GMAT Club

Christine Defenbaugh Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 5 reviews
May 29, 2017
tta344

Joined: Apr 02, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

I was someone that would always try and start a self-study course only to let it go to waste. I dreaded standardized tests and had no confidence, until I started my studying with Manhattan Prep's in-person class. I definitely needed a class to get me on a strict schedule to study and besides Christine, there were some great other instructors at Manhattan with a lot of options if you missed a class. Their offices are also convenient and nice, and preferable than trying to study at home. I felt the homework load was very manageable and effective, and that their tests were a little harder than the official GMATPrep's, but perhaps that sets you up for success in the end. I also complemented my studies with a Veritas in-person tutor to focus mainly on Verbal and my weak areas, but can say the unique Manhattan resources like the Navigator were the best out there. All in all, I started my first practice test at 640 and ended with a 760 on the first attempt, and can attest that these resources were reasons I was able to get there.

Read More

May 19, 2017
soniashah93

Joined: May 19, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Manhattan Prep - 130 Point Improvement!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My experience with Manhattan Prep went above and beyond my expectations. Having self studied for the GMAT prior to taking the class, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of expertise and skill all of the instructors had and was so happy to have such seasoned GMAT takers teaching me the most helpful tips and tricks for taking the test. I took the course with Christine Defenbaugh - she is an incredible teacher whose explanations are clear and understandable. She is very nice, very smart, and helps you identify target areas to ensure you get the score you are striving for. You've got to put in the work, but they provide you with the tools, tricks, and guidance to help support you through your studies. After scoring 70+ higher on my second test, Manhattan Prep is definitely the way to go.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 13, 2017
NYCBS19

Joined: Apr 21, 2016

Posts: 27

Kudos: 15

Verified score:
700 Q45 V40

Manhattan Prep In-Person Classes

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

In my opinion, the MGmat guides set is definitely worth the money but I can't say the same for the in-person classes. The video 'interact' option that you get with the in-person class package was great because I could watch and re-watch the lessons until I was confident about certain topics.
Although I had a very smart instructor (insane GMAT/ LSAT Score), I feel that in the in-person classes, we didn't really go to in-depth when we studied concepts, the classes were mostly about 'tips and tricks' one uses when answering multiple choice questions (how to eliminate/ how to choose etc) and discussing solutions to a few questions. If you need content, read the MGmat guides cover to cover (I can't stress this enough).
For me, I would have probably learned the same if I had opted for the online course instead of the in-person one. So in my opinion, I would still choose to learn via the MGmat course (that's how I learn best) but I would instead opt for the online option (not the in-person classroom experience).
One more thing, this was also a recommendation of MGmat, make sure to schedule your test at least a month after your last class. Practicing on your own is KEY to a good score and that month (or more if you have time) will really help you drill down concepts learned from the guides and from the videos/ in class. PS: English is my first language.

Read More

December 13, 2016
seleanor

Joined: Dec 13, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

In-Person Course / Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Christine was a great instructor. She methodically explained verbal and quant approaches and problem types. She made class engaging and, in particular, was great at getting us into the mindset of the test and providing tips for being strategic test takers.

The course and prep books were overall extremely helpful. I found the quant sections of MGMAT's practice tests to be more difficult and have different types of problems than the actual GMAC exams. That being said, they were probably useful in that they were harder practice than the actual tests themselves. And the analytics that MGMAT provides to track your practice tests and problem sets are extremely useful in mapping your own personal prep strategy.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 26, 2016
mcrescente

Joined: Aug 26, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V39

Great course and books

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the ManhattanPrep classes early in 2016 and high recommend the course. The classes and material were great and helped me study to take the GMAT and get a score over 700. The books and online material are very streamlined so you study in the most efficient manner and don't waste time learning or doing things that won't help. Our instructor, Christine, was a lot of fun. Make no mistake though, the study and homework workload is heavy. I'd say 10-20 hrs per week.

Their website was particularly useful. They have online classes that cover the class content and can also be used for review. The interactive classes have excellent exercises to help with the AWA and IR. And finally they have the online CATs and a system to take the individual questions/tests online, review answer explanations and analyze your performance on specific types of questions so you can work on improving weak areas.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.