It is currently 15 Jan 2018, 23:59

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here!

  new topic post reply Update application status  
Author Message
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 31 Oct 2017
Posts: 8

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 1

Re: KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here! [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 06 Jan 2018, 02:34
Please find below my profile for evaluation. Highly appreciate for this great help.
Nationality: Indian; Male 27 yrs
Undergrad: Btech Civil, from 5th ranking National institute of Technology, with GPA 3.9/4.0
Work experience: Employed in India's premium Oil &Gas Consultancy (a Public sector undertaking) since 2012 (work exp of 5 yrs)
The entire work exp can be broken down into 2 parts :
1. Construction site experience
a. Posted for 1 year at the esteemed site for Strategic storage of Crude oil (at Mangalore India) wherein facilities were being constructed to store crude in underground caverns. Job responsibilities included contract handling, site inspection (including inspection in underground rock caverns) , quality control, implementation of safety at site.
b. Posted for 1.5 years at a refinery expansion project ( Kochi, India) wherein entrusted with the civil structural works for the important Crude distillation unit of refinery. Job responsibilities included preparation of a green field site, handling of a contract amounting to 35 million USD which involved leading a team of 15 persons, site inspection, progress monitoring & expediting, material inspection within & outside site, billing ( completed billing of the value of 14 million USD) quality control.
2.Design office experience ( work exp 2.5 yrs , continued till date)
a. Leading a team of 6 persons ( for the civil portion) to provide EPCM services for the upcoming Refinery & Petrochemical project in Nigeria ( largest project in entire Africa) Job responsibilities include designing of underground facilities & utilities, preparation of drawings , imparting training to the Nigerian counterparts , progress monitoring, providing assistance to site construction engineers, constant interaction with client.
I don't have any on site International job experience.
GMAT: 740
Extracurricular: Not much to show. Have received professional training in Harmonium ( completed 4 professional exams), actively performed in various cultural activities during schooling, during college my team was one among the top 3 teams of west India in the INSDAG competition( an all India competition for steel design)
I am actively involved into my family’s agriculture business providing input for better production efficiency and marketing of goods (however, I cannot provide any formal certification for the same)
Post MBA goal : I want to shift from Oil & gas industry ( as all countries are moving from oil towards more environmental friendly options) and enter into strategy consulting and have an inclination to enter into M&A roles ( would explain more efficiently while writing my essays)
I have gone through Kellogg, Wharton, Booth & Sloan websites & talked with few current students but I am unable to find a profile similar to mine (Core civil engg exp). So which schools should I target besides those mentioned above?
Once again thank you for your help.

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 1

Intern
Intern
avatar
B
Joined: 21 Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Kudos [?]: 11 [0], given: 8

Location: United States
Concentration: Finance, Strategy
GMAT 1: 730 Q47 V42
GPA: 3.65
Re: KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here! [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 06 Jan 2018, 08:04
VeritasPrepDozie wrote:
Hey sprinni really nice profile here! Good GMAT that is right at the ever increasing avg GMAT at the school. You did not share your GPA, assuming you are in range for Kellogg (~3.6) then i think given your school and major this can also be a positive element for you. Work experience and ECs also seem to be in order. Work on that application and you should be in play for Kellogg!


Thanks for the note. Humbled to hear such positive things. GPA sits at a 3.641. Have quite a few EC's (through work and outside of work) as well.

Application has been submitted. One of two recommendations has been submitted. Video essay complete (fumbled through the ice breaker question :| , rebounded on the second and third)

Eager to interview in order to show my sincere interest and fit with Kellogg. Hoping my location in DC makes this possible.

Kudos [?]: 11 [0], given: 8

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 2

Re: KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here! [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 08 Jan 2018, 15:31
Hi! I would love to receive some feedback on my profile. I'm starting my research on schools and will be applying for Fall 2019 to Kellogg and Johnson

Nationality: Asian America female
Age: 25 (will be 26 when I apply)
Undergrad: University of Southern California
GPA: 3.75
GMAT: 710

Work Experience: Worked in retail management for 2 1/2 years but realized through my work that I was more interested in human resource/recruiting. I took on multiple projects and became top of the district in my second year.

I switched careers and now work in recruiting at a top tech company.

