Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [605]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Ravi the GMAT Master
February 19 | 2015

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 47 | 18 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
Ravi knows the GMAT like the back of his hand. If you are serious about doing well this is the guy that will push you to do better while building up your confidence. Great facilitator of class discussion (even with an online class) and a superb instructor who truly enjoys what he does.

Ravi was always willing to help out via the private chat and Veritas has truly mastered a system that will help you get the score you want, if you put in the effort. If you do the required work and give yourself ample time to study, you will succeed in conquering the GMAT exam.

Can't say enough great things about this class and strongly recommend it to all who want to be among the top performers.

Will update my review after I get my official score but I feel much more confident in my ability to think like the testmaker and score 700+


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep GMAT Course - Teacher Ravi Sreerama
December 06 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lovDr8 joined: December 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First of all I want to say that this was my second time taking a GMAT course, the first one I wasn't satisfied at all with so I decided to switch companies and choose Veritas due to their amazing reviews online. I have to say, this course was 100 times better than my previous one and couldn't have better prepared me for this test. Everything from the Skillbuilders to online HW help to practice tests were great, and in abundance. Secondly, I wanted to say that I probably had the best teacher in Ravi Sreerama. He actually made you want to come to class and learn the different methods/approaches to the GMAT. Not only was he a genius, but he really understood how to relate problems to his students. I would 100% recommend him if you are looking to take a Veritas prep course.

Don't leave too many reviews usually but definitely think that both Ravi and Veritas deserved one for this.

-Oren
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course, Great Instructor!
December 16 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By elledee joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After I took the GMAT and realized I needed guided improvement, I did some research and decided that Veritas's course with instructor, Ravi Sreerama, would be the best choice. Now finished with the course, I must say that my expectations were matched, if not surpassed.
Being extremely smart, yet knowing how to adapt his explanations to our levels, Ravi taught us the "ins and outs" of the GMAT in a wholesome, simplistic manner. Most importantly, he emphasized how we should leverage answer choices - many times demonstrating how the answers could be found within a minute just through thinking like the test maker. Applying these techniques to practice questions in class and at home, I was happy to see how effective they were in choosing the correct answer. In addition, Ravi encouraged us to go beyond our comfort levels in order to prepare us for the time rigors of test day. For example, he stressed doing mental math whenever possible and solving algebraic equations with only one step. And his constant encouragement that we all have the capability to score in the 99th percentile also helped my confidence level.
Although I have not yet retaken the actual GMAT, my score has jumped 100 points on my most recent practice test. Even at work, my boss noticed that I was processing tasks more quickly than usual and I answered that my stronger work performance had to do with the class I was taking. So, based on my experience, I would HIGHLY recommend the Veritas course with Ravi to people looking to invest in their GMAT scores and future careers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Probably the BEST prep course I have EVER taken...
February 16 | 2015

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rajbajbone joined: February 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First, I must say that I was hesitant before taking this course. I thought I was one of those "must attend a face to face classroom in order to pay attention and succeed" type of people. After realizing that this just wasn't feasible (full-time day job, married with a new born kid etc), I went ahead and signed up for the Live Online course with Ravi that happened every Saturday and Sunday from 11-2 (EST). Course was 6 weeks (2 classes each weekend). VERY doable and VERY flexible for me.

As someone who was very rusty, especially with my Quant skills, this course set me straight. Ravi is EXTREMELY helpful to all students, willing to discuss and explain things offline/through office hours/email as well. A true teacher (who by the way has taken both the LSAT and GMAT and done very well on them). He just understands what the GMAT is about, expects ALOT from you (so bring your A game and don't slack), and is able to convey all of this without wasting any time. Might I also add that the "assistant" David Ingbur added a great touch to the classroom chat and made things that much more interesting.

I would HIGHLY recommend this course and HIGHLY recommend Ravi as the instructor. 100% exceeded my expectations and with so many courses out there, it's refreshing to have had this experience. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep Online -- I personally loved the Veritas program
January 12 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sweiner joined: November 5, 2009 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
There seems to be quite a bit of suspicion regarding positive comments on this site, so let me preface my post by saying I don’t work for either of these testing companies. I’m just a guy who had ok grades in college and realized he’d need to completely destroy the GMAT to have any prayer of getting into a decent MBA program. I chose to do the Veritas Prep online course and admittedly really don’t know much about Manhattan GMAT, so I can’t compare the two curriculums. I can, however, say that I was extremely pleased with my GMAT score after completing the Veritas Prep course.

Before starting any of the online lessons, I completed one of the practice exams offered in the online course and scored a 610. I realize that you could argue the validity of using this score as a baseline considering that it isn’t “an official GMAT score,” but it’s, quite frankly, the only score I have to go off, as I’d never taken the GMAT before. After completing the Veritas course, I sat for the GMAT last week and scored a 730. Any way you slice it, baseline score or no baseline score, that is a pretty good place to be when testing day has come and gone.

