GMAT Club

Emily A Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 9 reviews
April 16, 2018
sanjana001

Joined: Jun 30, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Review for Emily A

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Emily has been an extremely helpful, meticulous and responsive consultant through the entire B-School application process. She is very quick in her turnaround and gives her honest opinion with constructive feedback at every step. Her working style suited me very well, and though I only had an hourly package with Veritas, Emily helped me maximise the utility and output from the limited time I had. I started the application process late, but thanks to Emily's timeliness and valuable inputs, I was able to get into two great schools and on the waitlist at three others. I'm glad to have had Emily as an advisor through this process!

Read More

December 31, 2017
nhg91

Joined: Oct 10, 2017

Posts: 9

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Review for Emily A

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Emily was a pleasure to work with. I was very skeptical of using a consultant at first but decided to give Veritas a try after a friend highly recommended the company. I had an initial conversation with a sales rep, through which I expressed what I was looking for in a consultant. At that time, I have done a lot of prep work on my own so I decided to go with the hourly services. I got matched with Emily, and the hours working with her were extremely well spent. Emily gives feedback that is highly value-added in nature through asking relevant questions (vs just giving generic comments) that trigger me to think even deeper about my stories. Emily was also extremely responsive and timely in providing feedback. She was more than a consultant. She was my sounding board throughout the process. When I receive Interview invites, Emily also mock interviewed me, and that was very helpful. It was very worth it - I highly recommend Emily.

Read More

November 21, 2017
kylek4817

Joined: Nov 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q47 V45

Veritas Prep - Emily A

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Veritas's depth of experience and comfort with the entire MBA application process was evident from the get-go. Originally, I planned to apply for August 2019 matriculation. After using Veritas's online GMAT course and receiving a much higher score on my first try than anticipated, I decided to explore applying a year early. At this point, it was already mid-August. Luckily, the first deadline for my top target school (and the only school I ended up applying to) was set for less than 6 weeks away.

By the time I matched with Emily, she already knew my situation and was more than willing to work hard alongside me to meet the approaching deadline. Throughout the process, her responsiveness, logical approach, willingness to explain (and re-explain!), and depth of knowledge were crucial in helping me get accepted to my dream school.

In regards to her style, I'd implore anyone looking for hand-holding, coddling, or commiseration to look elsewhere. Her logical and objective approach suited me extremely well, but it may not be for everyone. One piece that really stood out was Emily's ability to meticulously tailor my story and profile to suit not only my application profile but my school-specific application profile.

I'd highly recommend Emily and Veritas to anyone seeking admissions consulting. It was a great experience, and she added a ton of value to my application!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 16, 2017
woosifer23

Joined: Dec 28, 2015

Posts: 8

Kudos: 10

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Emily A. with Veritas Prep - Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I shouldn't need to tell anyone this, but the application process is a long, rough journey. On any given week, I would be working on essays, refining my resume, networking with school alumni, participating in extracurricular activities, and, of course, working full-time. As a result, one of the things I valued most in a consultant was efficiency. Enter: Emily.

If responsiveness and punctuality weren't top characteristics you were considering in a consultant, think again. Emily went above and beyond in this regard, and I truly believe that made all the difference. What's the point of thought-provoking feedback if you have you have to rush to implement it? I can't guarantee this for everyone, and I certainly didn't expect it for myself, but Emily usually returned a full essay review in less than a day - and by that, I mean I would email her Monday night, and she would return it Tuesday morning. This incredible turn-around time was a valuable luxury in an otherwise hectic process.

Another aspect I really appreciated about Emily was her feedback style. She is a straight-shooter, and would immediately re-direct me in times of uncertainty. That's not to say she was insensitive - because that's not true - but she was candid in her review and I really valued that. I didn't need someone to make me feel good about my writing, I needed someone to understand my story, review my work, and help me get into business school. The end result? I got in!

All this to say, if you get the chance, I highly recommend working with Emily.

Read More

August 29, 2017
rothc

Joined: Aug 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Efficient and effective!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was very happy with my experience with Emily! From our first conversation, I felt that we were on the same page and she understood my work style and time constraints. We used our time to focus mainly on essay questions and she provided me with the feedback that I needed to get into my first choice school. Emily helped me to shape my story by first brainstorming essay prompts and then through very specific recommendations and constructive feedback. Her school-specific guidance was also extremely helpful in further refining my application. Emily is very professional and responsive. She helped demystify the process and the experience was exactly what I needed to get accepted. Highly recommended!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 04, 2017
a23mouny

Joined: Aug 03, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
630 Q44 V32

How to succesfully get in the top 3 business school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Among all the consultants, I specifically chose Emily because of her profile that matches my needs : intenational students, older applicants, finance and entrepreneurship.
I was extremely happy to work with Emily. She is a great listener, very reactive and very focused on the result we were trying to achieve.
I started the process by applying to one school and ended a applying to two schools. I was succesfully admitted to both (2 top schools). I don't think it would have not been possible without Emily's help.
I very much appreciated her honesty and candidness that fully benefited me. She is truly a great consultant, very committed and I will highly recomend her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 23, 2016
a33jcfve

Joined: Jun 24, 2015

Posts: 8

Kudos: 10

Self-reported Score:
630 Q48 V28
690 Q48 V37

Latin american top school Veritas 5/5

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I knew I wanted to get an MBA and wanted to use a consulting firm to help my chances.

I filled the personality test and, one day after, I got an email from Emily mentioning that she graduated in one of my target schools and that she was going to be my head consultant. I have to say that she is a superb consultant. She had a lot of patience, especially when we started. I remember that my outlines were very broad and I had no idea how detailed they had to be or how to approach the questions. She kindly explained to me how they had to be, explained topic sentences (I had no idea what they were), and reviewed +30 drafts and outlines. I remember talking with her and exchanging outlines sometimes every day of the week, including weekends. I could tell that she really cared about my application as much as I did.

Emily was very candid and if she didn’t like something, she was very objective mentioning why it was wrong and how could it be improved. Additionally, she has admissions experience and that came really helpful, as in some essays I wanted to mention some things but she explained how it may give a wrong impression on some of the admission people and told me how adjust my message.

She is super responsive. Whenever I sent a draft she replied very fast and gave me the date she was sending back the documents. I have to mention that she hit all the deadlines on time. There wasn’t even a single time when she didn’t deliver the documents when she promised.

Emily also explained how I had to work with specialists. These specialists were great as well. They were very kind and really gave me insight of my top choice schools. The interview preparation was very very good, I had tons of questions to practice from. The feedback I got from my mock interviews was incredibly detailed and really prepared me for the real thing.

I loved the ‘story’ of my application, and I couldn’t have done it without Emily’s help. Veritas is a really amazing service that works for international students too. Take me as an example, I’m from Venezuela, haven’t studied in the US and got admitted to a top school, thanks to Emily and Veritas services! I can’t recommend them enough!

Read More

December 19, 2016
abcabcabca

Joined: Jun 02, 2014

Posts: 5

Kudos: 3

Self-reported Score:
760 Q50 V45

Emily A at Veritas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I went back and forth on working with a consultant for b-school admissions, and ultimately decided that there was enough upside to make it worthwhile. I'm so glad that I went with Emily and Veritas, and the whole process from start to finish was exceptional.

I had thought a lot about my goals for an MBA, but Emily was instrumental in helping me crystallize all the different pieces into a coherent and cohesive story. She really helped focus my efforts in the essays as I have a tendency to get sort of abstract, so it was great to have Emily bring me back down to earth and keep the perspective of the adcom in mind. Finally, Emily took the time to get to know me, my interests, strengths/weaknesses etc., and her honest feedback enabled me to write essays which brought out my true voice.

I recommended Emily to a good friend who had similarly fantastic results, and wholeheartedly endorse her for anyone looking for an admissions consultant.

Read More

April 09, 2016
anonuser123

Joined: Sep 22, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Emily A. - Veritas Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Working with Emily is easily the best decision I made during my application process. I initially went with another big name admissions consulting company but decided to switch to Veritas after speaking to Emily through a friend referral (who got into HBS with her help) - and looking back I’m really glad that I made that decision.

Emily had been incredible throughout the 2 months I worked with her. Right from the start she gave me a feeling that she really understood me and that she was in it with me together - she really wanted you to succeed and would go out of her way to help you get there. She is also extremely responsible, many times turning around my essays in a time frame much shorter than 24 hours, and responding to my questions on an almost instant basis.

What I liked most about working with Emily is that she is very thoughtful, insightful and gives excellent feedback. She put a lot of thoughts into creating my 'brand' and helping me weave the perfect story for my profile.
I had wanted to tell a different story in the beginning which in retrospect would have made my candidacy a lot weaker. She was also the perfect sounding board - I really appreciated her candidness when she didn't think certain things work and I'm really glad I trusted her instincts.

Emily also has extremely high standards and it is evident that she is extremely knowledgeable of the admissions process and what adcoms are looking for. My essays improved dramatically with Emily tirelessly turning around countless iterations to consolidate my loose, unfocused ideas into strong, focused, coherent messages.

Result: I had interviews for two of the three schools I applied to, got admitted to both, with a generous $100k scholarship from one of the H/S/W schools. Without Emily and the school specialist's help, I probably would not have even stood a chance of getting into any of these schools. I cannot recommend her enough to anyone considering applying to business schools.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.