GMAT Club

August Academy Admissions Consulting Reviews

August Academy is a venture founded by an alumnus of IIT Madras and Stanford University in 2013. Over the past five years, we’ve helped students belonging to the most competitive MBA applicant pool (Indian Engineers) get into several top 20 schools from across the world. We’ve worked with people in every time zone from Australia to California - we are extremely responsive. Several of our students have received offers from top 20 schools in the US (including Kellogg, MIT Sloan, Columbia, Yale, Duke, NYU Stern, UVa Darden, Ross, Cornell, Anderson, UNC Kenan-Flagler, McCombs, Tepper, Olin and Goizueta), top 10 schools in Europe (including London Business School, HEC Paris, IE, ESADE and Oxford), and top ranked schools in other regions (Rotman, Ivey, Schulich, the National University of Singapore and the Indian School of Business). Overall, our students have won over $3,100,000 in scholarships so far.

August Academy is a member of AIGAC - the Association of International Graduate Admissions Consultants. This is a reflection of our commitment to the highest levels of integrity and service to candidates.
August Academy Deal Page

August Academy Admissions Consulting Reviews

August Academy Comprehensive Package
 $1450  $1200
Reviews
55
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed August Academy consultants

Karthik Palaniappan
Reviews
55
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

55 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 02, 2016
Sri740

Joined: Jul 12, 2015

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
740 Q50 V40

Ivy League Admit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I have had a wonderful association with August Academy which eventually led to an Ivy League admit. (Yay!! ☺ ). The journey was as exciting as the result with many twists that came along the way. It was a real roller coaster ride with countless late night phone-calls, a few interview invites and some disappointments along the way.

I was very impressed right from the first call we had when I was evaluating various admissions consultants. When I first spoke to Karthik. I had finally met an admissions mentor who did not focus on the no. of hours per discussion per candidate. I could feel a genuine interest on his side to get to know my story and to help me figure out what worked best for me.

Though I had researched a fair bit, Karthik’s inputs on various B-school cultures, their strengths and weaknesses etc were helpful in narrowing down the list of schools that I should target. The first few discussions helped me discover my true motivations and realize my strengths and weaknesses. Karthik was extremely supportive, friendly and (I can’t stress this enough) patient through the entire process. Being the perfectionist that he is we worked on my story and each of the SoPs many times over.

When things wouldn’t go according to plan, Karthik knew the right things to say to get you back on track. The myriad stories he shares about others he has helped are quite motivating as one can very easily relate to them.

I believe that August Academy had a huge role to play in helping me achieve my goal and hope that they continue helping others the same way. All the best!!


Srinath
SC Johnson Graduate School of Management
Cornell University

Read More

May 01, 2016
gmat499

Joined: Apr 08, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

My Experience with August Academy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I came to know about Karthik from the gmatclub. Before rounding up on him I spoke to a couple of consultants. After my interactions with all of them, I felt Karthik took personal interest in the candidates and was willing to spend more time to present about them in the best way possible.

I am glad I selected him to help me with the applications. We had multiple rounds of discussions to pick the experiences that would make good stories for my essays. He sat with me to refine the essays and to prepare my resume. I really liked that he was detailed oriented and went an extra mile to make sure that the application was perfect. He was always frank and did not hesitate to correct me when he thought my essays were not up to the mark. He also helped me to understand what can be added or changed to make them better. Without his help I never would have been able to write essays the way I did.

He was always available when we wanted to speak with him. His guidance for the interview process helped me in preparing for it. In short, I had a very good experience working with him.

Read More

March 23, 2016
aditir004

Joined: Jul 31, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Personalised, genuine, thorough!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I decided to take the plunge and apply to business schools, I was extremely nervous about the task that lay before me. As someone with limited corporate exposure (I’m an emergency doctor) I had no idea where to begin including which schools to select. I had already spoken to several MBA consultants but was unconvinced. August Academy(www.mbaadmissions.augustacademy.in) however, was a different story. When I spoke to Karthik, I sensed sincerity and a genuine interest in wanting to help me meet my objectives. Even before our conversation ended, I had decided to enlist his expertise.

