Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [331]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 and get 14 free business school guides ($420 value) + get a $250 bonus with GMAT Club!”

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
I love Veritas!
April 11 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Chicago-Financial District, IL USA | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
I took the Veritas full course and loved it! Originally I chose Veritas because of the amount of classroom hours. I think that all of their materials were good and it was nice having so many practice problems. Also, since you are in the classroom for so long you actually learn the concepts tested in the quant section as opposed to just being able to locate the answer. The only problem that I had with the Veritas materials is that during the actual GMAT I saw a question format in the verbal section that I had not previously seen. Outside of that I was very happy with my experience and would recommend this course to everyone!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Top Notch Course
May 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By draysh joined: April 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Gardena, CA USA | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
I signed up for a weekend class with Veritas with the thought that I only needed something to force me to get me started with my studying. Long story short, I was very wrong. Veritas helped me see that there is so much more to doing well on the test than simply practice and some conceptual knowledge. I was fairing somewhat decently with GMAT practice questions prior to the course but I was not confident that I was at that desired 700 level ability, and the explanations in the practice book I had purchased (ahem, Princeton Review) were just not cutting it.

In regard to the class itself, I can say nothing but good things. The four 9-hour day weekend course was quick but highly informative. It did take a little mental stamina to keep focused for that much time at once, but it was definitely rewarding. Brian, the instructor, was a real pro and it was easy to see that he really cared about the quality and usefulness of the class. The materials he passed out were very structured and succinct. Everything he went over had a purpose, so you really get value in the time you invest. Most importantly, the course doesn't just serve as a quick fix for lack of self-study as I had originally thought. Rather, it re-teaches you how to approach the exam by helping you be more efficient and think in a manner that avoids all the pitfalls the GMAT likes to throw at you. I have taken several practice exams already and am consistently scoring in the 700 range. I know that Veritas played a huge part in that.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
In two months I went from having no idea what was on the GMAT to scoring 750.
April 17 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By DNidess joined: April 17, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA |
I knew from the first class that Veritas was going to be worth my time and money and I was not disappointed. The course breaks down the different GMAT sections into major sub-topics and gives you techniques to solve every type of question in a timely manner. I know that I would not have figured most of these out on my own.

My instructor, Anthony, was an expert on the subject and, more importantly, could convey it succinctly and in a manner that made it very easy to pick up. He kept the classes interesting; it never seemed like a trial to sit through the seven hours on Saturday, and he even made himself available to answer questions after the course had finished. As a professional teacher myself, I consider his abilities to be top of the line.

Although the instruction was the centerpiece of the course, the additional materials also made a huge difference. The hundreds of questions in each book and the many practice tests and performance trackers on the website were key to getting in the necessary ‘reps’. By the time I actually took the GMAT I felt completely comfortable with the types of questions on it, the curves used to throw you off, and the time constraints.

I would recommend Veritas and Anthony to anybody who is serious about doing well on the GMAT. If I had not gotten the score I wanted the first time through, I would have instantly gone through their course again to further improve. But that wasn't necessary. Once was plenty.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT!!!
May 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Choosing to take the VERITAS Prep GMAT Course was totally the right decision! I cannot say enough positive about the VERITAS Prep ADVANTAGE! By taking their GMAT course I feel much more empowered to do well than I could have thought imaginable!

The decision actually began by reading this fabulous book called, "Your MBA Game Plan," by Omari Bouknight and Scott Shrum who, as per their book, are also directors for VERTIAS Prep! … and the experience with VERITAS continued improving from there.

The course materials are fantastic! They are clearly written for all to understand and touch on the elementary topics needed for the test plus the ins and outs of navigating through the exam experience. The online practice and diagnostic tests help to refine your skills and get the timing down to an art form! The supplementary “On Demand Lessons” are very easy to follow and are interactive modules that adapt to your learning speed. Put simply, VERITAS arms you with all the tools needed and then some. In addition if you have questions while using their on-line system, support is right there to assist!

And to top the experience off the instructor, Rob Stringham, was PHENOMENAL!!!! He interactively stayed connected with each student, no matter what their skill level, and brought the whole class together to improve each student’s ability to do well on the exam! He accomplished this with an unbelievable amount of energy and focus throughout the entire seven week class! I was really in awe of his teaching style! Rob was very knowledgeable, approachable, down to earth, and amenable to give whatever assistance you felt you may need to conquer this exam!

I repeat VERITAS Prep is WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
120 Points in One Month! Thank You Veritas Tutoring!
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By wwjdtogil joined: May 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Chicago-Financial District, IL USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I recommend the tutoring service of Veritas Prep. I had Kevin Richardson as my tutor. With his help, I raised my GMAT score by 120 points within a month! I took the regular Veritas course about 1.5 years ago, but did not take the GMAT right after the course. After 1.5 years, my skills became rusty, and that resulted in a disappointing score. Kevin helped me by analyzing my skill-set and pointing out my fortes and my weaknesses.

He then customized his teaching methods per my needs and built up my confidence along the way. After being burned by the low score, it was important to have Kevin providing me with tips for each section and helping me to regain my confidence. His teaching is easy to understand and right to the point. For anyone considering a GMAT tutoring service, I would definitely recommend Kevin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome course and instructor
June 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rrsoccer99 joined: June 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Brooklyn Park, MN USA | Taught by:  Brandon Dorsey
The course was a wonderful experience and exactly what I needed in terms of elite GMAT preparation. If you aspire to attend a top 10 business school, VeritasPrep is most definitely the GMAT prep provider I would recommend.

