Veritas Prep School Packages Reviews
    Number of reviews [61]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
 
Veritas Prep
By far the most popular and most effective way to apply to business school. Our admissions experts will help with every stage of the application process from constructing your personalized marketing plan to creating your essays with you to conducting mock interviews.

Great experience with VP
December 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2014 | 35 | 21 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Drew Brinkoetter
Edit: I was accepted to one of my top choice schools and am currently waitlisted at my first choice, Kellogg. I know I wouldn't have seen this result without Drew's assistance.

About me:
I have less than stellar stats, low GPA but decent 700+ GMAT, and an interesting career in healthcare/pharma with a lot of growth and progression.

Experience with VP:
With my background out of the way, I want to focus on my experience with VP and Drew. Drew was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable throughout the applications process. I opted for the 3 school package, a big investment for sure, but knowing the amount of time and effort Drew put into all of my applications materials justified the price. The application process will be stressful no matter what, but Drew was able to keep me on point and motivated to finish successfully.

Experience with Drew:
What I enjoyed most about working with Drew is the feedback he gave on my resume and essays. He is very focused on making sure your voice and story are expressed clearly and succinctly. He is forthright about what doesn't work, and what points I should stress more.

As a non-traditional applicant, it was really necessary for me to craft a compelling story that converted my scientific/technical background into something desired by business schools. Drew certainly did that while keeping my voice heard throughout my application materials. Additionally, his advice was very important in my selection of schools to apply to.

I did a before and after comparison of the first and final drafts of my essays and resumes, and the versions I ended up with are on a completely different level. I had to work hard throughout this process, but Drew's guidance was essential in bringing my apps to a place where I was proud to submit.

Experience with School Specialists and Director review:
This is one area I struggled with. The timing is tight, especially with a 3 school package. I would recommend that you get an early start on your applications so you can give your school specialists and director ample time for review. The feedback I received from the school specialists and especially the director were very helpful.

Outcomes: TBD. Too early to say, but I received some interview invitations already (no dings).

You'll get what you put in, but the monumental effort and expert guidance that Drew provided will greatly benefit anyone applying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Prep - cannot recommend highly enough
December 16 | 2014

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Waitlisted
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Christine Balzano
As some context to the following review, here is a little bit about me: Accountant with 7 years of work experience under my belt, currently applying to three UK Schools (a Top 3, a Top 10 and a Top 25 ranked globally)

Before I continue, I think it is worth putting it out there from the get-go – do yourself, and your applications, a massive favour and sign up to the Admissions Consulting Services of Veritas Prep. I honestly believe I would not even have received an offer of an interview from my two target schools (my third one ding’d me) had I not signed up with Veritas Prep and utilised their consulting services. That is no exaggeration. I genuinely think Veritas Prep’s services and their consultants were/are that important to my applications.

So why did I sign up to an admissions consultant?

Put bluntly, my CV, work experience and academics are decent, but they are not stellar. I knew that I would be up against applicants who had cured cancer, climbed Everest unaided and built water wells in African villages, and who had also scored a straight 800 on the GMAT. You get the idea. I knew if I could get an interview with each school, I could put in a good performance. Getting an interview was always going to be the big obstacle for me. I realised I needed something to give me that leg up, that help and expertise to put forward the best applications possible. The leg up came in the form of an admissions consultant.

Why did I choose Veritas Prep?

Before signing up with Veritas Prep, I weighed up the services offered by the other Prep/Consulting providers. To be honest, there isn’t that much difference on the face of things. You really are splitting hairs if you go on their websites alone.
My decision was made when I read the reviews on websites like this. The reviews of applicants who had previously made use of Veritas Prep’s services were largely the same – the setup is almost military in its planning and organisation, the consultants and specialists are unrivalled and the results are tangible.

Would I recommend Veritas Prep?

In a heartbeat. Honestly, the whole package is unmatched, in my opinion. Though I used only Veritas Prep, I find it hard to imagine another Prep/Consulting provider offering as comprehensive a service as Veritas Prep.

The services offered by Veritas Prep are not solely aimed at decent-but-not-stellar applicants. I believe every applicant can make use of Veritas Prep’s services to some degree – yes, even those with an 800 on the GMAT and 6 months of charity work in some remote village somewhere.

I would first suggest visiting their website and reviewing their Consulting Services section for a basic overview - http://www.veritasprep.com/. If you want, give them a call or an email to get a more in-depth discussion of their offerings, and how they can really help you.

