GMAT Club

David Newland Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

David, Veritas Prep’s 2006 Instructor of the Year, has been teaching and tutoring as a part of the Veritas Prep team since 2006. He is truly in elite company: David scored in the 99th percentile on both the GMAT and the LSAT. After graduating from the University of Michigan Law School with his JD, David worked for the National Park Service living on a wilderness island and writing environmental compliance documents. Now living in Vermont and teaching Veritas Prep’s Live Online GMAT courses, David teaches and tutors the GMAT full-time. David is a true GMAT expert, and his learning techniques and community contributions have helped thousands of GMAT students all over the world.

4.7 /5 Average Rating
Based on 33 reviews
June 06, 2017
delux253

Joined: Oct 25, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
640 Q42 V37
660 Q40 V40
680 Q46 V38

Veritas Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

Overall, don't think the 20 point improvement to my score was worth the cost of the course. The scores on my practice tests were significantly higher than when I actually took the test, so not sure what was up with that... I did learn a few useful quant and verbal tricks that helped. David was a great instructor, however, I am not sure we "finished" a lesson. We usually have a few more practice problems (typically the more difficult ones) left at the end of the session. Sometimes we would spend a decent amount of time on a specific that only one or two students had, as opposed to have the assistant instructor handle the question on the side... Again, while my score improved, I am not sure the monetary cost of the course was worth it for me.

Read More

March 28, 2017
gujukrish

Joined: Apr 04, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
Canceled

Great Tutor & A Great Guy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor David Newland

Location Columbus, OH USA

I worked with David for about two months; he was extremely helpful throughout my GMAT process and acted not only as my private tutor, but also as an invaluable support system. The GMAT is a mental game of sorts in which you may often find yourself questioning your abilities and progression. David always gave me more confidence and genuinely cared about my success, a trait that many tutors don’t have. David also provided me with multiple resources to help me attack my weaknesses and was extremely flexible with his schedule.

If you are in the market for private tutoring with someone who will guide and support you throughout your GMAT journey, look no further than David Newland.

Read More

January 14, 2017
ReddyL

Joined: Dec 03, 2012

Posts: 11

Kudos: 4

Self-reported Score:
200

Amazing end for 2016

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Immersion Course

Instructor David Newland

Location London, United Kingdom

I attended the immersion course by David Newland and must say that was the best decision I've made in 2016. I booked onto the immersion course by David Newland as it suited my timing and wanted to get some help with GMAT and I would say that I made a good call. The course was intense and fun at the same time.

David made sure everyone in the class was engaged as we were doing 7hrs study daily and it is very easy to lose focus. He made sure everyone was on track and was very approachable. He made sure that he addressed everybody's questions in the class and if he was running over time provided links to the explanations so that we don't miss out on important information/explanations.

His teaching skills are amazing, especially in the Verbal Section. Of course, him being the contributor to Vertias Prep GMAT study material and having been tutoring for 10+ years he is very knowledgeable in all the concepts and makes he passes on this information to his students.

All in all, I must admit he is a great tutor who helped me approach the GMAT in the right direction. I recommend him to anyone planning to take GMAT.

Read More

November 07, 2016
Shay1990

Joined: Nov 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
390 Q18 V25

Veritas Prep Live Online GMAT Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

I took the Veritas Prep GMAT Online Course with David Newland and he was a great instructor! He made the classes enjoyable while thoroughly explaining each skill and the reasoning(s) behind it. David taught at a good pace so it did not feel like I had to rush to keep up. David and his assistant, Bridget, made a great team. I haven't taken the GMAT yet after the completion of the course, but I feel like I understand the material much more after taking the course. Veritas Prep also sent a book for each class, so there are plenty of practice questions and skill builders. Thank you David and Bridgette!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 22, 2016
bboredd

Joined: Mar 08, 2015

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Great GMAT Prep!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

David is a highly engaging instructor who makes the material interesting, and easily understandable. Having tried to do GMAT self-study prior to the course, I realised that there were some areas that I simply struggled to master. David's ability to simplify challenging sentence correction problems, explain tough quant questions made the learning journey less of a chore, but something I actually enjoyed.

Although this is an online course, the platform allows for great interaction between students and the instructor. David made an effort to involve every participant in class, and was always available for questions via email out of the class.

All in all, a great professional, a great teacher and a great friend. I highly recommend David for anyone who is considering this course!

Thanks David!

Read More

May 10, 2016
jkalski3

Joined: Feb 09, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q45 V41

Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

I took the online course with David Newland (two days a week for 3 hours) and highly recommend it. Going in, I felt like I had “hit a wall” after putting in a good amount of studying and failing to achieve my target score. My area of weakness was Quant, and David does a great job of boiling down the questions to what really matters. He provided plenty of shortcuts/important rules/etc. in addition to the strategies outlined in the textbooks, but the real value-add was the thought process he taught for each question type. David also did a great job identifying the special rules/properties that are worth memorizing (e.g., identifying primes), which is great because I think it’s really easy to go overboard with all of the stuff you can find online. If you’re struggling with Data Sufficiency, I would seek out a course with David. It was almost a complete 180 for me from pre- to post- course in Quant.

The other great things about the course includes: (1) score improvement guarantee, (2) practice question bank (you won’t run out) and (3) advanced verbal practice (improved verbal as well!).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 29, 2016
tuna15

Joined: Dec 24, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q46 V40

Great Course with Veritas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

Great resources, David was helpful and available whenever needed and had a way of explaining material that made it easy to stay focused for 3 consecutive hours. His quantitative classes were really effective and he had a ton of tips and tricks to share about strategies, timing, and shortcuts. Additionally, the 'TA' for the class was super helpful in answering questions online while David was teaching. On the verbal side, David broke down problem solving and sentence correction really efficiently and made it easy to diagnose problems. Lastly, on AWA and Integrated Reasoning - we only spent one class on it, but was more than enough to achieve the highest scores on each of those sections.

Overall a great course.

Read More

December 18, 2015
opme

Joined: Aug 20, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
600 Q40 V32

David Newland- Highly Recomend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

Baackground- I have been out of school for a while, so I needed a good kickstart of the GMAT. If you have been away from school, taking a course like Veritas Prep is vert helpful.

Instructor- I was very impressed with our instructor, David. He was always trying to engage the class and was very peppy every day.

Coursework- To improve at the GMAT, you need to put in the work. Sometimes the classroom sessions are not necessarily hard enough or the class gets stuck on an easy problem. The homework and the 7 extra tests Veritas gives you is very beneficial. You should really do the homework or as much as you can between lessons. If you come prepared before class and do the work after class your score will improve.

To note- Our instructor did recommend that you actually do some real GMAT questions leading up to the test. So, that is what I did. Veritas gave me a great foundation and about two weeks before the test, I really studied all official GMAT materials and got the score I needed.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 17, 2015
hartnavy

Joined: Jul 09, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Not great

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

I felt that the time was not used well. Some sessions were more valuable than others, but we very rarely got through all of the material. There was a lot of time spent with introductions and logistics with getting a video feed and asking questions. I think that I would have gotten just as much out of a recorded lesson. The instructor was not receptive in email contact. The first time I reached out it took a week to get a response and the second time I did not receive a response at all. Money is better spent in other programs.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 01, 2014
jsritenour

Joined: Jul 14, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor David Newland

Location Online

Thought the course was great and have recommended it to friends. I didn't take a practice GMAT until about six weeks in, so I have no idea where I would have tested without the course, but I ended up scoring a 750 on the actual exam. No way I could have done that without Veritas Prep.

The classes were truly enjoyable, David was very entertaining and for the most part kept everyone moving along. The skillbuider sections in the beginning of the lesson books really helped with this as well, as it allowed everyone to have a basic level of knowledge on the subject. This prevented us from wasting too much class time going over the real simple stuff.

David has obviously been teaching the GMAT for a long time and knows what mistakes and traps everyone falls for. It was great learning from his experience.

Read More


20 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for David Newland