GMAT Club

Reed Arnold Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 7 reviews
May 17, 2021
rebeccatakespics

Joined: May 17, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q38 V46

Focused, Energetic Coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Reed Arnold

Location Online

I signed up for an intensive course with Reed Arnold at Manhattan Prep. The group met twice per week for a month, and at the end I came within ten points of my goal score (and 15 points above the median for the school I want to go to). This class is HARD, but if you stay focused and do the work, it will absolutely get you the results you're looking for. Quant was much weaker than verbal for me, and after months of studying on my own, I had made very little improvement on my practice tests. By the end of the online course, I had learned how to break down quant problems to understand what was really being asked, and how to do fast, accurate GMAT math. Manhattan Prep is a powerhouse for a reason; they have tons of great data and insight into what you should be putting your time and energy toward learning. From timing strategies to daily meditation, they really take studying to the next level.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 11, 2019
ted94

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

Great Experience with Reed Arnold

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Reed at Manhattan Prep NYC from May-August 2019. I came in to tutoring scoring around 560-610 on a few practice GMATs I had taken. In September, I ended up scoring a 710 (45Q, 41V)! Reed's patience, clever strategies/tricks and expertise were a critical part of my GMAT journey. I am by no means a natural test taker, but with persistence and Reed's guidance I was able to exceed my target score. Not only is he fun to work with, but he is great at tailoring each lesson exactly to what you need (sometimes he knew what I needed better than I did) for both Quant and Verbal. I highly recommend working with Reed if you are looking to improve you GMAT score. I can genuinely say that not only did his expertise greatly help my score but also that I looked forward to every session! It's been a pleasure.

Read More

July 31, 2018
divito

Joined: Jan 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V39

Manhattan Prep in Chelsea w/Reed Arnold!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9 week GMAT course with Reed Arnold at Manhattan Prep's Chelsea location. I highly recommend the course and highly recommend Reed specifically! I improved by over 100 points and got accepted into both of the schools I applied for. The course is great if you are busy and working because they essentially lay out the study plan for you and force you to dedicate to it. Before I took the course, I found myself too busy to be efficient in my studying. The course also comes with the Official Guide (the OG) which is great and a must have for studying. I frankly did not use the foundation books or the other smaller study books the course provides you with. I know most of the class did, however. I was on a fast track and taking the test one week after the course ended though so I cut to the chase and just used the OG and the practice tests. The homework from the course is great as well, they select questions from the OG for you to do - keeps you on track. Reed was my instructor and I think he really made the difference. He's very energetic and surprisingly funny. This is wildly helpful when you haven't studied in years and need to be forced to pay attention. Highly recommend!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 17, 2018
jmgoodman22

Joined: Jul 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V37

Manhattan GMAT Services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I used Manhattan GMAT and Reed Arnold for my GMAT prep. The course was great and really prepared me. But I still was having trouble breaking the 700 barrier, which I felt was necessary for me to get into the schools I was most interested in.
To get over this obstacle, I set up 4 2-hour sessions with Reed and it was worth every penny. Reed was extremely attentive and immediately found small weaknesses in how I approached different problems. Additionally, he taught me different techniques and changed how I reviewed my work. He listened to specific issues and designed a program to fit my needs and strengthen my weaknesses. He made himself very available and even moved around his personal schedule to accommodate me during test week. I have already recommended Reed to colleagues and friends.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 07, 2017
Laura S

Joined: Nov 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q51 V42

Amazing experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I first started my GMAT journey, I assumed it wouldn’t be that difficult. I had always been a strong student…this will be easy. Much to my surprise, my initial score on a practice exam was abysmal (which, I was told, is not uncommon). I wanted to apply to a top ten school, and my mind was set on a 700+, so, it was time for tutoring. I decided to take the Manhattan GMAT Boot camp as well as use Reed Arnold as a private tutor. The resources and instruction at Manhattan are truly incredible. Be aware, that your score will not jump without commitment, but each teacher I worked with was patient and supportive along the way. The boot camp is a bit of a firehose, but both Laurel and Dhivya made a somewhat daunting two weeks more enjoyable. Both instructors were personable and kind, and most importantly, spent a tremendous amount of time assisting each student with developing the correct INDIVIDUALIZED strategy for studying, focusing on specific topics to help boost our scores. This test is not a “one size fits all approach”, and they really help you to recognize this. Their instruction was thorough and clear, and if you are working with a limited amount of time to study – WITH FOCUS – it is the best way to learn all of the material on the test.

Reed deserves a medal for putting up with my ebbs and flows of commitment over the past few months. He was attentive and supportive, and extremely responsive to all questions and needs along the way. His feedback was direct (and appreciated!) – he certainly didn’t sugar coat it, but it really pushed me to get to where I needed to be. His one-on-one instruction was very clear – he was articulate in explaining difficult topics to me, and even I claimed I understood something, he’d keep pushing with more difficult problems until I had mastered a concept. With his support, I developed a clear and manageable strategy for conquering the test – and wound up scoring over 700 on my first try. AND, even when I decided to push it even further to try to boost my score a bit more, he was extremely accommodating and continued to support me along the way. This is not to say that everyone who enrolls will miraculously jump over 150 points – as he explained – it takes a very methodical approach. Constant review, repetition and practice is key.

A+ overall. I highly, highly recommend to anyone looking to take the GMAT. It was worth the investment, and I am far more confident in applying to school.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 23, 2017
Moshe Libbin

Joined: Jun 23, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q47 V36

Reed - The Real Deal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Manhattan Prep provides an unparalleled experience. As a test taker who has worked with two different companies, I must admit that Manhattan Prep offers the most value and the best services. I enrolled in the 9-session GMAT prep course and had the pleasure of working with Reed Arnold. Reed was friendly from day 1 and somehow found a way to help me actually enjoy my 3-month study period !

Reed led classes with a unique style that incorporated humor, lessons from his past and proven best practices. Reed always paused for any questions and had an impressive way of ensuring that all students would leave each class feeling positive and confident. Even more impressive, Reed remained available at all times by keeping his promise that he would always respond to any question or urgent request for advice via email! I personally emailed Reed on a weekly basis and am very happy to report that he consistently responded with thoughtful and timely responses and extremely helpful insights. Reed truly cares about all of his students and will take time out of his day or weekend to help any student.

Working with Reed helped me move my overall GMAT score to a 680. I am very happy with this score and was able to make a massive quant jump (37 before to 47 after) because of the combination of Reed's abilities as an instructor and the high-quality/comprehensive structure of the Manhattan Prep course. I plan to take the test again on July 5th and feel confident that I am now capable of scoring even higher!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 30, 2016
drpetebeepbeep

Joined: Nov 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

100 point jump w/ MPrep (Reed)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Reed Arnold

Location Online

SO many great things to say about Manhattan Prep. First, it's worth noting that I raised my score from 650 to 750 within 30 days after taking the intensive, twice-per-week online class with instructors Reed and Jayson (who are both awesome and hilarious dudes). I don't think that my case should be the expected case, however I also don't think that it is totally unrealistic to target a major boost in your score if you simply stay the path with Manhattan. The first thing we were told is that if you master the subject matter, you can achieve a 650, however to get a 750, you must master the strategies - this couldn't be more true, and this will really only come with practice and diligence. That said, Manhattan delivers a program that focuses on both of these items. I highly highly highly recommend Manhattan Prep for the GMAT.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.