Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [542]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
560-710-760 Finally Done
November 11 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Danbstn joined: September 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I just took the GMAT yesterday and got a 760 Q49 V44. Overall I am happy with the score, I know I should be ecstatic but I keep thinking about the mistakes I made.

So my GMAT journey began about six months ago. I decided to take the GMAT after I interviewed with a school and they said I needed a 650 to be considered a competitive candidate. I have been out of school for more than 10 years and did not have a strong academic background to begin with so I knew I needed help. I looked for a prep class on the internet and decided to go with Veritas. My initial reasons for choosing them were because the time frame and location fit perfectly into my plan.

I enrolled in the live course in Santa Monica. The class was small, only four of us which was great. The books were well written and I learned a lot.

I have to say the best part of the course was the instructor. His name is Ravi Sreerama and he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He broke down the problems in a way that made them easy to understand. Not only was he great at teaching but he gave me the encouragement and motivation that I needed to reach my goals. I took my first practice test about halfway through the course and it did not look good. I was averaging about 560. I didn't know if I would make it. I continued to study about 2 hours a day and by the time the class finished I was testing in the high 600s.

I continued to study for two weeks after the course ended and then took the test. I was so nervous that I barely slept for two days before the test. I ended up with a 710, Q46 V42. I was happy with the score but I knew I could do better. I had to focus on work for the next three months so I put the GMAT out of my mind. Then I decided to study again and retake the test. It was not a decision I took lightly, to retake the test after getting above 700 is usually not a good idea but in my case with my weak academic background I decided it was necessary if I wanted to go to a to 10 school.

This time I studied using Manhattan GMAT materials because I already did most of the questions from Veritas. I studied in all my free time which wasn't much and after two months I retook it and got a 760.

The only thing I did not like about Veritas was their technique for sentence correction. I thought the Manhattan Sentence Correction Guide was better, at least for me it was. Also, I think they should put a greater emphasis on the OG guides and problem sets. These were essential to my success. I did almost every problem in the OG13 edition and OG Quant. The GMAT Prep question pack was also great. Overall I think Veritas was well worth the money and I was very satisfied with the live course. The quality of their instructor was great and I don't think I would have gotten a 760 if it was not for Ravi Sreerama.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Instructor, Great Course!
November 16 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By srosas86 joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After months of unproductive self study and 1 dismal GMAT score, I decided to make an investment in a prep course. Of course, I wasn’t sure whether my investment would pay off. I decided to take Veritas Prep after doing some research and asking a few friends who had conquered the GMAT. I can honestly say, that Veritas Prep was an excellent choice.

Our instructor Ravi Sreerama was instrumental to my break-through on the GMAT. Not only did he build up my confidence and give us some extremely helpful strategies, but he trained us to be GMAT beasts! Honestly, if you’re looking for a great course and great prep materials, go with Veritas Prep. I’d also strongly encourage you to ask what days Ravi teaches – you won’t regret it. My GMAT test is less than 10 days away, but I’m feeling good about it thanks to Veritas Prep and Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good Course, Awesome Instructor
November 28 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 16, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Given that I completed my undergraduate degree over ten years ago, the emphasis on classroom hours in conjunction with adaptive practice exams made Veritas Prep the best choice for me. I was also extremely fortunate to have a great instructor leading our class. Our instructor did a tremendous job of creating an atmosphere that was relaxed, yet focused. The atmosphere greatly contributed to making everyone feel comfortable enough to participate in class, thereby enhancing the overall experience.

Our instructor also encouraged us to review the course materials in between classes, and ask questions that he could then address before the group either before or after class. Both the instructors tips and course materials provided a good starting block for my GMAT preparation, and I cannot recommend both more highly.

I think the only area in which Veritas can improve is in its facilities, especially in ensuring each facility can provide the tools (such as black board, dry erase board, markers, etc.) necessary for an instructor to effectively teach a class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course!
November 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cseibert joined: November 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
If you are looking for a GMAT prep course, look no further! Veritas prep was extremely helpful. From the moment I signed up the guys at Veritas made everything very convenient. They overnighted my books to me because I signed up last minute and made themselves available for questions at any time. They understand that most of us are very busy with work and were flexible with attending classes on different nights.

My instructor, Travis Morgan, was phenomenal. He was able to teach difficult concepts in simple ways so that everyone could understand. Veritas dissects the GMAT so that you know exactly what to expect and gives many helpful hints so that you know how to think like the test makers. The books that come with the course actually explain short cuts to doing the problems and walk you through step-by-step.

Seriously everyone in my class was very happy with the course and felt that it was well worth the money. Veritas also allows you to repeat the course free of charge for the first year after your class!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
This course will open your eyes to the world of the GMAT! BEST course out there...
December 05 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By alexandervien joined: December 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Prior to taking this course, I wasn't too familiar with the test and had only dabbled in self-study. After taking it - I feel like I know all the ins and outs of the test and how to score well. The Veritas Full Course is not only a great value for your money, but it gives you the necessary tools to succeed at the GMAT.

