GMAT Club

e-GMAT Verbal Online Reviews

Proven learning methods, hundreds of concepts and a singular focus on building rock-solid foundations make Verbal Online the most reviewed and beloved Verbal course on GMAT Club. Our unique approaches – such as the Meaning-based eliminations in SC and Pre-Thinking in CR – set the course apart and help our students make tangible improvements to their score in record time.

Experience e-GMAT Verbal Online with a 30-day free trial.
4.6 /5 Average Rating
5 star
678
4 star
272
3 star
31
2 star
4
1 star
5
Based on 990 reviews
April 24, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

e-GMAT Methodology works

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

Well this is the first course after Manhattan test series that I had heard alot from my friends I had inititally gone only for SC but later I registered for CR and RC.

The best part of the course is that each steps of action in each course is written in methodologically that helps one to not only build the approach but also make it part of one`s thinking thank to application file and same answer explanation in number of ways that makes the approach part of your thinking.

Course needs to be done couple of time to get the real gist and approach.

I am very happy with the course may even go for Verbal Live and have already recommended to number of my Friends

Read More

April 16, 2013
Dreaming

Joined: Sep 17, 2011

Posts: 163

Kudos: 141

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V40

Especially good for people struggling with basics!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

“I used the e-GMAT course and was able to score 720 (Q48, V40) after scoring 570(Q32, V35) in GMAT prep1 (and some 4 months of hard-work in-between). I took e-GMAT’s SC and CR course. SC was a challenge....I read MGMAT SC guide...but even after completing it twice I was just not 'getting it'....so I tried other means: namely 'Thursdays with Ron' videos....and later when I realized that I learn much better in the video format, I purchased the e-GMAT course(I got Grockit and GMATClub tests free with it....great deal I must say!).

Each of these three sources has their strengths, and at the end I was feeling much more comfortable with SC. I also recommend, very highly, going through OG explanations of why a certain answer choice is wrong. It’s their game after all, u got to follow their rules....Thanks e-GMAT...for that much needed "extra push"

Read More

March 26, 2013
surddre

Joined: Dec 01, 2012

Posts: 7

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
650 Q48 V32

Thank you for improving my Verbal score from 19 to 32

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

By then, I have already attempted GMAT for 2 times but could not get a good score that I would have liked. I prepared from all the books that were available for Verbal (MGMAT, Kaplan, OG, Princeton), but I could not gain confidence in verbal section.

I worked hard to gain expertise on verbal section and only concentrated on Verbal. Though I was not confident in the first attempt, I felt that I could crack verbal in 2nd attempt. I was going well during the practice tests with a good verbal score and was gaining confidence in verbal. But I did not knew that I was never in the game and with pressure I totally screwed the test both times with scores of 23 & 19 in verbal. After so much of hard work and preparation, a score of 19 in verbal and 550 overall killed me.

Not giving up, I again started my preparation with the same books I had. I even joined a coaching class nearby but that class was not even worth of a single penny. Just when there was about 1 month for my test, my friend called me and told me that he received an e-mail from e-gmat course and he saw very good reviews for this course.

I told him that we would be getting so many mails of this kind and we cannot believe in all reviews. He told me that the course was offering few chapters for free and asked me to study those free courses and then decide whether to purchase or not( as I had experience in GMAT topics). I wanted to give a try and started off with the free courses that e-gmat provided. By the time I completed free chapters of SC section, I was very happy with the way they explained each detail of main topics especially meaning errors(I was weak in this).

Me and my friend purchased SC & CR sections as we were happy with the lessons. I completed the entire course of SC & CR within 3 weeks. After the course, I re-did OG questions and this time I knew why was I choosing a correct answer and dumping wrong answers. My confidence levels boosted with this and I was well-versed in the topics, which I was weak earlier. I was also able to solve CR questions within 2 minutes and gained a 80% accuracy in CR & 90% accuracy in SC.

On the day of the exam, after I completed my math section, I was relaxed this time during verbal. I marked answers with confidence and could find all the errors in SC & break down CR questions with ease. I could manager my time in each question and did not get tensed during verbal unlike my last attempts. I was confident that I would get a good score this time and I scored 32 in verbal & 48 in math, scoring an overall 650. I did not concentrate on math, if not I should have scored 50.

The things I liked about this course are:
1. The way they drilled down each topic and the explanation provided on each subject with an example, making it easy for non-native speakers to understand.
2. Providing examples and practice questions with answers at the end of the chapter.
3. Increasing level of questions, there by making us know at what level we are and our accuracy %.
4. Video tutorial with excellent presentation, making every topic interesting.
5. Their confidence in providing some main topics for free.

I would like to specially thank e-GMAT guys for helping me in improving my score and for providing such a wonderful course, which is helpful specially for non-native speakers.

