GMAT Club

August Academy Comprehensive Package Reviews

August Academy is a venture founded by an alumnus of IIT Madras and Stanford University in 2013. Over the past five years, we’ve helped students belonging to the most competitive MBA applicant pool (Indian Engineers) get into several top 20 schools from across the world. We’ve worked with people in every time zone from Australia to California - we are extremely responsive. Several of our students have received offers from top 20 schools in the US (including Kellogg, MIT Sloan, Columbia, Yale, Duke, NYU Stern, UVa Darden, Ross, Cornell, Anderson, UNC Kenan-Flagler, McCombs, Tepper, Olin and Goizueta), top 10 schools in Europe (including London Business School, HEC Paris, IE, ESADE and Oxford), and top ranked schools in other regions (Rotman, Ivey, Schulich, the National University of Singapore and the Indian School of Business). Overall, our students have won over $3,100,000 in scholarships so far.

August Academy is a member of AIGAC - the Association of International Graduate Admissions Consultants. This is a reflection of our commitment to the highest levels of integrity and service to candidates.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
54
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 55 reviews
June 11, 2015
vikimanutd

Joined: Jul 22, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The best person to go to in Chennai !!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was a normal, aimless IT professional with vague dreams of doing higher studies. After getting released from a project, I had a few months off. I decided to utilise it well and prepared for GMAT. I did well and scored 700. But then I realised I had no clues about how to proceed further. I searched forums and all recommended an admissions consultant. So, I looked up a few consultant centers and started searching for a good one. Thus I came across August Academy and met Karthik. He struck me a sincere person whose aim is to help students and not to build a business.

I was looking for a easy way to get an admit, like doing a MS MIS, but he gave the drive and encouragement and the desire to push my goals higher. He was instrumental in making me realise my ambitions and what I really needed to do in my life. Thus I decided on doing MBA but only to realise there is still a mountain to climb. He played a key role in helping me identify the universities suitable for me and, most importantly, what they look for in candidate and how should we project it. His inputs and guidance were a beacon in darkness.

Even when I got a few rejects, he pushed me and made me believe in myself and finally I got an admit in the end of Feb. He did not let me stop with that and we pushed and probed for a better deal. And voila!! I got my second admit in a reputed university with a huge scholarship amount which covered 80 percent of my tuition fee. Much of this recognition goes to the expertise of advice and training that I had received at the August Academy. I think Karthik is an excellent tutor and guide who can make students realise their hidden potential and help them reach towards bigger and higher goals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 09, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 3

Kudos: 5

A great experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Initially, my thoughts were that MIT is too far fetched. I started off the process with Karthik and it was great to resume a good working relationship.

The MBA admission process with August Academy was a great learning experience, both professionally and personally.

When I started the admission process, I did not have too much idea of how to go about the b school application. Karthik was very patient and helped me think through the entire process. His clarity in thought complemented my personality. Karthik is a great motivator. During the application process, he pushed me to complete all my applications well before the deadline. He helped me to mould all my essays according to the requirements of the applications. Karthik was available at all times during the application process. Irrespective of his busy schedule, Karthik put his students` ambitions as top priority. During the interview stages, Karthik`s interview tips were very insightful. The thorough preparation and mock interviews helped me to crack my MBA admission interviews. Karthik went out of his way to ensure that my goals were accomplished.



Update: 21 April 2015

As I started my MBA at HEC Paris, I learnt about the option of doing a double degree between HEC-MIT. Initially, my thoughts were that MIT is too far fetched and needs a lot of effort in addition to MBA workload.

I started off the process with Karthik and it was great to resume a good working relationship. He clearly understood the application process and set my expectations right. His advice during key stages of the application process was very helpful. During writing essays, I would sometimes veer off on tangential thoughts but Karthik would help me align them in the essays. In terms of time, the schedule was very tight and Karthik was very accommodative of my MBA schedule to do Skype sessions at convenient times.

For the interview process, Karthik’s tips and insights were helpful. They helped me to excel in my interview. Overall, it was a great experience working with him. Thanks to him, I am currently at one of the best schools – MIT.

Read More

June 09, 2015
sasikumar89

Joined: Jun 09, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

My experience with August Academy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

After getting a decent score in the GMAT exam, I was still doubtful whether I had a chance to get an admit for the MBA program in a good University. Me and my friend decided to look for the best tutor possible for guidance. We went to many places and were never convinced well enough, as almost all of them were running things like “It’s just business”.

Advising people looking for admissions is more than that. Once we met Karthik Palaniappan, we realized it. I was comfortable in reaching out to him by sharing my real self and abilities. I remember vividly, how he made me realize my achievements in my career so far. It felt like reinventing myself. He helped me forge an air of confidence about myself. He also helped me find the right university for me by finding out my goals and what I really want to do. Karthik’s knowledge about each university is unparalleled. I got admit for MBA program in the University of Missouri, and University of Cincinnati with an astonishing 15000$ scholarship! I can truly say that if it wasn’t for Karthik, none of this would have been possible for me. He truly made my dream come true by bringing the best out of me. I am ever grateful to this man. To me, he is more than just that.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 09, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 432

Kudos: 136

Self-reported Score:
760 Q50 V41

Excellent experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Most of the candidates have this misunderstanding that hiring a consultant will get them through to their dream school, however a consultant can only help a candidate improve his/her application quality and groom them a bit to face the application process.

I worked with Karthik for 4 of my R2 applications. This was after I had worked with another consultant during R1 and failed miserably. While working with the first consultant I always had issues that made me feel that I was following a herd approach. Thanks to my first consultant (yes, I am putting most the blame on him since he was hired to advise a novice and he did a really poor job) I lost my chances at my 3 target schools which I could have really made into.

Working with Karthik was really different. I worked with him on 3 reach schools (where I don’t think I could have made out anyway) and 1 target school. I got an interview invite from my target school. My experiences were as following:

1. I got my say. The first guy really forced me to write what he wanted, Karthik didn’t. I used to make the first draft, then we used to sit together for a few iterations and get the thoughts clearly penned down. He used to ask cutting question to determine what was crux that I wanted to communicate to the adcom, whether it was clear & concise, and what all points could actually provide depth of the situation.
2. He is generous with his time. I don’t think there was even a single session that didn’t exceed the appointment duration. Further, the appointments were easy to schedule with him.
3. I loved his way of working together rather than working individually at different times (You know the “first do, then he edits, then work some more and then he edits again” sort of chain. I hate it.).
Though I made into entirely different school, I believe that wouldn’t have been possible without the learnings of the process while working with him. he deserves the credit for that!

Read More

June 08, 2015
ujjwalpugalia

Joined: Nov 06, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
640 Q50 V26
750 Q49 V42

Great Experience with August Academy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I started to think about MBA, I knew I would need professional help to make my application stand out. Coming from an Indian IT Male background with just 2 years of experience at that point in time, I knew that getting into a reputed Bschool with my background would be difficult.

I looked into many consultants and Karthik stood out for his knowledge and experience of the application process. Within the first 2 weeks itself I was convinced that I had made the right choice.

The advantage of working with Karthik is that he is readily available at any time(I have talked to him at 1am too sometimes). He isn't like consultants who just write your essays/recos and are done. He helped me improve my writing skills and made sure my story was compelling and impactful. He also helped me dig into my life and bring out experiences I could use for my application.

Our combined efforts helped me secure an admit in Tepper School of Business, CMU which was my dream bschool as my long term goals revolve around the technology industry.

I would strongly recommend August Academy and would like to thank Karthik for helping me achieve my dream.

Cheers
Ujjwal Pugalia

Read More