For around $1500, you get a full set of Veritas books (covering each of the topics tested on the GMAT), a 42 hour in person course, and complete access to their online site which includes 15 CATs, quizzes on each topic, and on-demand lessons for each topic. The books you get are high quality and cover each topic of the test in-depth as well as provide great practice problems for each topic that are indicative of the level of difficulty seen on the test. The online stuff is also great and the CATs are very close to the real thing in terms of question variety and scoring.

Now, about the course - it will most definitely open your eyes to the test and will give you the opportunity to master the patterns and topics tested so that you can achieve well. The best part about the course was our instructor - Ravi Sreerama. This dude was amazing! Not only is he an incredibly smart guy (just in general) but he's incredibly knowledgable about the GMAT and will give you the tools to succeed! He knows everything there is to know about the test and comes to each lecture prepared to teach you how to succeed. His teaching style was great - he gives you encouragement where needed, but also knows when to tell you to man up and be accountable when you're studying on your own (time yourself when doing practice problems!, take practice tests every week!, Review your mistakes thoroughly so you don't make the same ones!). After taking the course with Ravi - you will feel inspired, confident, and ready to succeed. He's that awesome. I'm not sure what locations he teaches at - but I'd say take the course at Pasadena if at all possible - because I know he teaches that one. He can get you that 700 score that you dream about!

What're you waiting for? Take this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome Product
February 13 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By taylormagrath joined: February 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas was excellent at helping me prepare for the GMAT. I found myself very easily internalizing the strategies the instructors taught and applying them on the test itself. It got to the point that I would analyze the questions and answers in the same style (and, occasionally, the same voice) as my instructors. The Veritas books are exceptionally good at distilling down the core concepts, and providing plenty of practice material to become a true master of each style of question. The instructors are also incredibly personable and make a point of making themselves available as resources both during the course and after.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth the Cost
March 11 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Wacker, IL USA |
Kevin was more than I expected as an instructor. It is hard enough to engage over thirty 20+ year olds for 3 hours, but he was able to get participation from everyone throughout the course. He truly cared about your individual progress and doing everything in his power to increase your understanding.

The course material Veritas provides is well worth the cost. The books, online resources, practice tests, and admissions counseling were even more helpful than the actual classes. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT. The only thing I would improve is better directions on where the class was being taken and parking/transportation options for the Gleacher Center in Chicago.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course! Be prepared to take the time to make the most of it...
June 25 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Overall, I am very happy with the the Veritas Prep online course. The course helped me with the Quant section, especially, since there are more concrete applications/ learning tools for Quant than for the Verbal section.

There are a ton of valuable resources, ranging from the live courses to the numerous homework problems, 12 in-depth books, quizzes for each topic, practice tests, videos of previous courses, David Newland's website with great articles (DVGCC.com) etc. It's great having explanations for all questions, both in practice problems and practice tests, so that anyone can really learn from mistakes.

My score went up by more than 100 points when I took the official GMAT post-course. I believe I could improve the score even more if I choose to take it again, but my score is within range of what I was hoping for. It's important that whoever chooses to take this course is ready to put in the time to take advantage of all these resources (just attending the classes will not magically improve your score). The more time you give yourself to study (12 weeks seems ideal; the 6 weeks I had were crunched), the more you can pace your studies without having to detract from other things in life. I have no idea how the Veritas course compares to other programs out there, but I do recommend the Veritas prep course for anyone willing to put in the time (and financial investment) to improve one's score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great GMAT prep course!
January 21 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a great GMAT prep course! I took the online class and enjoyed being able to take the course from wherever I was located. The instructor was fantastic and used his experience from taking the GMAT in the class and offered additional help that wasn't in the study prep materials. The materials they provide are extremely helpful but it was all the extra material you receive that makes it so much better. I'm re-taking the GMAT and really needed Veritas to help increase my score and improve my GMAT test taking strategy. So thank you Veritas for all the help and tips/strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course that teaches strategies for beating the GMAT
August 09 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Youngster917 joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Chris Kane
This course aims to teach those above the median. If you need someone to teach you arithmetic skills or practice prime numbers with you, then this course isn't for you. It assumes that you've put in adequate prework going in and that you have a pretty strong grasp of math and grammar. The course concentrates your time on how you figure out exactly what the test is asking you for.

Its a quick-paced class that's engaging and entertaining. I found it very helpful supplementing my personal studies and showing me how to get past the tricky questions. Hopefully, this will be enough to push me from the 90th percentile to the 99th.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
102 points
International Student Score Improvement
106 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more