GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat Online Course Reviews

   The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 Bonus for GMAT Club members
4.8 /5 Average Rating
5 star
156
4 star
18
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
2
Based on 179 reviews
April 12, 2020
Pumaman5

Joined: Jun 30, 2018

Posts: 9

Kudos: 8

Verified score:
680 Q44 V38

No improvement with empower

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

After egmat and Mathrevolution, I was looking for another program that wasn't really teaching theoretical concepts bur rather strategies to tackle verbal/quant questions more efficiently and smartly. Empower seemed to be the right program for that.
Disclaimer: The program recommends a 3 months prep time and I only had ~6 weeks. But given that I did not start from scratch I felt it would be sufficient.

[General]
For both sections it uses questions from the official guide (that you need to purchase separately). While I would always prefer to study OG questions, the questions are not incorporated into their program (I guess they arent allowed to do so). This requires a bit of annoying back and forth between OG book and the program. In addition, they provide a bit of background on how the test works and what strategies work best which I found useful too.

[Quant]:
I actually liked the approach they suggest for quant (e.g. test it) and I think it is a successful way to increase your quant score once you have mastered the techniques. However, I wasnt able to do so as I tended to fall back to my initially learned way of approaching questions. This might be related to the fact that I did not have the whole 3 months.

[Verbal]:
I did not like much the verbal part of this program. I found it very often that according to empower it was "crystal clear" why this is the right question and it can only be this one, while I was still uncertain. I felt that instead of elaborating on the reasons why the answers are wrong/right, they tend to use power language to make you feel confident about their rationale ("boooom - the argument does not hold", "The claim is destroyed"). Perhaps it is a cultural difference, but this kind of language makes me suspicious and less confident about the quality in this program. It rather made me feel like reading one of those books in which the author found the only way of becoming rich that nobody else has found out before him.

Lastly, during my GMAT preparations, I have learned that there is not one course that suits everyone so bear in mind while one program might not resonate with me and the way I learn, it might work very well for someone else. As i mentioned in my GMAT debrief, a good way to understand whether this is the right course for you is to check the expert solutions / replies on the gmat forum. If you like the way the EMPOWERgmat expert explain / tackle a question, then go for the course.

Read More

May 15, 2020
mharris1193

Joined: Jan 14, 2020

Posts: 4

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
680 Q45 V38

EmpowerGMAT Gave me the boost I needed!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

When I started my GMAT journey, I completed an initial diagnostic exam and scored 480. With plans to attend a top 25 school, I knew I would have to score at least 680 to be competitive. After studying for 6 months using the Economist GMAT Tutor, I scored a 600 on my first official GMAT. In search of a miracle pill, I subscribed to Empower GMAT and after 12 weeks of additional practice, I scored 680 on my second GMAT, the "Online GMAT" in April.

Why Empower GMAT?
Strategy Focused: Max and rich alert you to the questions you should be skipping, the tactics to employ when you need to guess (triage), and Verbal / Quant shortcuts to deploy when you're running close on time. After my Economist GMAT course, I felt that I had a solid understanding of the material, but I was not maximizing my time efficiently. Max and Rich focus a lot of their lessons on test-taking STRATEGY to ensure you're not wasting time, a huge bonus for people like me who experience pacing issues.

Official GMAT Guide: Max and Rich ONLY present you with official guide questions. I cannot stress how important this is. I've completed practice problems from around the internet, but the official guide questions are closest to the actual test-day experience. Because of my daily practice with official guide questions, I felt more confident and better prepared on test day.

Video Explanations: After each timed-quiz and throughout each lesson, Max and Rich provide detailed explanations for each practice question. They tell you which tactics are most efficient, what to include on your notepad, and whether the question is even worth your time. This last fact helped me identify which questions on the actual GMAT I could "dump" without major penalty, a huge bonus that only Max and Rich provided.

Stellar Verbal Tactics: After using Empower GMAT, my verbal score improved from 30 to 38, a fairly huge jump in only 12 weeks. I found the Empower tactics for verbal far superior that what I received from the Economist GMAT.

