GMAT Club

Cliff Smith Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Cliff has helped more than 500 students prepare for the GMAT and has won the coveted Worldwide GMAT Instructor Of The Year award. He created all the instructional materials for the Veritas Prep Live Online GMAT courses, and is the voice behind the popular Veritas Prep On Demand self-study video lessons. When Cliff’s not pursuing his two most prominent passions, teaching and playing trombone “semi-professionally” in a jazz band, he takes advantage of the perks of living in the San Francisco area - fine cuisine, skiing in the Sierras, and admiring the palm tree that grows in his yard.

4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 14 reviews
November 26, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location San Francisco, CA USA

I hadn't taken the exam before this class, and had really only spent a few weeks looking at material so this was a great introduction and overview to the exam at its most basic level. Once we got into the strategies and how to attack the problems, the true value of the class came through. The additional resources are also fantastic and give you the ability to review material or catch up on anything you might have missed. The one-on-one online help sessions also provide another great resource, and any practice tests come back with detailed score reports that you can use to review for the exam. Overall, this is a fantastic resource and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Read More

November 17, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

This past 6 weeks, I took the Veritas Full Course and I must say it was quite helpful. Before taking the course, I did not know what to expect on the test and I did not know which questions would be more difficult to handle. However, through this course I was able to brush on on different skills and get a better idea on how the test was structured. Through the course, I was able to find shortcuts and strategies that would help me come to conclusions more quickly and really help understand what the test was all about. I thought my instructor was very helpful and he definitely gave us many extra tips to make the test easier to take. I thought this course was helpful because every aspect of the test was touched upon in great detail which helps me understand what I am going to do. I would suggest that others take the course so they can be the best prepared for the test.

Read More

September 30, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location San Francisco, CA USA

The review classes are very thorough. Both the in-class and online classes coincide with all the necessary preparations i need to take for the GMAT. The books provided by Veritas helped me focus on each of the subjects discussed. Mr. Cliff Smith gave us a good rundown on the things we would need to remember for the exam. The classroom has a very conducive environment. The location is close enough from my work. Even though that the class is 3 hours long, it was good enough to compliment my study schedule. I highly recommend Veritas prep for anyone who wants to review for the GMAT!

Read More

September 22, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Honestly, I was tempted to attempt the GMATs with self study but that would've been very foolish. There are just some things you need to know and a lot of things you will waste so much time on, thinking you need to know. This course directs you to use your time efficiently, only on the skills you need to know for the test. It breaks down the material in a very organized and approachable manner. If it wasn't for the course, I probably wouldn't have had any direction. I would've been scrambling around trying to solve every problem individually and concluding that I just have to relearn all my junior high math and grammar rules.

If you want to save time and not overload yourself with unnecessary skills, you need to take this course. Veritas was the toolbox I needed to attack this thing and I'm so glad I learned to use it.

If you take the course with Cliff, take advantage of his expertise. He's always willing to help and it is very obvious that he knows this stuff like the back of his hand. He also breaks down everything you need to know in individual study sheets for your convenience!

Read More

September 09, 2014
anniemun

Joined: Sep 09, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location San Francisco, CA USA

After much research into all the prep courses for GMAT, I decided on Veritas Prep and will recommend it to everyone. It lived up to every positive review that was out there.

I feel much more prepared than I ever could have been and will go into the GMAT much more confidently. I thoroughly enjoyed each class. Although it was a lot of material to cover in 6 weeks, you have an option to review each book in full detail online. This was one of the main selling points. The online courses are just as effective as the in person courses and you can go at your own pace.

Cliff Smith was an excellent instructor and was very knowledgeable in all subjects. He had special handouts for each lesson book that would give tips/tricks that were very useful.

Read More

April 18, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA

The course is really great! The instructor is very knowledgeable and knows the GMAT like no other, providing useful tips and skills for the test such as summarized notes on main topics covered in class as well as building the mental and physical stamina needed for a test like this.

The veritas prep material is well structured for you to get prepared before you get to class, the method is easy to follow making you think like the test makers as well as learning by doing, the online resources give an excellent support with skill builder activities, online classes, timed homework questions as well as online homework support if needed.

Read More

December 03, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q47 V42

Improvement 80 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location San Francisco, CA USA

enrolled Sept 13 2012

The instructor was quietly passionate about the material, which made the course engaging through twelve 3-hour sessions. He taught with slides that were well designed and executed. He covered all of the course material and provided useful summary handouts. He knew the material well, sometimes providing alternative solutions to problems.

The curriculum is comprehensive and the study materials (12 course books) are well organized. The books consist of a Skillbuilder to do prior to class, a Lesson section that the instructor more-or-less follows in class, and then homework problems. The problems in the lesson section seemed to be higher than a 75th percentile level of difficulty and were carefully chosen to get a concept across. The homework problems are typically organized, like the GMAC Official Guide, from easier to harder. There are a good number of difficult problems to work on. Homework problems can be done online, in which case the time spent on each problem is tracked. As long as the course is, I don't feel that any time was wasted going through the course materials.

Veritas' online on-demand lesson videos are okay, although not as engaging as those taken in person. VP's practice CATs seemed to me to be about as difficult as the real GMAT. I would not agree with those who suggest that VP's CATs are more difficult, although one section or another would seem easier or harder, so it's important to take several practice CATs (or at least some of the sections).

Overall, Veritas Prep gives you everything you could need outside of your own dedication to expend the effort needed to score well on the GMAT. The course gives you many opportunities to think hard about the nature of your weaknesses and therefore how to strengthen them. The instructor and the curriculum drives home the crucial message not to mistake activity for achievement (although a lot of activity is involved!). I don't' think I could have achieved my score without the help of the Veritas Prep course.

Read More