GMAT Question of the Day: Daily via email | Daily via Instagram New to GMAT Club? Watch this Video

It is currently 28 Mar 2020, 22:46


GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance


we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.


Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Indian Male Electrical Engineer Age 33 GMAT 740 need Help for Schools!

  new topic post reply Update application status  
Author Message
Current Student
User avatar
Joined: 25 Jul 2011
Posts: 56
Location: India
Concentration: Strategy, Operations
GMAT 1: 740 Q49 V41
GPA: 3.5
WE: Engineering (Energy and Utilities)
Indian Male Electrical Engineer Age 33 GMAT 740 need Help for Schools!  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 01 Nov 2017, 11:29
Dear Friend,

I am an Indian Male Electrical Engineer aged 33...
I just appeared for my first official GMAT Exam on 31'st October 2017..
Scored 740 (Q49 V41 IR7)

Here are some details about my profile..


10th (High School)----State Board ---72% (1998)
10+2 (Intermediate)--State Board---- 72% (2000)

I hail from a family of University Lecturers, so I was enrolled in A Bachelor of Arts Course after (10+2)... completed 2 (out of 3 years) reluctantly (although with good marks)... persuaded my parents to let me join Engineering..

B.Tech (Electrical & Electronics) --- UP Technical University ----66% (2003-07)

Work Experience

2007-08 1 year as a QA Trainer in a CAT Training Institute
2008-09 1 year as a Trainee Engineer in an Electronics company....
Some social service work with a local NGO in Lucknow...

Nothing much significant during 2 years after my Bachelor Course...

July 2009--Till Date (8 years)

Working in PGCIL (One of the largest High-Voltage Electricity Transmission Companies in the world)

2010-13 Engineer (Asset Management)

Managed the operation and Maintenance of High voltage AC transmission System at 765/400 kV as well as 400/220 kV Sub-stations as Shift in charge.

Managed a Team of 10 members looking after the Power System Assets such as Power Transformers, Shunt Reactors, Circuit Breakers, Instrument Transformers etc. worth USD 10 Million

Part of the Testing and Commissioning Team responsible for capitalization of Projects in coordination with MNCs like ABB, GE, Siemens, CGL etc. Capitalization of Projects worth USD 2 Million achieved. Letter of appreciation received from CMD.

2014-17 Sr. Engineer (Contracts and Materials)

Supervised procurement of Transmission Assets worth more than USD 5 Million including foreign imports worth USD 2 Million. Responsible for Enterprise Resource Planning of Assets for HVDC Vindhyachal station, first Back-to-Back HVDC Station in India.

2017-Till date Dy. Manager (Project)

Site in-charge for 400 kV Bay Extension Project at NTPC SSTPS, Oldest Thermal Power Plant in India; project is being executed by M/s GE with a total cost of USD 2 Million.

Several Certificate Programs such as in Technical Consulting, BSI standards etc. in official capacity.
Achieved “Outstanding” or “Excellent” rating in annual performance reviews in each of last 8 years


Actively participated in several Essay, Debates and Quiz Contests at School level.
Played Cricket and Badminton at College level and also in Inter-regional Tournaments in my company
However, I really don't have many certificates to back above as I never really cared for them.
Nothing much as far as Social Service is concerned apart from a short stint after my B. Tech....

As I am on the wrong side of 30, I am eager to join a decent MBA program at the earliest..
My preferences are;

1) 1 Year Program
2) Great Career Service ( I will have to leave a respectable and well paid job (in Indian Context)....A College with great career service shall at least help me offset some risk attached)
3) I have a decent experience in My core sector...Energy.. I will be vying for a Mid-level Strategic Management position in Energy sector after my MBA..
4) I am the sole earning member of my family...I am very apprehensive about having a huge financial burden to fulfill my MBA dream.. I shall prefer colleges that may provide decent scholarships...

Based on my research..I have selected few colleges for applying in R-2...

1) LBS
2) IMD
3) HEC
4) SDA Bocconi
5) NTU Singapore

Sent scores to these 5 by default...

I am also considering..

7) NUS
8) Cornell Tech MBA

I would request you to kindly classify these as "Stretch" "Possible" and "Safe"
and also add 4-5 more colleges to the list...

Also...I would like to know whether there are any decent 2yr Programs where I can be a good fit despite my age...
I am interested in W.P.Carey (ASU) but I am quite unsure about it as a brand outside USA...

Thanking in anticipation...and sorry for such a long post :? ...
Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant
User avatar
Joined: 12 Aug 2014
Posts: 2763
Re: Indian Male Electrical Engineer Age 33 GMAT 740 need Help for Schools!  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 05 Nov 2017, 17:07
Thanks for sharing your profile. You have a solid profile and a very good GMAT score I think your target list of schools are good. I would say LBS would be the only clear stretch school for you the rest of the schools are in range. The scholarships piece will be something you have to deal with. MBAs cost money so that part of the deal when applying. The more your profile exceeds the avg class profile for your program the more likely a scholarship becomes so keep that in mind.

As far a 2y programs I would take a look at top programs in Texas like UT- McCombs, SMU- Cox, or Rice - Jones as they have good placement in energy
Veritas Prep | Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant

Find the expert who’s right for you. Meet our team!
Veritas Prep Reviews
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Indian Male Electrical Engineer Age 33 GMAT 740 need Help for Schools!

  new topic post reply Update application status  

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne