GMAT Club

Eva Leung Reviews

Company: Square One Prep


4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 8 reviews
December 19, 2019
mb11

Joined: Jun 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V44

HBS thanks to S1P!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

If you’re reading this then you’re likely in the same shoes I was in 5 months ago, wondering if you should partner with a consultant for your business school applications when you think you’re capable of going it alone.

Flashing forward 5 months, I was just accepted to my top school - HBS - and genuinely feel that I wouldn’t have even gotten an interview, let alone accepted, had I not partnered with Square One Prep.

I naturally did a lot of research on admissions consultants before partnering with Square One Prep, and each call only reinforced the doubt I had about hiring a consultant in the first place. I knew I was capable of getting into HBS, but most companies pushed me to apply to a lower ranked school so that I wouldn’t affect their lofty “success rate” if I didn’t get in.

Not Kathryn.

When I told Kathryn that I was looking for help with my HBS application, she didn’t try to talk me into applying to a lesser school. Kathryn knows better than anybody that getting into HBS is a long shot, but she gave me an honest assessment of how I could best maximize my odds. As you’ll learn very quickly, Kathryn is brutally honest with you about every aspect of your candidacy. But in this process, you need someone like Kathryn who is simultaneously honest about the odds of succeeding yet willing to roll up her sleeves to take on the challenge.

Simply saying that S1P edited essays or conducted mock interviews undersells their services, because as ridiculous as I’m sure this sounds, I felt like I discovered the best version of myself in working with them. After having gone through the process, I truly believe that the key to getting accepted to a top school is to convey the ambitious and interesting path that you’re heading toward in the future and make each school want to be a part of your journey. The hard part of the process is discovering what that path actually is, which requires deep reflection on what makes you tick and what mark you’d like to leave on the world. These conversations felt deeply uncomfortable in the moment - especially as Kathryn is telling you that your seemingly ambitious plan isn’t ambitious enough - but you’ll appreciate them like I do when you’re done.

I also can’t recommend Square One Prep without giving a shout out to my incredible mentor, Eva. S1P lets you “interview” a couple of different mentors to find one that you click with, and I actually told Kathryn that I didn’t even need to talk to a second mentor once I met Eva. Coming from similar backgrounds with Eva having started her own company (I also ran my own company before applying to school), Eva instantly got me. I’m sure that all of the Square One Prep mentors are equally wonderful, but I’m incredibly thankful that I was able to partner with Eva. She’s simply the best.

If you’ve read this far and still aren’t convinced that you should partner with Square One Prep then I don’t know what else to tell you. But if you do move forward with Square One Prep, I’m confident you’ll be as thrilled as I am when you’re done with the application process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 18, 2019
anonon123

Joined: Dec 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Low GPA and GRE scores... Wharton!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When beginning to start my school applications I knew I would need all of the help I could get. I began researching admissions consultants and am so thankful I found SOP. They helped me craft a unique, authentic, and powerful brand to complement my work experience, education, and extracurriculars. Going into my applications I knew my education would be my weakest component, so I had to optimize my remaining application areas. SOP helped me do just that. Specifically, the career narrative we constructed permeated into all of the other application components. My essays were superb and my interview feedback was great! Even with lower than average GPA and GRE scores (an application killer) I was admitted to my favorite schools to include, amazingly, Wharton as well! Money well spent and praise well deserved! There is no way I would have these results if it were not for the fine folks at Square One Prep. Thank you Kathryn, Eva, Bailey, and Luis!

Read More

April 13, 2019
ddfontz

Joined: Apr 13, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The Best Around!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Using a consultant last year and not getting into any schools was discouraging. I knew I was working with a low test score and thought it was the main reason for not getting in anywhere. I needed to hear feedback from an expert on what went wrong. After being referred to Square One by a friend and hearing about her experience, I was intrigued. I set up time for an initial consultation. Right away, my strengths and weaknesses in my last applications were identified. The brutal honesty surely helped. I discovered that it wasn’t just my test score that needed work, it was my essays. After hearing about the many ways to improve my applications and have a real shot for the next application round, I decided to go with Square One.

Along with Square One helping me identify areas of improvement in my applications, the team also guided me on how to show that my story was special. Square One takes a structured approach that makes application organization easy. The one-on-one guidance and customization made me realize that Square One is the best in the game. After the entire process was complete, I learned more about myself and was extremely proud of presenting my narrative to admissions committees.

Square One was instrumental in encouraging me to push forward in times of doubt. Thanks to Square One, I’ve gotten into my dream school.

I highly recommend Square One!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2019
aw237222

Joined: Jan 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V41

Invaluable Advice and Honest Feedback

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Because I was applying to only two M7 schools for geographical reasons, getting genuine and tailored advice on my applications was a must. When I first spoke with Kathryn during our initial free consultation, she stood out above all others due to her authenticity, frankness, and approach. Our conversation lasted over one hour during which she answered every question I asked her. Her responses showed that she thought intently about my profile before even hopping on that initial phone call; I knew I was not going to get a run-of-the-mill experience with SO.

I chose to work with Eva for both schools, who provided amazing insight into what adcoms are looking for, how to best get across my accomplishments on paper, and most importantly, how to craft a succinct and logical career narrative. Looking back at the ideas I had about what a great b-school application looked like before working with Eva, I would have crafted a fairly trite application. Eva and the SO team helped me focus on the elements of my personal and professional history that would attract an adcom’s attention.

I got the sense that other admissions consultants were looking to feed me narratives that worked for their other clients; SO will not do this. I think this is what made them stand out initially and the reason that the application package I submitted felt very personal and introspective. Their process forced you to dig deeper to get across the person you actual are rather than the archetypal MBA candidate. There are not any shortcuts to getting this across to the adcom, but you can be assured that SO will let you know when you are coming across unauthentic or trying to emulate what you think is the “right” thing to say in an essay. For me, their feedback on my ideas was the most rewarding process and invaluable.

SO was there with me through every step of this, and I felt comfortable knowing I had them in my corner for the big decisions (essay topics) down to the most minute of details (grammar). I would highly recommend Kathryn, Eva, and the whole SO team to anyone looking to work with an admissions consultant.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 12, 2018
kingrudd

Joined: Apr 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
770 Q50 V44

Kathryn & Eva @ SQ1 Prep = Lifesavers!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Kathryn and Eva were critical to my R1 applications. They helped me (i) refine my career narrative and narrow my school selection through earnest conversations, (ii) tailor essays that were unique to my experiences and voice, and (iii) keep to a very challenging timetable (especially given we started working together only about 1.5 months before R1 deadlines). In particular, without Eva chasing me down and holding me accountable to deadlines, providing invaluable support when I was at a loss for words in my essays, and encouraging me every step of the way, I wouldn't have been able to juggle the demands of a full-time job and a challenging round of applications.

Although we did not work together on my R2 applications, the work that we did during R1 was instrumental and formed a strong foundation for my successful applications. I was very fortunate to have worked with Kathryn and Eva and would recommend the Square One team to anyone who is considering applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2018
sech

Joined: Sep 25, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Thank you SOP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

What really stood out from the very beginning during Kathryn’s consultation call until the very end of the process was SOP’s confidence in my candidacy and applications. Also, what really differentiated them from the other consultants I spoke with was their focus on success/differentiation rather than deficiencies in my candidacy. Not that they don’t address the weak points- I certainly had some and we addressed them head on in the applications and I’m happy to say that it worked- given my results! I got into 3 out of 4 schools I applied to- including INSEAD, which was my top choice and Wharton, which I thought was a long shot.
Working with Eva made this stressful process a lot less stressful. She is very easy to talk to, succinct and straightforward with her opinions/advice and is a hands on editor which really helped to get the essays done faster! Although the stories and essay topics were entirely mine, I couldn’t have picked out the specific stories and anecdotes that I did for each essay without Eva’s help. I honestly never thought my simple childhood memories and life events would end up shaping such strong essays! Kathryn’s advice and involvement was really instrumental in shaping my career narrative and final edits on essays.
They ensure no stone is left unturned and I’d definitely recommend SOP to anyone looking to go to business school!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
cha470

Joined: Apr 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V39

75k USD scolarship at top school !

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was a client of Square One Prep after being referred from a former classmate and was ultimately accepted to a top school where I applied. Square One Prep was the right choice to prepare all the applications and was without a doubt an invaluable benefit to my candidacy. Without Kathryn and her team, I probably wouldn’t be attending my dream school in the next couple of months!
I paired up with Eva who was a great source of motivation (which was critical to write the best essays and applications). I truly had a fantastic experience with Eva who wasn’t my initial advisor, but who made up immensely for the lost time at the beginning of the process. Regular calls with Kathryn and Eva around career narrative gave me a sense of full support from the team.
When I think of my first draft of resume and essays, I know that Square One Prep was instrumental to craft the best stories, filled with self-reflection, creativity and logic, to support my applications. Their approach is very methodical and served as a guide for me during these weeks of preparation.
I know Square One Prep was the best decision I took and I am recommending this team to current colleagues and anyone considering an application advisor ahead of b-school application process. I even got in the process an unsolicitated scholarship!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
lmc123

Joined: Apr 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Square One Prep was incredibly helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had zero intention of using a consultant during the MBA application process; I thought that applying to business schools would be like applying to colleges and I just needed to buckle down for a few days and write some essays. I scheduled the first call with Kathryn because a friend recommended Square One and I thought I had nothing to lose. I remember ending our call feeling overwhelmed--applications were due within the next 2 months and I hadn't even narrowed down my list of schools to apply to!

Kathryn and my consultant, Eva, created a timeline for me and helped me apply to all schools on my list round 1--while working my full-time job. I could not have pulled this off without their help. Moreover, I felt like I had a team of experts on hand at every step of the process. At one point, I attended a school's info session and wanted to scrap my entire essay. Kathryn and Eva were immediately available to talk through all of my concerns. Interview prep was another part of the application process that I had overlooked and I quickly learned that business school interviews are not like job interviews! With Eva's coaching, I felt completely prepared for every question that came my way. Lastly, Kathryn and Eva helped me successfully navigate the waitlist process--something I wouldn't have known how to approach otherwise. Applying to business school is a tremendous amount of work, but Square One Prep helped make the workload manageable and alleviated a lot of the stress from the process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.