Veritas Prep Hourly Packages Reviews
    Number of reviews [23]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 
Veritas Prep
You can receive assistance on any part of your applications from a Head Consultant with admissions experience from a top 10 MBA program or from a School Specialist from any of the top 30 schools.

Great service and great help for essays
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 28, 2014 | 5 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Micah Boster
Hey all,

Background:
I have a good international profile. I have a strong (and long) industrial experience. I also have a strong gmat score. I believe i had a fair chance to get accepted to the top MBA program of my choice but i wanted to increase my chances as. Having many years of experience in industry and then suddenly deciding to switch to business was the weak point in my application. I also don’t have significant (or any) amazing extra-curricular activities.

To increase my chances and fill the "holes" in my application i contacted Veritas prep. I read about them on the net (and the book Your MBA game plan which is written by a person who works there).

The process is very smooth, you sign up, they contact you (through the phone) to discuss your profile and where you want to apply. You don’t feel that they are just looking to sell you a package but instead they want to know how far along you are in your preparations and what help you really need. I only wanted help with my essays and so I took the 7 hours package.

Micah Boster was my consultant. An Insead MBA who now works at google. Having a top MBA grad and successful professional is a big plus IMHO. It shows credibility.
First we did a live web cam chat were we discussed my profile and the areas which i need to focus on. Then we started the iteration process with the essays. I sent him my essays and he would comment on them and tell me when things are not clear, where my conclusions are not related to the question, and where i need to expand a point, etc.. We did this back and forth procedure about 10 times. For the first 5/6 iterations were focused on substance. The last ones were about form (English and grammar, work count limit etc...), here again his tips and corrections were spot on. You need to do very well in both in order to have great essays.

The impact on my essays was amazing. Veritas will not do the work on your behalf (which is not the point) but will guide you to present yourself in the best possible manner. The result is that you : show your best side, emphasis what is really important and meaningful, express your thoughts in a clear conscious and elegant manner, reply to the questions being asked and cut back on the not so important stuff.

I got accepted at my “dream” school. Needless to say i am very happy. I also got (free) tips for the interviews.

PS: I think my consultant really likes to help people and this clearly shows in the quality of his work reviewing the essays and the effort he puts into it. Micah did not count the hours; his focus was to help me get in.

I will spend serious money on the MBA program. The (relatively) little I sent on an admission consultant was 100% worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Sam - Veritas prep
October 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Sam Weisz
Sam was great!! She had solid feedback on each version of my Lauder essays and had good strong firsthand knowledge of the Lauder program, which only made me more excited to apply. I only found out about Lauder a few weeks before the deadline and Sam made sure to provide comments on my essays quickly, usually overnight! I always felt Sam had my best interest at heart. She wanted me to get into school and she cared about my life and over all well-being in general. I’m very glad I used Vertias and extremely lucky to have been paired with Sam for the Lauder application!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
THANK YOU Veritas!
June 24 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Barbara
I decided in January it was the best time to go to business school and reached out to Veritas Consulting after taking the GMAT at the end of February. The application deadlines were less than a month away, so I had less than a month to prepare to retake the GMAT and complete every aspect of the application process while working 50+ hours a week. My consultant managed my expectations and was honest and upfront with me from the get go about the serious hurdles I had to overcome, including my below average age, my below average GMAT score, and the fact that I was applying in the last round. I decided to go ahead and apply, and my consultant said that if I was committed to giving it my best, she was too; she would work just as hard as me and make herself readily available since we were working with a condensed timeline. She did just that and far exceeded my expectations. She helped with narrowing down the number of schools I was applying to, with strategy (why MBA, why now, and basic info that was necessary to nail down before we moved forward), with essay editing, with my resume, with interview prep, and with other miscellaneous items and questions that came up. Her feedback turnaround was so quick but was still thorough. We came up with a game plan together and mapped out a strategy and schedule. During the whole process she reminded me to tackle one task at a time and to just keep putting one foot in front of the other.
My consultant had worked at two top MBA Programs and her knowledge about the application process was extensive and proved to be a huge asset. She took the time to get to know me and what drove me and helped pinpoint what I should emphasize in each application.
I retook the GMAT, and my score didn’t improve. However, I was so pleased with the progress my consultant and I had made on my applications that I decided to go for it. She supported me and was my biggest cheerleader during the process while simultaneously managing my expectations and providing constructive criticism on areas for improvement. Within two weeks of submitting my applications, I had been invited to interview with two of the three schools I applied to.
The interview turned out to be the most difficult part of the process for me. My consultant practiced with me on the phone, skyped with my several times, and even offered to do another mock early in the morning before my interview. I also had access to a specialist who helped with strategy. With Veritas’ help, I was able to walk into the interview prepared and confident.
I am attending my dream school in the Fall, and I believe my consultant’s guidance, feedback, and support truly helped me gain acceptance into the program. With the help of my consultant, I was able to produce applications of higher caliber in a short amount of time. She went above and beyond what I had expected. In addition to helping with various components of my application, she helped me manage stress and recommended ways to relax and stay calm. Her constant support kept me motivated and focused. I believe she truly cared about me, about how I was doing, and about how she could help. She would text me almost daily to check in on me. She provided the emotional support I needed while managing the stressful application process that I had condensed into a couple of months.
Another awesome thing about Veritas is that they don’t nickel and dime you. My consultant didn’t keep a time log and the whole team was flexible about how to create a package that worked with my time frame and that addressed all the items I needed help with. I was hesitant about the cost of a consulting service at first, but I can assure you that it is WELL worth it. I couldn’t be more pleased with the Veritas team and especially with my consultant who was there with me every step of the way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Sloan Masters' Program Assistance
April 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jellison98 joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I purchased several hours of time from Veritas to receive advice on improving my Sloan Masters' Program applications (to the programs at MIT and Stanford). Dave Gent was assigned to work with me.

