GMAT Club

Anthony Ritz Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Anthony is a full-time tutor with over eleven years of experience. He holds degrees in physics and applied mathematics from Georgia Tech and a law degree from Georgetown, and his test scores include a 99th percentile GMAT score (790), a 99th percentile LSAT score (176), a perfect score on the SAT (1600/1600), perfect scores on three SAT II exams (800/800), and perfect scores of 5 on numerous AP exams.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 60 reviews
August 29, 2016
cmt5d

Joined: Jun 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Worth your time - and money!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I took the Veritas prep course with Anthony Ritz at the Washington Hilton in DC. Prior to taking the class, I spent a few months studying on my own out of Princeton Review and a couple of other books/online resources. To be fair, I was not very diligent about studying and did not abide by a strict study schedule. I worked my way through the materials I did have and purchased the 7 pack of practice tests from Veritas. After studying off and on for a few months, but feeling like I had a good foundation, I took one of the Veritas practice tests and scored a disappointing 590. I soon realized that if I was going to commit to the process, I would need to buckle down and take a class that would give me a rigid structure and the test-taking strategy I was not gaining by studying on my own. Following the recommendation of a friend, I purchased the Veritas 6 week class.

Veritas' online resources are incredibly helpful and robust. There are skills, drills, and problems to accompany each in class lecture. Additionally, there are online lectures that follow the same material, so if you miss a class or want to review a portion that proved particularly challenging, these videos were great to watch over again.

Going into the class, I was particularly weak on quant and, while I did the verbal lessons and attended all classes, my focus was on practicing quant as I neared my test date. The previously purchased Veritas tests were helpful for this, as I could just take quant sections if I did not have enough time for a full practice test. Still, my advice to others is to take the full practice tests as many times as you possibly can. I ended up scoring as high as the 99th percentile in some of my practice tests where I only took the quant section. I think this led me to have a slightly inflated sense of confidence, as I did not achieve these scores in a full practice test but still held high expectations when the test date rolled around.

All in all, I am happy with my results and I know I would not have achieved my score had it not been for Anthony and the Veritas class. Of course, it's on you to keep up with the work and utilize the resources provided, but I think Veritas gave me all the tools I needed to do well!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 20, 2016
udirosenhand

Joined: Jun 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

Top notch course and instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 160 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

If you're looking to get in proper GMAT shape, look no further than Veritas and Anthony.

My first practice test: 590
Seven weeks later...
First official GMAT: 750

Veritas has an outstanding understanding of the test and it provides excellent tools to communicate that understanding. From the insightful and mindset-preparing introductory note to the numerous practice tests (including helpful answer explanations), the curriculum is simply spot on.

More importantly, I found Anthony's take on the class to be incredibly valuable. His ability to reinforce core concepts efficiently is masterful, weaving important GMAT skills in and out of lessons with memorable examples.

For GMAT students in DC, the decision is simple. Choose Veritas and Anthony

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 07, 2016
mwidge

Joined: Dec 01, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

Great Prep Class - Awesome Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

The class was very thorough, starting from math basics that we learned in high school which many of us have forgotten. From there it built on those foundations and covered every possible topic/question that the GMAT could cover. In addition to ensuring that the quant and verbal basics were drilled into our minds, Veritas as well as Anthony gave us a very solid strategy of attacking each section and type of question (which really helps on the time aspect). It was a very intense class with lots of homework, but paid off in the end in getting me the score I wanted and needed to be a competitive applicant (above 700).

The hotel where our classes were held shifted our schedule and room around a lot, which led to a lot of confusion. On the final day, this actually resulted in a couple of us not being able to find the correct room and missing a class. Anthony took time out of his own schedule the following week to privately come and teach us that lesson, which was very nice of him.

Read More

May 03, 2016
Cameron562

Joined: May 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
560 Q35 V31

Worth the price of admission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

After one week in Andy's class I had already met my official score on two consecutive practice tests. The biggest proponent of the class was the comfort and confidence Andy provided regardless of the level of problems. He aided me to somewhat enjoy the grind of studying. Moreover, I valued the time of class prep as the more classes I went too, the more I increased my awareness of traps, strategies, and answer anticipation. I was skeptical of taking the class live in person, but it was worth my time. I would of finished the class had not for an unforeseen personal matter, but the classes I did attend were incredibly helpful and worth the price of admission.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 28, 2016
Daisyluver9

Joined: Mar 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q35 V44

A Resource for Every Type of Learner

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

Veritas continually surprised me throughout my studying journey with the breadth of resources available. I am a mix of auditory and visual learner, so in person classes are the best way to learn. However, Veritas also offered on the go instructional videos that you could watch and listen to while doing just about anything. They also had private tutoring which was excellent, and their books were all available via e-reader.
My instructor was available at all hours of the day for calls about tough questions and moral support. He was excited and positive throughout the process and never was stumped by a question.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 25, 2016
hvdarlin

Joined: Dec 04, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V38

Great Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 170 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

I took the course in late fall. It was 7-10:15 so if you take it prepare for late nights and much thinking. The course is very in depth and to many the material will be new. Many good skills come from this. Anthony Ritz is very funny and engaging.
Six weeks was a lot of time and tough to do. I took the test two weeks after the course ended and increased my GMAT score by 170 points since the last time i took the test in May. Had it not been for two rouge weekends i could have don better. I suggest starting with the veritas practice tests for the first three takes and then moving on to the official gmat practice tests for the last three of four. Thanks!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2016
jamesnreeves

Joined: Dec 18, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q44 V35

Veritas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I took the course at the Washington Hilton with Anthony Ritz.

The books alone seem to be a bit overwhelming, but Anthony really made the difference in understanding the core concepts, what I needed to focus on, and the logic of taking the GMAT. A lot of time was put in outside of class (as expected), but the course helped keep me focused and on track.

Anthony as an instructor was great. He not only knew what he was talking about, but he could explain the concepts in a way that most of the class understood. He also did his best to make the class enjoyable.

I highly Recommend.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2016
MJohnson10

Joined: Jan 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q44 V34

Anthony Ritz is amazing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

Anthony Ritz is an amazing GMAT professor. He is able to effectively communicate the core competencies and strategies required to handle all problem styles. More importantly, he made studying for the GMAT and classroom discussion actually fun. Even though my greatest hurdle in preparing for the GMAT was mental (i.e. dealing with stress), he never looked down on me or frowned upon my performance. I scheduled roughly 6-8 hours of outside tutoring time with Anthony to improve my verbal score, particularly focusing on sentence correction. Veritas Private tutoring is fairly expensive, so Anthony made sure every minute of private tutoring was used to the student’s benefit. Studying for the GMAT is stressful, but I am forever thankful that Anthony was there for even when I wanted to give up on myself. For these reasons and many more, I highly recommend anyone seriously interested in excelling on the GMAT to sign up for Anthony’s class. I was able to retake the course without any qualms.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2015
JohnnyKipling

Joined: Apr 23, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

Anthony was amazing. He is an incredible instructor and I think the he truly cared about my improvement. My first two GMAT scores were 660 and 680. I was really hoping to get over 700 so I decided to take a class and tutoring with him. I recently took the GMAT and achieved a 710 and I truly believe it of Anthony. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is interested in taking a GMAT class. He does a great job leading class discussions and does a great job explain concepts in multiple ways so that everyone can understand challenging or difficult problems.

Read More

December 31, 2014
dbrianbunch

Joined: Dec 31, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Can't Go Wrong with Anthony Ritz and Veritas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

Anthony Ritz was a fantastic instructor. Somehow he managed to hold my attention through six all-day courses, relaying tons of strategies and techniques for answering GMAT questions. He truly cares about every student in his classes and is endlessly patient. I actually started to look forward to classes after one or two sessions. He was also non-judgmental, which was important to me, since my practice test score was pretty low - particularly in the quantitative section. Instead of dismissing my needs, he seemed to be more patient and spend more time on quantitative material. I could not have asked for a better instructor.

Results: I improved my score by 70 points and received perfect scores on the verbal and essay portions of the GMAT.

Read More


28 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Anthony Ritz