GMAT Question of the Day: Daily via email | Daily via Instagram New to GMAT Club? Watch this Video

It is currently 03 Apr 2020, 11:01

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Intern
Intern
avatar
Status: Applying
Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Location: California
Schools: Cornell AMBA, Kellogg, Oxford, Cambridge
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 10 Oct 2010, 22:28
Can someone please clarify if Test 1 and Test 2 (in gmatprep) are taken from the same pool of questions? In other words, if I re-attempt Test1, the status of which is currently "Complete", would I be depleting the pool of questions for Test 2 and thereby have repeat questions in Test 2?.
I would like to reserve Test 2 for practice during the last few weeks leading to GMAT and sort of assist me in deciding if I'm ready for the test.
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Status: Nothing comes easy: neither do I want.
Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 2461
Location: Malaysia
Concentration: Technology, Entrepreneurship
Schools: ISB '15 (M)
GMAT 1: 670 Q49 V31
GMAT 2: 710 Q50 V35
Reviews Badge
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 11 Oct 2010, 05:19
Fremontian wrote:
Can someone please clarify if Test 1 and Test 2 (in gmatprep) are taken from the same pool of questions? In other words, if I re-attempt Test1, the status of which is currently "Complete", would I be depleting the pool of questions for Test 2 and thereby have repeat questions in Test 2?.
I would like to reserve Test 2 for practice during the last few weeks leading to GMAT and sort of assist me in deciding if I'm ready for the test.


I want to do the same. Guys those who have attempted it multiple times, kindly solve this doubt. :P

Also I have two more questions.

1. What is the practice content section? does it have questions different from the test?
2. If I do not save my session, can i go back to the review section?
_________________
Fight for your dreams :For all those who fear from Verbal- lets give it a fight

Money Saved is the Money Earned :)

Jo Bole So Nihaal , Sat Shri Akaal

:thanks Support GMAT Club by putting a GMAT Club badge on your blog/Facebook :thanks

GMAT Club Premium Membership - big benefits and savings

Gmat test review :
http://gmatclub.com/forum/670-to-710-a-long-journey-without-destination-still-happy-141642.html
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Status: Nothing comes easy: neither do I want.
Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 2461
Location: Malaysia
Concentration: Technology, Entrepreneurship
Schools: ISB '15 (M)
GMAT 1: 670 Q49 V31
GMAT 2: 710 Q50 V35
Reviews Badge
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 13 Oct 2010, 04:33
1
Though I have not appeared for test2, I m sure they have different pools.

In exam folder of gmatprep we have different dat files.

the size of test1 and test2 files is quite big, proving that the pool questions of tests are different than that of review questions option, which actually has 15 questions each.

I renamed the test2.dat to test21.dat and the gmatprep failed to start.

I copied ds.dat and renamed it to test2.dat and when I started my test2, ds 15 questions set was started.

I think pools of test1 , test2 and the review sets are different. So keep squeezing out of test1 multiple times and then start test2 near your exam. I will post the analysis once I m done with both the tests.

Moreover if the tests have same pool, why gmac will provide two different tests along with the option to reset?
Cant they provide just one test and a log file to track the questions already completed?
:P Good luck.
_________________
Fight for your dreams :For all those who fear from Verbal- lets give it a fight

Money Saved is the Money Earned :)

Jo Bole So Nihaal , Sat Shri Akaal

:thanks Support GMAT Club by putting a GMAT Club badge on your blog/Facebook :thanks

GMAT Club Premium Membership - big benefits and savings

Gmat test review :
http://gmatclub.com/forum/670-to-710-a-long-journey-without-destination-still-happy-141642.html
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 385
Location: Europe
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 14 Oct 2010, 02:18
Pools for Test1 and Test2 are separate.
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Nigeria
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 21 Oct 2010, 14:10
Is it possible to have both versions of gmat prep installed on your system. I have v2, but I keep getting an error message when I try to install version 1. I'll appreciate any response to this inquiry.
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Status: Nothing comes easy: neither do I want.
Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 2461
Location: Malaysia
Concentration: Technology, Entrepreneurship
Schools: ISB '15 (M)
GMAT 1: 670 Q49 V31
GMAT 2: 710 Q50 V35
Reviews Badge
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 21 Oct 2010, 14:24
smuvern wrote:
Is it possible to have both versions of gmat prep installed on your system. I have v2, but I keep getting an error message when I try to install version 1. I'll appreciate any response to this inquiry.


you can install on different directory.

Or if you are using windows XP then you can copy the folder of gmatprep to other location.
uninstall the current version and install again. But when you will copy the folder to other location do not forget to copy the shortcut. Then modify the shortcut to point the folder location.

I think best is to install on different directory.
_________________
Fight for your dreams :For all those who fear from Verbal- lets give it a fight

Money Saved is the Money Earned :)

Jo Bole So Nihaal , Sat Shri Akaal

:thanks Support GMAT Club by putting a GMAT Club badge on your blog/Facebook :thanks

GMAT Club Premium Membership - big benefits and savings

Gmat test review :
http://gmatclub.com/forum/670-to-710-a-long-journey-without-destination-still-happy-141642.html
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Location: San Diego, CA
Schools: UCLA, Berkeley, Stanford, Duke, UNC, NYU
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 21 Oct 2010, 19:36
First time poster here! Hopefully I'm doing this right...

