GMAT Club

Hee Jean K Reviews

Company: Math Revolution


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 13 reviews
March 31, 2019
Allinon700

Joined: Feb 01, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Extremely Helpful Q: 47 to 49, then to 51

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Online

Background Info:
Engineering grad, with 6 years of O&G experience

Quant Score Improvement
GMAT Prep 1: 46
GMAT Prep 2: 47
Official GMAT 1st Take: 49
Official GMAT 2nd Take: 51

Review:
I subscribed to Math Revolution and its online private tutoring service. Mr. Hee Jean Kim is an incredibly knowledgeable instructor who teaches intuitive ways to solve even the most difficult problems. The content of the material, albeit confusing at first, teaches you how to manage time effectively during the exam. Make sure that you practice enough until the contents taught in the courses are second nature to you. Once you don't have to think about individual concepts, your speed and accuracy improves greatly. Furthermore, you learn the strategy to tackle questions that you are not 100% sure of.
I would genuinely recommend the instructor and the service to those wishing to score Q49 and above.

Read More

January 02, 2019
cmcneil9

Joined: Jan 02, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Math Revolution

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Baltimore, MD USA

Working with Hee Jean was very valuable and he was great. After taking the GMAT and scoring a 41 on quant, I reached out to Math Revolution to seek help to improve my quant score. The learning method helped simplify the questions for me and focus on the logic of the questions versus purely numbers. Their method also helped me increase my speed of questions and I actually had several minutes left prior to finishing my exam. I increased my score 7 points to a 48 after working with Hee Jean for about 8 weeks. I would definitely recommend tutoring with Math Revolution if you are looking to increase your quant score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 07, 2018
Jay06

Joined: Mar 08, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Math Revolution - GMAT Quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Online

After doing the GMAT 3 times, I completely lost hope as I never crossed Q45.

Math Revolution helped me get a Q48 and I really appreciate that. Would definitely recommend Math Revolution if your aim is to hit the high 40s in Quant.

The course includes an account with all topics and especially focuses on a new DS approach which is fanatic and led me to achieve a DS score of 81%.

Hee is a fantastic tutor who is really patient and will help you out tremendously. Make sure you complete all of the work that he tells you to and if you do, nothing should stop you from scoring higher.

Read More

August 06, 2018
gilmorej123

Joined: Jul 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q49 V34

A simple, great quant approach.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Charlotte, NC USA

Where to start, well to put it quite simply, Hee Jean was an excellent tutor. I started my GMAT Quant journey scoring a Q38. After taking the Math Revolution All in 51 courses, I was consistently scoring in the Q42-Q45 range. It was at this point that I realized I needed some additional help.
Hee Jean analyzed my deficiencies and easily brought them up to speed (i.e. with Complex Probability). We worked through hundreds of problem similar to those found on the actual GMAT. Hee Jean stressed the best way to solve them, and through practice, efficiently finding the best way to solve each problem just became a habit. Math Revolution's DS Variable method was a time saver on my actual GMAT exam.
If you are struggling and don't believe you can score in the Q49-Q51, give Hee Jean 2 months and he can get you there!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 05, 2018
acosta

Joined: May 14, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
700 Q45 V40

Excellent for people with low maths skills

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Lisbon, Portugal

I raised my score from 30 to 45 and feel that could have achieved a higher score if I had more time to study. I started with Kaplan then did a Manhattan prep course but there was no way of improving my Quant. The problem was that I had not had any maths for the last 12 years, thus, my maths skills were so low that I did not take advantage of any course . After many tutoring sessions with Hee Jean (and many months of study) I finally re-learned maths almost from scratch and started feeling confident that I could get a high score high in the Quant section. As I said before I got a 45 and I am absolutely convinced that with some more study I could have achieved at least 47-48. Therefore, I strongly recommend tutoring with Hee Jean for people with maths skills. Re-leaning everything will be a painful and time consuming process but there are no silver bullets.

Read More

January 12, 2018
Beebes12

Joined: Nov 13, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Math Revolution - Review of Private Tutoring with Hee Jean Kim

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location New York (Manhattan), NY USA

Scored a 740 (Q 49 / V 41) after working with Hee Jean!!! He is an amazing tutor.

Over just 1 month, I did 12 hours of private Skype tutoring with Hee Jean while using his online video program. My score improved 50 points in just that time from working with him, up from 690 (Q 46 / V 38) score 1 month earlier.

As background, I had taken an accelerated 5 week course with one of the big GMAT course firms and had studied intensely on my own for about 3 weeks using that same firm's books. I was disappointed to score a 690 (Q 46 / V 38). During the test, i felt like i was flailing and was very nervous the entire time. The questions all looked different than what i had spent 8 weeks studying following the big firm program.

After the test, a friend of mine recommended Hee Jean and I got in touch with him immediately and we started working together a couple days later.

Hee Jean is a genius, We only did 12 hours of private tutoring but the time was SO EFFECTIVE. He is able to teach entire topics without any reference material and fires through practice questions. No time is wasted. He also gives you all of the notes he takes online during the Skype tutoring session, which is hugely helpful as reference material (and you don't need to waste time taking your own notes while trying to understand the lesson).

Something that really worked for me with Hee Jean is that he tells you exactly how to approach problems. He also recommends you re-learn some of the algebra and use it. This was HUGE for me (and I assure you I am no math genius) and helped a ton because algebra questions actually take up the majority of the first half of the quant GMAT test. In the course I had taken with the big firm, they suggest many different ways and "shortcuts" to solve problems, which quite frankly does not help and did not work for me. With just 2 minutes per problem for 37 questions in the Quant section, I found myself wasting time trying to decide which "shortcut method" to use and then freaking out about the already wasted time. Sounds horrible, right? Hee Jean was totally straightforward about exactly how to tackle each type of question.

Hee Jean also helps you to better understand what types of questions to expect and when during the test. Some of the harder questions (Q 49 50 51) in hindsight are actually easier to solve once you study with Hee Jean because he helps you identify them and how to get past the typical GMAT "trick." This was totally absent in the course i took with the bigger firm.

As far as responsiveness, Hee Jean responds immediately almost always and was available at the times when i needed to work with him (i work in investment banking and needed to meet sometimes late at night or had to cancel last minute & he was always totally understanding). In addition, a few days before my test, he even scheduled extra time with me later one evening and again the next day on short notice.

Lastly, what is interesting is i did not study verbal at all during that month, only quant with Hee Jean. However, my confidence going into the test was so much stronger i had less nerves, which I believe translated to helping me be calmer and more focused during the verbal section.

I cannot say enough about how great of a tutor Hee Jean is, and I attribute all of my math improvement to him. All i can say is definitely go with private tutoring with Hee Jean!! Especially if you are short on time to improve your score like I was.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2018
BostonBas

Joined: Jan 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V36

Great Strategy and Support Q49

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Online

Through the course I really learned how to take the quant section of the test. My goal was to reach a Q49 and that's what I achieved. Every question that arose during the actual test seemed solvable. The preparation is not complicated, (sometimes the English is a bit questionable -
but nothing that detracted from the information). There are more than enough questions to practice the test thoroughly and if you take the time needed to solve them you will be more than prepared. I highly recommend the course - but try to plan for at least a 3 month intense time period if you want to get through all the material.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 04, 2017
rukhaam

Joined: Jun 23, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q50 V31

Math revolution

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I had taken the GMAT first time and achieved a 62 percentile on quant and lost hope on whether I would be able to improve my score. After long hours of web research I found some very positive testimonials about Math revolution and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be the best decision - the methodology of Mr. Hee Jean was very precise, logical, and practical. After all it was just the right way to approach these problems . After months of prep I was able to get the score I wanted - 50 for math. I honestly think it would've been possible without Mr. Hee Jeans help and support

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 16, 2017
pk9

Joined: Feb 16, 2015

Posts: 7

Kudos: 7

Self-reported Score:
740 Q50 V39

Best in the business!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Online

Having tried several other test prep companies and self-studying for over one year, I had trouble raising my quant score above Q48. I almost started to believe that Q48 would be the highest I could ever get because I just did not have what it takes to break the Q49 barrier. A friend suggested that I try private tutoring for a more focused approach to quant training. I had tried MathRevolutions self-study offerings previously, and I really liked how they presented their material. I also liked the fact their tutoring packages were very reasonably priced compared to the exorbitant prices that you might have seen other tutors quote. The tutoring question packs and the review sessions with Hee Jean were extremely valuable in making sure that was prepared for the common curveballs that the test like to throw at you. Hee Jean is obviously very knowledgeable and does a great job of making sure that your limited prep time is spent on the topics that matter the most. I am happy to report that I not only broke the Q48 barrier, but I ended up getting a Q50 score, which I honestly never even dreamt of!

I wholeheartedly recommend MathRevolution tutoring to anyone who might be in need of customized GMAT prep. I would suggest getting your skill level up to a point where your foundational knowledge is crystal clear, and you are ideally above the Q44 threshold to make the most out of the tutoring sessions. If you are at a level below Q44, the tutoring will undoubtedly help you, but it's not the best use of the tutoring time in my opinion. Either way, you can't go wrong with MathRevolution!

Read More

October 16, 2017
shk778

Joined: Nov 22, 2016

Posts: 6

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
710 Q43 V44
700 Q49 V35

Amazing Quant Tutoring

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Math Revolution Private Tutoring

Instructor Hee Jean K

Location Online

I had received a Q43 and IR5 in my first GMAT (710). It was critical for me to increase my quant score to 47+. I initially took 6 hours of private tutoring with Hee Jean, who was amazing and very flexible and professional.

I loved the service so much that I extended my tutoring by another 6 hours. I retook the GMAT after 12 days of tutoring with Hee Jean and scored a Q49 and IR7, unforunately I didn't do so well on Verbal this time and got a 700 overall.

However, I can say with 100% confidence that Hee Jean and Math Revolution's resources helped me achieve +6 on my Q score in less than 2 weeks.

Read More