What can be improved?
Review of Basic Math / Grammar Concepts: Max and Rich provide a review of all the math and grammar concepts you need to know to be proficient at GMAT, but it's strictly a review. For me, it was just what I was looking for, because I already felt comfortable with content. But users that feel they need additional practice on their mathematics or grammar foundation may be disappointed.

Final Thoughts -- I started my GMAT journey 10 months and 200 points ago. I am truly grateful for all the tactics that Max and Rich provided to help me reach my GMAT goals. It's an excellent course if you're looking for that strategic edge to push your score just a little further, but if you're expecting a refresher course on foundational math or grammar concepts, you should consider alternatives.

Read More

May 14, 2020
Josegutimen

Joined: Oct 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
570 Q35 V34

Very thorough

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The EMPOWERgmat course is very complete. Overall, I was very pleased with the EMPOWER tactics, in specific the tools the give you to get through the Quant and Verbal sections.
Their Test It method is very powerful to get through problems with variables in the Quant section. It was also really helpful to understand that not all problems on the GMAT are worth the time it takes to answer them. For this issue, the Triage solution was also very helpful.
In the Verbal section, they helped me develop a clear understanding of how to get through the different Reading Comprehension, Sentence Correction and Critical reasoning questions.
The insight provied in the course regarding the importance of Verbal was crucial for me. In the end, the Verbal section was the strongest for me, and being able to identify each type of question within setions of the Verbal, was very helpful.
Although there is a ton of content, not all of it is relevant. I believe a better way to organize the progress of the course would be helpful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 11, 2020
blacktoe18

Joined: Mar 10, 2020

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Well, not usually the kind to do reviews, but this time round I felt it important to give the EMPOWERgmat team their due credit.

To be honest, I initially chose EMPOWERgmat due to their competitive price, saw other more 'established' courses that cost a good few hundred bucks or even >$1k. And for me, the course has been nothing but great, with their very competitive pricing making it even more valuable. I had all of what, ~7 weeks to prepare; and in this period thanks to covid-19 I was stuck at home having to juggle working in the busiest period my company has ever been, taking care of my newborn, and study. My first official Mock score was 600, and looking back the odds really did seem stacked against me. I absolutely needed a course that helped me gain the points with maximum efficiency. And that's exactly what EMPOWERgmat provided.

No long-winded focus on complicated formulas or math solutions, no dilly-dallying on crazy grammar rules, but just clear, simple, effective methods to get those points. And I believe that is what most candidates want. The nuggets of tips that they drop throughout were also extremely useful - not gonna divulge anything here but they helped me approach the exam with a different mindset that made the task feel much easier and manageable.

Couldn't have managed this without EMPOWERgmat, and i'm grateful I enrolled here. if you have any doubts, they have a 1 month 'trial' which won't set you back much, i tried, and didn't look back. I'm not sure if this course will 'guarantee' you getting >750, but I wasn't targeting that, i wanted a ~730 score which is already the avg score of the top US MBAs and this course certainly helped me a great extent to achieving that.

Kudos to the Max, Rich and the team!

Read More

May 02, 2020
dvnielng

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 6

Kudos: 3

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

GMAT smoke and mirrors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Course has terrible content - old platform, with numerous mistakes in the grammar/solutions. I brought this up with the owner Rich Cohen, who acknowledged and persistantly denied my request for a refund

The syllabus is a chaotic mess of pointless anecdotal clippings and poorly laid out exercises

Avoid this test provider at all cost. Reviews are all inflated and overzealous, exaggerated and in many cases I believe completely fake. Many better test providers out there, if you read deeper into gmatclub/forums online you will too find out the truth about empowergmat

Avoid Empowergmat at all COSTS. Owner Rich Cohen has been a complete hassle to deal with also. AVOID

Read More

April 10, 2020
Wellsem

Joined: Oct 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
760 Q48 V47

Killer Verbal Help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I used the Manhattan Prep books before my first two GMAT attempts (720 then 710). Those books were great but I was all over the place in verbal and wanted to take one more shot at the test. I needed to slightly improve Quant and get much more consistent on Verbal. I was hoping for a verbal 44. I started Empower at the urging of a friend.

