Veritas Prep Private Tutoring Reviews
    Number of reviews [18]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Veritas Prep
Private Tutoring is perfect for students who seek individual attention on their GMAT studies. A great advantage of tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit your needs. An expert Veritas Prep tutor, all of whom have scored in the 99th percentile on an official GMAT exam, will help you to diagnose areas for improvement.

Reaching your GMAT goals effectively
September 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mcfarland338 joined: June 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Houston, TX USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Mark Robinson did a very good job of instructing me how to take the GMAT. We not only went over problem solving strategies, but also how to critically examine what the question is asking. This has been the most invaluable piece of the tutoring, as I have seen significant improvements in my score by using this method. He also is able to use real world examples when breaking down a lot of the processes, which makes it easy for anyone to understand. Lastly, he is very flexible with scheduling, and works hard to keep progress moving forward on testing habits and scores.

I highly recommend Mark to anyone that wants to really achieve their GMAT goals, and to do so as efficiently as possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic teacher
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob was a tremendous teacher who made the material enjoyable, which was not what I expected going into this process. His relaxing demeanor made it easy to related to the challenging material and concentrate on the important areas for me individually to focus on.

Math was always a strong suit but he enabled me to expand on my core competencies to become a student capable of higher scores on thr quant section.

Verbal was an area of weakness where we concentrated on core concepts to apply to the different areas. It was extremely helpful and I would recommend rob to anyone interested in taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MATT DOUGLAS, helped me so much!
July 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  San Francisco, CA USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I took Veritas in person classes in LA and then decided to commit to their homework help tutoring function online because I was struggling with a few quant topics. Veritas has several tutors that do office hours but my favorite, by far, is Matt Douglas. I have never met him in person but he is amazing. The dedication and positivity on his end has been so appreciated. Studying for the GMAT can seem frustrating sometimes, and I often feel burnt out after 3+ months of daily study commitment, but Matt makes it simple. He walks though all questions with the same enthusiasm and has a great sense of humor. He makes sure that every student understands how to approach their error before moving on. He is there every night when you need him. I love him! Thanks for all you do Matt :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A fun and successful journey
June 29 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  London, United Kingdom | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As a non-native English speaker with limited quantitative background, I had multiple reasons to worry about my performance on the test. But within only 10 weeks of part-time studying, the highly motivating Ravi Sreerama of Veritas Prep transformed me into a GMAT war machine - I walked into the exam room with 100% confidence in my abilities to reach a high score on my first attempt, and this is exactly what happened. Not only an extremely professional and gifted teacher, Ravi is also a wonderful guy with whom I enjoyed spending every minute of our tutoring sessions. No doubt he is certainly one of the very best GMAT tutors out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Veritas saves the day
April 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By airspeedguy joined: April 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  San Antonio (NW), TX USA | Taught by:  Jennifer Rich
Jen was very organized and focused. She developed a lesson plan that identified my weak areas, and then applied a building block approach that allowed me to fully understand the root causes of my errors. She then selected similar questions in both data sufficiency and problem solving which reinforced the lessons that I learned. We met four days a week (2 hours each day), on a virtual blackboard where she could see and hear my thought process, then apply corrections. Each lesson was recorded so I could watch the lesson over again to further solidify my understanding of the topics covered. In less than 19 days I was able to raise my score by 100 points.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Tutoring with Brandon Pierpont, Manhattan
April 03 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By EMP joined: April 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
Brandon is so helpful. He reached out shortly after I'd signed up for tutoring to set up an initial phone call during which we discussed my test history and goals. Brandon was incredibly flexible working around my schedule. He had a fantastic work space where he met me at crazy times (literally pre-dawn) without complaint.

Brandon explained a number of difficult quant problems with utmost patience, offering alternate explanations and recommending complementary course materials when I was confused. Seeing that I'd completed most of the book problems, Brandon came up with a worksheet of problems I hadn't seen before.

This was truly a fun and educational experience. Brandon is no longer local to nyc but he's available for online tutoring at which I'm sure he will excel. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommended if you need a big improvement and are short on time
March 06 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Felipe_Ucros joined: March 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. Time was running short on my applications and I needed to get that score up, significantly, and do it fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in a similar situation as me!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Mark Porath in Los Angeles - Amazing!
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Gardena, CA USA |
After reading reviews and talking to representatives at multiple test prep companies (including Kaplan, Princeton Review and Manhattan GMAT), I signed up for 14 hours of tutoring through Veritas. I had spent the 4 months prior studying on my own, and I had improved my score 60 points from my initial practice test. I decided to get a tutor to focus on my problem areas in math so I could get a score in the 700s. (Please note that I only had tutoring on the Quantitative Section, so the Verbal Section is not applicable in my case.) Mark Porath was amazing! We used the 14 hours of tutoring over 8 weeks. With his help, my score improved another 60 points. I scored 710 on the exam! He has a ton of experience and was able to teach me so many tricks. He provided countless sample problems, and I learned to answer problems quickly and to complete the exam confidently.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Terrible at Math and Improved Score by 100 Points in 3 Weeks
January 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I decided to apply to a JD/MBA program last minute and decided to use Veritas Prep to cram for the GMAT. I always thought that I was really bad at math and even worse at taking standardized tests. I worked with Brandon and my score improved by over 100 points in 3 weeks.

I hadn't taken math in 6 years so we really had to start with the most basic concepts, and he was extremely patient and clear when explaining things to me. He was able to improve my score and most importantly my confidence in my ability to do math tremendously. The test taking strategies that Brandon taught me have helped me in school as well.

I would recommend Brandon and Veritas Prep for the GMAT to anyone looking to improve their math and test taking skills in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
private tutoring, do it.
December 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ejill joined: December 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Indianapolis, IN USA | Taught by:  Steve Odabashian
Background on me. I never thought I'd head to business school. But I am. And honestly, personal and online tutoring is the only way that I could have do it because I travel 90% of the time for work, yes 90%. It was a load of money, I work in nonprofit so money doesn't come easy, but it was worth it.

Steve was legit. He was helpful on content and on the psychological stuff-- you know, the stuff that makes or breaks a test. Our schedule was kind of tight and he was willing to work with me as needed.

I also liked that when I wasn't meeting with Steve I could meet with the online tutors nightly or go to an online lesson. Very helpful.

I'm not going to say that I soared into the 700s, I didn't. But I did vastly improve my score more than 100 points.

Quality.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
110 points
International Student Score Improvement
135 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Kevin Richardson [Chicago-Financial District, USA]
    
David Newland [Boston (Fin District), USA]
    
Ravi Sreerama [Pasadena, USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more