GMAT Club

Amerasia Admissions Consulting Reviews

Speak with a consultant without any financial obligation.  This free diagnostic of your MBA candidacy is meant to provide you with a snapshot of where you stand with respect to a targeted program. Engaging the right admissions consulting firm is one of the most critical decisions you will make in the MBA application process. Save $$$ when you sign up through GMAT Club
Amerasia Deal Page

Amerasia Admissions Consulting Reviews

Amerasia Complete School Package
$3500
Reviews
76
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Amerasia Consultants

Adam Hoff
Reviews
30
Average Rating
5.0
Drew Hoff
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.9
Paul Lanzilotti
Reviews
11
Average Rating
5.0
Jeremy M
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0
Anjali Shah
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

86 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 22, 2022
jimmybuffet

Joined: Jul 26, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amerasia will get you into your dream school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Because of my work with Amerasia, in R1 I was admitted to Stanford GSB, Wharton (with a $100k scholarship), Kellogg, and Columbia as a white guy with a 3.25 non-quant GPA. This would not have been possible without their world-class team.

Before picking Amerasia, I did intro calls with 10+ other admissions consulting companies, and asked for thoughts from friends who had done the process before. I was sold on Amerasia after our initial phonecall, and from eager recommendations from other friends about the quality of Amerasia's services.

So, why should you pick Amerasia to help you get great results like I did?

1. They have decades of experience and deep relationships with all of the top business schools. Each year, the Amerasia founders write an updated, extremely detailed memo on each school, discussing their various essay prompts, cultural differences, and recommended strategies. These memos even go into the depth of discussing personnel changes at an individual school's admissions team, and how that could impact how you approach the essays. For example, if a new dean of admissions is promoted and they decide to switch us the essay topics that year, the Amerasia team will already know WHY they made that move, and help you write towards the school's underlying desires. For example, maybe the school introduces a new essay asking you, "Tell us about a time you had to work with a diverse set of people to accomplish a task." The Amerasia team will have spoken to the admissions folks at that school and they will know that the purpose of this new essay was to test an applicant's background regarding ethnic diversity, adversity in the face of new environments, and grit to solve tough tasks.

2. Their consultants only work with a small number of clients at a time (as opposed to other bigger consultancy companies, who take more of a volume-led approach)

3. Their consultants take extraordinary amounts of time to get to know your personal background, story, and aspirations. I cannot emphasize this part enough. My consultant, Drew, spent many many hours listening to me rant about my life, and never complained. He was structured, efficient, and knew the right questions to ask. I felt that this was a very important part of our relationship, because when it came time to write my essays, he was able to recommend anecdotes and examples I had told him from my life as ideas for creative direction on essays.

4. Their response time is very fast, cordial, and on time. Drew responded to my texts and emails within 24 hours, even on weekends, and never missed deadlines. I have heard horror stories of the exact opposite from other admissions consultant companies, where they will ghost clients for 3-5 days at a time right around important deadlines (again, because those consultants probably have twice the number of clients to deal with)

5. They help you craft your story throughout the entire application, not just in the essays. Drew spent lots of time reviewing my resume, short answer responses, career and job explanations, and other mundane parts of the application process. His help there really made the package more cohesive and helped my application shine.

In summary, I cannot recommend Amerasia enough. They have completely changed my life by helping me get into my dream business school. I wish you the best of luck!

Full stats: 29, straight white male, T20 private US school, 3.25 GPA undergrad business major, 750 GMAT (47Q, 46V), career in marketing.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 15, 2022
Nabkhan

Joined: Sep 29, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Amerasia (Drew) will get you into your dream school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I highly recommend Drew Hoff to everyone who is interested to get an offer from Top 10 schools. I feel very lucky to have met him through another of his client who also have only great things to say about Drew. That person also got a few Top 10 offers.

I was very late in the R2 application process and Drew was able to help me improve my essays, CV, and recommendations within a short time period of 2 weeks. During that time, I was also going through some personal issues and GMAT prep, and Drew was able to accommodate me very kindly with his time and efforts. And I got the interview invites from all 3 schools and admits to 2 schools of my choice in the Top 10. Drew was amazing to help me look into my profile and story in a very different way, which I could have never done on my own. He has an extraordinary capacity to question his students to make them think and look at things from a very refined angle. I firmly believe that I won’t be able to improve my essays without his help.

Moreover, Drew also went the extra mile to comment on my essays for other schools. He was always available for quick calls to help me to proceed with my essays and other parts of the application.