I personally loved the Veritas program. The online course gives you a ton of flexibility and more tests and practice problems than you would ever really want to do. It puts all the resources that you need to get a great score on the exam at your fingertips, and helps to ensure that the time you’re investing in studying for the GMAT is being used efficiently. I think the highest compliment you can really pay to a preparatory course is that it ultimately gives you control over how well you will do on an exam, such that the more you dedicate yourself to their curriculum, the higher you’ll score on the exam. I honestly believe that the Veritas course meets this criterion, and that you can rest assured that there won’t be any surprises come exam day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas is way to go
March 05 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I chose Veritas because my co-worker recommended this place to me. First time he got around 550 points, but after taking the course from Veritas his score went up to 700 points.

Veritas provide well organized resources, from fundamental to complicated problems. Also, online recorded instructions, online help, quiz, and 17 practice tests are very useful resources for me to prepare for GMAT. The plethora of resources amazes me.

My instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was simply awesome. He definitely knew the material, how to teach and motivate students. I really had a great experience with Veritas!

I will definitely recommend Veritas to my friends who are studying for GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Ravi is the greatest!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 24, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas course was incredibly valuable in both the quantitative and verbal sections, but particualrly quant. Our instructor, Ravi was the best! He really knew the material and was able to answer every question we had clearly and effectively. He knew the best shortcuts to attack each problem which has really helped me save time in and put energy into more complicated 700 level questions. He is also able to quickly pick up on each student's weakness and really cared about making sure that everyone was making progress. I highly encourage students to take Ravi's class if they go with Veritas.

Overall, the services offered by Veritas are top notch. The customer service is incredibly attentive and available. The online help is invaluable and the service even graded my practice AWA papers within a couple of days with notes on how to improve each paragraph. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great class, highly recommended!
October 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 21, 2012 | 2 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
This review is for a 6-week GMAT prep class through Veritas. This is the second time I took the class (you actually get the a free retake), and was pretty impressed with the level of material. The GMAT is not really the most exciting subject, however my instructor Ravi did a phenomenal job. He did great at encouraging his students, and really explaining what was up. He didn't use any smoke and mirrors and just say 'oh, you're doing a great job.' His approach was very straight forward, and created a very relaxing yet focused environment. I am pretty sure that he was able to get 100% class participation, to one degree or another.

The material on the My Veritas portal is also pretty useful. In case you miss a class (or need a refresher), you can watch a recorded "class" which is pretty engaging. Also, I found it useful that all of the homework problems are on the website. It is useful to get used to answering everything on a computer, as opposed to a printed book, because this best helps simulate a real test environment.

While, Ravi was a great instructor, I was a little disappointed with the level of quality in the course material books. I think they were very thorough and detailed, however they were plagued with numerous typos and errors. I can certainly understand that a first print of a book can have typos, but in a book that people rely to study on this is just unacceptable. Veritas should have spent more of their resources is creating a grade A product, instead of rushing this first edition to be published.

Overall, I highly recommend this course. It is a little on the pricey side, but I think it is a worthwhile investment. I think the issues I was experiencing with typos in the course material are being resolved as I write this review, so I wouldn't use that to dissuade you from taking this course. Lastly, I would strongly recommend taking the 6-Saturday course. I highly advise against taking the Tues-Thursday evening course...if you are a working professional during the day, you will be tired by the time the class roles around, and you will not get the most out of your experience. Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Instructor
October 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I think the Veritas books could use improvements on its explanations. My instructor Ravi was great though. I took a few make up classes w/other instructors and Ravi was by far the best. He trims the fat and tells you real life advice that will help with your studying. He emphasizes on self study, which is true. Taking the course will supplement your studies; 85% of how well you do on the test depends on how much you study, 15% is the prep course.

The veritas site has a lot of practice tests and quizzes. The practice tests are very helpful. You must do the coursework in the books to take full advantage of the classes and utilizing review time during classes.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great teacher
November 07 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi sets you up from day 1 with a process to succeed. He drives home the point of learning from your mistakes. If you are dedicated to the process and you put the work in you will almost certainly see positive results. Ravi keeps class interesting with nice anecdotes and gets everyone participating. He's great at showing you what will be the best bang for the buck to study time-wise. Most importantly he cares about your individual success as a student and is willing to help you out when you have specific problems. I know I was having a lot of issues a few days before the test and Ravi gave me some good advice to keep me calm for test day.

The course in general is pretty good for overall review. The books explain concepts well and are organized intuitively. The HW format is nice because it gets you in the habit of answering questions on a computer screen. I also found the practice tests to be fairly accurate to the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
107 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more