My experience exceeded my expectations. Dave emphasized that these schools aren't interested in philosophical discussions in their essays -- they want concrete examples that demonstrate a clear point. With Dave's coaching, I was able to re-write my essays such that they were more compelling and succinct.

I was fortunate enough to be admitted to both MIT and Stanford. While I would have had a shot at these programs without Veritas, I am certain that having Dave as a coach helped me clarify my message and improved my chances.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep got me in to the Kellogg Executive MBA Program
April 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By krm8164 joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I retained the services of Dave Gent at Veritas Prep to help me with my application to the only school that I wanted to attend - Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University. I applied to the Executive MBA program, and I feel that without the help of Dave, that my application would not have had the impact that was needed for my acceptance. The areas that Dave really helped me shine were with the refinement of my resume, and the essay portion of the application. I always considered myself to be a good writer, but Dave pushed me to dig deeper and to become more substantive in my writing. I must admit, I sometimes felt frustrated about the several iterations of each essay that he pushed me to rework, but I can't argue with the results! I was accepted to Kellogg the day before Thanksgiving, which provided me with a feeling of thanks and gratitude to Dave Gent and Veritas Prep. I highly recommend Veritas Prep consulting services to anyone applying to B-school. You may think that you can do it on your own, but you will be amazed at how much stronger your essays and resume will be as a result of working with Veritas. Furthermore, Dave provided great coaching to prepare me for my personal interview. You will never second guess the money you spend on this service when you get your acceptance letter in the mail!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admitted to a top 25 school with Rachel's help!
March 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By bsp431 joined: June 24, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages   Consultant:  Rachel Shelton
After fumbling my way through B-School applications last year and receiving 4-rejection letters and 1 waitlist decision, with Rachel's fantastic help I was able to get into an amazing MBA program this year.

I got a 690 on GMATs and my work was varied without much management experience, so there was no guarantee that I would be accepted into a top 25 program. Rachel's help was definitely indispensable for getting in.

Rachel helped me decide what schools to choose, she prepared my resume and edited my essays multiple times, and she prepped me for the interviews.

I never felt like Rachel was counting the hours or giving me half her attention. She always stretched the time just a bit further to include as much as possible, and she was always up for some follow up questions even when past our time limit.

Rachel always turned all my essays around extremely quickly, even on Christmas!

4 pieces of advice for all applicants:
1. Read a book on MBA admissions before starting with a consultant, that way you won't waste the valuable consultant's time with the basics of MBA applications.
2. Finish your GMATs with at least 4 months of your first deadline, and allow time for a second or third try.
3. Apply to schools at, below, and above your expectations. That way you know you did the best you can and won't have to try again a second year. Applying two years in a row to b-schools was unbelievably exhausting.
4. Remember that work and leadership experience, and how you connect that to your future studies and work, is much more important than GMATs or your GPA. When you meet people at the school, try to gauge your experience level versus theirs. I honestly felt overwhelmed by the students' professional experience at the school I was rejected by.

Good luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Two Hours Well Spent
January 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bheflin joined: January 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I purchased two hours of admission aid from Veritas along with my prep course. I was put in touch with Scott Bryant and he more than exceeded my expectations.

He helped fine-tune my resume as well as provide in depth help on admissions essays and what the specific schools I was interested in would be looking for in me. We worked over email and over the phone, depending on what format would be most helpful. While handling the serious matter of admissions, Scott kept the instruction and advice relaxed and low-stress.

I do believe without his help, my admissions process would have ended far differently than it did. Thank you Scott!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Experience! (paired with consultant Scott B)
January 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bschooldestined joined: January 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
After having a well above average experience with Veritas' GMAT prep course, I decided to enlist their admissions consulting services as I was targeting Top 20 schools and wanted any advantage possible.

The first value add was they offer several types of packages to meet your budget and needs. I needed some help here and there so the hourly package was a good fit. The next benefit was they use your personal intake form to match you with the best consultant for you in their network. I was matched with Scott B, which was the next positive aspect of the experience. He knew about the schools that would be a good fit with my current and hopefully future industry, renewable energy, and was well-versed in helping me create my story so it ended up well-developed and powerful. He also helped me greatly improve my essays even though I already can write (5.5/6 on GMAT). Perhaps the best thing is I achieved my goal and got into a Top 20 school, which was a little bit of a stretch, but I'll have to at least take some credit for that!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas Prep
January 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
I worked with Veritas Prep and signed up for the hourly package. I applied to Cornell, UVA, UNC, UT, & Duke. I was invited to interview at every school. I have been accepted to UVA with a full ride, wait listed at Duke, and accepted at UT. I have not heard from the other programs. I doubt I would have been this successful without the valuable help from my Veritas Counselor. The money I invested in admissions consulting has had an incredible roi and I would highly recommend Veritas and my advisor to anyone looking to apply to top MBA programs.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service and work
January 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By pschlan joined: January 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Hourly Packages  
Scott was fantastic! He worked with me for many hours helping me perfect my applications and essays. I would highly recommend. I was accepted to both of the schools I applied (Tulane and Fordham MBA Programs) and was offered a substantial scholarship as well. Scott was very easy to work with and always reliable. Scott took the time to speak with me over the phone and was always available for a quick phone call or email.
I highly recommend Scott or Veritas in general. I would not have done as well without Scott's help and understanding.
Great company/person to work with.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Sylvia Dizon [USA]
    
Janelle James [USA]
    
Scott Bryant [USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more