Luckily, I was able to get an offer from Haas with a scholarship through Drew’s help. I highly recommend Drew to anyone who is interested in improving their profile through a perfect CV, essays, and recommendations. 10/10 for Drew and his team.

Read More

May 09, 2022
bsam98

Joined: Mar 10, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
650

A HUGE Thank You

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I got introduced to Amerasia via a GMAT Club webinar. What intrigued me about Amerasia was the approach of aligning your individual attributes to a school’s DNA. But, the real home run came when I got introduced to Drew at Amerasia.

I remember my introduction call with Drew. At first, I was confused about why we needed an hour as I had done a couple of these intro calls with other consultants and none required an hour. Jumping in, Drew took a different direction by being incredibly inquisitive about me and my goals. In the second half of our call, I got hooked. Drew took everything I had shared with him and provided feedback on my strengths and weaknesses for Booth, Kellogg, and Georgetown. This gave me confidence that Drew was attentive, cared, and knowledgeable. I signed up on the spot.

With two months out til the 3rd Round deadlines, Drew and I started work on the introspective component of my MBA application. Then came my first strategy guide, WOW! The analysis of the school and with each essay broken down; I was easily able to identify potential stories. Drew took those stories, added details from the introspective exercises, and helped me to craft and draw out the most impactful pieces that ultimately led to my acceptance to all three schools.

Overall, the best parts of Drew are that he really does care and he absolutely owns his craft. Drew took my bluntness and dull use of words and added warmth and color without minimizing the significance of my achievements. There is no way that I would have submitted my MBA applications with confidence if it wasn’t for Drew. I wholeheartedly recommend Drew to anyone who wants to feel confident when submitting their MBA application/s.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 04, 2022
mbaapplicant987

Joined: May 04, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38 (Online)

I highly recommend Amerasia's Drew Hoff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Amerasia, and specifically Drew Hoff, came highly recommended from a friend who worked with him a couple of years before. After doing an initial consultation with Drew, I was very impressed, not only with his experience helping clients through the MBA admissions process, but of his knowledge of the DNA of each program and how they differ from one another. Before I began working on the applications, Drew worked with me to iron out why I wanted to pursue an MBA and what my short and long term goals were. These exercises helped me formulate a story that I could tell in my admissions essays.

For each application, Drew created a customized strategy guide which dug deep into each school’s admissions components, and what exactly they were looking for in their candidates’ essays. The guides broke down each essay and helped me formulate a strategy specific to my resume and story, down to the paragraph. Equally as valuable was Drew’s help editing my essays. His feedback was thoughtful, creative, honest and direct. It was clear that he put considerable time into editing each, and was willing to go through as many rounds of edits as it took to tell the best version of my story. His essay feedback is the real deal. Drew did the same with my resume, which he helped me convert from a tech-focused to a business-focused version.

Drew also helped me prepare for my admissions interviews. Again, the focus was always on the DNA of each school - interviewers from different programs may ask the same question, but are sometimes looking for completely different answers. He even conducted mock interviews.

With Drew’s help, I was offered admission to Columbia Business School and Yale School of Management. I highly recommend him to anyone eying admission to top MBA programs.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2021
rwether1

Joined: Apr 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V39

HIGHLY RECOMMEND AMERASIA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Amerasia, specifically Drew, was referred to me by a friend who used him during his MBA application process and Drew guided him to acceptance at Kellogg. I reached out to Drew 3 weeks before MBA deadlines for 2021 admissions cycle. I had completed my GMAT the day before reaching out to Drew and had not began any of my applications or obtaining recommendations. I remember asking Drew if there was enough time to thoroughly complete my applications, and without hesitation, Drew said absolutely.

We had our introduction meeting and then instantly began working on the essays. One of my favorite aspects of Drew’s approach to the essays and overall application process is the structured and regimented approach he takes. He sends detailed memos for each school, digging in to the history, core values, and specific DNA of each school and what their admissions committee is looking for. These memos provide a fantastic starting place for the essays, and alleviates the majority of the guess work and stress, which was extremely beneficial given my tight timeline.

Not only was Drew one of the nicest guys to work with, he was one of the most responsive. From emails, to phone calls, Drew was ALWAYS available and willing to help with whatever I needed. Even though we are located on different ends of the country, he kept the time difference in mind and made sure that everything was convenient for my time zone (even if that meant a 6am phone call for him!).