Extracurricular: Run half and full marathons. Participates/volunteers actively in local running groups

Long term: To switch from recruiting to HR

I would say my biggest weakness is my work experience. Since I switched careers, I took a pay cut and started another entry level position. I'm not sure how that would look on my application. However, I still have a year until I apply so I could potentially move up by the time I apply.

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 2

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 09 Jan 2018
Posts: 9

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here! [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 09 Jan 2018, 12:55
Profile Evaluation
Nationality – Indian
Gender – Female
Age – 28 (current)
GMAT – 730
Undergrad – Bcom (NM one of the top 5 colleges in India)
Chartered Accountant and candidate for CFA Level 2

Work Experience
A) Currently working with the shared services of one of the top 5 VC firms (from number of investments being made), VC fund size approx. INR 600 crores (USD 90m).
- Tenure – Since April 2017
- Handling the entire deal execution process from deal negotiation, conducting due diligence, to closure of the deal, working with portfolio companies for implementation of internal processes, attending board meetings of portfolio companies on behalf of the fund, etc.
B) PwC:
- Tenure – Since Jan 2013- March 2017
- Handling tax structuring, advisory and compliances for globally mobile individuals.
- Streamlined the tax structuring for a technology conglomerate to enable yearly savings of approximately USD 1 million in taxes
- Independently handling execution of yearly compliances for clients with a team of 3 people
- Handling tax assessments and representations before government authorities for HNIs, and structuring of their taxes
- Awarded the PwC Experience Award for taking initiative and implementation of PAN India software to enable reduction in time, efficiency and standardization to the process.

C) Proprietary CA firm
- Tenure – Since 2008 – June 2012 - internship, and continued as an employee for like 6 months
- Handling audit and tax assignments

D) Have also done audit assignments on freelance basis of large Indian Public sector banks

Extra-curriculum
- Painting and sketching (don’t have any formal contests, or anything), and Astrology (I am quite keen on learning it and taking some formal online lessons)

Post MBA goals
To work in a VC as an Investment Analyst; and thereafter in some years start my own business

Primary reason for an MBA
To gain international exposure and make a shift to the VC / PE space

I have been offered a finance role in one of the portfolio companies (series B Company – funded by Seqouia) of the VC fund with a decent pay and some stocks.

I am inclined to take it – majorly because of the pay, as at the VC firm I don’t see any growth financially

I am looking to target Schools
- Kellog (one year MBA)
- INSEAD
- LBS

Please do let me know my chances and whether taking up the job at the start up would impact negatively my chances to a B School

Thanks ….

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

Intern
Intern
avatar
B
Joined: 18 Feb 2014
Posts: 1

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 9

Location: United States (IL)
GMAT 1: 630 Q45 V31
GMAT 2: 730 Q49 V40
Re: KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here! [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 10 Jan 2018, 01:24
Demographics: Asian American Male (27 y/o)
Undergrad GPA: 2.79
Undergrad school/major: Top-ranked engineering program at public land-grant university.
GMAT Score: 730 (Q49 V40)

Work experience: I am currently in consulting at a mid-size boutique firm which specializes in data analytics consulting. We were recently named a 'Leader' in the Forrester Wave for our industry. I have been promoted 3x in the 5 years I have been there, and currently in a project management role for a $500k implementation.

Extra curricular: I volunteered for a small program in my city that teaches ESL to adults. But my main E/C is dedicating my time at work to recruiting, interviewing, mentoring and training our inexperienced new hires. I participate in teaching fundamental data analysis topics, as well as taking on formal mentorships of younger resources. This is all done outside of our work hours.

Goal of MBA: My target is Kellogg because I'd like to continue my career in data and analytics. These schools both have programs with curriculum focus in that area which would ideally help me bolster my skills. Post-MBA, I'd like to work at MBB or even a Deloitte or EY with a goal of helping organizations make data driven decisions. Through my work experience I've seen organizations become mature in a data storage and management perspective; the next step is to turn all that data into information and insights.

My main concern is obviously my <3.0 undergraduate GPA. I am looking to see if taking courses for an alternate transcript will help offset the GPA. Alternatively would you recommend retrying for a 750+ on the GMAT instead? Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 9

Re: KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here!   [#permalink] 10 Jan 2018, 01:24

Go to page   Previous    1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   [ 205 posts ] 

Display posts from previous: Sort by

KELLOGG PROFILE EVALUATION THREAD - Post all Profile Requests Here!

  new topic post reply Update application status  

Moderator: Gnpth



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.