I found Karthik to be very systematic and organised. He broke down the application process into smaller tasks making it a lot more doable. Additionally, he spent ample time towards helping me clarify my goals, which was of immense help moving forwards. Based on my interests and strengths, we narrowed down a list of schools I ought to apply to, and chalked out a rough timetable for the next few weeks. Apart from constructing a plan, Karthik inspired self-belief and guided me through each step, and thus made this daunting process seem almost easy!

Karthik was adept at assisting me craft professional essays that were unique and insightful. He mentored me in the art of essay writing, while simultaneously ensuring that the essay compositions be narrated in my own voice. Unlike other services, there was never any limitation on the number of discussions one could have. Moreover, Karthik was extremely prompt when it came to giving feedback regarding any drafts I’d sent. Even when floods in Chennai were making national headlines, Karthik somehow found a way to go online and critique my essays!

Apart from the written submissions, Karthik coached me on how to handle various interviews. Thanks to his inputs I aced every interview I encountered!

One of the issues applicants underestimate is the amount of emotional turbulence associated with the application process. The application process is time consuming and energy draining, as well as frustrating when a decision doesn’t go one’s way. In this regard, I was very grateful for Karthik’s support. Whenever I faced a setback, Karthik took out time from his schedule to call me and encourage me. Thanks to his efforts I was better able to cope with disappointments and kept moving forwards till I finally reached my goal!

I attribute my success to Karthik’s guidance and wholeheartedly recommend the services at August Academy.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2016
rishabchoraria

Joined: Aug 19, 2013

Posts: 18

Kudos: 17

Self-reported Score:
770 Q51 V42

After my GMAT, I was struggling to make a list of colleges I could apply for and was looking at the application essays for various colleges. I understood that it is very essential to be able to put forth my story effectively in the limited number of words. I wanted someone who has been through the process to work with me on my essays and help me make my essays effective.

I came across August Academy (www.mbaadmissions.augustacademy.in) on GMAT club. I set up a call with Karthik for an initial discussion. From the first call I was greatly impressed with the honesty and clarity that Karthik had. We had multiple discussions to shortlist colleges. Throughout the discussions he was open about his opinions and played a very important role in setting up my expectations appropriately. This way I knew I was taking a risk by applying to certain colleges and wasn’t bogged down by rejects.

Then comes the best part of the process where Karthik made me answer a large set of questions. This helped him understand who I was personally and professionally. This also gave me a lot of clarity and contributed greatly to the effectiveness of the essays. The fact that I wrote my essays gave me great confidence for the interviews as well. Thanks to Karthik I was not only able to apply to try for colleges that were a stretch for me but also got admitted to ISB HYD after a rejection last year.

What I greatly appreciate Karthik for is that he is a great listener, has a structured process and is always reachable. I started my applications only a couple of weeks before the college deadlines and had multiple calls with Karthik at 1AM in the night. He was also great at defining the priorities for every phase of the admission cycle which helped me attack the important aspects first.

I think if you are looking for someone who would work with you for your applications rather than getting your essays written like a few of the other consultancies do August Academy is a great choice.

Average time for one application-
I was short on time and with help and push from Karthik I was able to satisfactorily finish applications for two colleges in 10 days. So Karthik will greatly help you achieve your goals as long as you are willing to work hard towards it.

Cost-
Although I thought that price was high initially I now feel I got the value for my money. I not only got an admit in the college I wanted but also added structure to my thought and writing.

