, Q46 V42. I was happy with the score but I knew I could do better. I had to focus on work for the next three months so I put the GMAT out of my mind. Then I decided to study again and retake the test. It was not a decision I took lightly, to retake the test after getting above 700 is usually not a good idea but in my case with my weak academic background I decided it was necessary if I wanted to go to a to 10 school.

This time I studied using Manhattan GMAT materials because I already did most of the questions from Veritas. I studied in all my free time which wasn't much and after two months I retook it and got a 760.

The only thing I did not like about Veritas was their technique for sentence correction. I thought the Manhattan Sentence Correction Guide was better, at least for me it was. Also, I think they should put a greater emphasis on the OG guides and problem sets. These were essential to my success. I did almost every problem in the OG13 edition and OG Quant. The GMAT Prep question pack was also great. Overall I think Veritas was well worth the money and I was very satisfied with the live course. The quality of their instructor was great and I don't think I would have gotten a 760 if it was not for Ravi Sreerama.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Instructor, Great Course!
November 16 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By srosas86 joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After months of unproductive self study and 1 dismal GMAT score, I decided to make an investment in a prep course. Of course, I wasn’t sure whether my investment would pay off. I decided to take Veritas Prep after doing some research and asking a few friends who had conquered the GMAT. I can honestly say, that Veritas Prep was an excellent choice.

Our instructor Ravi Sreerama was instrumental to my break-through on the GMAT. Not only did he build up my confidence and give us some extremely helpful strategies, but he trained us to be GMAT beasts! Honestly, if you’re looking for a great course and great prep materials, go with Veritas Prep. I’d also strongly encourage you to ask what days Ravi teaches – you won’t regret it. My GMAT test is less than 10 days away, but I’m feeling good about it thanks to Veritas Prep and Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good Course, Awesome Instructor
November 28 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Given that I completed my undergraduate degree over ten years ago, the emphasis on classroom hours in conjunction with adaptive practice exams made Veritas Prep the best choice for me. I was also extremely fortunate to have a great instructor leading our class. Our instructor did a tremendous job of creating an atmosphere that was relaxed, yet focused. The atmosphere greatly contributed to making everyone feel comfortable enough to participate in class, thereby enhancing the overall experience.

Our instructor also encouraged us to review the course materials in between classes, and ask questions that he could then address before the group either before or after class. Both the instructors tips and course materials provided a good starting block for my GMAT preparation, and I cannot recommend both more highly.

I think the only area in which Veritas can improve is in its facilities, especially in ensuring each facility can provide the tools (such as black board, dry erase board, markers, etc.) necessary for an instructor to effectively teach a class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more