GMAT Club

Ravi Sreerama Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 310 reviews
July 14, 2014
supercali

Joined: Jan 25, 2012

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V40

Veritas Prep - Ravi Sreerama

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I took the in-person class with Ravi Sreerama in Santa Monica. Ravi showed up to class everyday with high energy, enthusiasm and motivation. He covered the lessons thoroughly and at a high-octane pace, so no time is ever wasted. Ravi speaks clearly and with authority, continuously interacting with students and keeping everyone engaged. In class, he’s a drill sergeant – in command of the lesson and in control of the pace. Outside of class, he’s the most personable, laid-back and down-to-earth guy you’ve ever met. Confident and cool, Ravi is a master of all topics covered on the exam. He is inspirational and genuinely cares for each and every one of his students. It is no secret that Ravi is the best GMAT instructor in town and that’s why his classes fill up early.

Read More

June 28, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V41

Veritas Prep - Excellent way to learn strategy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I took the full Veritas prep course in Los Angeles with Ravi Sreerama as my instructor. The Veritas materials provide similar content to the other major prep providers, but the difference was the instructor. Ravi was excellent at walking through test strategies, highlighting the important content to memorize, and motivating students to study/perform well on the GMAT. Ravi was also helpful in answering questions related to the GMAT in general. While I prefer the in-person class, I also attended one online session with Ravi and found those to be equally useful.

I haven't taken the official GMAT yet, but my quant score improved from a Q40 to Q47 after taking the prep class with a 20 point increase in my overall score (710 to 730).

Read More

June 20, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
690 Q45 V40

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

After doing a lot research on GMAT prep classes I decided to go with Veritas Prep as they seemed to really specialize in the test and their instructors had great reviews. I took the Full Classroom course first and found that to be very helpful and a great introduction to the test. The instructor had taught with other test prep companies and was really good at sharing all the techniques that he knew. He was also very insistent that we purchase and use the Official Guide as well as the Veritas Prep materials. After the course, I took the test and under-performed in the Quant section (which was already my weakness). As a result, I decided to retake the class and, due to class scheduling, opted for the live online class with Ravi Sreerama.

Initially, I was pretty hesitant on taking an online class as I was worried that I would not be as engaged. However, this really was not the case. First of all, Ravi was really helpful about helping me set goals for my test retake. I sent him a very detailed email about my GMAT history and MBA application as a whole and he responded thoroughly and thoughtfully, giving me study structure advice - which I really needed! During the onlne course itself, Ravi really broke the Math problems down and helped me understand the correct thought-process from start to finish. In the end, I was able to raise my GMAT score from a 630 to a 690 and I couldn't be more pleased considering that I've never been a natural "test-taker".

Read More

May 13, 2014
Majohnson

Joined: May 10, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

AMAZING Instructor & Great Class!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

Ravi was the absolute best part of this class. I was concerned about the class being online, and was not sure if it was going to be engaging or if I was really going to learn the topics. Ravi was very engaging! He was great at breaking down each subject and question, and he always encouraged us to ask questions in class. He let us use the microphone too!

He was also available outside of the classroom, and encouraged us to email him if we had any questions or needed individual help with our prep. He always responded promptly and challenged us to study hard.

I was very impressed with his teaching, and my Veritas Prep experience could not have been any better!! I highly recommend this course!

Read More

May 11, 2014
interceptor77

Joined: Sep 23, 2011

Posts: 11

Kudos: 61

Ravi Sreerama a great instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

The Veritas GMAT Preparation Course is a precious tool for the Quantitative and Verbal Sections and above all for any portion of the test. I chose a Veritas On Line Classroom with my instructor Ravi Sreerama who has a unique way to teach, Ravi is a truly master in developing an higher order thinking, he gives you the opportunity to understand every type of problem from any angle with multiple strategies and methods to solve the questions efficiently and quickly. The lessons in class are animated, Ravi is available also to respond to each student in real time and provides you tricks and suggestions for the exam, he also mails you in private in order to know how the things are going for improving your results on the different sections! If you have conflicts schedule or you cannot join the on line classrooms for business reasons or personal matters you have also the opportunity to record the lesson and listen it during your free time. The customer service is attentive and always available, you have also the opportunity to join every day of the week the Live On Line Office Hours. I still have to continue to work hard after the course but if you want to take a Gmat on line classroom I really suggest you to take it with Ravi Sreerama.

Read More

March 06, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Veritas did a great job!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

Before taking this course with Ravi, from Veritas Prep, I did a lot of researches to find the best online course for GMAT prep since I had been studying on my own for such a long time but couldn't get the score I wanted.
Then I started with Veritas Online prep course and realized that it was the best thing I did during my preparation.
Skillbuider videos are what I liked most about this course since they helped me to refresh my memories about the basics of maths, English grammars and also guide me through the concept/techniques of each section in the GMAT
I took the class with Ravi because I read a lot of good reviews about him. It was a good choice since he's an experienced instructor, he made everything become easier to understand and the way he taught us to tackle GMAT was very interesting and effective.

Read More

October 18, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great course, Ravi was an awesome teacher!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

After looking at different options for GMAT prep, I decided on Veritas and I was not dissapointed.
I liked how the course was structured: first you work on basic content through the skill builder, during class you learn strategies, and afterwards you practice with homework and practice tests. The material was easy to read and well explained. They focus on higher order thinking, rather than on one-time tricks.
The classes with Ravi were really dynamic. He always found alternative ways to explain and to solve the problems.
I enjoyed this class and it really prepared me to score in the +700.
I highly recommend it!
P.S. I can't comment on score improvement, since I had not taken the GMAT before the course. My final score was 710.

Read More

August 01, 2013
lcharm

Joined: Oct 25, 2012

Posts: 28

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
640 Q45 V34

Ravi S. And Veritas Prep course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I joined Ravi's course in spring of 2012. My Gmat score at the time was around 590.

Ravi's course helped me out a lot. Not only is he extremely smart and knowledgable in the GMAT test and how to teach it, he is also a caring individual who wants you to do well.

Coming out of another course (the Princeton Review), I found Ravi's approach, especially the math portion, to be extremely refreshing. He has the knack of explaining strategies very well. This helped me to see things in two different perspectives and helped my math score a great deal.

In terms of verbal, his approach was different as well and he taught me many shortcuts that would improve my time.

My score eventually peaked at 640, with Math a 43.

Read More

March 27, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Veritas Prep (LA) Summer 2012

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Santa Maria, CA USA

I found the Veritas course very helpful. I had been out of school for sometime, and the approach, especially to the math content, was great in refreshing, understanding and later executing the key concepts needed to do well on the exam. The organization of the course was also very helpful in providing a coherent sense of structure which is key as you advance through a lot of material.

My instructor - Ravi Sreerama - was wonderful! He kept me motivated during the entire course and really helped tailor a program for me that saw me meeting my GMAT goals over the time period I had allocated to test preparations. Most helpful of all, however, was how he unpacked the psychology of the exam for me - which is as critical to doing well - as is understanding content! His committed coaching is what made a difference.

I highly recommend Veritas Prep + Ravi Sreerama for any GMAT Preparations.

Read More

February 12, 2013
JolieCrush18

Joined: Feb 16, 2010

Posts: 0

Kudos: 2

Veritas GMAT Pasadena w/ Ravi Sreerama

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Pasadena, CA USA

Last year, I decided to take Veritas (partly because they offered more in-class time and there was a sweet deal online that was way better than Kaplan).

At any rate, I was lucky enough to have Ravi as our instructor for the course. I'm pretty sure the man memorized all the Veritas Lesson Books by heart. But he always tries to find a better way to solve a problem - either more efficiently or provide a better explanation than what the book gave. He can speak a bit fast, but I think its really because he has this memorized. Just ask him to slow down when that happens. Ravi will tell you his honest opinion if you ask him a question...no sugar coating. He is a down-to-earth instructor but at the same time I feared him. Maybe because I would feel guilty inside if I didn't come to class prepared.

I took the Veritas held at the Marriott in Pasadena. The venue was okay. We had some a/c and blackboard issues but that was no biggie as the hotel tried their best to accommodate us. I highly recommend Veritas & Ravi as your instructor. If you happen to miss a class, you can always re-play each lesson via on demand or e-mail Ravi and he'll bring you up to speed.

Read More


210 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Ravi Sreerama