It is currently 20 Sep 2017, 04:18


GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance


we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.


Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Profile evaluation request (non-traditional education & WE)

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Current Student
Joined: 20 Aug 2013
Posts: 138

Kudos [?]: 24 [0], given: 30

Reviews Badge
Profile evaluation request (non-traditional education & WE) [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 25 Jan 2014, 11:06
Hi Conrad,

I'm currently working on my profile to determine the best strategy for my R1 applications coming fall.

I hope my stats help to hear from you how you'd rank me and see my chances with Top 10 schools I intend to apply to:

- GMAT: 720; IR8, Q49; V41
- 28y at time of application, European national
- Spent a high school year in the United States
- Finished high school in Germany, completed my mandatory military service and then moved to Hong Kong
- The German educational system differs from others, as you can opt to study in the "dual education system" and attend Business School part-time, while also working in a company, which sponsors the studies. Did this for two years and became a certified "Management Assistant in Wholesale and Foreign Trade Management" (German word is "Berufsausbildung"). I remained with my company in Hong Kong for another 2.5years while obtaining my top-up Bachelors degree from a European university that's got an offshore campus in HK.
- I got my Bachelor as a top-up on the basis of my vocational training, while I was working full-time, with a 3.6 GPA, second class upper honors.
- Moved to Mainland China afterwards, where I currently still am. I'm responsible for a European company's operations in China and managing a team of 40 people.

By the time I'll matriculate in 2015 I'll have had 7 - 9 years of work experience. I'm stating it as a range as I'm not sure if the first two years, when I was working 3.5 days and attending school 1.5 days per week, are counted towards the full time work experience by schools.

I consider myself very career-motivated and currently live in a smaller city basically for my work.
This being said, my biggest problem with my resume is that I don't have any extracurriculars or voluntary work experience to state.

I speak three languages fluently and currently try to improve my Mandarin, which is just on a small-talk-level.
One of my goals for the next 12 months is thus finding a tutor to take language lessons. I believe it would disqualify me if I were interviewed by a business school but couldn't speak enough Mandarin after having lived in China for four years.. I have to admit learning languages is one of my bigger weaknesses.

Do you have any suggestions what else I could do to tune my resume and improve it?
Although I'll try to work out my international exposure as my main strength there are several flaws, or question marks on my resume and I'm not sure whether they could have a negative impact on my chances with H/S/Booth/Sloan and the like:

- Completed my undergrad in 18 months, since it was a top-up degree (although issued by a known European university)
- No pedigree names on my CV; neither big schools, nor any McKinseys, Goldmans and banks
- No voluntary work yet, no ECs as my main focus is on work
-- Starting voluntary work this month; one of my extra curricula's is actually running our own bar with two friends but I'm not sure if that's a good essay-topic

Besides improving my Mandarin should I spent time and money on courses that I could mention (e.g. Green Belt Sig Sigma) or try to find some hobbies or dedicate time to some other extracurriculars?

Any advice is well appreciated!!! :-D
Many thanks in advance!

Kudos [?]: 24 [0], given: 30

Profile evaluation request (non-traditional education & WE)   [#permalink] 25 Jan 2014, 11:06
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
EXPERTS_POSTS_IN_THIS_TOPIC Profile Evaluation Request: Moving from Education to Consulting TranslationLost 5 08 Jun 2015, 06:36
2 Profile evaluation request non-traditional older applicant modusponens 3 20 Apr 2010, 19:34
EXPERTS_POSTS_IN_THIS_TOPIC non-traditional profile evaluation request romyNOTmichele 6 26 Aug 2017, 00:37
EXPERTS_POSTS_IN_THIS_TOPIC Request for Profile Evaluation - nontraditional backgrond DVD0 1 14 Jan 2017, 18:07
1 EXPERTS_POSTS_IN_THIS_TOPIC Profile evaluation request (non-traditional education & WE) cosmopolitan 1 02 Feb 2014, 08:45
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Profile evaluation request (non-traditional education & WE)

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.