Summer is Coming! Join the Game of Timers Competition to Win Epic Prizes. Registration is Open. Game starts Mon July 1st.

It is currently 16 Jul 2019, 20:15

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Is rst = 1 ?

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:

Hide Tags

Find Similar Topics 
Math Revolution GMAT Instructor
User avatar
V
Joined: 16 Aug 2015
Posts: 7592
GMAT 1: 760 Q51 V42
GPA: 3.82
Re: Is rst = 1 ?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 10 Dec 2017, 23:56
loki wrote:
Is rst = 1 ?

(1) rs = 1
(2) st = 1


Forget conventional ways of solving math questions. For DS problems, the VA (Variable Approach) method is the quickest and easiest way to find the answer without actually solving the problem. Remember that equal numbers of variables and independent equations ensure a solution.

Since we have 3 variables, E is most likely to be the answer.
Then we need to consider both conditions 1) & 2) together.

If \(r = s = t = 1\), \(rst = 1\) and it is true.
If \(r = s = t = -1\), \(rst = -1\) and it is false.

Since we have two different cases, the answer is E.

Normally, in problems which require 2 or more additional equations, such as those in which the original conditions include 2 variables, or 3 variables and 1 equation, or 4 variables and 2 equations, each of conditions 1) and 2) provide an additional equation. In these problems, the two key possibilities are that C is the answer (with probability 70%), and E is the answer (with probability 25%). Thus, there is only a 5% chance that A, B or D is the answer. This occurs in common mistake types 3 and 4. Since C (both conditions together are sufficient) is the most likely answer, we save time by first checking whether conditions 1) and 2) are sufficient, when taken together. Obviously, there may be cases in which the answer is A, B, D or E, but if conditions 1) and 2) are NOT sufficient when taken together, the answer must be E.
_________________
MathRevolution: Finish GMAT Quant Section with 10 minutes to spare
The one-and-only World’s First Variable Approach for DS and IVY Approach for PS with ease, speed and accuracy.
"Only $79 for 1 month Online Course"
"Free Resources-30 day online access & Diagnostic Test"
"Unlimited Access to over 120 free video lessons - try it yourself"
EMPOWERgmat Instructor
User avatar
V
Status: GMAT Assassin/Co-Founder
Affiliations: EMPOWERgmat
Joined: 19 Dec 2014
Posts: 14563
Location: United States (CA)
GMAT 1: 800 Q51 V49
GRE 1: Q170 V170
Re: Is rst = 1 ?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 20 Mar 2018, 12:13
Hi All,

We're asked if (R)(S)(T) = 1. This is a YES/NO question. We know nothing about the three variables (meaning that they could be ANYTHING). We can answer this question by TESTing VALUES.

1) (R)(S) = 1

We know nothing about the value of T….
If T = 1, then (R)(S)(T) =1(1) = 1 and the answer is YES
If T = 0, then (R)(S)(T) =1(0) = 0 and the answer is NO
Fact 1 is INSUFFICIENT

2) (S)(T) = 1

We know nothing about the value of R…
…so we'd have the same situation as in Fact 1 (YES and NO answers)
Fact 2 is INSUFFICIENT

Combined
(R)(S) = 1 and (S)(T) = 1
If R=1, S=1 and T=1, then (R)(S)(T) = 1 and the answer to the question is YES
If R=1/2, S = 2 and T = 1/2, then (R)(S)(T) = 1/2 and the answer to the question is NO.
Combined INSUFFICIENT

Final Answer:

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
_________________
760+: Learn What GMAT Assassins Do to Score at the Highest Levels
Contact Rich at: Rich.C@empowergmat.com

*****Select EMPOWERgmat Courses now include ALL 6 Official GMAC CATs!*****

Rich Cohen

Co-Founder & GMAT Assassin

Special Offer: Save $75 + GMAT Club Tests Free
  Official GMAT Exam Packs + 70 Pt. Improvement Guarantee
www.empowergmat.com/
Non-Human User
User avatar
Joined: 09 Sep 2013
Posts: 11662
Re: Is rst = 1 ?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 13 Apr 2019, 23:49
Hello from the GMAT Club BumpBot!

Thanks to another GMAT Club member, I have just discovered this valuable topic, yet it had no discussion for over a year. I am now bumping it up - doing my job. I think you may find it valuable (esp those replies with Kudos).

Want to see all other topics I dig out? Follow me (click follow button on profile). You will receive a summary of all topics I bump in your profile area as well as via email.
_________________
GMAT Club Bot
Re: Is rst = 1 ?   [#permalink] 13 Apr 2019, 23:49

Go to page   Previous    1   2   [ 23 posts ] 

Display posts from previous: Sort by

Is rst = 1 ?

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  





Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne