GMAT Club

Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
Economist GMAT Tutor Deal Page

Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep
 $1199  $899
Reviews
104
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
 $999  $799
Reviews
163
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep
 $1399  $1099
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now

Reviews:

298 Reviews
4.5 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 06, 2013
Jobwithaheart

Joined: Jun 11, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V39

Excellent course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I tried the GMAT tutor for 7 days, 3 weeks before my exam as I was looking for quant questions that were more challenging than the ones in the OG. I was hooked with the programme as it is interactive, making studying much more fun. I measured by progress by how hard I found the quant sections in the MGMAT CAT practice tests and noticed my confidence grew after finishing the initial 20% of the quant course. I decided to purchase the complete course even though I had only two weeks before my exam and I knew I wouldn't have enough time to complete the entire course.

Read More

September 04, 2013
mattce

Joined: Jun 03, 2013

Posts: 88

Kudos: 342

Self-reported Score:
760 Q50 V43

Definitely great for some!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete has some definite merits: the convenience of online study, the layout of the course which allows whatever pacing that you're comfortable with, the speedy ask-a-tutor question system that usually responds within a day or two, and a pretty accurate quant and verbal skill measurement. (The scores out of 51).

Negatives: There is never anyone to answer the phone, despite their stating that "learning ambassadors are available from X:xx to Y:yy," the composite score is a bit of a low-ball (I hate to say it, but assumedly for the score guarantee?), and the course level really does not go very high.

I completed about 85% of the course (I was extremely busy with work and other activities in the week leading up to my GMAT, and so I didn't finish the 90% required for the score guarantee), and while the interface was friendly and easy to use (except for a few bugs on the mobile version and a few minor errors in some question wordings), I really did not learn very much.

I think that the course would be great for those looking to jump from 500/600 up, but for anyone already in the 700 zone, I doubt that you would gain very much from the course.

One thing that I think the company should do is fund it's instructors to just write the GMAT once. While I recognize that having written the exam is not a necessary condition for being a good tutor, I definitely think that it's an advantage, and this experience is definitely an expectation that I have for any GMAT prep course.

I may sound a little negative about the course, but I really do think that it would be fantastic and extremely effective for some people - it's just that as someone who was expecting this course to provide that last additional boost in the score, it didn't really deliver on that front as I ended at the same level as when I started the course.

Read More

September 02, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
630 Q47 V30
680 Q47 V36

Great course takes care of what you study next

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I have used the GMAT tutor for about a month now, starting from the 7-day trial of the course. I find the course engaging because it selects the topic you need to study & keeps your head light from any worry about what your next topic should be.

The quant is excellent. I haven't finished the course, but from what I have started, it is a very interactive experience.

I scored a 630 the last time I took the GMAT & hope once I complete the course, I will be near the 700s.

Read More

September 01, 2013
hanzzz

Joined: Aug 06, 2012

Posts: 12

Kudos: 11

very useful!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I started my preparation around 4 months ago. I can't afford to prepare for GMAT around the clock so I spent approx. 2 hours a day.
Initially, I went through all Manhattan guides and OG. However, my score was floating around 570-600 points. And like many others non-natives I was bogged down mainly in the verbal section. Actually, I did several mock tests and all of them indicated my verbal scores at a level near 18-22.

A month ago I took real GMAT and, surprise again, I scored only 570 (Q42 V26). Honestly, it was not a surprise for me at all as I felt that I still stumbled over the same questions. Over and over again. It meant that I didn't pay much attention to certain aspects and didn't learn from my mistakes.

Then I decided to follow a more consistent approach. I bought Economist GMAT Tutor. The most important factor that influenced my decision is that EGT addapts the difficulty of questions and their topics to your current progress. It seemed it was exactly what I needed.

I have been studying with EGT just over a month, but I already feel how my verbal skills have improved (according to recent report, in EGT my current verbal percentile is 78%)
I should mention that initially I started to study the verbal section only, leaving the quant section for the end. Well, I still don't know whether it was the right decision. Anyway, as soon as I finished all theoretical parts of the verbal section (my current progress in verbal is around 85%), I started the quant section (now I passed almost 45% of it).

So my review may be considered rather subjective.

Pros and cons.
Pros:
1. Very helpful instructors. They reply usually within 24 hours with comprehensive responses
2. Difficulty of questions adapts to your level.
3. Very friendly interface.
4. EGT has iPad version so I can study anywhere anytime.
5. The language that EGT uses is not sophisticated, but rather playful and friendly.
6. A lot of questions.

Cons:
1. You can't track your progress. If you need to know your current EGT percentile, you need to ask for it from an instructor. Every time. All you can see is how much time you have spent on preparation. Not a very useful option for GMAT taker.
2. VERY FEW RC articles. I think EGT offers not more than 20 of them. On the other hand, there are plenty of questions for every section (including RC).

To support my opinion I'll write my recent score reports from several test centers.

A week after starting my preparation with EGT I took an EGT test, which showed me that I scored 620 (V35 Q41).
But what was more impressive for me was that I had 650 (V33 Q47) at an official GMAT Prep.

I still have almost 50% of quant.section and 15%, which consists only of questions, not theory, of the verbal section ahead, but I can say that this product helped me a lot.


UPDATE: Yesterday I took EGT mock test and scored 690 (Q49 V37)!! Unbelievable!

Read More

August 30, 2013
ghaddad

Joined: Aug 30, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great program but has its limits

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I went through the Economist GMAT program aggressively. I completed ~96% in 10 weeks. It took me 130+ hours to complete. My baseline score was 670 (from my initial diagnostic test on the Economist GMAT program). My official GMAT score ended up being a 700. Only a 30 point improvement which was upsetting but I did move through the program pretty fast. Some of my thoughts are below:

Essay prep: Great template and real life instructors to grade your essays.

IR: Very Poor- barely any prep or problems on IR.

Quant: Great set up. I felt that the lessons were informative and the questions were challenging.

Verbal: Great for SC. The program drills in SC principles and the majority of their verbal instruction is based on SC. The CR prep was adequate. The RC section, I felt needed some work. There are only a few passages that they recycle and I didn't think their question style correlates to GMAT.

Read More

August 30, 2013
stavrianna9

Joined: Aug 26, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:

Well worth the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I would strongly recommend the GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I didn't have a lot of time to study and the fact that I could study at home whenever I could helped a lot. The first time I took a practice GMAT test before I studied for it I got a 560 and after a couple of months with this program I managed to score a 700 on the actual test. The program is interactive and focuses on your weaknesses, with plenty of exercises and a full explanation on why each of the answers is wrong or correct. You get to learn many time-saving tips and techniques, especially on the math section. I also liked how you could choose how long the studying sessions were and what they would be on (maths or verbal). All in all, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to study for the GMAT.

Read More

August 29, 2013
Hermine

Joined: Mar 19, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Interactive and adaptive, but should not be relied on too strictly

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

If you are looking for magic solutions and easy ways to crack the GMAT, the Economist's GMAT prep course is not the one you need. Yes, it is interactive and self-directed. Yes, it makes the learning experience as comfortable and as fun as it can possibly get. And no, it does not necessarily provide you with higher scores. Overall, if you are not quite the type of a student who would make up a study schedule and religiously follow it, the Economist Tutor can be really of help, as it does all the scheduling for you. It enables monitoring of your own progress and works on your weaker areas. Moreover, its Sentence Correction part is really well structured and enormously useful. That's the good.

The bad: From my point of view, the Economist GMAT prep course overly relies and makes you rely on tricks and "easy" solution ways, which may well work for some students but did not work for me. This particularly concerns the Reading Comprehension part, where it was recommended to read only the selected part of the text depending on the question type. As a result I missed the general idea of the text and ended up rereading the text, losing time and score points. Moreover, the range of the RC texts by Economist is quite limited, texts repeat far too often, which makes the exercises boring and not objective. The similar problem with the "easy ways" occurs in quant section, which overly relies on ballparking.

Concerning my score, on my exam day I did much worse than on simulation tests and even worse than I did before accomplishing 25% of the course.

Read More

August 29, 2013
dlehrner

Joined: May 19, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I decided to finally stop talking about applying to business school and actually do it. The only problem with my decision was the application was due in two months. I immediately went to Amazon and purchased the Official GMAT study guide which is inarguably a great resource. I then found the Veritas Prep videos on the iPad that really helped me understand thinking like the test maker. Unfortanately, thinking like the test maker didn't translate into beating the test maker as my first score was much lower than I anticpated. I think I let my poor performance on the IR section affect me during the Quant and Verbal sections but, regardless, I needed to retake the test in one month and increase my score at least 50 points. At that time I found great reviews and a free trial for the Economist's GMAT Tutor. I bit on the free trial and after being impressed with the teaching style of the online course I purchased the one year subscription. I did not have enough time to complete the entire course but in the 40 hours I was able to get through approximately 40% of the material and raised my GMAT score by 100 points. Overall I was impressed with the layout and teaching style and have recommended it to several other co-workers considering going to B-School next year.

While nothing is perfect, I really only had a few small complaints regarding the Economist GMAT Tutor. The first is more an issue with my lack of time as I did not have time to get to some of the sections that I knew I needed more time with, like Geometry and Combinatorics. I also wanted to review the exponents section a few days before the test but you are unable to select specific topics. I also had two technical issues, the first on my work computer where I am unable to login via IE because of a "no transport" error. However, it is a work computer so who knows what restrictions are causing the issue but Firefox worked without a problem. I also tried to use the course on a first generation iPad and some of the scientific notation fonts would not render which made learning the Quant sections impossible but selecting Verbal only was still available while I was mobile.

The constant interaction required with this course is guaranteed to keep you involved in the learning and forces you to learn the material.

Read More

August 26, 2013
yoavsusz

Joined: Aug 24, 2013

Posts: 11

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V41

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Perfect for people with busy schedules. GMAT tutor really learns about you quickly and is able to quickly assess your strengths and weaknesses and tailor the course to your needs. I would highly reccomend it to people with busy schedules that do not have much time on their hands and need maximum results in minimum time. The only real weakness is the RC part that I believe they could improve. The way that the RC is quized is problematic as you often getting questions from differing passages making the learning tedious. Apart from that, the course is highly recommended. Quant is expecially good, I improved 12 points from the beginning q35 to q47. Ended up getting a 700.

Read More

August 26, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q40 V42

Very useful tool

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

This is a very useful and robust tool to prep for the GMAT. You can go at your own pace and the program provides very clear explanations to all questions.

Unlike some other online programs, I believe that Economist GMAT is particularly interactive. While you can reach out to an actual tutor, the most beneficial aspect is that the program really goes along with you, continuously, every moment. You are not just sitting back and observing, you have to be actively engaged the whole time.

Most material starts with a general lesson overview on how to approach certain types of problems. You then see several example problems and the corresponding explanations. You will then be asked further problems with the aim of answering the question in a reasonable amount of time. After you answer the question, you guess at how much time it took you to answer. You then get feedback on both your answer and the amount of time you thought you took vs. the amount of time you actually needed.

There are several practice exams to go through, although there is also a very deep pool of questions that you go through during normal study.

Read More


135 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Economist GMAT Tutor