As a Georgia resident, and with 6 years of work experience in both Insurance and Entrepreneurship (Healthcare services laboratory startup), I applied for three schools with him: Emory, Stanford and UVA Darden. With a GMAT score of 680 and a GPA of 3.71, Stanford and Darden were my reach schools. I was accepted to Emory (where I applied in Round 3 and was my number one choice). Interview invitations have not been sent out for the other schools, so I am still waiting to hear from them. His essay critiques and application guidance was paramount to my acceptance into Emory, and hopefully Stanford and Darden as well.

Using this firm and linking up with Drew was the best decision I have ever made. The overall experience could not have been better and I would not be attending my dream school without his assistance.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 29, 2020
nick0722

Joined: May 07, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Just trust Paul and his process. He will get you there

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was admitted to my dream schools, and I do believe Paul played a big part in helping me get these results.

Here's why I would always choose to work with Paul:
-He knows what every school wants and will make sure you present accordingly in your applications
-After just 1 hour of consultation, he had already built a strong thesis and angle for my applications
-I learnt a lot more about myself after the process and after sessions of brainstorming with him, probably cos he has experiences bringing the best out of every candidate
-Strong writing skills, which will be very important for your essay / application
-Finally, and most importantly, he always delivers and strives for excellence. no matter what your work / essays look like initially or even days leading to the deadline. He always makes sure the final product submitted is top notch.

My advice when you work with Paul: Trust the man, trust the process. He has many clients and might take time to get back to you, but he always delivers and he knows what he's doing.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2020
DD1HBS

Joined: Apr 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Choose Paul!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My experience with Paul was great. He was not only an admissions consultant but also became a friend during the process. My results were great. I got into HBS and Kellogg.

I am from India and I had spoken with 10 consultants to evaluate from. Almost all of them viewed my GMAT score as not good enough (730(Q50, V40)) and asked me to give GMAT again or asked me to not even try for HBS. Disheartened by this, I took a break from the process to rethink my priorities. I even took another GMAT test and scored a disappointing 710.

I decided to apply with 730 and spoke with one last consultant - Paul. Paul mentioned on the call that HBS doesn't care about the GMAT and I shouldn't worry about it at all. He also crafted a mini-story around my profile and blew my mind with his creativity and articulation. He was the only consultant who was actually interested in my story. I chose Paul in a heartbeat. I also spoke to my seniors from college and work who had worked with Paul in the previous years and were now at HBS/Wharton. All of them were happy with their experience with Paul.

Paul and I worked together on 4 schools - HBS, Wharton, INSEAD and Kellogg. I got interview invites from all except INSEAD. Below is the breakdown of my experience with Paul stage by stage of the application process:

Stage 1: Discovering your story and drafting the HBS essay. Paul and I spoke in-depth about my childhood, college and job experiences. He took a shot at drafting the first version of the story and together over the next 2 months we iterated over 30 versions of the HBS essay. Paul worked on the HBS tirelessly. He knew exactly what the school wanted and how can we deliver that in the essay. This instinct of his has been accumulated by going through the process for years. We crafted a very personal story. Seeing the final output of the HBS essay was heartening. I even compared it to my other friends who were applying in the year. Their story was not as personal and it showed a lack of understanding of what the school really is looking for. All in all, stage 1 was great!

Stage 2: Using the HBS essay and my story to draft other essays of Wharton, INSEAD, and Kellogg. This was not a hard part. We took about a month to do this. By this time I had understood Paul's style and we were able to get things done in time and move fast. We also finished working on other parts of the application (LOR, mini questions, goals, etc)

Stage 3: Polishing all the material and finally submitting it. Paul really helped me in calming my nerves and taking all the material to the finishing stage. He was very diligent at this step and made sure we did not leave any stone unturned. This was the most crucial stage. I was extremely happy with all my applications. There was depth in what we wrote and I believe all schools got to know me very well.

Stage 4: Shortlists and preparing for the interviews. I had interview calls from HBS, Wharton, and Kellogg. Paul helped me do an extensive interview prep. I was well prepared for all my interviews and a lot of questions that Paul asked appeared in the interviews. Paul also made sure that I focus on the aspects I was lagging in. He also helped me draft a very good reflection of the HBS interview, which the school asks post the interview.

Stage 5: Results: Results were in. I will never forget the day I got into HBS. I couldn't believe the results. That feeling was extraordinary. The next day Kellogg also said yes, putting the icing on the cake.

I would highly recommend working with Paul.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2020
samlit

Joined: Apr 06, 2018

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
530 Q40 V23
690 Q47 V38

Thank you Drew!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

When I finally overcame the seemingly insurmountable obstacle that is the GMAT, I was met with another challenge in the MBA application process: deciding on whether or not to hire a consultant. At first glance, all of the reviews here on GMAT Club are stellar and I was overwhelmed by my options. My partner & I eventually narrowed the list down to about 8 (LOL), and I scheduled free consultations with every firm.

After about a week's worth of daily free consultations, I had made up my mind on who I wanted to go with, and frankly, I thought hard about skipping out on my consultation with Amerasia (it was the last one). I am so glad I didn't.

Drew blew me away. Not only was he a great listener, but his enthusiasm was also infectious. The Amerasia approach clicked with me, and I was thoroughly impressed with how prepared Drew was for our call. I ended up saying YES on the spot and ended our call feeling good about my decision. Random side note: emotional intelligence is a big deal to me, and Drew was the only consultant I had spoken to that brought it up first (instead of me asking about it). I was sold from that point forward.

The investment in Amerasia quickly paid for itself as Drew's patience, flexibility, and attention to detail (via strategy memos) gave me the structure I craved during the stressful and ambiguous application process. His laid back attitude on the work we had to do (I never felt pressured to meet specific deadlines) kept me sane each step of the way. Drew strikes a great balance between relaxed and straightforward. I am also kind of neurotic by nature, so I appreciated Drew's patience with me when I kept blowing up his phone or emails with my random questions.

Throughout the whole process, I felt like Drew was personally invested in helping me craft my best story, and the amazing part is he was able to do it while maintaining my voice. I am extremely pleased with my results and never in my wildest dreams did I think I'd find this much success with my stats. Big thanks to Drew & Amerasia for giving me confidence, but also helping me translate it in my applications.

Stats: ORM. 3.44 GPA. 5yrs Operations in Financial Services. 690 (47Q/38V) GMAT.

Round 2 Results: WL at Kellogg (waiting on a decision) and Stern (app now withdrawn). Admit at Anderson, Marshall (w/ full-tuition scholarship), and McCombs (w/ partial scholarship)

Update as of 4/13: I was admitted off the WL (w/ partial scholarship) at Kellogg this weekend. I wouldn't have even applied to Kellogg if Drew hadn't mentioned it during our first call. Seriously, highly recommend him!

Read More

April 10, 2020
HSWmba

Joined: Sep 26, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
740 Q47 V45

Excellent service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Paul Lanzilotti, who communicated with me normally over Slack and also frequently over the phone. The primary sources of help came from essay editing as well as tailoring for each school.

While I had a good story and good stats (4.0 GPA, >730 GMAT), I received no interviews the prior year. I therefore shopped around and felt most comfortable working with Paul. After a long and rather nerve-racking process, Paul helped me present a more coherent story, tailored properly for each school. I ultimately was admitted to 4 top-10 schools, 1 with scholarship. I am very happy with my result and am overjoyed to attend my dream school in the fall.

Paul exceeded my expectations for 1 simple reason - he knew what to do, which allowed me to achieve my goal. Ultimately that's why you hire a consultant.

Read More

December 23, 2019
bhs125

Joined: Aug 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q45 V44

Adam was awesome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Amerasia Hourly Services

Consultant Adam Hoff

I could not have received offers from each of my top 3 schools without Adam (I ultimately accepted Wharton). I initially completed trial calls with other, larger consultancy companies, but Adam really stuck out because he spent a full hour getting to know me on a personal level. Whereas other trials seemed very cookie-cutter, Adam tailored his approach to my individual attributes. He also demonstrated an insider's knowledge to the process that targeted/accounted for the core identity of each school, rather than seeming out-of-the-box. While it was very clear Adam knows a great deal about each school, including the most efficient and effective ways to spin a narrative toward each, Adam made sure the fit was correct first.

Throughout the entire process, Adam was honest, flexible, and direct; I did not feel coddled in any way and every piece of feedback was efficient and effective with sound and outlined rationale. Adam did a great job up-front outlining my school-specific narratives and his work on the essays was top notch. He was great about eliminating unnecessary jargon/buzzwords and made sure the essays really played into the attributes each school touts. He is an extremely strong communicator and made himself available whenever I needed to hash anything out. His memos were also very helpful as references and guides while I worked through my essays. They not only paint a clear picture of a school’s essence with far more context than what’s available on school websites, but the memos also immediately get to the “this is what’s really going on here” about every prompt.

Overall, Adam exceeded my expectations and was invaluable throughout the process; I would recommend him to anyone looking to attend a top MBA program.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

48 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Amerasia