GMAT Club

Ethan Todras-Whitehill Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

A test prep instructor since he was a student at Tufts in 2000, Ethan has taught the GMAT all across the world from New York to Seattle to Dubai, and now broadcasts his creative and engaging lessons from his studio in Amherst. In 2013, he won the Veritas Prep Worldwide Instructor of the Year award, but readily admits that he truly found his calling with the launch of the HD video Live Online format. When he’s not teaching the GMAT, he can be found traveling, writing about his travels in The New York Times, parenting, and woodworking. And whether he’s encouraging readers to visit the Himalayas or students to improve their algebra, he always has his eyes on helping others reach that elusive summit.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ethan-todras-whitehill/


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 70 reviews
December 04, 2015
ndmba

Joined: Aug 30, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Ethan Todras-Whitehill

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I can’t recommend Ethan Todras-Whitehill enough. When I signed up for my course with Ethan, I had already taken the GMAT once and was worried that I wouldn’t be able to break through the ceiling I had hit after a few months of study. Almost all the test materials I had previously encountered centered on the idea that to beat the GMAT one must master and apply certain necessary tricks and strategies. In his instruction, Ethan covers these tricks and strategies and is quite adapt at illustrating when each should be applied; however, what sets him apart is his ability to transform each GMAT into a series of decisions. I think this is what most companies are trying to get at when they say “think like the test maker,” but there is a distinct difference between memorizing and identifying patterns and truly understanding the test’s underlying logic. To do this isn’t easy, but Ethan’s ability and willingness to work through the underlying logic on questions, and even answer questions about how the answer would change if a certain piece of information were to change, is exceptional and made all the difference for me.
I would recommend the in-person class; however, with Veritas there is always the option to retake the course. In my case, I started, but did not complete Ravi’s online course, and then a few months later took Ethan’s in person class. Given that the formats differed, I can’t make a true comparison between the two instructors, but do feel there is more depth to Ethan’s instruction, which can make all the difference if you find yourself able correctly answer questions, but struggle to do so efficiently. There is huge difference between taking the time to prove without a doubt that something is correct and being able to quickly know that something is logically correct. It is Ethan ability to teach the that latter that truly sets him apart.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 29, 2015
SJEllmann

Joined: Mar 23, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

Excellent Class to Master Fundamentals

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Ethan was a great teacher and honed in on the fundamental's for GMAT success. He is easy going and brings humor into the lessons to lighten the mood while giving great tips on how to master the GMAT material. He goes above and beyond to answer questions and encouraged us to challenge every GMAT question to find out not only why the correct answer was correct, but also why the wrong answers were wrong. I strongly recommend Veritas and Ethan for any student's studying. Ethan opened my eyes to the tricks the GMAT attempts to play on the test-takers and how to tackle tough problems efficiently.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 06, 2015
dbai1105

Joined: Oct 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
200

Best course!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I really enjoyed attending my GMAT online course. I signed up for the 7am-10am PST Saturday and Sunday's section with Ethan since it was the only class time that fit with my schedule. I was a bit hesitant attending a online course because I tend to get distracted but the online class is so interactive that I was focused the entire time. Ethan is the best instructor I've ever had! If I had more professors like him during my college years I would've attended every single one of my classes. He is very engaging and makes the most boring and difficult topics such as data sufficiency and sentence correction easy and painless. The handouts he provides are a huge timesaver. Overall after taking this course and doing all the homework and practice questions that come along with the course I increased my score over 100 points. Thanks Ethan!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 17, 2015
austinp629

Joined: Jul 17, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Veritas Prep Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I took the Veritas Prep Online course that met on Saturdays and Sundays. The course was a great way to improved my GMAT skills and also learn some helpful strategies. I feel that the course was very beneficial and provided a good foundation for my GMAT preparation. Ethan was a great instructor and was able to keep the class engaged throughout the lessons. He was very knowledgeable and helpful whenever a student asked a question. He had various "E-file" tips and strategies that went above and beyond the Veritas Prep provided material. I would recommend Veritas Prep and Ethan to anyone beginning to study for the GMAT or looking to improve their score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 07, 2015
dpg210

Joined: Mar 10, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Creative, engaging and takes strategy to the next level

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

Veritas Prep is an amazing GMAT prep experience. It is evident that the organization gave careful thought to the structure of their student experience, from the sales experience, to the comprehensive online student portal, to the creative (and sometimes appropriately wacky) teachers. During the sales experience, I spoke with someone over the phone and he quickly answered all of my questions and then some. He also followed up diligently and concierged me into the experience (I purchased the package about two or three weeks before the course started and the sales associate helped me get up and running during that lead up time).

Once you enroll, Veritas Prep gives you access to an online student portal that houses a study plan, practice tests, practice problems, videos and recordings of your class. I found this one-stop shop very intuitive and helpful to help organize my efforts (because we all know that GMAT studying can go in multiple different directions). They also sent me 12 dense lesson books; spend the time to read through them, they have some good content in there. I really liked the philosophy of Veritas Prep (focus on strategy and reasoning, rather than content memorization). A previous course that I took did not touch on strategy at all and I think that's what prevented me from realizing my fullest potential.

I took an online live class with a teacher by the name of Ethan Todras-Whitehill. He is a little bit out there, but at the same time, you almost need someone like that to help bring the content to life, engrain it in your mind so come test day you remember certain techniques. The classroom environment he created was extremely collaborative (I've never taken an online course before, so I was pretty impressed with the technology as well). Ethan also went 'off-book' at points, supplementing the prescribed Veritas Prep material with his own creative slides to help further enforce the strategy and content. Ethan also focuses more on strategy and helps you understand why strategy is so important on the GMAT. At first I didn't trust some of the strategies, but once I gave them a try, I became a believer....THEY WORK! It's evident that Ethan has invested additional time to facilitate a robust learning experience, which I can say was effective at engaging me and keeping me coming back for more.

All in all, i'm in believer in Veritas Prep and would highly recommend the course.

Read More

April 23, 2015
sbpumroy

Joined: Mar 24, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

great course if you can take full advantage of it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

The format of this course (live online) was perfect for me. As a busy working professional, I was able to come home after work (no added commute to a classroom) and take the class in the comfort of my own home. The online format went smoothly -- we almost never had any technical difficulties, and you should be fine as long as you have a good internet connection. The live format kept me much more engaged than a video recording would have. This was largely due to the style of the instructor, Ethan.

I highly recommend Ethan as an instructor. He brings an amazing energy and enthusiasm to the course that truly amazed me. He makes the class very interactive via the chat room, which really helped me stay focused for the full 3 hours each time we met. He's also really funny and enjoyable as a teacher. Most importantly, he knows the content inside and out and is able to explain it clearly. He also supplements the Veritas material with his own tips and tricks, which was really helpful (especially his geometry supplement).

To get the most out of this class, you need to put a lot into it. I was really grateful that class time wasn’t spent going over basics--it’s expected that you’ll have reviewed the essentials before coming to class. Thus in class we were able to focus on advanced topics and strategies. The pace of class is fast, a bit intense, and we used the full 3 hours each time to make sure we covered all of the material.

My struggle pre- and post- course was always Quant. I ultimately wasn’t able to raise my Quant score as high as I wanted, but I was able to improve significantly from practice tests prior to taking the course. I think if I had more time and energy to review and work with the Veritas material, I could have achieved a higher score. I think Veritas prep gives you all the tools needed to succeed, but the reality is you have to be willing to put in a ton of time outside of class as well.

All that said, if you can afford the Veritas course, I’d highly recommend it to anyone considering it.

Read More

April 22, 2015
beb82297

Joined: Mar 21, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Veritas Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill

Location Online

I absolutely loved the online Veritas Prep course! I don't know if I could have gotten my 720 without it! When I started studying for the GMAT I realized that it was a whole different way of thinking than I was used to. I wasn't entirely sure if I could actually get through the course and do well on the test. My instructor,Ethan, was engaging throughout the course and more than willing to help in any way that he could. I struggled with a little bit of the quant section and he gave me pointers on what to work on and encouraged me throughout the whole course. Ethan incorporated jokes and made the class relevant to real life experiences. It was a great class and I definitely recommend him as the instructor for the Veritas Online course!

Read More


33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Ethan Todras-Whitehill