Thanks,
Suresh

Read More

November 06, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Very Good Course For Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

This is a great course for Verbal. I am not a native speaker but have a very strong grammar. However, I still struggled with GMAT's verbal section. The first time I took the Gmat I barely studied for it. The second time I registered for eGMAT because my verbal score was too low. You can't go wrong with this course. Take the full package if you struggle with verbal and also complement it with CR bible.

My only advice is that if you struggle with RC practice that (don't reply solely on the course material, sharpen your skimming abilities)

Perhaps practice the material more than once...

Read More

September 05, 2012
santu71182

Joined: May 13, 2010

Posts: 33

Kudos: 15

Self-reported Score:
600 Q47 V26
710 Q49 V38

e-gmat RC - equally important as SC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I bumped into e-gmat (through some posts in GC) very late in my preparation cycle. I had only 1 month left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying. I had completed MGMAT SC and improved my accuracy to 75% in SC but that was not sufficient. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes I scored as pathetic as 25%. e-gmat was about to start the beta trial of their RC course and I thought there could be nothing better than trying this out. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study since I am not a voracious reader and hence always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage.

Thus I went ahead and volunteered for the beta trial. The kick off session was interesting as Rajat mentioned about the pedagogy of the course and how it has been split into Concept files, Application files, Practice files. I found that quite interesting as it resembled the structure of some tutorial companies in India who conduct courses for Engineering and medical entrance exams. Belonging to a typical Engineering aspirant (common in India), I had already experienced this format and hence was comfortable in following the RC course of e-gmat.

I could see the improvement after the first week itself. RC passage was no longer scary to me and my accuracy started to improve. By the time of reaching last week before my actual test, I was confidently scoring 70-80% in RC and my verbal score in mock CATs ranged from 35-41. On the actual test I managed to score 38 in verbal and was really comfortable even in answering the last RC passage (by the time you reach there you are almost dry of energy and the anxiety to view the score dominates the senses).

Few interesting points I found about this course are:

1. Illustrative and well paced narration: The course flows smoothly and is divided into several sub topics such as: Reading Strategies, Main point, Inference, Detail Concept, and Structure Concept which eventually covers all kinds of questions possible in RC. So targeted focus on each area helps in understanding how to tackle all types of RC questions.

2. Audio Visual tutorial: As I mentioned already, I found reading through hundreds of pages on how to answer RC questions or how to read RC passage was not my cup of tea. Rather the audio visual aid used in e-gmat had a lasting impact on me till the test day and I was able to remember how should I tackle the RC passage and question.

3. Generating interest in the passage: The course focuses more on generating an interest on the topic of the passage by setting short goals of summarizing a small paragraph or few lines after you read through, predict what the author could write next etc. This helps in getting involved in the passage and no topic would appear dry afterwards.

4. Lots of practice material: I found e-gmat contains a decent number of practice passages from every walk of life (after OG 12 edition of course) and the passage analysis of each of these passages certainly wires the brain on how to read the passage in the actual test.

5. Short tutorials: All the files in this course was relatively short, lasting to a maximum of 20-30 minutes. This ensures you are not yawning midway and are able to follow what you are studying.

Since the course is still in its inception and will be released soon, I see more improvement coming into the course and thus would recommend the non-native and not voracious readers to gain most from this course, which makes reading a passage more fun than a struggle.

Read More

September 05, 2012
santu71182

Joined: May 13, 2010

Posts: 33

Kudos: 15

Self-reported Score:
600 Q47 V26
710 Q49 V38

The perfect verbal dose for non-native speakers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

My struggle in the verbal section was clearly visible from my first GMAT score and subsequent practice tests. Many of the forum members kept on mentioning that SC is an area where improvement is quick and it can save a lot of time if you master tricks of solving SC questions. And I wondered how? If my SC basics are poor how am I going to achieve this? I sat for couple of months to build up my grammar basics by following Wren&Martin. But frankly speaking I was getting slow day by day in solving SC questions.

That's when I heard about e-gmat from gmat club members and signed up for a free SC course and OG solutions. Upon accessing the course I found that the approach was totally different. Here instead of identifying grammar bits and pieces, the emphasis was on to understand what the author is implying to say. Now that was something unusual for an Indian student. We are always taught to target the pain points and identify the faults. So my earlier approach was in line to my past experience. With the new methodology adopted by Mr. Sadana and his team, learning became fun. Instead of trying to apply all grammar rules, I practiced to peep into the author's mind and that straight away alerted me to where the problem lies in the sentence. With the long sentences it helped a lot since I saved more time in re-reading the entire sentence in the 5 answer choices.

