Veritas Prep Weekend Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [9]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Veritas Prep
Every Veritas Prep GMAT course is intensive and rigorous. You will learn a deconstructive approach to confidently approach the exam, and then apply these techniques to practice questions, inside and outside of class. Veritas Prep has created unique GMAT prep tools for serious students, designed to unlock their exam potential. Learn more about Veritas Prep

Helpful course
January 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  DC Area, DC USA |
If I could describe my experience with the Veritas instructor in one word it would be Professional. Over the course of the three weekends that we met he led the Veritas GMAT prep-class with a high a degree of competence and a teaching style built off positive reinforcement and one-on-one engagement. He is enthusiastic about the material and very approachable, which created a good learning environment for me that was both fun and motivating.

The course is fast paced and I would recommend to anyone interested in taking the course to review the material before coming to class so you're not lost in the instruction. Also, the instructor was there to answer any of my questions before and after class so bring your questions to class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent!
November 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Philadelphia, PA USA | Taught by:  Neil Moakley
After taking two other GMAT prep courses two less than stellar official GMAT scores, I decided to take the Veritas Prep live course after reading numerous positive reviews.

My instructor was Neil Moakley and he was did an incredible job at both teaching how to best approach the wide array of both quantitative and verbal questions that appear on the test, as well as to providing insight into the fundamental logic that the GMAT is designed to test. Additionally, the course was extremely well organized and required a large amount of commitment outside of class to reviewing and understanding the material--this forced me to devote a significant amount of time to studying, but was definitely effective in preparing me for the exam. I highly recommend this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best in the Business- Ravi Sreerama
September 26 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jdr996 joined: September 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First and foremost not only do I recommend Veritas prep, but I truly feel that specifically Ravi Sreerama is the best instructor that I have ever experienced (not just for GMAT, but entirely). He does a fantastic job of making the coursework less stressful, by adding cold truths, and bold explanations. I feel that if you do not utilize Ravi's expertise you will not be prepared for the GMAT. As in life I am sure most all information for GMAT preparation is relatively similar; however, the delivery is the most important aspect. And with that Ravi Sreerama = best in the business!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend Veritas Prep w/Ravi
June 20 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Arbi joined: June 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas Prep is a through and complete GMAT prep course. The materials were easy to follow with a lot of resources to help you along the way. If you run into any problems you have online help, videos and your instructor to guide you.

The practice exams and quizzes are a great learning tool to see where you are with each lesson. Also, you can always review a section with On Demand lessons which is great because sometimes it helps to go over a section a couple of times.

My instructor was Ravi Sreerama who I recommend. He is passionate and really loves what he does. He takes a genuine interest in all of his students and teaches the class in an interactive manner and offers insights. All in all I highly recommend Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Course, Excellent Teacher. Mark Alan Robinson is a very effective teacher
February 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Houston, TX USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
I'm glad that a friend recommended Veritas Prep's August 2012 Weekend Full Course in Houston, Texas. Veritas Prep's course format, materials, quality & quantity of online resources, support and faculty are top notch. And, my professor Mark Alan Robinson was great: he's very personable and approachable, and he keeps the class entertaining.

Mark presents tough material in a way that isn't complicated -- kindergarten style -- and gives helpful tips/tricks that aren't in the Veritas books. More importantly, Mark ties the material to real, practical business decisions and everyday life so students learn how to think like a CEO. THANKS MARK & VERITAS PREP FOR ADVANCING MY M.S Accounting PROCESS!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi and Veritas make you like and want to learn
February 22 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hobiet joined: February 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas was not only accommodating and friendly, but experienced and knowledgeable. My instructor, Ravi, seemed perhaps overqualified, having both passed (with flying colors) the LSAT as well as the GMAT. Despite Ravi's wealth of knowledge, he always did well in presenting the material simply. He made sense of all the oddities and eccentricities of the GMAT. He never made you feel dumb for not understanding a concept; nor did he show any favoritism towards smarter students. He showed a true caring for everyone in the class, getting to know them not only as a student, but as a person. By doing so, Ravi gained my attention and helped my learning experience immensely.

The homework was never too much or too little, and I loved the ability to do it online. Having the answers explained clearly helped immensely. The skill builder quizzes helped me see where I needed more work (though I would've liked explanations/answers on them as well), and the practice tests, next to the official GMAC practice tests, were the best, most accurate practice tests I have experienced; getting 10 of them was a fantastic surprise and a awesome tool for both seeing progress as well as weaknesses and for future studying.

The location was great, as was the ability to only take a class once a week on weekend, a service not offered by many test prep companies. Veritas also goes out of their way to provide additional benefits such as AWA grading, live homework help 7 days a week, and classes on demand.

Overall, I'm beyond glad I chose Veritas over their competitors. My practice score has already increased from 540 to 600 thanks to my instructor; I have the utmost confidence I will do immensely better on the actual GMAT thanks to Ravi and Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The class is well worth it, great instructor as well (Ravi Sreerama)
February 07 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By MMGomez81 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Pasadena, CA USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I attended the Saturday class in Pasadena. Initially when I decided to take a GMAT prep class I was really nervous. Once I started the class Ravi eased my worries. He is a great instructor that really cares about his students and tries to make them understand tough content, in real world ways that make sense. He uses food like sandwiches to explain quant questions, we would have a laugh and in the end remember the content he explained.

The class is really organized and runs smoothly week-to-week. The books have good questions and equally good explanations. There are 16 online practice tests that are good as well. I began to look forward to attending and was kind of sad when it was over.

Between having a fantastic instructor, learning strategies and insight to the GMAT, and the dynamic between students, I really enjoyed this course. I also, attribute this to Ravi, he is an easy-going instructor that really wants students to do well and does what ever he can to make that happen. I'm taking the test this month and know that the help I received from this course has been invaluable in reaching my goal score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Veritas 36-Hour Weekend Course Review
October 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kiwikool2009 joined: October 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Gardena, CA USA | Taught by:  Mia McIver
**Disclaimer: The location of this course says "Gardena, CA USA" because for some reason the drop-down options did not include Los Angeles, CA. So to clarify, I actually took this course in Los Angeles, and more specifically in Culver City, CA USA. GMAT Club please correct your drop-down menu options!!!

I first heard about Veritas from a friend who took the 6-week course and really liked it. Encouraged by this, I decided last minute to register for the weekend course 2 days before the class started. The staff at Veritas was very helpful in getting me registered on such short notice. They even shipped my books to me FedEx priority so that I received them the very next day before class started.

The class was held in Culver City at the Courtyard Marriott in a room which was very nice and clean. (I had sat in on a free class offered by another prep course competitor and the classroom was very old and dingy, hence I was very impressed by the Courtyard.) My class size was about 8 people and everyone was very friendly and supportive of one another.

I thought that my teacher was very nice and helpful. She took the time to answer any questions and seemed well prepared to teach a GMAT course. She encouraged class participation so that time went by very fast and I always felt like part of the discussion. I never felt bored and she never made me feel dumb for asking any questions or not understanding a problem.

Veritas gives you 12 books divided by subject matter - arithmetic, critical reading, geometry, sentence correction etc. Since I took the weekend course, each Saturday and Sunday was 7 hours long with a hour break for lunch. This was for 3 weekends so we covered roughly 2 books per day (~ 3 hours each). I liked learning while going through the book. It helped organize my thought process and provided a good structure to the course.

The course material is very user-friendly. It logically takes you through the material in an organized way. Each subject matter is first broken down to its very basic parts so that you can refresh yourself on very basic math procedures for example. I think having a strong foundation in the basics helps to understand the more complex material later. Additionally each page of the books is not convoluted with information, so you do not feel overwhelmed. My class happened to be the first class to receive the newly revised edition of books by Veritas. Thus, there were some typos that sometimes caused me to think I got the answer wrong when in actuality I was right. This was sometimes frustrating but overall the errors are rare.

The weekend course is great if you are someone like me who works full-time and is exhausted after a day's work and couldn't possibly fathom attending a 7pm-10pm class two days a week (the 6-week evening course.) But 3 weekends does go by fast, so you will have to play some catch up on reviewing the material once the class is done. I think the course laid a great foundation for me, and now I am on my own to build upon the foundation and refine my skills. The great thing is that your online student account is accessible for a year and you can re-take another Veritas course for free at any time for one year after.

I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get started studying for the GMAT. Not to mention you get 36 hours total of class time with Veritas as compared to the measly 22-27 hours offered by prep course competitors. Thanks for reading this, and good luck with the GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Veritas Prep Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Top Notch Course
May 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By draysh joined: April 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Gardena, CA USA | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
I signed up for a weekend class with Veritas with the thought that I only needed something to force me to get me started with my studying. Long story short, I was very wrong. Veritas helped me see that there is so much more to doing well on the test than simply practice and some conceptual knowledge. I was fairing somewhat decently with GMAT practice questions prior to the course but I was not confident that I was at that desired 700 level ability, and the explanations in the practice book I had purchased (ahem, Princeton Review) were just not cutting it.

In regard to the class itself, I can say nothing but good things. The four 9-hour day weekend course was quick but highly informative. It did take a little mental stamina to keep focused for that much time at once, but it was definitely rewarding. Brian, the instructor, was a real pro and it was easy to see that he really cared about the quality and usefulness of the class. The materials he passed out were very structured and succinct. Everything he went over had a purpose, so you really get value in the time you invest. Most importantly, the course doesn't just serve as a quick fix for lack of self-study as I had originally thought. Rather, it re-teaches you how to approach the exam by helping you be more efficient and think in a manner that avoids all the pitfalls the GMAT likes to throw at you. I have taken several practice exams already and am consistently scoring in the 700 range. I know that Veritas played a huge part in that.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Veritas Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
92 points
International Student Score Improvement
n/a
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Best Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors
Brian Galvin [Gardena, USA]
    
Mia McIver [Gardena, USA]
    
Ravi Sreerama [Pasadena, USA]
    
Best Veritas Prep Deal
Save $770
+$100 discount
+$250 test bonus offer
+$420 essential guides offer
Learn more