GMAT Club

Ethan Todras-Whitehill Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

A test prep instructor since he was a student at Tufts in 2000, Ethan has taught the GMAT all across the world from New York to Seattle to Dubai, and now broadcasts his creative and engaging lessons from his studio in Amherst. In 2013, he won the Veritas Prep Worldwide Instructor of the Year award, but readily admits that he truly found his calling with the launch of the HD video Live Online format. When he’s not teaching the GMAT, he can be found traveling, writing about his travels in The New York Times, parenting, and woodworking. And whether he’s encouraging readers to visit the Himalayas or students to improve their algebra, he always has his eyes on helping others reach that elusive summit.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ethan-todras-whitehill/


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 70 reviews
October 01, 2016
minibronco

Joined: Oct 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Go with Ethan - you won't regret it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Initially, I had my doubts about the live online class format - it sounded like it would be dry and not as engaging. Then, I read the reviews on this site and decided to take a class with Ethan/Veritas -- one of the best decisions I've ever made!

The software used for the online classes is actually surprisingly good - in addition to great video quality and the ability to submit answers to problems in class, the chat function allows you to ask questions without feeling like you're bothering everyone (and you're able to have a bit of fun/humor with it).

But what really makes the class amazing is Ethan - he is hands-down the best test teacher I've ever had.

- He really knows his stuff. Not only did he score very highly on the test himself, but he's been teaching the class for a while and can even speak to overall patterns he's seen with all the students he's worked with over the years. He really makes the most of class time so you never feel like you've wasted time.

-He's patient. Ethan and his TA, Chris, were always extremely helpful both in class and responding to emails. They proactively and privately check in with you to see how you're doing and see if there are any gaps they can help you with.

-He's got all the tricks. Ethan really has a trick for every single type of problem, whether it's verbal or quant. Veritas already has a great methodology for each problem type that comes in the book set, but Ethan has even more materials that he developed himself to help you with things like pacing (uber important), strategy, and memorizing special cases.

-He's funny - it really helps! I found myself cracking up a couple of times during the actual GMAT thinking back to a couple of the pop culture references and jokes Ethan and our class had together.

I ended up increasing my score by nearly 100 after the class. I highly recommend taking the Veritas class with Ethan if you can.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 19, 2016
needforspeed5000

Joined: Nov 04, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q48 V47

Great Course - Hard to focus online but Ethan kept it Entertaining

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan did a very good job! His E-File of original content was very helpful to me getting my 760. I took the Original Course with Anthony Ritz and got a 680. Then I took the course again with Ethan Todras-Whitehill and also took the GMAT economist after that. I saw that GMAT economist guaranteed a 90 point improvement - which was crazy to me, (it's very hard to reach 90% of the course as required but i did it - make sure you take the final exam or they don't let you advance past 80ish percent and they don't tell you.) With all of those courses I got the 710. Where I really jumped from 710 - 760 was doing hard problems on GMAT Club and then studying ethans data sufficieny the night before. I was very proud of this.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 16, 2016
danromaneski

Joined: May 22, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Effective instruction

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I had been studying for the GMAT for several months prior to taking the course. I think this is probably the best way to take this course. It's definitely fast paced and requires a firm handle on content (i.e. math concepts and grammar). It was effective because rather than focus on the minute details involved with solving the problems, the curriculum focused on the logical principles behind the problems.

As for the instructor, Ethan was great! His personable nature and creative teaching techniques made each three-hour class interesting without compromising learning. He taught me how to approach each question logically. This mentality helped me break my 680-level plateau to a great 720 score.

Read More

September 14, 2016
ryacal1

Joined: Sep 14, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q48 V34

Veritas with Ethan Todras-Whitehill

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 190 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I took the six week online Live Courses with Ethan Todras-Whitehill. First off, the materials that Veritas uses are far superior to other vendors. Before signing up for Veritas, I had bought Kaplan books, and they were somewhat useful, but not great. I needed more, so that's when I came across Veritas. The app on the phone has been incredible, the manuals, the online problems, etc. etc. it has been great. All of this really helped me master the material. However, Ethan Todras-Whitehill is the reason I was able to score so highly. He helped me actually apply the material and learn how to think like the Testmaker. I can now immediately spot traps, but none of this would have happened without Ethan. I know this might sound cheesy or over the top, but it really is the truth that this course changed my life because it allowed me to score high enough to get into a Top B-School which will lead to doors wide open around the world.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 14, 2016
cmiller04

Joined: Jun 26, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Veritas Online GMAT Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I highly recommend this course. Ethan Todras-Whitehill was a superb instructor and explained all concepts in detail. He was energetic which helped keep students engaged. He and his assistant would check in with students to ensure each individual was keeping up with the material and would have answers to all questions. Ethan understood the importance of building a strong foundation before progressing to speed. From the very first practice GMAT, I improved my score by 160 points. The veritas study material was also very effective. I felt their practice tests were very similar to the actual tests, and they have more than enough tests for you to practice. The practice tests gave me a very good idea of where I stood and how I was progressing.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2016
JDgmat2017

Joined: Aug 16, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Review of Veritas Online with Ethan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I chose Veritas based on other positive reviews, and particularly chose Ethan as an instructor because I read that he is very engaging and entertaining as a teacher. He has a strong connection to the material and is an excellent instructor on the fundamentals/logical thinking required to get a high GMAT score. Through a unique mix of pop-culture references and creative interpretations of math/writing principles, Ethan really emphasizes the key areas to focus your studies. His guidance on how logic plays a crucial role in test taking strategy really helped boost my confidence. I recommend that students definitely log in and attend his classes live.

Read More

July 01, 2016
leamarie

Joined: Jun 27, 2016

Posts: 8

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Excellent Course with Entertaining and Effective Teacher!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Absolutely fantastic course that left me incredibly prepared for the GMAT. The Veritas Prep method not only gives you handy tricks for how to handle tricky questions on the GMAT, but helps you to understand how and why the questions are written, making it easier to logically get to the answers you need.

The course came with 12 books, each focused on a different area of the GMAT, practice problems and strategies for how to tackle them.

The online format works incredibly well, allowing for interaction with the teacher and other students, plus an incredibly attentive TA.

Ethan himself was INCREDIBLE. He used cultural references and humor (and at one point, even costumes!) to explain complex concepts, making the class highly enjoyable and interactive. He also gave me invaluable strategies for the test from easy to remember math "tricks" to more all-encompassing strategies for tackling data sufficiency and creative reasoning problems, many from his own "E-files" in addition to the Veritas Prep materials. He also dedicated an entire class to pacing strategies, which were most helpful on the day of the test!

I highly recommend VP to anyone preparing for the GMAT!!

Read More

June 27, 2016
lanaphemister

Joined: Jun 27, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
560 Q33 V34

Review of Veritas Prep Online Course with Ethan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I recently finished the Veritas Prep Full time Online Live course, taught by Ethan Todras-Whitehill. I currently working towards a Bachelor of Science degree with Honours in Psychology, but I am thinking of switching career paths, and applying for an MBA. As a result, however, I have no business experience whatsoever, and therefore found myself younger than the rest of my classmates as well as weaker in a lot of areas. One of these areas is math, which is reflected heavily in my Quantitative score. Although, the program I am applying to only requires you to get a score above 550 in order to be considered. The GMAT, therefore, was more like a checkbox I needed to check, and with Veritas Prep I managed to do so, despite my handicaps. I found the instructor, Ethan, very engaging, and even funny at times, making the course much more enjoyable than I had expected. He went through the material effectively while also infusing his own questions into the course, creating a well-rounded and well executed live online course. I would highly recommend this course to anyone applying for the GMAT. If you do take the course, you'll know what I mean when I say that I'll never think of the Spanish Inquisition the same way again!

Read More

June 21, 2016
priyankasingh1

Joined: Jun 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V37

Amazing experience with Veritas Prep!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I had a wonderful experience with Veritas Prep. I initially began doing self-studying; however, my score remained stagnant and I knew I needed additional help. I enrolled in Veritas Prep with an initial score of 580. After I completed the course, my confidence increased dramatically and I scored a 700 on the official exam. Ethan Todras- Whitehill is an amazing instructor. He really honed into the important concepts, while keeping the class entertaining and fun. He is very helpful and answers all questions with enthusiasm. I felt very comfortable in his class and would highly recommend others to take his course, you will definitely not be disappointed!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 14, 2016
ParvathyRV

Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
200

Ethan (E-TW) is the man!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan gets my Five Stars!
The best thing about the course was Ethan! He is funny, attentive, patient and friendly. He made every possible effort to keep the classes engaged & useful. It was impossible to not pay attention! He made studying for GMAT such a breeze!
Ethan's notes on difficult concepts are like reading a child's book - clear, cartoon-ish and succinct.
If you are thinking of taking online classes, just go with Ethan. You won't regret the decision!
A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+

Read More


33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Ethan Todras-Whitehill