GMAT Club

Ethan Todras-Whitehill Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

A test prep instructor since he was a student at Tufts in 2000, Ethan has taught the GMAT all across the world from New York to Seattle to Dubai, and now broadcasts his creative and engaging lessons from his studio in Amherst. In 2013, he won the Veritas Prep Worldwide Instructor of the Year award, but readily admits that he truly found his calling with the launch of the HD video Live Online format. When he’s not teaching the GMAT, he can be found traveling, writing about his travels in The New York Times, parenting, and woodworking. And whether he’s encouraging readers to visit the Himalayas or students to improve their algebra, he always has his eyes on helping others reach that elusive summit.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ethan-todras-whitehill/


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 70 reviews
June 12, 2016
chiangj7

Joined: Mar 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q45 V37

Ethan Todras-Whitehill is a great instructor - pick him!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I chose Ethan as an instructor because I heard from the veritas prep office that he is very energetic and engaging as a teacher. He also scored a 780 on his very first exam (which he took without any intentions of applying to business school, and didn't study for), which is a testament to how well he fundamentally knows the logical thinking required to do well on the GMAT. Ethan emphasizes that this exam is a test of your logical thinking skills, not how well you know math or grammar and really hammered that into our heads. He has his own clever ways of tackling problems outside of the course curriculum that supplemented our learning. Lastly, he was always so energetic and kept me entertained and amused by his humorous antics. He's very nice, never talks down on anyone when they get a question wrong, and genuinely wants everyone to learn and do well. Definitely attend his classes, do not just watch his recordings!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 02, 2016
Joshuamb

Joined: Jun 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Great Service, AMAZING Teacher

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I took the GMAT recently and scored higher than I thought possible. I started practice tests in the upper 500s/lower 600s range, and signed up for the Veritas Prep course with additional tutoring. Through working through the online class (very convenient since it was a smaller session and I could access the lectures from my apartment), I quickly gained the basics I needed. I then worked extensively with the instructor, Ethan, in tutoring sessions where he helped me brush up on the areas I was weak in (Sentence Correction/Verbal). He was willing to make time to meet often and during the last few weeks we were speaking almost daily. In the end, I am grateful for Ethan's help and managed to score a 740 (49/41) with the strategies and lessons learned at Veritas prep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 24, 2016
TAEHSAEN

Joined: Apr 24, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q42 V34

Ethan is the man!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I took a class under Ethan Todras-Whitehil and he's hands down one of the best teachers in this business. He's super funny and super interactive. He always stays back after class to help you out.

This course is pretty advanced so you do need some prior knowledge before coming in. Otherwise you can get up to date by doing the practice assignments before each class (its LONG).

This course is perfect if you have a 550-650 and you want to aim higher.

I immediately took the GMAT right after my class was over (without doing any further practice tests, etc.) and I improved my score by 100. Not bad at all. Can't wait to rally put in the time and see how it goes in a few months time.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 29, 2016
TroutmanJ

Joined: Jul 21, 2013

Posts: 4

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V39

Great GMAT Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan was a fantastic teacher of the GMAT material. He was able to connect with students at multiple skill-levels without sacrificing quality of the course. I appreciated his strategies and tips for the test. I have studied other company's materials in the past without much success but with Ethan's help through the Veritas material I am much more prepared.

I have taken a few practice tests during and after the class and my official test is coming up in a few weeks. I have seen improvement in my understanding of the material and in my overall score. I would recommend Ethan as a teacher especially if you are considering Veritas Prep.

Read More

February 12, 2016
bballa84

Joined: Feb 12, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
630 Q44 V34

Great teacher, down to earth dude - 110 point increase!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I thought I didn't have a shot at hitting the score I needed after taking the GMAT the first time. I was lucky enough to get Ethan as a teacher. He's really cool, approachable, patient and just really good at GMAT strategy. This is the guy you want to take the course from, you'll laugh, learn and get a better score with his approach to tough GMAT problems.

My quant increased substantially, and the verbal went from abysmal to acceptable. Veritas materials were good. I recommend listening to the books on tape using ibooks, etc on your commute if you can. It's just another way to take the information in. I also recommend watching the on-demand videos or re-watching the videos when a section isn't coming to you. Kahn Academy was big time for Algebra improvements.

You'll love the great fool strategy, the crazy stories, and late night study sesssions just aren't quite as brutal with Ethan at the helm.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 29, 2016
lotzn3119

Joined: Jan 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
590 Q36 V34

Highly Recommend Ethan Todras-Whitehill

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for Veritas looking for a new approach to the GMAT and an insightful instructor. It was immediately apparent that Ethan has the ability to distill complex GMAT content into a simple, approachable form. The result of which is walking away from Ethan's course with a comprehensible strategy and approach that is also adaptive to independent study thereafter. Ethan pushes his students to find various ways to solve each problem and more importantly to have an awareness of pitfalls and traps in each problem. Beyond that, I liked that Ethan uses relatable content like contemporary analogies and movie references to make "dull" content more enjoyable - which also maximizes the course setting. Through Ethan, I learned that preparation is not a function of quantity but quality. I would highly recommend Veritas Prep and especially Ethan as the instructor to unlock your GMAT experience.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2016
agottlieb1

Joined: Oct 24, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q47 V31

Improvement 70 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I started the GMAT process by studying on my own with the official guide and a Kaplan book doing practice problems and briefly going over some of the strategy and advice they had to offer. I also used a little bit of magoosh. With this I got a 640, but I knew my studying wasn't effective and I wasn't approaching the test with any strategy. I really needed to shore up on verbal in particular. I took the veritas prep live online class to help provide me with a more structured and systematic approach to the test. All of the study materials provided are great and help you with all the basic content needed. The class then builds on the content and skills you learn with the materials to really help you approach the test with the necessary strategies. Ethan was a fantastic teacher who never made a minute of the class boring. You could really tell how much he cared about his students and how much time and effort he put into the process. The live online class is great technology that allows you to get all of the necessary teaching needed to do well on the test from the comfort of your own home! I would absolutely recommend Ethan to everyone, and I thought the live online platform at veritas is as good as anything out there.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2016
MattHandwerk

Joined: Jan 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
510 Q40 V21

Amazing Instructor and Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan was an amazing teacher and made learning the GMAT curriculum so much easier! I would strongly recommend Ethan (and Chris!) for taking a GMAT prep course from Veritas. He has supplemental information to Veritas and was an SAT tutor prior to Veritas so he has a tremendous amount of experience under his belt. Every class I would look forward to his GMAT jokes and funny sayings that would help the class remember specific sections.

The level service that Veritas offers is outstanding. Every time I have been with customer service or emailing Ethan I always got a prompt response.

Thank you Veritas for making my experience amazing!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 28, 2015
jackallen2013

Joined: Dec 28, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

Kept Class Engaged and Entertained

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 160 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan was a great teacher. He kept our class engaged by incentivizing us to answer and ask questions with his 'points' system, which was silly but fun. He also added much needed humor to what can easily be considered dry topics. Ethan had a great technique to teaching Veritas' strategy for data sufficiency. His techniques changed an initial weakness into a strength. Before I took the Veritas class I took a pretest and scored a 560. The program helped me add 160 points to my official test score after finishing the program.

Overall I thought the pacing of the program was appropriate - two chapters a week kept me busy but was not overwhelming. Veritas has plenty of resources after the program is over to take practice quizzes and tests. I found the Veritas practice exams a bit harder than the actual GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2015
coling

Joined: Dec 17, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q42 V44

Very high marks for Veritas Prep and Ethan Todras-Whitehill

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I cannot recommend Veritas prep and instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill enough. I initially began studying for the GMAT in isolation and found it overwhelming. Learning in a class with other students and a fantastic teacher made a huge difference. Ethan knows the GMAT inside-out and has pulled off a small miracle by actually making it kinda fun to study for. (He also can recite entire scenes from 'The Princess Bride' from memory and make it relevant to a data sufficiency problem ... so honestly, what more convincing do ya need?) Start to finish, I boosted my score 130 points and broke into the 700s.

Do not be dissuaded by the online class format; I was skeptical at first, but Veritas has made the interface highly interactive and easy to use, and Ethan goes out of his way to get to know his students and keep them engaged. The study resources on the Veritas website are great – extensive problem sets, detailed answer explanations, multiple practice exams and tailored assessments of your content-area weaknesses and time management on exams. For something as high-stakes as the GMAT, a prep course is a very worthwhile investment, and you really cannot go wrong with Veritas and Ethan.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Ethan Todras-Whitehill