GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
167
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Reviews:

167 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 14, 2016
NerdyVet

Joined: Jan 13, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q38 V38

Simple but effective

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Having signed up for more expensive, flashier online courses the year before I was ultimately disappointed that I was still unable to break the 600 mark. EmpowerGMAT had been recommmended to me by a friend who had used them to achieve a higher score and is now studying at a top B-school. I immediately liked their simpler interface, clear, uncluttered and uncomplicated presentation style and their very well delivered instruction. Their efforts to actually put the test in context - WHY the B-schools actually care about the test - were particularly helpful as no other course had done this before. As a busy vet I was unable to commit to in-person instruction or online classes that dictated being present at specific time. EmpowerGMAT's online, on-demand course was perfect for me as a result. Although I made a schoolboy error on test day (ran out of time on the Quant section - Doh!) I did ultimately break that illusive 600 mark and raised my score. The level of customer service I have received has also been exceptional, with prompt, helpful responses exemplifying their focus on us, their customers. Thanks EmpowerGMAT :)

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2016
iss002

Joined: Jan 09, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V37

Great Experience With EMPOWERgmat! 700 to 760

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I used EMPOWERgmat to help prepare for my 2nd crack at the GMAT. I scored 700 on my first try, but I knew I could do better on the Verbal section. I'm happy I found EMPOWER because their "Score Booster" programs provided just what I needed. The videos on the site cover all the details, without wasting any time. RIch and Max do a great job of breaking down the material and also providing tips on how to best approach problems. One of my favorite aspects of the EMPOWER experience is that Rich and Max will always let you know which questions are "worth points." This made me realize that in the past I had put much time and effort into problems that were not necessarily as "important."

Their approach to SC helped me realize just how logical that section is and I began treating those questions with the same confidence I approached the Quant questions. In the past, timing was an issue for me on the Verbal section and I found the RC and CR EMPOWER tactics to be extremely helpful in my time management efforts. Come test day I was able to attack the passages with confidence and use proper note taking strategies to cut down my time spent on each question.

My Verbal score increased from a 37 to a 46 in just 2 months! My goal was to keep my Quant score (49) right where it was and to improve my Verbal score and that's just what I did in 2 short months using EMPOWER. It had been almost 4 months since my first GMAT attempt so I found the Quant Score Booster to be helpful in refreshing my Quant skills to get back to where I was originally. I 100% recommend EMPOWER for all retesters who are committed to improving their score and just need some guidance along the way!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2016
Maragall

Joined: Oct 23, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

EMPOWERgmat for the win

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERgmat really helped me organize my scattered and overwhelming approach to the GMAT. After self-studying for about a month and a half, I used the EMPOWERgmat Score Booster to inject some purpose into my studying. The course provided me with new, simple techniques for both verbal and quant and allowed me to develop an effective strategy for each question type. I started to understand how the test makers were thinking and I was able to identify the difficult questions that were not worth worrying about. If you are seeing minimal improvement with self-study or other courses, I highly recommend making the switch. The course simply gets to the point and allowed me the confidence to score a 730 on my first attempt.

Read More

January 04, 2016
dsong908

Joined: Jan 04, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Good for the Final Push

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I had taken a course prior through another reputable company and that was great. It set the foundation for me but I needed something else to give me that final push. That's where Empower came in.

I think what sets Empower apart is they have a great support system in case you have questions and their material really reflects that they understand the test and want to give you every piece of advice to help you ace it, from your mindset going in, even to miscellaneous things like what you should eat or small tricks you can do.

Through Empower I was able to push my score from 710 to 740 and make no mistake, those last 30 points are very difficult to achieve.

Overall, a strong score is always dependent on your work ethic first. No course by itself will help you achieve your goals without it, but having Empower did everything outside of that to guide me there. Thank you!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 23, 2015
afoster144

Joined: Dec 23, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V40

Empower GMAT - from 680 to 710 to London!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Empower is an extremely powerful tool and I would highly recommend it to anyone planning to take the GMAT, especially those who struggle with Quant.

For $99/month there is no more effective tool on the market.

I was particularly impressed with their quantitative section. What separates Empower is their test taking strategies. The GMAT tests how well you take the GMAT. Empower's strategies were extremely useful on test day and helped me save precious time, get the right answers to tough questions and boost my score.

Their video explanations were extremely thorough and allowed me to better analyze my shortcomings, which I could then address and move forward.

Moreover, the demos don't feel tedious. I spent 2-3 hours each night after work going through the Empower material and rarely found myself going "crap, this sucks". Empower keeps you engaged and keeps you motivated.

I went from a 680 to a 710 with a big jump in quant. I have just accepted my offer to London Business School and would like to thank the Empower staff (who are extremely friendly and thoughtful) for their help.

Again, I highly recommend this tool to anyone in the market for GMAT prep help.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 11, 2015
serendipityxt

Joined: Dec 11, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Highly recommend Empower for your GMAT studies!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I was able to improve from a 580 to 720 (Q47 V41 AWA6 IR7) after just two months with Empower! I did use another test prep company right before Empower to brush up on the basic concepts, but I really believe the tactics and tricks Empower teaches are worth preaching and are refreshingly different compared to those of other companies. During the exam, knowing when to trash a question was absolute key during the quant section.

I took a GMATprep practice test 2 weeks before my exam date and I got a 660. I was so disappointed and almost lost hope that I could obtain my dream score. But I tried my hardest anyway and what I think made the biggest difference was focusing on the verbal section. The same amount of points in verbal meant so much more than the same amount of points in quant. That was something I never would've realized without Empower. THANK YOU!! I should probably mention my quant score only improved 3 points since day 1! Without Empower I wouldn't even know how to study smart and use my time efficiently.

Now I am able to apply to my target schools knowing that my GMAT will not be the reason I do not get in.

I definitely recommend this program to anyone who's interested in taking the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 01, 2015
Dhananjai1990

Joined: Jun 05, 2013

Posts: 31

Kudos: 14

Self-reported Score:
650 Q43 V36
710 Q48 V39

EMPOWERGMAT helped me get a 710!! (retaker)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I got the score of 710 (48Q 39 V) during my re attempt at the gmat and have tried a couple of products during this time & EMPOWER GMAT helped me get over that 700 mark.

Context of the Score: consistently scoring 700 plus in the mock tests but not able to replicate during the actual exam due to various factors and my sc accuracy was erratic under time pressure. Used E gmat verbal course(Also very good,especially for non natives ) to set a very solid verbal base . My previous score was 650 (47q and 35V)


I followed the verbal score booster plan and it was excellent for the following reasons

1) Helped improve my SC accuracy significantly while also reducing the time i took per question. Their course is also pretty short and effective. Great if time is limited.

2)RC - although i have always read the entire passage. EMPOWERGMAT really emphasized this and their note taking strategies are great

3)Their insight into the test and how the GMAT works is fantastic and is alone worth paying for (reduced my test day anxiety )

If you are anything like me and not able to figure out why you are unable to replicate mock performances on the actual GMAT ,then id recommend this course. If you have more questions i'm happy to answer them. For me, Empower worked out to be a great finishing course.

Read More

October 26, 2015
Species8472

Joined: Feb 21, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

650 to 740

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I decided to go with empower because of its affordable price, the score booster method which allows you to skip most quant fundamentals, and the various advice and strategies used to work around certain questions and save precious time for the questions that do matter.

For the Quant part, I feel that EmpowerGMAT will definitely be more helpful for people that already have a good grasp of the fundamentals but do want that extra boost by adding efficient strategies to their arsenal, such as the art of triaging and test it methods that must become like reflexes. While those strategies may feel at first counter-intuitive, I do feel that they are much more effective than focusing solely on extremely hard quant questions such as the ones you can find on GMATClub.

The Verbal part is extremely useful; I would probably recommend EmpowerGMAT just for their advice on RC which will help you achieve easily 100% accuracy on any level questions. The CR methods are broken down to very simple concepts that are easy to apply and clearly show you which topics are worth more of your time. The SC part focuses less on remembering many complex grammatical rules, and is more oriented towards simple things to look out for, as well as clearing out obvious mistakes in wrong answer choices.

Unfortunately, I failed the official exam a couple of days after finishing the course. I scored a 640 while I was aiming for a 690, which I consistently got on CAT’s at home. I was extremely stressed, especially on the quant part and to my surprise the verbal was a complete disaster.

I rescheduled an exam for the next month, and sent an email to EmpowerGMAT in order to explain what happened.

I got in touch with Brian, who was extremely helpful in identifying the factors that led to the scores I kept getting, and just as I suspected myself, I was not correctly applying the strategies given by EmpowerGMAT. Furthermore, my knowledge of the material was not really an issue, and thus more practice questions were not going to help me much.

Brian also wrote me a detailed email that outlined exactly what strategies I absolutely had to implement on the test day. I felt that this email as probably the most helpful advice EmpowerGMAT gave me.

I only had enough time to test them on one GMATprep CAT before the real exam. I got a 710, breaking through the 700 barrier for the first time.

The next morning, I focused as much as possible on implementing the tactics that had worked the day before. I couldn’t believe the score that showed up: 740, ranking in the 97th percentile.

Those tactics helped me achieve a score that many, including myself, have only dreamed about.

I would highly recommend EmpowerGMAT, especially to the people that feel like they are beginning to stall and don’t gain any more points by doing additional practice questions. I would also encourage people to contact them directly and tell them about your particular issues or situation, the EmpowerGMAT team is extremely kind, helpful, and comprehensive.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 08, 2015
ENGRTOMBA2018

Joined: Mar 20, 2014

Posts: 2552

Kudos: 2610

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

EmpowerGMAT course - excellent for retakers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.

Read More

June 06, 2015
ghmaps

Joined: Jun 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q42 V35

Great prep software

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Using empowerGMAT to study to retake the GMAT and so far it has been awesome. Great video explanations, TEST IT strategies, etc.

Rich's explanation of TEST IT and Test the Answers and other empower tactics have been very helpful as I prepare for round 2 of taking the GMAT.

I used empowerGMAT before but I sucked at pacing myself, so this time around I'm using the score booster lesson to beat my official score and focus on pacing.

I've recommended empowerGMAT to others because it is at your ow pace, the modules are self-explanatory and there are videos for every question in the book. Really great resource if you want to become a GMAT assassin.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat