GMAT Club

Shaifali (SBC) Reviews

Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 12 reviews
May 06, 2018
tgkCA17

Joined: Oct 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent all-round support from the Stacy Blackman team

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked closely with Shaifali Aggarwal, Esther Magna and Caryn Altman over the course of several months. I am an international student from a Finance background, so had to work hard to craft a unique and compelling story. Shaifali was my primary contact. She was always approachable and responsive. Working with her on my essays was great and very productive, and her comments on my latest drafts were always helpful and allowed me to hone in on the key points the admissions committee are looking for.

I should also mention that Stacy Blackman have a multitude of written materials for each school, as well as an online databank with past interview questions. These resources should not be underestimated, and are extremely useful.

Once a good draft of my application was ready, this was sent for a "flight test" with Caryn Altman, who is herself a former AdCom member. She reviewed my application in the same was as she did in real life, and her feedback was also invaluable. Finally, I had some practice interview sessions with Shaifali, which helped me perfect my interview technique and present myself in the best way.

I am pleased to say that I've secured a place at Wharton, my preferred school. I am delighted to be starting there later this year. I would like to thank the entire team at Stacy Blackman for their help over the last few months, and would unequivocally recommend their services to anyone who is serious about their business school applications.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 03, 2018
kmwantstogoschool

Joined: Sep 05, 2014

Posts: 68

Kudos: 63

Verified score:
770 Q50 V46

Shaifali and SBC put me in B-School against the odds!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was in an immense state of flux in early 2017 and took and impetuous decision to apply to B-school in July with zero prep. I had been working with Shaifali and SBC on the plan ahead package, but had done precious little to actually move my candidacy forward. All I had was a badly skewed GMAT score of 750 (Q47, V47) with my quant score at 65th percentile. Shaifali was exceedingly patient with me but also encouraged me to apply in 2017 - she was pragmatic about the fact that I wasn't getting any younger (I will be nearly 30 at matriculation) and agreed to help me do 7 R1 applications at short notice. I finally took the GMAT on 20th August, 2017 and gave her only 2 weeks to look into my HBS materials and 2 weeks thereafter for SGSB, Kellogg, Booth and Wharton. Then she held my hand through Tuck (again 2 weeks' notice) and then CBS.
Shaifali is scrupulously professional and turns things around super fast, she worked through the labor day weekend to help me turn in my materials on time. She also helped me pare down and give direction to my rambling soliloquies which went on to become decent essays. She is vocally critical in a surprisingly nice and measured fashion when she doesn't like what you've churned out. Also, writing the essays with her is great interview prep in itself, she makes you introspect about your career, your aspirations and your personality and articulate these things such that you know your mind so much better going into interviews. I am extremely grateful to Shaifali for the 2 admits I secured, without her, the way things were, I would be cooling my heels in the zero admit club.
Also a word for the superlative materials made available by SBC and their staff and co-coordinators who are always co-operative and responsive, I never faced any administrative hassles. Thank you, SBC and Shaifali.

Read More

January 21, 2018
Tasslehoff

Joined: Jul 31, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q50 V36

HBS admit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

1) Working on my application with Shaifali was great! Right from the get go she helped identify my strengths and qualities I should focus on in my application. Initially, I considered applying to HBS as a stretch target as I often hear that Asian engineers have a much harder time getting into HBS. With Shaifali's help, this we certainly proved them wrong!

2) SBC's team based influence and support certainly helped me refine my application: Esther as my initial SBC contact, and Caryn, who is a former Admissions Officer, as my flight tester, etc. Plenty of admissions officer intelligence in-house which certainly helped polish my application.

3) Using GMATclub, I had initially spoke to a mbaMission but found that SBC was more enthusiastic to help me with my application. The key winner was that SBC showed that they had successful experience working with applicants with my background.

Read More

January 05, 2018
WPG76

Joined: Apr 07, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

SBC & Shaifali

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had a great experience working with Shaifali and the rest of the team at SBC.

1) As an applicant coming from a traditional finance background, I had concerns about my competitiveness in the application process. Through discussions with Shaifali, I was able to think of the best way to convey my unique story. She was there to provide advice when I needed it but also to let me work on my on pace.

2) In addition to Shaifali's help, I also benefited from the help of Esther (initial contact), Caryn (flight test reviewer), and others.

3) After speaking with several other firms, I decided on working with SBC due to its strong history of success and positive experience I had in my initial conversations with the firm.

Ultimately, I was admitted into HBS, Wharton, and Haas.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 28, 2017
Skreth

Joined: May 12, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Amazing last minute help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I was quite late to start the MBA application process. Having not even had the GMAT ready for a round 1 application, getting my mind sorted for the essays was also no easy task. As an international applicant, I also never really had to write anything similar. Without much knowledge about these sort of applications, I decided to get help from Stacy Blackman Consulting. That was the absolute right decision.
My consultant (as well as everyone else at SBC) was not only incredibly helpful in reviewing my ideas but also thought me the things that make an application stand out - and bring my story across in a persuasive manner. Without their help, I don't think I would have been accepted to two M7 schools. Enjoying also how quickly, on point, and friendly everyone replied to any query I had, I greatly recommend them to anyone else looking to apply for business school.

Read More

April 12, 2017
BSchoolApplicant2017

Joined: Apr 12, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC Was Fantastic!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I elected to apply to business school in R2 with a few months remaining before the early Jan. deadlines. I reached out to SBC after hearing success stories from a number of friends and friends of friends, and used the following few months to craft a story with my SBC consultant (Shaifali). We spent most of our time on my essays, with some review of the short answer question responses as well. After a few months of work and a total of 5 hours of SBC review (and many, many iterations on my part), I felt the applications I was submitting were putting my best foot forward and told a consistent, understandable story around my interest in attending business school. Shaifali and I also briefly prepped before my GSB interview, which also proved helpful. I was thrilled to get the news a month or so later that I had been admitted, and in reading back through my application the benefit that SBC provided came through clearly. I would recommend SBC in the strongest possible terms and view my investment in using their services as very high return!

Read More

February 28, 2017
zzzaaayyybbb

Joined: Feb 28, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Shaifali @ Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had an awesome experience with Shaifali at SBC! I owe it to her supportive guidance, direct and honest advice, and expert knowledge for my admittance successes. I went into the application process knowing I was on the younger end for years of experience and on the lower end for quant. On my own, I had been focusing too much on what my peers were saying and became frozen and unconfident during the application process. I am so happy that I turned to SBC for their unparalleled support and guidance. From the initial phone consultation to the last application, Shaifali, through her seasoned wisdom, valuable advice that was both direct and honest, and confident leadership, helped me paint a complete picture that both boosted my confidence and elucidated and concreted the reasons why I wanted to attend business school even with being on the lower end of experience. It was her superior leadership that led to my acceptances to two of my top schools. I owe a huge thank you to Shaifali and SBC for their services! Overall, the experience was amazing, and if given the opportunity to do it over again, I would re-use SBC in a heartbeat.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 22, 2017
USMA09

Joined: Jan 21, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Excellent People, Excellent Services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Coming from an Army background, I didn’t know too much about the MBA application process. I decided to invest with a consulting company, and after choosing SBC, I had an excellent experience with the Stacy Blackman team every step of the way. My first contact with the company, Esther, was welcoming and helpful and she quickly linked me together with a fantastic consultant, Shaifali. (The payment process was also very easy, quick, and flawless. Thank you Toni and Tina).
I had a great experience all around while working with Shaifali. She helped me to see what I needed to prioritize and she was very flexible and helpful in working with my personal availability (I had a busy training schedule overseas during the application timeframe). Shaifali had great insights into strengthening my resume and she patiently worked with me as I turned in version after version for her to review. She was always timely in returning feedback and consistently provided quality comments on my submissions. She also quickly fielded answers to my multiple and varied questions on resume writing and everything else I thought of in regards to MBA applications. When it came to essay writing, Shaifali provided tremendous insights and she clearly has an excellent command of grammar and writing structure. Through direct written feedback as well phone calls she mentored me to develop essay responses which were very “me” and were better than I ever would have developed on my own. (Bill also provided some great essay insights and this is what, in part, makes SBC so great. It is a team helping you and I felt they believed the same in helping me.) In the end, I was incredibly happy with my essays, application responses, and my resume. I was also incredibly happy with the results of being admitted to two MBA programs. Overall, it was a fantastic experience to work with Shaifali and SBC, I definitely recommend them to future MBA applicants. Simply great people and a great experience.

Read More

January 17, 2017
mba2k19

Joined: Jan 14, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank you SBC and Shaifali!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My time with Stacy Blackman Consulting, and specifically Shaifali, was hands down, the best academic support system I have ever received.

To begin with, the team at SBC took the time to dive incredibly deep into my personal background. It went far beyond reviewing my solid GPA and GMAT score and into understanding who I was as a person, what my vision for my career was, and how I could contribute to a business school. And that was just in the first two meetings.

Shaifali specifically was fantastic to work with. As a consultant myself, my schedule was always slammed, so Shaifali really went the extra mile to plan out milestones that would be reasonable given my workload. After speaking with her just a few times, she zoned in on my career passions and helped me bring out so much more of my personal experience than I thought possible in my essays. She was incredibly patient in my frequent need to edit and often "over-engineer" essays but also took the time to let me execute the real changes (word-smithing and otherwise) so I could take full ownership of the finished product.

By far the most useful part of my time with Shailfali and SBC was the interview preparation. I was incredibly shaky to start (given the magnitude of the task at hand) but Shaifali was incredibly calming and encouraging, helping me realize I was thoroughly qualified and prepared to present myself in the best light to my interviewer. I walked out of my interview with Stanford GSB proud - it was the best interview I had ever completed.

Thanks to SBC and Shaifali specifically for a wonderful experience and helping me reach this incredibly accomplishment. Cheers.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 15, 2017
ikebk

Joined: Jan 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Comprehensive Service with Shaifali Aggarwal - highly recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I'd like to thank Shaifali Aggarwal for the fantastic guidance and support she provided in my b-school application journey. Applying from West Africa, I needed an adviser who understood the context from which I was applying. In our first conversation, I gave her a summary of my life journey. She immediately developed 5 strong themes around which I would build my application story to highlight my unique background and experiences.
I was very impressed with the vision she had for the application. I knew then that Shaifali was the perfect fit.
She was very responsive to my emails and made time to skype chat even with little lead time. Her feedback was also actionable. After reading her emails or having a conversation, I was clear on next steps. I also appreciated how straight-forward her feedback was, not mincing words. Shaifali was very professional throughout the process and light-hearted when she needed to be.
We were very efficient as a team and got b-school-ready essays after about 5 iterations per essay.
Having worked together, I had total confidence that I had given the b-schools a full picture of me. We worked on 3 school applications together- I got accepted into 2 (including my top choice) and was waitlisted by 1. She was instrumental in my success.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.