Empower was incredible. I was trying to be efficient and I was able to pick and choose the modules I reviewed and the documents I added into my study routine. Stacy and Rich both reached out and gave me tailored advice on where they would focus. My time in the sentence correction modules reaped incredible rewards! I became ridiculously consistent and was able to get a V47 (only 2 verbal problems wrong). I got the 760 and called it a day. I highly recommend Empower for all of their resources but particularly found it to shine for Verbal SC and Quant tactics. A lot of time saving strategies in their curriculum!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2020
michele98

Joined: Jan 09, 2019

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
690 Q44 V40

Average

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Extremely average course, nothing that you can't find online for free or buying other printed resources.
The platform is not user friendly and barely usable.
Overall, it may be useful only if you're starting from a VERY low score.

The only good thing is that the official CATs are included, which at least decreases the price to justify.

Extremely average course, nothing that you can't find online for free or buying other printed resources.
The platform is not user friendly and barely usable.
Overall, it may be useful only if you're starting from a VERY low score.

The only good thing is that the official CATs are included, which at least decreases the price to justify.

Read More

March 15, 2020
l123

Joined: Mar 15, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Thank you EMPOWERgmat!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERgmat was truly helpful in my preparation for the GMAT. Its format allows you to study at your own convenience as opposed to having to tune in for a live class, while providing guidelines to ensure you are on track with your study progress. The videos help make confusing concepts clearer, while sharing tips for test day that many other services do not provide. EMPOWERgmat uses official GMAT practice tests and problems to guide the teaching, which I believe gives a big advantage in knowing what to expect on test day. Huge thank you to Max and Rich for helping make studying for the GMAT an engaging experience and one that has helped me get a score I was hoping for!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 02, 2020
MF90

Joined: Jan 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
690 Q45 V39

Great for strategic quant tricks

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EmporwerGMAT really help with strategies to speed up my quant exercises. GMAT is designed for business students not for math nerds so there are a bunch of shortcuts you can use to get to the right answer in a more efficient manner. That's the value that empowergmat brought me. For the verbal part they are OK but not amazing. You will learn some tricks but nothing super out of this world. The platform is quite simple to use and their reply to all the emails. You can see they really want you to be successful. Overall I recommend them. Although it's somewhat expensive for a online course think of it not as a cost but rather as an investment in your future

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 28, 2020
kera7

Joined: Apr 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

Ave EMPOWER

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Hey, Empower rocks!

Short intro: I used services of another company for my first two attempts in which I scored 640 and 660 after studying for a few months. Then I decided it's time to shake the things up, and I signed up for Empower's 1 month program.

I scored 700 (Q49 V36) in my third attempt (only a month after I signed up for this course) and I feel like I only scratched the surface!

So, let me explain why someone should sing up for this course.

Because all the content out there is basically the same (as GMAT remains the same), structure of the course is very important and the presentation of the content is as well. Empower is the real deal in this matter. Generally, human beings insist on structure (simply, it's easier to live a structured lifeit's easier to have a structured approach to the test and to the studying) and Empower ticks all the boxes when it comes to this. GMAT can be studied for and prepared for by solving just a handful of questions, and vast question databases are not really necessary. Almost everything GMAC does, it does with a very good reason, so guys, use OG (and understand questions from the OG) and Empower's course to become an assassin (GMAT assassin of course 😊). When it comes to my experience with Empower I can say that the team was responsive and helpful anytime I texted or mailed. They understood where my weaknesses were and readily helped me improve in my weakest areas.

Another area in which Empower turned out to be the right thing for me is the psychological side of the preparation. GMAT is an ego tester, so words and guidelines from the prep companies (and in this Empower really excels) can be really helpful. I find Empower's test strategy very valuable and I would recommend it to anyone. Obviously, leap from 660 to 700 is not something negligible.

Long live Empower!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat