GMAT Club

Dave Gent Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 15 reviews
February 26, 2018
sg2468

Joined: Dec 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Experience with Dave Gent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I started my experience with Veritas Prep with my target schools selected and resume and essays written but wanted a neutral review of my work. Dave Gent turned out to be an excellent fit! He was helpful from the very beginning and quickly shared ideas on how to highlight my strengths and improve my weaknesses. You could tell right away that he is an expert on the admissions process and really understands the different cultures at the top schools. He brought up points that I would have never thought of, and I was very appreciative of those important insights. When I compared the materials I started with to what I actually submitted, it was like night and day. He always offered good solutions and thoughts that helped focus and shape my story. Additionally, Dave created a game plan with me on a weekly basis. I was able to turn my revisions around quickly and he accommodated my tight timeline to get everything completed. I would highly recommend Dave regardless of what stage of the application process you are in!

Read More

February 07, 2018
avrm244

Joined: Sep 26, 2017

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Dave Gent Admissions Consulting Services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Dave has been very helpful in identifying the issues with my application. I did not know which parts of my profile to highlight, Dave greatly helped me there. His knowledge and experience with the schools was really helpful as well, he assessed my application and help me built a strong application focused on the schools. I have never applied to any US school, that’s another area he helped me by making sure I know about the nuances of the application. His assessment of my interview was really helpful as well. I found about my glaring issues and worked on them with his help.

Overall a wonderful experience.

Read More

December 21, 2017
pm1992

Joined: Dec 21, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Amazing Experience with Veritas and Dave

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had applied on my own to a couple of top MBA programs last year and was rejected without interviews. Even through I sunk many hours into my applications, within just one session, Dave was able to highlight different areas in which I could strengthen my essays, resume, and letters of recommendation. I started with Dave in April for a four-school package, and every step of the way, he was an incredible mentor and guide. Dave took the time go get to know my life story, future goals, and general life; I never felt like just another client. Dave was great about really cutting to the core of my stories and the reasons I made decisions while still focusing on the impact of those experiences. The final results blew away my best expectations - 100K scholarship from Kellogg, 60K scholarship from Booth, and full rides from both Tuck and Darden. Thank you so much to both Veritas and Dave for a fantastic experience and amazing results, and I highly, highly recommend Dave. Can't wait to start school in Fall 2018!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 11, 2017
titanp321

Joined: Jan 10, 2014

Posts: 10

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V37

Invaluable insights and guidance for a STEM background

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

My experience working with the Veritas Prep Team was absolutely invaluable to my business school applications. It gave me a perspective that I would have otherwise never gained and enabled me to attend the MMM Program at Kellogg.

I have a rather unique background in that I went to work for a research foundation studying global climate change out of undergrad were the company was run more like an academic institute than a profitable business.

Despite my lack of fundamental business knowledge, I spent a number of weeks with with my consultant talking through my experiences and generating the vernacular and insights to tell my story. This was absolutely critical to my application as my consultant brought out stories I thought would not be suitable for the application. I was wrong.

Through the process, my application transformed from a statement of fact patterns to a story about how I transformed a culture and created a company.

I would highly recommend Veritas. The team was easy to work with in that someone was also available to contact. In addition, I worked with 3 different consultants across the 2 school package, giving me the opportunity to gain reps on my story telling and solicit diverse feedback.

Read More

February 06, 2017
mynameismatt

Joined: Feb 06, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Veritas prep was great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I can't strongly enough say how much of a pleasure it was to work with Veritas prep and all of their consultants. My head consultant, Dave Gent, was always available and ready with thought-provoking commentary. He kept me calm, motivated, and on pace during an extremely stressful process. He pushed me to stretch myself in areas I normally struggle and I am quite certain I would not have had the success I did have without his continued support.

Overall, Veritas and its consultants exceeded my expectations and I would absolutely recommend their services to anyone applying to top MBA programs (I got admitted to UC Berkeley and Kellogg).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 29, 2016
stephenenightingale

Joined: Jun 29, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q49 V46

Dave Gent - Great Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Dave was a fantastic consultant - I was interested in pursuing a nontraditional career path and I thought that Dave was able to bring out the best parts of my previous experience in my application. He assisted throughout the essay / interview process. His advice was always critical (which I greatly appreciated), but constructive. It was very important to have a third party neutral observer on the process to really hone my application, and I'm sure that I wouldn't be where I am without his assistance. Advice on the interview was especially valuable - as I don't get feedback on my speaking skills very often - really helped me kill the Chicago interview. Off to Booth next year!

Read More

May 20, 2016
TMac2622

Joined: May 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Veritas Prep Consulting: One of the best decisions I've made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I hope this review helps anyone reading it make one of the best decisions they could ever make if they are serious about business school….. Veritas Prep.

I’ve been a client of Veritas Prep for many years. I chose VP for GMAT study prep because their course touted statistics that were far superior to their competition. I had such a great experience that I decided to enlist their consulting services for my B-school applications.

It was a lot of money to spend (worth it!), but I was willing to do anything to chase my dream. Even from my first interactions with VP, I felt as though they were actually rooting for me to get in, not just collecting my money…. and this was with everyone I talked to (extremely helpful and supportive staff all the way around). They try to get to know you and your ambitions, then pair you with someone they think would be a great fit to help achieve your goals. I feel extremely fortunate to have been teamed up with Dave Gent, VP Admissions Consultant.

My experience working with Dave was excellent. I immediately felt confident and relieved of anxiety once I saw the resume Dave had and his experience with admissions for some of the top business schools – the same schools that I wanted to attend. Dave took the time to understand what my goals were and how everything fit with my background. He introduced me to a program I didn’t even have on my radar, and while his suggestions were based partly on my background, they were mostly about finding a fit (if you have ever visited a business school and talked about admissions, this is one of the most important aspects of the application).

Once we had our target schools, we began the application process. I must add that I was hesitant to even apply this past year (Rd. 2) without a higher GMAT score (I had a 700 and the school average was 724+). Add to that, it was mid-November, I was getting promoted to a new position in CA, traveling every other week to hand-off with my predecessor, relocating from NJ, and oh BTW, two major holidays just happened to fall at the end of each of the last two months before applications were due. Dave had the experience with these programs though and looked a profiles of people who he previously helped get accepted – he assured me that as long I could produce my best application, Rd. 2 was as good a time as any to apply (except Rd. 3!!).

Over the next 6 weeks, Dave and I held weekly calls, exchanged 150+ emails, performed 25+ essay revisions, perfected my resume, prepared recommender packages, and held mock interviews. Dave took me through VPs thorough application process, so I felt confident the whole time that as long as I put in the work, Dave was guiding me towards my best application. Dave was with me every step of the way, bringing in school specialists when it was time, and challenging me to do my best work. Looking back, I can’t believe how much we did in 6 weeks – I had always had it in my mind that I would spend 3-4 months over a summer preparing for Rd. 1 application deadlines. To get my application submitted over the course of 6 weeks with two holidays, a job change, and a move to the opposite coast was something I never imagined would be the case.

I was extremely happy with the application I submitted. I thought Dave’s greatest strengths throughout the process were challenging me and my work, and finding even the smallest details to perfect. I can’t remember how many times I re-read my application proof before submitting the day before the deadline, but I do remember how proud I was at what we put together. Thanks to Dave, I knew I gave it everything I had – I did my best, and I could live with any outcome.

Outcome: 2.3 undergrad GPA, below average GMAT, accepted to a top 5 business school…… Veritas Prep, Dave Gent, one of the best decisions I have made.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 16, 2016
fredo00

Joined: May 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Great Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After multiple essay drafts, phone calls, emails, and an admittance letter, I am extremely glad to say that I am very satisfied with the service that my consultant provided. From the beginning, he helped me focus on the aspects of my application that made me a great candidate for the program I was applying for. He constantly reminded me to think of the mission and philosophy of the school and how it related to my own goals and values. This focus allowed me to write very concise essays that told my story in a captivating way while highlighting parts of my personality, goals, and work/life experience that made me a good match for the program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 12, 2016
gmatclubuser123

Joined: Dec 15, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V39

Well Worth It! I Definitely Recommend Veritas Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Veritas Prep provided great services. I am so glad that I was matched with my head consultant Dave Gent. He was definitely concerned not only about helping me submit a great application, but he genuinely cared for my personal success in general. He provided a lot of insight and asked the right questions so that I could clarify my experiences, strengths, and short and long term goals. He walked side by side with me throughout the long journey. He is very approachable, extremely knowledgeable about the admissions process, and I was always confident his detailed feedback was on point. I felt I could really trust his advice given not only his knowledge and experience, but also because he is an upright individual with an outstanding character.

I also had coaches for the specific schools, which is a great benefit of Veritas- to not only have experts for a given school, but also to have several people to share ideas with, get opinions from, practice interviewing with, and more. Their feedback was very fast and helpful.

It was so important to have people that are knowledgeable guide you and give you objective feedback. That is why I would highly recommend the consulting services.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 11, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Dave (my main consultant) on 4 schools and was able to get into 3 of them. Dave genuinely cares about my personal goals and invested in a lot of time in helping me determine what approach I should take for my applications. He has admissions experience and was able to offer me valuable advices and saved me a lot of time from doing unnecessary prep. Great guy to work with!

For school specialists I would highly recommend Rich Williams (Booth). He went above and beyond in helping me with my presentation. Rich inspired me to come up with a theme for my presentation that is true to who I am. He then took way more time than what he is responsible for to help me develop the idea. His applications and interview advices are on point with what the admissions office is looking for.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

4 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Dave Gent