Veritas Prep Hourly Packages Reviews
    Number of reviews [28]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 
Veritas Prep
You can receive assistance on any part of your applications from a Head Consultant with admissions experience from a top 10 MBA program or from a School Specialist from any of the top 30 schools.

Excellent Admissions Consultant at Veritas Prep!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rockoutgmat15 joined: December 16, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Marc Feder
I hired Veritas Prep to assist me in applying to business schools. They paired me with an admissions consultant named Mark who was absolutely incredible. He pushed me hard (sometimes mentally draining!) to always make my application more compelling and unique. His overarching theme was, how can I present my application in a way that stands out from the pack and is unique to me (aka others cannot imitate)? Mark has a very solid understanding of the fundamental mindsets of these schools, and his work speaks for itself. He also made himself very available and was fair with hours. I highly recommend Veritas Prep for admissions consulting!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Terrific GMAT and MBA Guidance
December 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
To preface this review, let me clarify that I plan to apply to business school in the Fall of 2015 (to enter in 2016). I completed the Veritas GMAT Prep Course along with two hours of MBA consulting this summer and took the GMAT shortly afterwards.

First the course - Veritas provides a terrific combination of in class guidance, online multimedia (video lectures) and practice tests. Between the three, I had no problem developing a strategy for each problem type that I encountered on the actual test. The structure of the course was intuitive, the pacing was appropriate and the instructor (most importantly) was exceptional. I would have liked to have seen more content targeting the IR section, particularly given how difficult it can be to manage time for this part of the test. Aside from that one shortcoming, I highly recommend the course and accompanying tool kit for anyone who plans to take the GMAT. My score improved by ~50 and was comfortably above the average for top 10 schools.

As for the consulting aspect - I came into the conversation with only a very general sense of the business school application process. My adviser, Matt, was enormously helpful in providing a deeper understanding of the process and how to think about the key criteria that top business schools consider when evaluating potential applicants. More critically, Matt provided a candid assessment of my profile relative to the overall applicant pool and helped me craft a story that would be compelling to MBA admissions officers. He has been extremely supportive after our initial conversation and has continued to help me think through the application timeline post-GMAT. If you plan to sign up for a Veritas course, I strongly recommend coupling that with one of their consulting packages.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Awesome Super Fantastic Incredible Consulting (should be the name)
December 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Montu Gupta
Montu's a stud. Ended up applying (and getting accepted) to a different school, but our sessions help shift my mindset into what admissions officers are looking for. The strength of my application increased tenfold on his recommendations. A wise investment.

As an example, my resume needed to focus on achievements rather than the scope of my work. What might have been pertinent to a potential employer wouldn't paint the picture of what makes me effective in the workplace and as a leader. Montu helped me see the difference and steered me in the right direction.

Here are five more words.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep Admissions Consulting
November 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By AJM123 joined: February 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
I purchased 5 hours of time with Veritas to help refine my story and get strategic advice regarding my applications. I worked with Rachel Shelton, and could not have been more pleased. Her help with refining my career goals and essays, as well as interview prep was invaluable. She was also a great source of support throughout what was an extremely stressful process. Ultimately, I was admitted to Ross, Johnson, Anderson, Kenan-Flagler, and Foster, along with a waitlist spot at Tuck. Even during my decision process, Rachel and Travis (CEO of Veritas) were always available to give me advice. Ultimately, I chose Anderson, and am very happy there. I would highly recommend Veritas to anyone embarking on the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Couldn't have done it without him
November 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By lax44 joined: November 6, 2014 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Max Wein
I worked with Max Wein to complete my application for one of my top 3 school choices. Max was always able to meet when I had questions and to provide feedback when necessary. While my GMAT scores and GPA were competitive for the schools I was applying to, I was by no means a stand out applicant until Max provided his golden touch to my resume and essays. So far I have received invites to interview with 2 of my 3 first round schools, and I am convinced that the help Max provided on my resume and my essays was the distinguishing factor in my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service and great help for essays
November 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 28, 2014 | 5 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
Hey all,

Background:
I have a good international profile. I have a strong (and long) industrial experience. I also have a strong gmat score. I believe i had a fair chance to get accepted to the top MBA program of my choice but i wanted to increase my chances as. Having many years of experience in industry and then suddenly deciding to switch to business was the weak point in my application. I also don’t have significant (or any) amazing extra-curricular activities.

To increase my chances and fill the "holes" in my application i contacted Veritas prep. I read about them on the net (and the book Your MBA game plan which is written by a person who works there).

The process is very smooth, you sign up, they contact you (through the phone) to discuss your profile and where you want to apply. You don’t feel that they are just looking to sell you a package but instead they want to know how far along you are in your preparations and what help you really need. I only wanted help with my essays and so I took the 7 hours package.

Micah Boster was my consultant. An Insead MBA who now works at google. Having a top MBA grad and successful professional is a big plus IMHO. It shows credibility.
First we did a live web cam chat were we discussed my profile and the areas which i need to focus on. Then we started the iteration process with the essays. I sent him my essays and he would comment on them and tell me when things are not clear, where my conclusions are not related to the question, and where i need to expand a point, etc.. We did this back and forth procedure about 10 times. For the first 5/6 iterations were focused on substance. The last ones were about form (English and grammar, work count limit etc...), here again his tips and corrections were spot on. You need to do very well in both in order to have great essays.

The impact on my essays was amazing. Veritas will not do the work on your behalf (which is not the point) but will guide you to present yourself in the best possible manner. The result is that you : show your best side, emphasis what is really important and meaningful, express your thoughts in a clear conscious and elegant manner, reply to the questions being asked and cut back on the not so important stuff.

I got accepted at my “dream” school. Needless to say i am very happy. I also got (free) tips for the interviews.

PS: I think my consultant really likes to help people and this clearly shows in the quality of his work reviewing the essays and the effort he puts into it. Micah did not count the hours; his focus was to help me get in.

I will spend serious money on the MBA program. The (relatively) little I sent on an admission consultant was 100% worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Sam - Veritas prep
October 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Sam Weisz
Sam was great!! She had solid feedback on each version of my Lauder essays and had good strong firsthand knowledge of the Lauder program, which only made me more excited to apply. I only found out about Lauder a few weeks before the deadline and Sam made sure to provide comments on my essays quickly, usually overnight! I always felt Sam had my best interest at heart. She wanted me to get into school and she cared about my life and over all well-being in general. I’m very glad I used Vertias and extremely lucky to have been paired with Sam for the Lauder application!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
THANK YOU Veritas!
June 24 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Barbara
I decided in January it was the best time to go to business school and reached out to Veritas Consulting after taking the GMAT at the end of February. The application deadlines were less than a month away, so I had less than a month to prepare to retake the GMAT and complete every aspect of the application process while working 50+ hours a week. My consultant managed my expectations and was honest and upfront with me from the get go about the serious hurdles I had to overcome, including my below average age, my below average GMAT score, and the fact that I was applying in the last round. I decided to go ahead and apply, and my consultant said that if I was committed to giving it my best, she was too; she would work just as hard as me and make herself readily available since we were working with a condensed timeline. She did just that and far exceeded my expectations. She helped with narrowing down the number of schools I was applying to, with strategy (why MBA, why now, and basic info that was necessary to nail down before we moved forward), with essay editing, with my resume, with interview prep, and with other miscellaneous items and questions that came up. Her feedback turnaround was so quick but was still thorough. We came up with a game plan together and mapped out a strategy and schedule. During the whole process she reminded me to tackle one task at a time and to just keep putting one foot in front of the other.
My consultant had worked at two top MBA Programs and her knowledge about the application process was extensive and proved to be a huge asset. She took the time to get to know me and what drove me and helped pinpoint what I should emphasize in each application.
I retook the GMAT, and my score didn’t improve. However, I was so pleased with the progress my consultant and I had made on my applications that I decided to go for it. She supported me and was my biggest cheerleader during the process while simultaneously managing my expectations and providing constructive criticism on areas for improvement. Within two weeks of submitting my applications, I had been invited to interview with two of the three schools I applied to.
The interview turned out to be the most difficult part of the process for me. My consultant practiced with me on the phone, skyped with my several times, and even offered to do another mock early in the morning before my interview. I also had access to a specialist who helped with strategy. With Veritas’ help, I was able to walk into the interview prepared and confident.
I am attending my dream school in the Fall, and I believe my consultant’s guidance, feedback, and support truly helped me gain acceptance into the program. With the help of my consultant, I was able to produce applications of higher caliber in a short amount of time. She went above and beyond what I had expected. In addition to helping with various components of my application, she helped me manage stress and recommended ways to relax and stay calm. Her constant support kept me motivated and focused. I believe she truly cared about me, about how I was doing, and about how she could help. She would text me almost daily to check in on me. She provided the emotional support I needed while managing the stressful application process that I had condensed into a couple of months.
Another awesome thing about Veritas is that they don’t nickel and dime you. My consultant didn’t keep a time log and the whole team was flexible about how to create a package that worked with my time frame and that addressed all the items I needed help with. I was hesitant about the cost of a consulting service at first, but I can assure you that it is WELL worth it. I couldn’t be more pleased with the Veritas team and especially with my consultant who was there with me every step of the way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Sloan Masters' Program Assistance
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jellison98 joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I purchased several hours of time from Veritas to receive advice on improving my Sloan Masters' Program applications (to the programs at MIT and Stanford). Dave Gent was assigned to work with me.

My experience exceeded my expectations. Dave emphasized that these schools aren't interested in philosophical discussions in their essays -- they want concrete examples that demonstrate a clear point. With Dave's coaching, I was able to re-write my essays such that they were more compelling and succinct.

I was fortunate enough to be admitted to both MIT and Stanford. While I would have had a shot at these programs without Veritas, I am certain that having Dave as a coach helped me clarify my message and improved my chances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep got me in to the Kellogg Executive MBA Program
April 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By krm8164 joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I retained the services of Dave Gent at Veritas Prep to help me with my application to the only school that I wanted to attend - Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University. I applied to the Executive MBA program, and I feel that without the help of Dave, that my application would not have had the impact that was needed for my acceptance. The areas that Dave really helped me shine were with the refinement of my resume, and the essay portion of the application. I always considered myself to be a good writer, but Dave pushed me to dig deeper and to become more substantive in my writing. I must admit, I sometimes felt frustrated about the several iterations of each essay that he pushed me to rework, but I can't argue with the results! I was accepted to Kellogg the day before Thanksgiving, which provided me with a feeling of thanks and gratitude to Dave Gent and Veritas Prep. I highly recommend Veritas Prep consulting services to anyone applying to B-school. You may think that you can do it on your own, but you will be amazed at how much stronger your essays and resume will be as a result of working with Veritas. Furthermore, Dave provided great coaching to prepare me for my personal interview. You will never second guess the money you spend on this service when you get your acceptance letter in the mail!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Sylvia Dizon [USA]
    
Janelle James [USA]
    
Scott Bryant [USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more