Read More

March 08, 2016
swarnima91

Joined: May 18, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admission to Ross

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I decided to apply for an MBA, I had some idea about my story but it wasn’t waterproof and that’s where Karthik made the biggest difference in my application. Discussions with Karthik (August Academy - www.mbaadmissions.augustacademy.in) were most productive if I did some homework about the colleges I was looking at. I initially found it frustrating that he wouldn’t give me a ready made storyline that would suit my background and future plans (as this was a common practice I noticed with the consultants my friends and colleagues were using) but in the long run I am really grateful that Karthik guided me to create my own story. He also suggested reading material to help me chalk out my ideas to get a better understanding of different post MBA professions. All of this meant that I didn’t have a common template which I tweaked a little bit to make it more personal but I had an original thought process from the word go and I was able to substantiate each part of my story and future plans. When both of us could not agree on something, Karthik was open to the idea of discussing and flushing out every detail (at times even having 2 calls a day or phone calls till 1 am in the night).

He also conducted a pseudo interview to ensure that all the pieces of my puzzle fit together and this was done even before I wrote my first college essay. This activity alone ensured that I had a solid framework for most common questions of my long-term and short-term goals and why I chose them?

Some essays go a little beyond asking about your professional plans where the admission office wants to get to know an applicant on a more personal level. It’s hard to figure out where to draw the line when you talk about personal stories. At such times, I had numerous discussions with Karthik where we vetted each story to check for its viability.

One very important aspect of this process was the fact that we always looked at the essays while talking on the phone. It was crucial as I figured out the loopholes by myself most of times while combing through each and every sentence. I found this approach to be more effective than exchanging several emails with drafts of the same essay.

Apart from researching on the colleges, he also pushed me to reach out in my network and talk to current students and alumni. I can’t stress enough about how important this aspect is; it adds a whole another level to your understanding which easily gets reflected in your application.

I eventually managed to get interview calls from 3 of the top 11 ranked colleges (according to US news & World report) and got an admission offer from one. Everyone has their own stories but where most of us need help is in presenting it in the best way possible with the given constraints and Karthik does a brilliant job in helping applicants with that.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 27, 2015
rajeevrao27

Joined: Nov 27, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

My Experience with August Academy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Karthik (www.mbaadmissions.augustacademy.in) for his help throughout the entire application process. Initially, I really did not have much of an idea on how to go about it. But during our first meeting, Karthik immediately put me at ease by explaining the entire process in detail and helped me chalk out a plan.

Karthik, being a great motivator, pushed me in the right direction and ensured that my resume and SOP stood out. The biggest advantage is that the sessions are strictly one-on-one and totally personalized, unlike other mainstream consultants.

In addition, to prep for interviews, he spent a lot of time conducting mock interviews and gave me a lot of tips based on his hands on experience which proved to be extremely insightful.

I would strongly recommend The August Academy and would once again like to express my utmost gratitude to Karthik for his unconditional support that resulted in me securing admission at Duke University to pursue my master’s degree in Engineering Management.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 07, 2015
sajalc

Joined: Nov 07, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q50 V32

Converting the 2+1 program of the Indian School of Business (YLP)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had consulted with August Academy (www.mbaadmissions.augustacademy.in) on the recommendation of a friend for my application to the Young Leader’s Program of the Indian School of Business. Even though I took his help just for the interview round, I genuinely believe that Karthik tremendously influenced my way of thinking.

“Real learning does not happen because of an expensive textbook or a learned teacher. Real learning takes place because of a motivating presence.” I distinctly remember Karthik dropping this bomb of wisdom in the middle of one of our many conversations. He is up to date with his knowledge, has ample and varied experience, an exceptional personal profile, and a solid track record. However, what distinguishes Karthik from other consultants is the way he motivates you.

His genuineness, clarity of thought and professionalism enabled me to prepare my case in the best possible way. Those are certain qualities I really admire and wish to emulate in my day to day life as well. Also, I loved how he treated me as an adult. There was no compulsion to call him Sir. There was no spoon feeding. Best of all, there was no fixed schedule! I had the freedom to schedule my chat session with him for how ever long I wanted it to be and for what ever day I liked.

