Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [457]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Veritas Prep

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

 

Save $100 on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great course
August 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
I had a great experience with the Veritas Prep system.  From the first day it was very easy to get in contact with Veritas reps and I always felt like I could get a quick answer for any problems I have. 

It seems like they recommend study tools that will help you, not just ones provided by them.  My instructor was great and kept a good balance of fully explaining difficult problems or strategies and keeping the class moving. I liked taking the class online and having access to the recordings. I have not taken the GMAT yet so I did not report my score improvement.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course and great teachers
August 27 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Darren Heyman
This class was very effective. There is a ton of material to study and the classes are very informative. The teacher does a great job of covering the concepts while keeping things interesting. As a student you have access to all of the recorded lesson, which are great to review between classes.

Our instructor was always there to help, he gave us his email and phone number. I really felt that he cared about our success as students. He did a great job at giving us different ways to address different problems to make sure that everyone in the class understood the material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course
September 11 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online |
I think it was a great course. Its does not just teach how to trick the test but makes you understand the concepts, which will help you succeed. The teacher was great at the verbal section and data sufficiency section. I learned a lot. You will also learn tricks which you would have not seen before. We had out own class website will all the notes, which I thought was neat. The teacher was also up to date on GMAC's policy. I still do not know how much my score improved but I know that my speed in accuracy in verbal increase a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Just What I Needed
October 13 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Taking the class online worked very well with my schedule. My teacher was very thorough and effective.

I watched the "On Demand" lessons in addition to the live online lectures. Although these recorded lectures were thorough, I am glad that I purchased the Full Course with the live lectures.

I was in the military, and over those four years I forgot much of what is tested on the GMAT. Unfortunately, I went and took the GMAT almost completely unprepared. I enrolled in the Full Course of Veritas a month later in order to better guide my study schedule. After completion of the live lectures, I watched the On Demand lectures and worked through the workbooks for practice. I took the GMAT a second time less than a month after finishing the live lectures, scoring 90 points (29 percentile) higher.

I would highly recommend the Full Course of Veritas to anyone preparing for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best if the best
September 26 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Collinpike joined: September 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   Phoenix, AZ USA |
Veritas is hands down the best of the best when it comes to GMAT testing. With 17 simulated tests and quality questions at varying difficultly you are certainly going to get your monies worth. Hours of instruction and detailed test taking tips will allow any test taker the opportunity to score in the 700's.

I prepared for the test prior to taking the class and following the completion of the Veritas program I realized how unprepared I really was! Highly recommend and well worth the cost!! My instruction was top notch and the instructor handeled all class room questions with vigor and helped relieve my test taking fears, as I finally felt prepared!! Go get'em!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Tutoring is a great investment - Get David Newland
October 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AJ12 joined: October 14, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Boston (Fin District), MA USA | Taught by:  David Newland
I would recommend online tutoring to anyone who is serious about maximizing their preparation time. Group courses are useful, but tutoring allows you to learn at your pace and to focus on those question types which give you the most difficulty. It is the most efficient way to fix your weaknesses. The GMAT is not difficult if you prepare correctly.

I paid for 28 hours of online tutoring with Veritas. I was assigned David Newland as my instructor. It was the best money I could have spent. Within six weeks of working with David, I scored 770 and 760 on the GMAT Prep Software PP1 and PP2 tests. On the real exam I scored 700 (90%), comprising Quant 47 (73%) and Verbal 39 (88%). The drop between the PP tests and the real test was mostly due to nerves and bad time management on the day.

Could I have scored 700+ without David? Probably not given I only had six weeks to prepare. David was excellent. With 8+ years of GMAT experience he knows how to solve every question the test can throw at you. He explained methodology in a clear and easy to apply fashion. He was also flexible and we could frequently schedule sessions on short notice.

The GMAT is one of the most important aspects of your MBA application. Yes the rest of your application matters, but in reality if you want to be competitive in applying to the good schools you need a strong GMAT.

Tutoring is worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Veritas 36-Hour Weekend Course Review
October 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kiwikool2009 joined: October 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:   Gardena, CA USA | Taught by:  Mia McIver
**Disclaimer: The location of this course says "Gardena, CA USA" because for some reason the drop-down options did not include Los Angeles, CA. So to clarify, I actually took this course in Los Angeles, and more specifically in Culver City, CA USA. GMAT Club please correct your drop-down menu options!!!

I first heard about Veritas from a friend who took the 6-week course and really liked it. Encouraged by this, I decided last minute to register for the weekend course 2 days before the class started. The staff at Veritas was very helpful in getting me registered on such short notice. They even shipped my books to me FedEx priority so that I received them the very next day before class started.

The class was held in Culver City at the Courtyard Marriott in a room which was very nice and clean. (I had sat in on a free class offered by another prep course competitor and the classroom was very old and dingy, hence I was very impressed by the Courtyard.) My class size was about 8 people and everyone was very friendly and supportive of one another.

I thought that my teacher was very nice and helpful. She took the time to answer any questions and seemed well prepared to teach a GMAT course. She encouraged class participation so that time went by very fast and I always felt like part of the discussion. I never felt bored and she never made me feel dumb for asking any questions or not understanding a problem.

Veritas gives you 12 books divided by subject matter - arithmetic, critical reading, geometry, sentence correction etc. Since I took the weekend course, each Saturday and Sunday was 7 hours long with a hour break for lunch. This was for 3 weekends so we covered roughly 2 books per day (~ 3 hours each). I liked learning while going through the book. It helped organize my thought process and provided a good structure to the course.

The course material is very user-friendly. It logically takes you through the material in an organized way. Each subject matter is first broken down to its very basic parts so that you can refresh yourself on very basic math procedures for example. I think having a strong foundation in the basics helps to understand the more complex material later. Additionally each page of the books is not convoluted with information, so you do not feel overwhelmed. My class happened to be the first class to receive the newly revised edition of books by Veritas. Thus, there were some typos that sometimes caused me to think I got the answer wrong when in actuality I was right. This was sometimes frustrating but overall the errors are rare.

The weekend course is great if you are someone like me who works full-time and is exhausted after a day's work and couldn't possibly fathom attending a 7pm-10pm class two days a week (the 6-week evening course.) But 3 weekends does go by fast, so you will have to play some catch up on reviewing the material once the class is done. I think the course laid a great foundation for me, and now I am on my own to build upon the foundation and refine my skills. The great thing is that your online student account is accessible for a year and you can re-take another Veritas course for free at any time for one year after.

I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get started studying for the GMAT. Not to mention you get 36 hours total of class time with Veritas as compared to the measly 22-27 hours offered by prep course competitors. Thanks for reading this, and good luck with the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth the money - especially good prep for math section
October 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By JCCH joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Excellent choice for for someone 2 -3 months away from exam time. I felt that the course brought together some great elements, here are the highlights:

1. Loved that the course was held in an office building in the financial district after hours. It was really convenient to go from work to class twice a week. I only missed one class (and you can have the option to make it up online or by attending another instructor's class) which is largely due to the location - no excuses

2. Great set of prep books - there are 12 in all and you bring one for each class. Nice system, and there are tons of practice questions by topic in each book. I thought that the skill builder and lesson sections were written pretty well too - easy to follow for individual study

3. Great instructor. Matt was particularly effective at teaching the math sections. I have much more confidence in algebra, geometry, and statistics questions than before the course. Would recommend Matt without reservation to anyone - he is truly and expert on the subject matter as well as a really effective teacher and approachable guy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Recommend to anyone
October 29 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Babak88 joined: October 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
The Veritasprep course was helpful in terms of learning strategies. For gmat, it's more about skills than knowledge. Therefore, one needs to learn the strategy. That being said, I recommend students to purchase On Demand course instead of live online course. It's cheaper and more productive. The on demand instructor does a good job of explaining the material. But it's about your biology. If you think you don't have enough discipline or can't study effectively without an instructor, go ahead and purchase online course.

The customer service is also great. By the way, I still haven't taken the exam because I'm undecided about timing. But I do recommend taking a prep course to any student unless you're really good with math and strategy exams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Teacher, Great Course, Great Results
November 13 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:   DC Area, DC USA | Taught by:  Eric Maltzer
Taking a Veritas Prep GMAT course with Eric Maltzer is the best thing you can possibly do to fully prepare for the GMAT and achieve your highest possible score.

Veritas is the real deal when it comes to GMAT test prep. I was extremely impressed with the resources available to me. The books, problem sets and online lessons are all very useful tools, as are the 15 realistic practice CAT exams that are available.

If you are looking for a knowledgeable, energetic, hilarious and caring teacher, Eric is your man. You will learn more about the GMAT exam and the test taking experience from Eric than from any book or website. The lessons and strategies that Eric teaches get results. You can tell Eric truly cares about each one of his students - he took the time both before and after each class to answer questions, meet with students, and coach us every step of the way. He did not have to spend so much time outside of class with us, but the fact that he did really proved how much he wanted us to succeed.

If you are looking for magic tricks and cheap guessing strategies, then Veritas is not for you. If you really want to understand the ins and outs of the exam, and how to answer every possible question that the GMAT can throw at you, then sign up for a Veritas Prep course and, if you can, request Eric Maltzer as your teacher. You will not be disappointed.

Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
101 points
International Student Score Improvement
108 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more