A thorough understanding of the format, grading, and problems is especially important in order to achieve a score above 700. While studying from the OG may help you achieve a score in the upper 600's, only Veritas and their understanding will move you beyond this threshold. From the teacher to the corporation, Veritas leads the way in ensuring your success when applying to business school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Vertias Prep worth the cost
August 20 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bladen45 joined: June 26, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Washington, DC USA | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
If you are looking for a class that covers every aspect of the GMAT in depth, Veritas Prep should be at the top of your list. Yes the class is expensive but the material presented is worth every penny. It is not
enough to simply know what information is covered on the GMAT. You need to know strategies for
answering each different type of question and Veritas Prep will give you those strategies.

Veritas has excellent material but the real difference maker for me was the instructor. The instructor in
my Veritas Prep class was Eric Maltzer and he was phenomenal. The classes ran late into the evening
(7pm-10pm) on Tuesdays and Thursdays but he did an excellent job presenting the material with energy
and insight. Eric was well prepared for each class and made a good effort to get to know each student. I
had one, sit-down, one-on-one discussion with him but others in my class had two or even three of
these discussions. He made himself available outside of class hours and even after the class was
complete. About 4 weeks after the classes ended I emailed Eric a question about the GMAT and he
responded the same day. He truly cares and wants to see each person he instructs perform well. Like I
said earlier, it isn't enough to simply know the material for the GMAT you need to me mentally agile and creative in how you solve GMAT problems and that's what Eric taught us.

Veritas is good at explaining a section then giving the class a couple of problems to solve. These
problems allow students to apply new knowledge and ask questions. Doing a couple of problems right
away helped the information sink in more for me.
My starting score on 25 May was 580 (38Q, 29V, determined through a Veritas GMAT exam).

Immediately after the class finished my score was 600 and I had done almost no studying beyond sitting through class. I know a 20-point jump isn't much but my verbal (weakest part of the test for me) went from a 29 to a 35 simply by sitting through class. Three days before I took the GMAT, I took my final practice test (again through a Veritas GMAT exam) and scored a 670 (40Q and 40V). I knew a score that high would get me into the program I wanted so I was completely relaxed going into the exam. I took the GMAT exam on 26 July and scored a 680 (46Q and 37V). I scored a 4.5 on the analytical writing. To Veritas’s credit they had excellent material on analytical writing and Eric gave an exceptional 90 minute class on writing. I simply chose not to focus my efforts on the writing portion and it showed. I received a 6 on the integrated reasoning section. Veritas had good material on the integrated reasoning section and Eric had taken a GMAT exam with the integrated reasoning about two weeks before the class ended so he had a lot of insight on that section. I felt my time was better spent focusing on the quantitative and verbal sections so that’s what I did. Overall my total score improved by 100 points from my first practice exam to the actual GMAT. Simply put, the results speak for themselves.

On 15 August 2012 I received my acceptance letter from the University of Michigan. That was my
ultimate goal and I truly believe Veritas Prep and specifically, Eric Maltzer were a big part of me being
accepted. I am now enrolled and starting classes on 5 September. If you need a high GMAT score to get
into a business program I highly recommend Veritas Prep. If you’re in the DC area, you should look up
Eric Maltzer.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best of the Best!!!
July 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AliS619 joined: July 6, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Veritas Prep has blown me away! They were hands down the best option for my GMAT prep. I researched so many other prep courses, and even went to a couple Kaplan live classes to see what they had to offer. Veritas was the best. Everyone I interacted with online or via the phone was professional, courteous, and very helpful.

Matt Douglas is the King of Prep courses! If you want to take a Prep course, take it with Matt! He knows his stuff and he keeps it interesting. He genuinely cares and wants you to do well. Its rare to find people that do it for more than a paycheck. Matt does it because he wants you to do well, he wants to help you succeed.

The books and question sets were great, the books all being split up into one book per class was very helpful, and the iPhone/iPad app was the cherry on top. If you are looking to take a Prep class, go to Veritas. You will not be disappointed! Veritas is great, you can do a retake of the class for free, which I am going to do very soon just to hone in and perfect my skills before I take the test. Thank you Veritas!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Extensive study material!! Prepares you thoroughly
July 31 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By akalpita joined: January 15, 2010 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA | Taught by:  Stuart Park
I was looking for GMAT class that will offer me longer duration class and Veritas offered 42 hours of classroom plus extensive study material.

Material is very good for practice. It prepares you to take the GMAT. I am confident after taking class. I like their online assistance as well. And 15 tests are a good practice. After doing all this and then OG I am confident to take the test now.

Our instructor Stuart Park was very knowledgable and very friendly. He would show us the short approach to a problem and make concepts clear for everyone. He often stayed back late ( after 10 pm) when one of us had any questions or needed help solving any problem. And mostly, he motivated a lot to take the practice tests and how to approach the GMAT.

I am glad I took this course. I would say, it's better if you already know what all is covered in GMAT and take the class, it will benefit you more.

Only problem I had was getting into the building. You need access card to get into and Stuart told us some of the old students didn't return their access cards so they were short of it. So, if you are late you have to call up and then get into the building. But it seems they are changing the location.

Overall, I totally recommend this course for anyone who needs lot of preparation and needs to gain confidence on how to beat the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course, but make sure that you have the time for HW!
August 01 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 1, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
This was a great a course, and I felt that it helped me to achieve a level of understanding that I could not have reached on my own, or only with the aid of books. The interaction allowed me to not only see what I was doing wrong, but how to best fix it, and how to keep form making the same mistakes in the future.

My only recommendation is that students budget enough time to do the homework in between each session. In order to fully benefit from the lessons, it's best to use the beginning of each class to review homework from previous sessions. This not only gives the instructor a chance to help, but also gives the entire class a chance to compare answers or methodologies for solving problems.

This was a great experience, and I feel that it really helped my understanding of the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
103 points
International Student Score Improvement
111 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more