The idea of application files and concept files is also equally innovative and helps grasp the crux of the SC approach easily. With the several practice sentences and their detailed analysis by the instructor, the mind automatically gets wired to dissect a SC question during practice and during test.
All this helped me in bringing down my timing from around 2 minutes to 80-90 secs. Just imagine 7 minutes of extra time in verbal section will do wonders for you in RC questions towards the end.

It not only helped me improve my SC accuracy but also gave me some additional time to spend on the last RC question. The result was evident. From a dismal score of 26 in Verbal I could improve to 38 in my final attempt. I am sure if I had taken this course a little bit earlier, I could have easily improved another 2-3 points. Since then I suggested some of my friends about this course and few of them registered for it as well. This appreciation from my friends led me to write this review with a view that it will help many more non-native speakers to get the right verbal coaching. You would soon hear from on of them who has recently scored a 42 in verbal. Now that's an impressive score for any non-native.

Read More

August 25, 2012
priya260

Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Must for non-natives!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I learnt about e-GMAT on the Gmat Club, and enrolled myself around early Feb this year. I already had taken date for GMAT in April, and because of job commitments, I could not spend enough time for the preparation, but in the short span of 6-7 weeks, e-GMAT helped my conceptual understanding immensely.

From my first mock test (Gamtprep) @ 610 (Q-47, V-27), I improved by 4 points in verbal to get GMAT score of 640 with 31 in verbal (Q-48). While this was below my expectations, a good amount of credit for my improvement in verbal goes to E-Gmat, which helped me in firming the concepts as well as approach.

I am taking Gmat again next month and fairly confident of 700 score, as now I have actually ‘understood’ that how much difference the 'meaning' (in SC) and 'pre-thinking' (in CR) can make, something which I perhaps only ‘recognized’ at the first attempt. After learning the e-Gmat approach, when I am revisiting the OG explanations now, I am sure that there cannot be a better approach than that of e-Gmat, atleast for non-natives.

Will come back soon with a 700 scrore. Thanks e-Gmat and Rajat!

Read More

August 20, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 46

Kudos: 29

E-GMAT Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I signed up for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. It cost $119 for both. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker but if you are a native speaker of English then I would not recommend it.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using E-GMAT I purchased Aristotle Grail, which was more useful. I did not use the critical reasoning section because I used Powerscores Critical Reasoning book.

Strengths:

• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

Weaknesses:

• Fairly new company
• Found too many errors with the software
• Probably more helpful for non-native speakers (not necessarily a weakness)

Read More

July 20, 2019
aniriddha

Hi,
I found a few errors too . Also the UI needs to keep up with the latest softwares.

August 16, 2012
vatsas

Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posts: 81

Kudos: 189

Self-reported Score:
690 Q48 V35
690 Q50 V33
730 Q50 V39

Non-Natives: Verbal Prep is incomplete without E-gmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I give a majority of credit to E-gmat team for the leap in my verbal score - yes the verbal score jumped from 67%ile to 88%ile. I made multiple wrong choices in my GMAT journey but e-gmat was worth the money.

I had done exhaustive preparation for GMAT but knew that there were gaps. Even after going through the SC bible,MGMAT SC, I could not fill in those gaps. I took the exam and the fissures were exposed.I got 33 in Verbal.

When I restarted my prep I came across the e-gmat course. I tried it and I loved it. The course was different from it's competitors.
-The content was rich, well documented with examples.
-It had option of on demand and live classes unlike other courses.
-The course was delivered in audio-visual mode and was interactive.
- The course was divided in levels and the application files in conjunction with post quiz cemented the concepts beautifully.
- Lastly, it covered the nuances the other courses failed to cover such as Ing Modifier, As vs Like, Bold CR, etc.

To add to it Rajat was very helpful in pointing out some issues with my prep.

Overall, I would give E-gmat a rating of 11 out of 10. I hope that E-gmat keeps up its good work. Rajat, Payal and E-gmat team - E-gmat course is a job well done!

Read More

August 11, 2012
vix

Joined: Aug 15, 2011

Posts: 104

Kudos: 155

Self-reported Score:
650 Q49 V30

e-gmat CR

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I did this course along with e-gmat SC course, while I found the SC course really good and ground gaining, I was not able to grasp the CR concepts well. The method used to crack the CR questions is very lengthy and took lot of time. And time-factor is very important as far as GMAT exam is concerned. The reason why I might have not gained much out of this course can be that I did this course within a month of my exam.

Still, the course is very well designed (just like the SC course) and has tests at different levels. I sincerely feel that the method did not work with me, but it might work for others. May be if you are just starting your GMAT prep and are done with CR Bible, and you still have 2-3 months in hand, you can try this course and it can prove beneficial for you!

I gained 70 points over my first GMATprep exam that I appeared in December, 2011, from 580 to 650. But I would attribute this mostly to e-gmat SC course, which I highly recommend.

Read More


259 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT