Veritas Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [13]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Veritas Prep
Private Tutoring is perfect for students who seek individual attention on their GMAT studies. A great advantage of tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit your needs. An expert Veritas Prep tutor, all of whom have scored in the 99th percentile on an official GMAT exam, will help you to diagnose areas for improvement.

Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Mark Porath in Los Angeles - Amazing!
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Gardena, CA USA |
After reading reviews and talking to representatives at multiple test prep companies (including Kaplan, Princeton Review and Manhattan GMAT), I signed up for 14 hours of tutoring through Veritas. I had spent the 4 months prior studying on my own, and I had improved my score 60 points from my initial practice test. I decided to get a tutor to focus on my problem areas in math so I could get a score in the 700s. (Please note that I only had tutoring on the Quantitative Section, so the Verbal Section is not applicable in my case.) Mark Porath was amazing! We used the 14 hours of tutoring over 8 weeks. With his help, my score improved another 60 points. I scored 710 on the exam! He has a ton of experience and was able to teach me so many tricks. He provided countless sample problems, and I learned to answer problems quickly and to complete the exam confidently.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Terrible at Math and Improved Score by 100 Points in 3 Weeks
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks.

I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well.

I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
private tutoring, do it.
December 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ejill joined: December 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Steve Odabashian
Background on me. I never thought I'd head to business school. But I am. And honestly, personal and online tutoring is the only way that I could have do it because I travel 90% of the time for work, yes 90%. It was a load of money, I work in nonprofit so money doesn't come easy, but it was worth it.

Steve was legit. He was helpful on content and on the psychological stuff-- you know, the stuff that makes or breaks a test. Our schedule was kind of tight and he was willing to work with me as needed.

I also liked that when I wasn't meeting with Steve I could meet with the online tutors nightly or go to an online lesson. Very helpful.

I'm not going to say that I soared into the 700s, I didn't. But I did vastly improve my score more than 100 points.

Quality.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great tutor in DC!
October 30 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 28, 2012 | 10 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Bethesda, MD USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I'm very excited to share my review of tutoring through Veritas Prep. I met with Anthony Ritz on and off for about 7 months, eventually improving my score by 200 points!

After not having a stellar experience the other top GMAT course provider, I decided to get some private tutoring sessions through Veritas. It was the best decision I made on my GMAT journey.

What I liked most about my tutor was that he made sure I understood every problem even if it meant trying to explain a problem 3 or 4 different ways. He made sure it clicked. I would recommend him to anyone interested in improving their GMAT score.

I also really liked Veritas Prep in general. The books were helpful, although they had a few typos and errors. The team also made it so easy to set-up payments and add hours and they were super friendly! Really awesome people.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Bill Robinson - Worth Every Penny
October 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By PresGard joined: August 28, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  San Diego, CA USA | Taught by:  Bill Robinson
Hey guys - you may have read my previous review of the Manhattan self-study guidebooks, which were great and helped me get a 670 (47Q/35V) my first time around. I'm shooting for a Top-10 program, so I don't feel this will be a good enough score. After undergoing a study abroad program with The London School of Economics (my chosen career is I-banking, leading into PE) and networking with Professors, Masters candidates and PhD candidates, as well as a couple Masters in Finance grads who have GREAT positions with some of the largest I-banks in the world, I realized I must do everything possible to shoot above the 700 mark (and hopefully score above 50 on Quant) to place myself in an optimum position to secure a great Masters or MBA degree.

That said, I decided to make the sizeable investment in the 38-hour private tutoring package with Veritas, essentially to provide myself with a "fresh look" since I delved into Manhattan's techniques and didn't want to overlap.

From the beginning, I felt great about the money I spent as soon as I met Bill Robinson, and thus far I'm quite pleased I decided to go with Veritas. He's a really good guy, VERY sharp (one of the more intelligent guys I've met in quite awhile, and considering I used to work with a few Harvard and Chicago MBAs, that says a lot), and his ability to relate to me and teach me the material is quite impressive. He's always on time for our lesson, and he's incredibly flexible (I had to change up our locations a few times, which he was more than willing to work with) in regards to our meeting times. He stays in constant contact with me and is always available over email or phone when I have questions (which I admit I have many, haha), and he understands precisely what I need to stay motivated.

I'm slated to sit for the exam in mid-November, so I'll certainly be keeping you guys up-to-date on my progress, however I really feel great about heading into the one-month "home stretch" and I actually can't wait to take the test.

Good luck guys - I'll continue to keep you posted.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I highly recommend Brian Prestia
July 17 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 9, 2012 | 38 | 9 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Seattle, WA USA | Taught by:  Brian Prestia
I highly recommend Brian Prestia. Here’s why…
To give you a quick summary I improved a total of 60-70 points: in Quant 7 points (from 40 to 47) and in Verbal 6 points (34 to 40). My background is in Accounting and Finance so I thought* I would do well in Quant. That was not the case as I struggled to improve my GMAT quant skills.
I worked with Brian on mostly Quant over 5 sessions. I did 2 session of Verbal with Brian. By the time I started working with Brian, I had taken the GMAT once and booked 2.5 months of study time (mostly MGMAT). Brian first spent time learning about my strengths and weaknesses and guided me through developing a strategy that would work for me. Over our 5 sessions, I covered almost many of the different Quant question types, focusing more on the problem areas of course. The most important thing Brian taught me was to approach the quant section with logic and problem solving instead of using purely Algebra or mathematics. This may seem like a simple thing to do but it took a while to get use to this. Brian also helped me develop strategies for each question that cater to my strengths and go around my weakness. Brian shared his knowledge of the different question types and taught me how to think from the perspective of the test makers. After studying with Brian, I was able to develop a clear strategy for guessing, time management, multiple choice and data sufficiency problems. And on a deeper level for each type of question, for example how to approach a Data sufficiency Geometry question or numbers property question.
After meeting Brian and learning from him, I felt like I had wasted a lot of time learning everything, when I should have been focusing on developing strategies that cater to my strengths and practicing problem solving, not solving algebra and math problems.
For Verbal I only did two sessions, but I think Brian’s approach to Reading Comprehension and Sentence Correction really improved my score. He taught me how to use logic and reasoning to answer the questions and to focus on the why in the RC and to use reasoning for SC. I must have missed that in the MGMT guides. I’m sure I could’ve improved more on Verbal if I spent more time with Brian.
Brian was real with me and gave me the confidence and the tools to tackle the GMAT. He helped me develop a customized approach and was patient with me as I began to see and understand that test as he does. There is no doubt that Brian is a GMAT master. He is also a very calm and kind human being.
Having said all this, you still need to put in a lot of time and effort to get the score you want.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
November-December 2012 Full Course and Private Tutoring in Houston, Texas.
February 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By htb5024 joined: February 27, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Houston, TX USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Mark is extremely helpful in helping me studying the GMAT. He is patient in guiding me how to solve each question. I started having full course, then later sign up for his private tutoring along the side. I would recommend him to my friends!

Since I am not a native English speaker, I have no problem studying math on my own, however, Verbal section is my weak part. Mark and I spend most of our time working on verbal, and improved it from 17 to 34. Comparing other course I have taken, his private tutor session is the best part of studying month. I appreciated his help and would give him a 5 star review!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Super Ravi
February 18 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As international student, I was struggling with both the verbal section and quant section in the GMAT. However, when I took the Veritas Prep Private Tutoring with super Ravi, I improved my GMAT score by 100 points.

He started to build my confidence as well as my math and verbal skills. Not only he gave my all the useful strategies but also he created a customized study schedule for me. After two months, I successfully increased my verbal score by 43 percentile while my quant by 40 percentile.

Because GMAT is an important step in your application think of it as an investment and go with the Veritas Prep Private Tutoring. I would highly recommend Ravi of Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
113 points
International Student Score Improvement
138 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Kevin Richardson [Chicago-Financial District, USA]
    
David Newland [Boston (Fin District), USA]
    
Ravi Sreerama [Pasadena, USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more