I strongly recommend August Academy to every person who is working on their applications to college. If I had to do it again, there would be no deliberation. I’d choose August Academy in a heartbeat.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 15, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 8

Kudos: 28

Self-reported Score:
200

August Academy - You rock !!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I signed up with Karthik @ August Academy after reading his reviews on GMATClub. I had spoken with other consultants prior to Karthik; however he stood out because of his intelligence and personality. I worked with him on 5 applications which resulted in interviews from all the schools. All my applications were filed in R2.

Karthik is a thorough professional and took the time to understand my background. Accordingly we brainstormed and worked together in compiling the essays/resume that would highlight my key areas of expertise, my strengths and my accomplishments. He encouraged me every step of the way – be it prior to my GMAT exam, when my applications were sent in or when I was called for an interview. His insight into the interview questions/responses helped me immensely during my interviews.

Couple of things that I did appreciate: Karthik did not spoon feed during the application process. This was extremely vital as I wanted my applications to project who I was. Secondly he was very accommodating and available (considering there was a 10 hour time difference) for multiple rounds of review. Other consultants whom I had spoken with indicated that they would cover only 2 or 3 rounds of review. Thirdly he repeatedly stressed on honesty and quality of the applications – a virtue that I appreciate and that is extremely important in the essays and the interview process.

Bottom Line: I definitely got my money’s worth working with Karthik. My journey and acceptance into B-School (Emory – this was #1 on my list of schools) would not have been possible without his help. Thanks Karthik and August Academy !!

Read More

October 28, 2015
riyazgilani

Congratulation on rcving admit from Emory. I am also keen on this school and hence wanted to know your profile..? request to pls share your email id if you dont mind.

I have 700(Q44V41) on GMAT. BTeh Mech-Pune University with 5 years experience in Sales and Marketing with Major Oil company.

June 24, 2015
jilluisme

Joined: Jul 15, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
690 Q49 V35

ISB's EEO , IESE's Young Talent Program and HSB's 2+2 Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

A year ago, as a prefinal year student, I wanted to have a international business exposure but was unsure if MBA was the right choice for me. My parents were looking at some well-known consulting institutions for help, when we came upon August Academy, by accident. My parents preferred August Academy as they offered one-to-one sessions and for their approach towards people.

During the process, achievements and information that I had considered insignificant, were used to create a bigger picture (what I call as “My Story”): a picture I hadn’t believed to exist. I have learnt to appreciate my strengths and achievements, even the smallest of them, and to take pride in them. It helped me regain my confidence I, now, know more about myself than I did before. I can clearly understand my reasons for choosing a business career.

I received interview calls from 2 out of the 3 institutions I applied for, the third being Harvard. I have, also, been admitted into IIM C’s PGDBA course. People are now enquiring me about the help I had and I am happy to point them towards Karthik Sir(August Academy). Karthik Sir has been my mentor for the past year and I am grateful to him for helping me rediscover myself.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 19, 2015
vikasbarca

Joined: May 21, 2014

Posts: 13

Kudos: 0

Good times with Karthik

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Karthik, August Academy on 6 applications out of which I got 5 interviews. I had tried R1 applications on my own and did not get a single interview. When I reached out to Karthik (the deadlines for R2 were very close), I was looking for a consultant who would help me prepare the applications quickly and effectively. While I contacted many consultants, Karthik stood out for his intelligence, his understanding of my situation and his knowledge of the application process. As I worked with him I got even more convinced that I made the right choice. Karthik helped me formulate a compelling story for my MBA Application, which was more successful than both of us expected. Even during the interview stage, about which I was apprehensive, Karthik provided great insights that helped me engage my interviewers with more confidence. Overall I would definitely recommend Karthik for prospective MBA candidates, he will provide the guidance required to prepare a well-rounded application to increase your chances of success.

Read More