Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [477]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Worth the Cost
March 11 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
Kevin was more than I expected as an instructor. It is hard enough to engage over thirty 20+ year olds for 3 hours, but he was able to get participation from everyone throughout the course. He truly cared about your individual progress and doing everything in his power to increase your understanding.

The course material Veritas provides is well worth the cost. The books, online resources, practice tests, and admissions counseling were even more helpful than the actual classes. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT. The only thing I would improve is better directions on where the class was being taken and parking/transportation options for the Gleacher Center in Chicago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course! Be prepared to take the time to make the most of it...
June 25 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Overall, I am very happy with the the Veritas Prep online course. The course helped me with the Quant section, especially, since there are more concrete applications/ learning tools for Quant than for the Verbal section.

There are a ton of valuable resources, ranging from the live courses to the numerous homework problems, 12 in-depth books, quizzes for each topic, practice tests, videos of previous courses, David Newland's website with great articles (DVGCC.com) etc. It's great having explanations for all questions, both in practice problems and practice tests, so that anyone can really learn from mistakes.

My score went up by more than 100 points when I took the official GMAT post-course. I believe I could improve the score even more if I choose to take it again, but my score is within range of what I was hoping for. It's important that whoever chooses to take this course is ready to put in the time to take advantage of all these resources (just attending the classes will not magically improve your score). The more time you give yourself to study (12 weeks seems ideal; the 6 weeks I had were crunched), the more you can pace your studies without having to detract from other things in life. I have no idea how the Veritas course compares to other programs out there, but I do recommend the Veritas prep course for anyone willing to put in the time (and financial investment) to improve one's score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great GMAT prep course!
January 21 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a great GMAT prep course! I took the online class and enjoyed being able to take the course from wherever I was located. The instructor was fantastic and used his experience from taking the GMAT in the class and offered additional help that wasn't in the study prep materials. The materials they provide are extremely helpful but it was all the extra material you receive that makes it so much better. I'm re-taking the GMAT and really needed Veritas to help increase my score and improve my GMAT test taking strategy. So thank you Veritas for all the help and tips/strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course that teaches strategies for beating the GMAT
August 09 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Youngster917 joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Chris Kane
This course aims to teach those above the median. If you need someone to teach you arithmetic skills or practice prime numbers with you, then this course isn't for you. It assumes that you've put in adequate prework going in and that you have a pretty strong grasp of math and grammar. The course concentrates your time on how you figure out exactly what the test is asking you for.

Its a quick-paced class that's engaging and entertaining. I found it very helpful supplementing my personal studies and showing me how to get past the tricky questions. Hopefully, this will be enough to push me from the 90th percentile to the 99th.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best gmat prep decision I could of made
October 27 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By adb09002 joined: October 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Classroom: I was a little skeptical about taking this course online at first. I very quickly came to the realization that I was not missing out from attending an in-person class. Taking the live online version of the course gave me that structure and the human interaction you would expect from attening a class in person.

Materials:
Books and curriculum: The class came with 12 lesson books for each class. You really feel that the way the course is set up that instead of having 12 individual lessons you having one big lesson with 12 individual chapters that build on top of each other.
The adaptive practice test with detailed analysis make it extremely easy to break down concepts that your struggling with and work on timing.

Ravi: This guy was AMAZING. For starters he was extremely intelligent and knew this course and the concepts needed to succeed on the GMAT inside and out. His ability to go beyond the lessons and book to teach us different tips and tricks was invaluable

If you want to break into the 700s this is the course for you, it teaches you the skills you need, the way of thinking to think like the test takers and the practice material to do so.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Prep!!
October 28 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By aagarver joined: October 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I recently completed the Veritas online course taught by Ravi Sreerama. The structure of the course was excellent, covering 12 major disciplines that directly translate into succeeding with the quantitative and verbal sections of the GMAT. Several years ago I took the live class and the online class was every bit as effective. The instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was exceptional! He was able to navigate, interpret, and lend insight into the complexities that the GMAT questions bring – allowing me to see the “tricks and shortcuts” necessary to succeed. He’s an excellent instructor! I highly recommend Veritas and Ravi for your GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great course and instructor
November 26 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By matthewsgrant joined: August 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
I would highly reccomend Veritas Prep. I came into the course a clean (green) slate. I really had no experience with the GMAT and its general structure. Ethan Toras-Whitehill was a great instructor. It is difficult keeping people engaged in a classroom let alone online. Ethan however, was able to keep the discussions going and delivered excellent tips and guidance. I was struggling with the Quant section and offline he was able to give some good study aids and was always available to answer questions.

The course itself is very fast paced with two courses a week for six weeks. If you do not do your homework in between classes, you are not getting all that you can out of the class.

The online content is also beneficial with study guides, practice tests, b-school info, and a whole lot more.

In the end, this is the only GMAT course I have taken and therefore cannot compare it to another, but my experiences with the course were excellent. I highly recommend the course and instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fun Times - Decent Content
November 28 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Toronto, Canada | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas course this fall on the recommendation of a friend who had enjoyed it and subsequently scored well on the GMAT. My experience was much the same.

Bobby is a great guy. He's smart and does his best to make the class entertaining so you can pay attention after a long day at work. In addition to keeping the course material engaging he also gave the class "MBA Life" tips about the overall experience that were always fun. I ended up creating a study group with 5 others from my class (which Bobby encourages) and we went out for drinks a few times. All good on that side of things.

Unfortunately, the downside of all the fun is that during class you very rarely get to the more difficult material at the end of each lesson. Depending on where you are scoring that is not necessarily such a bad thing, but for me it was always a bit of a letdown. Otherwise he is a great teacher and the Veritas material is very strong (I preferred it over both the official guide and the Kaplan books) and easy to follow along with on your own in case you don't get to it in class.

All in all a solid 4 out of 5 and I would recommend it to anyone looking to boost their score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
a good course
December 09 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 25, 2012 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
In general Veritas is a good course but I have attended 3 gmat courses and I can say that there is better ones in the market. My online course teacher is very friendly but the online course follows the book content one to one so it is not necessary. If you want to take advantage of Veritas I suggest taking on-demand lesson. It gives you everything you can take from online lesson plus in a much more good harmony. Veritas is a leader course in this area but it is for more basic concepts and if you target 600s. I thank all the Veritas family for putting effort on me and afterwards giving me some admission help.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Course
February 17 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By s4sehgal joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Repairing for the GMAT exam, I was lost where to start until I was pointed to Veritas preparation through google search. Although I am from technical background, but was totally rusty with high school maths skills . On top of that, the verbal section made no sense to me when I looked up official GMAT study guide.

Luckily surfing internet on how to prepare for GMAT in a short time, I ended up on Veritas GMAT introduction class. From the very first sentence Brian (the course instructor) made a lot of sense behind the GMAT methodology and how to approach the test logically.

After going through the Veritas on demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Veritas instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner.

All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me. One useful tip though: Make sure you practise the GMAT simulated exams before appearing in real one. I lacked this component but will do better on my next try.


Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
108 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more