If you want to hear it from the horse’s mouth, this is how I would summarise the consulting services from Veritas Prep.

Upon signing up, applicants are allocated a head consultant based on personality tests, so ensuring compatibility. This person takes the lead in managing your relationship with Veritas Prep. They are your go-to person for all application matters. The head consultant is more of a coach – they guide you through everything from drafting essay responses, to compiling fantastic CVs, to contacting your recommenders for reference letters.

Once your application is progressed far enough, Veritas Prep then starts to involve school specialists and directors. That is to say, once your core applications are done, you work with people who are specialists in each school to whom you are applying. These specialists really know the schools well – the culture, what aspects they want to see in your application, what makes that school standout against others, and so on. This is where generic applications begin to become very honed and school specific. Having now made your applications school-specific, your applications go to School Directors for final review. These are people who know the school as well as the specialists, but who have hands on admissions committee experience. They review your applications and give you brutally honest, but constructive, feedback about where to improve and what ideas to emphasise. If they don’t like something, it is better to find out at this stage than get rejected for real, right?

Once your Director gives you the thumbs up, you can hit that submit button and pay your application fee. Now, rather than wait it out, your head consultant will shift your focus from applications to interviews. They will encourage you to think about the interviews you’ll soon be invited for, and how you are going to answer the standard questions all MBA interviewers ask. Once your interview invitation arrives in your inbox, school specialists will come back in to the fray, and carry out mock interviews with you, either over the phone or in person if possible. Of course, the specialists will ask the standard questions plus a few curveballs. Again, it is better to fluff your lines here and get the real one perfect.

At every stage of the process, I knew I was working with an expert. Not just some clever MBA Alumnus from that school, but people who work on admissions committees in real life. They know what schools want, what they look for, what areas will ring alarm bells, and so on.

As a note, there were no limits on the number of hours I could speak to consultants, or on how many emails I could send, or on how many iterations my essays could go through. This epitomises their approach, I think – they just keep going and going until you get that offer of a place. Ok, you can’t call your head consultant at some ungodly hour, but my impression is that they will bend over backwards to help you put forward the best application you can. And this, after all, is your main aim.

Finally, if you do sign up to Veritas Prep and are allocated Christine as your Head Consultant, thank your lucky stars. This woman is an absolute Godsend. She is my Head Consultant, and I couldn't be happier with being matched with her. She has coached me all the way through my three applications – from the basics like thinking about why pursuing an MBA right now is the correct path to take and which schools I should consider, to interview preparation and coping with being Waitlisted (at a Top 3 school in the world) over the Christmas break! – and I think she has been my secret weapon. Though I’ll never know for sure, I am confident I would have been ding’d at all of my three schools without her and her coaching.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Richard and Heidy are great!
December 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Richard Vincent
I got into to Stanford GSB and I have to say Heidy and Richard played a big role in helping me survive the process. Richard is very considerate, smart, and inspiring as he offers very helpful suggestions to shape my essay better. Heidy is knowledgeable and she offers very sharp and strategic comments to help me thrive in the interview. Both are GSB graduates themselves so they know what they are talking about and can help me make my application for Stanford much more in-depth and in point.I am grateful for their help and I recommend Veritas and Heidy and Richard enthusiastically!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
They really know their stuff!!
November 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
I would highly recommend working with Vertias for MBA admissions consulting. Being the only one in my family/friend group to apply to an MBA, it was immensely helpful to have a support system and someone to walk me through the process. The team was also incredibly responsive and easy to work with. I really felt like they were really rooting for me.

The most valuable part of the program was the help with the essay questions. I was really happy that not only did they help me with my writing, but took the time to get to know me and craft my story for each school. The school specialists were also fantastic in helping make my applications customized to each school. I truly believe that my essays wouldn’t have been nearly as impactful with out Veritas. I have a non-traditional background and they really helped me to craft my application in a way that was both a strong representation of who I am as well as appealing to an admissions committee.

In the end I was accepted into Duke (my dream school) early action, and received al scholarship.

I couldn't be happier with both the process and it's outcome.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Tepper/Fuqua
November 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Max Wein
I believe Max Wein was an outstanding MBA consultant. It is hard to judge an mba consultant’s work because it is a unique experience with no frame of reference, but I feel like Max did an outstanding job. He was honest and provided feedback that made sense and was extremely quick to send things back. He was always ready to chat on the phone if I needed him and answered all emails within a timely manner. I believe he truly cared about the job he was doing and put a lot of time into his work. I think we worked very well together and hopefully our hard work pays off.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience with Veritas
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Matt Margolin
When I was choosing an admissions consultant, I wanted to work with a company that had a wide variety of resources that I could use to maximize my chances. Veritas was definitely the nicest and most upfront during my intro call and explained their services in detail. I was deciding between the hourly and school package and I was not pressured to choose one over the other and was given good advice on the pros and cons.

I ended up going with a 2 school package (Sloan and GSB) and couldn't be happier. My consultant was very helpful throughout the process and took the time to understand my background and story so that the next few weeks could be easier. I was worried that he wouldn't respond quickly and that I would be wasting some time, but this was not the case. Matt was awesome, responding the same day almost all the time and with a good amount of feedback in every email. I was truly impressed with the amount of time he spent on reading my essays, applications, and working with me on developing my story. My consultant went to GSB and I think it definitely helped - he gave a lot of perspective from his personal experiences which helped me craft my application.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the service and my consultant!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I recommend VeritasPrep to anybody
November 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Katty Ooms Sutter
First, I was scared of spending 3.000$ in something so immaterial as "consulting".
But in the end it was the best personal experience I ever had: not only to think about the application but also to think about me at a broader level.

Katty was my consultant and she help me so much during the process. Do not mistake yourself, I did the work but she helped me to think and to come up with ideas I did not have about me. She had been very available and the deadlines we put ourselves were met.

The school specialist gave a very good input on the school and on what the school is looking for.

In conclusion, I really advise anybody who is not familiar with the American system of application to use VeritasPrep. They will not do the work for you but they will show you the path.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Loved Bryant!
October 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2014 | 6 | 4 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Scott Bryant
So there were basically 2 components to this,

1) Scott Bryant (goes by Bryant here), who was my main consultant/coach for the other school advisors

2) The individual school consultants.

Without a doubt, Bryant was fantastic. I hired him because, whereas I would normally go to my family for support, I really wanted someone who didn't know me quite as well and I wanted someone who was a bit more upbeat and positive. Bryant was absolutely perfect for that role. In a way, I think I would have liked it just slightly more (like, it would have brought him from 99% to 100% in my book) if he were just a little pushier with me - I needed a little more direction I think in my school selection/the way I thought about school selection, and I think he was hesitant to push me one way or another.

Ultimately, I got into my first choice so WHO CARES I LOVE THE GUY! He was really helpful with that application in particular, being an alum himself.

In terms of the school-specific advisors, i have mixed feelings. All of them were at least decent, but some were stronger than others. I'd like to call out Rachel Shelton in particular for being really good - she was very "no-nonsense" about the application process and didn't sugarcoat things and I loved it. A the same time, she was the only one who actively sent me follow-up emails asking how things were going with that school. She was great.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Impressed!
October 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gtgpee joined: January 2, 2014 | 11 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages  
Thinking back on my experience with Veritas, my perception of the company is heavily influenced by my experience with my main consultant, Drew. He was incredibly responsive, offering me constructive and timely feedback. He was direct, honest, and provided insight. Throughout the entire process, from revising my resume, into interviews, he was consistently available to me. I felt that there was no question small enough that i couldn't ask him, and did not push to "complete" an essay or a school.

I would recommend Drew to any one looking for help with their application preparation. Given my background, I barely even applied to HBS, but was extended an interview. I am currently awaiting a response from the school and am extremely appreciative regardless of the outcome.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great experience with Veritas
October 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Veritas Prep School Packages   Consultant:  Mark Little
I had a great experience with Vertias. Was deciding between Admissionado and Vertias, but felt Vertias had a better "team" and resources. (Although I did feel like Admissionado would have done a good job too). It's all about who your consultant is. I asked to speak with my prospective consultant, Mark, and felt he was a good fit based on my industry and background. The biggest help with any admissions consulting services is to help you really think about the big picture and the unique insight you have learned along the way. I also enjoyed speaking with the school-specific consultants to help you consider what emphasize. Overall, there are plenty of resources I also used including MBA and school webinars, visiting schools, websites, and blogs. Consulting is just another resource - expensive, but worth it if you can afford it. Good luck.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Veritas Prep Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Dave Bend [USA]
    
Dylan Tatz [USA]
    
Scott Bryant [USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more