Here is my question, and I apologize if it's already been answered somewhere else, but: Does the GMATPrep software practice tests include the writing section? And what are the best strategies for practicing the writing portions? I've heard differing opinions of practicing the essays as much as possible, vs. not spending a lot of time on it and focusing instead on studying for the Q and V sections.
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Nigeria
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 22 Oct 2010, 05:12
gurpreetsingh wrote:
smuvern wrote:
Is it possible to have both versions of gmat prep installed on your system. I have v2, but I keep getting an error message when I try to install version 1. I'll appreciate any response to this inquiry.


you can install on different directory.

Or if you are using windows XP then you can copy the folder of gmatprep to other location.
uninstall the current version and install again. But when you will copy the folder to other location do not forget to copy the shortcut. Then modify the shortcut to point the folder location.

I think best is to install on different directory.


Thanks for the response. My rusty computer skills are showing, I'll just install it on a different pc all together.

jldoran wrote:
First time poster here! Hopefully I'm doing this right...

Here is my question, and I apologize if it's already been answered somewhere else, but: Does the GMATPrep software practice tests include the writing section? And what are the best strategies for practicing the writing portions? I've heard differing opinions of practicing the essays as much as possible, vs. not spending a lot of time on it and focusing instead on studying for the Q and V sections.


Yes it does include the writing portion. There are various helpful resources on this forum to help brush up for that portion of the exams.
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 06 Nov 2010, 12:32
I recently took the GMATPrep for the first time and scored a 720. I overlooked what my verbal and quant scores were, and now I can't go back to check! Has anybody else had this problem? What the heck!???
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 148
Schools: Wharton/Lauder - Class of 2013
WE 1: Project Management, Telecommunications
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 07 Nov 2010, 19:33
I've installed both versions of GMATPrep and for some reason, no matter which one I go to, I always get the same essay questions. Are the essay questions the same on both?

Also - I feel like I'm seeing repeats between the 2 versions. I know there aren't supposed to be any repeats but is it possible that even though I have them installed in separate folders it always launches the same version? I feel like there's an entire bank of questions I haven't tried yet but every time I run it I keep getting repeats so any help is much appreciated! :)
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 08 Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 08 Nov 2010, 07:50
Hi,

I did all the steps atomjuggler advised for the GMATPrepSetup.exe in Mac. I've downloaded Wine and installed everything but after I've copied the GMAT Prep file to the Wine Folder/drive_c, it does not come out in Wine's File Manager. Any idea on how I can remedy is?

Also tried GMAT Prep, Open with Wine 1.2 but it's still not working.

Anyone know how I can run the GMAT Prep File on Mac OS 10.5.8 Intel Core?

I'm taking the GMAT end of Nov and I'm worried about not being able to practice on the CAT format because my comp is a Mac. Please help!

Thank you.

:-),
S
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 08 Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 08 Nov 2010, 10:30
Finally resolved the issue and the file does appear on the File Manager of Wine.

The only problem is, when I double click the GMATPrepSetup file, it won't run... Instead a little window appears with the note: "$ @Windows XP Service Pack 3 (2600) Non IE/Netscape 2.0"

What does this mean? How do i get the program to run? Help please! :-) Thank you.

-S
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 4
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 30 Nov 2010, 13:31
Are Gmatprep v 1 and 2 really different? I´ve downloaded both seperately and found the AWA-questions to be the same and also the first question of the quantative section to be the same. I´ve read that the two versions should be different, however I can´t see how.
Founder
Founder
User avatar
V
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 19444
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
GMAT ToolKit User CAT Tests
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 30 Nov 2010, 13:51
eidan wrote:
Are Gmatprep v 1 and 2 really different? I´ve downloaded both seperately and found the AWA-questions to be the same and also the first question of the quantative section to be the same. I´ve read that the two versions should be different, however I can´t see how.



Nobody has done the official review of the two pieces of software but unofficially they are different and supposedly have a slightly different set of questions.
_________________
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 11 Dec 2010, 08:36
Guys,

I downloaded Gmatprep but it is not working! I am on Windows7! on the gmac site they're not mentioning whether the soft suits windows 7
thx for your answers
Founder
Founder
User avatar
V
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 19444
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
GMAT ToolKit User CAT Tests
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 11 Dec 2010, 11:00
It works fine with my Win7 Professional.

Have you tried setting compatibility settings? (right-click the shortcut and select properties). Then pick for the application to run in Windows XP mode and run it as Administrator....
_________________
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Status: Fighting the beast.
Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 158
Schools: Pitt, Oregon, LBS...
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 12 Dec 2010, 07:39
Guys, GMAT Prep Version 1 (the older one) is giving me some trouble. I download the set-up file and when I install it, all there is is GMAT Prep, the new version. Does the new version have to be un-installed first in order to successfully use V1?
Founder
Founder
User avatar
V
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 19444
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
GMAT ToolKit User CAT Tests
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 12 Dec 2010, 09:40
The two versions are VERY similar and will install at the same location, so yes.
_________________
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 26 Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 30 Dec 2010, 17:48
Sorry for what might be a very obvious question, but is there some where where all the answer explanations for the Gprep 1 & 2 can be obtained (i.e. apart from googling individual questions).
Founder
Founder
User avatar
V
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 19444
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
GMAT ToolKit User CAT Tests
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 30 Dec 2010, 20:47
rjdio wrote:
Sorry for what might be a very obvious question, but is there some where where all the answer explanations for the Gprep 1 & 2 can be obtained (i.e. apart from googling individual questions).


There are no explanations really but you can search the forum. There are plenty of them here...
_________________
GMAT Club Bot
Re: GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests   [#permalink] 30 Dec 2010, 20:47

Go to page   Previous    1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12    Next  [ 240 posts ] 

Display posts from previous: Sort by

GMAT Prep & Power Prep Official Free GMAT Tests

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderator: DisciplinedPrep






Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne