GMAT Club

Sophie Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 10 reviews
January 25, 2018
consultant99

Joined: Jan 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

ABSOLUTELY recommend Sophie and Veritas Prep!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My experience with Veritas Prep and Sophie was seamless and absolutely phenomenal. For context, I have a strong network of peers and friends who have gone through the MBA application process. I had a good sense of what the process looked like, but really felt that I needed a personalized sounding board to test essay ideas and address clear gaps I had in my profile upon applying. After a rigorous discussion and vetting with the Veritas Team, they gave me options of consultants to choose - based on Sophie's profile, I knew she would be a great fit.

I approached our working sessions with very direct questions and primarily used the Hourly Package for iterations on my essays and 1 iteration on my resume. Sophie helped me take an introspective lens to my application, and dig deep into my experiences to articulate my best qualities on paper. She was not afraid to be honest - my first essay passed with flying colors whereas my second essay needed 4 drafts to get right - but I could not have done it without her.

Ultimately, I was admitted to 2 of the 4 schools I applied to Round 1, with significant scholarships attached. I am grateful to the Veritas Team and Sophie for their support throughout this process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2017
rsalinas88

Joined: Jan 31, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Sophie & Veritas simply the best!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I always knew I would be using advisors when submitting my apps. The question was, who to pick.

I went with Veritas upon recommendation from a very close friend that got accepted into Stanford. He said by far they were the best and shortly after having my first call with them it showed.

Sophie is an AMAZING consultant and she made sure that my essays, curriculum and interview was top notch. I´m really serious when saying she was the differentiating factor between me getting accepted or denied. She has a great way of communicating, giving constructive feedback and fantastic suggestions on how to improve the application. Sophie stayed on top of the important dates and made sure I had everything ready days before the deadline and since we talked constantly I never felt overwhelmed as the due dates came closer.

I´ve heard from friends saying they had a horrible experience with another company and this NEVER happened to me. If I could do it again I would choose Veritas and Sophie all over again.

It may sound as a cliche, but ended up the whole app process with a great new friend.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 08, 2017
jyt17

Joined: May 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

I chose the 5 school package from Vertias Prep to cover all the schools that I was interested in. I was paired with Sophie as my head consultant and working with her was an absolutely wonderful experience. I had a few weak points in my application and as I was applying to the most selective MBA programs (all within the top 10), I wanted to make sure that I was putting in my best effort. It has definitely paid off! I got admitted to my dream school and will be attending this coming fall.

I believe Sophie and her guidance helped me get admitted to my top choice MBA program in three distinct ways.

1. Narrowing down the ideas and life stories into meaningful anecdotes:
I knew I wanted to apply to an MBA program in the beginning of the year and had the luxury of starting my sessions with Sophie in April. We were able to spend the first couple of months exploring ideas and wrote numerous drafts that drilled down into different facets of my life. When the essay prompts actually came out, it was only a matter of refining the tone and grounding the ideas into a relevant theme. It made a huge difference in helping me juggle all my other commitments with the stress of applying to business school.

2. Keeping me on track and sticking to a schedule:
Sophie and I had a regular weekly meeting scheduled throughout the 9 month duration. Not only was she always prompt in her feedback but also made sure to set up intermittent deadlines in order to space out the work load into manageable chunks. If it had not been for the ongoing discussions and check-ins, I would have aimlessly tweaked the essays without the confidence that they were ready for submission

3. Honest, critical feedback:
The one thing that I found with family and friends that were reading my applications is that many were not critical enough. With Sophie, we established early on that her feedback would be critical and constructive. I had a tendency to be verbose and colloquial in my writing, and that was caught and corrected. We even edited out entire passages that we had worked on for weeks as it did not ultimately fit in with the narrative. Without Sophie's decisive suggestions my essays would have suffered.

Overall, Sophie and the school package from Veritas Prep was a great choice. I honestly believe she has made the difference in my getting accepted and helped me in my path to business school.

P.S: The GMAT prep program that comes with the school package is the only GMAT help you will need. I took the online courses and a few practice tests over the course of a month and got a GMAT in the mid 700's (above the average of all my schools).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2017
dinosaur

Joined: Apr 23, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Invaluable Feedback on Essays

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I began my business school application in early January and worked with Sophie of Veritas Prep. To start, we had an introductory one-hour chat to go through all of my experiences and discuss why I was interested in applying to business school. In this chat, Sophie provided me with an assessment of my chances for admission and pointed out any red flags that could hurt my chances. This was very helpful as it gave me an idea for what to discuss in the additional essay or include in the essay. I was also able to vet my preliminary ideas for the essay to see what resonated most with her/was most appropriate for a business school application.

After this discussion, I was equipped with the knowledge to take an educated stab at the essay. In my first draft, I fleshed out a few different ideas with all relevant context and shot it over to Sophie. Sophie provided clear, detailed feedback on everything I provided and suggested that I focus the essay on one particular experience that really stood out to her. Getting this clear feedback early-on allowed me to throw out the ten other ideas I was juggling and instead focus on just one. From this point onward, I continued to utilize the story of one experience to showcase my interest in business school, what I would get out of it, and why/how I would add value to a classroom discussion. Throughout the editing process, Sophie continually encouraged me to maintain the story-feel of the essay and interject anecdotes that would tie into my reasons for applying. Working hard and following Sophie’s advice, I was able to finish my essay in about two months.

Looking back, the investment made in admissions consulting was totally worth it. Even with a fantastic GMAT score, you have no shot at admission if your essay is not both cogent and authentic. Sophie provided me with the confidence and guidance that I needed to complete the application process in a timely fashion.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2017
Anonymous00212

Joined: Jan 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Sophie - best consultant ever!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I found in Sophie the best consultant I would have wished to have. Thanks to her I got my top choice - HBS.

Sophie was my admission consultant while I was preparing my essay and CV for HBS, first round. I wrote with Sophie the best essay of my life - and everyone around (HBS and other MBA admits) recognized it. I would have never ever imagined to be able to achieve this result.

I definitely recommend you Sophie. She will help you to make your dream happen. And here are the five reasons why you should definitely get Sophie as admission consultant:

1. She is a real expert
Sophie is a real guru. She perfectly knows what the admissions committee is looking for when reviewing your application. She will ensure that your essay highlights at the same time your real self but also what is the most important to get into your top school. She will find the right balance, and will do an amazing job at assessing you about everything, making sure that the essay is not too short neither too long, that it brings to light what is the best in you, and that it showcases how you are the best fit for the school

2. She will bring the best of you
Sophie will spend time to really know you. Not you as an applicant, but you as a person. At the end of the process Sophie could even guess my feelings and my reactions. She became a very close friend - she knew not only my ambition, my goals and career, but also my emotions and personality (I even missed her at the end!). This has been essential to bring to life who I am, both in the essay and the interview. And this has been key to success.

3. She provides an amazing and honest feedback
Sophie feedback is insightful, clear and constructive. And it is straightforward. She will not try to please you, but will tell you the honest and real true, with the aim of achieving your goal. Even if it is sometime hard to hear (especially under stress and pressure) that your essay can be improved, it has been key to achieve success. Sophie does an amazing job of pushing you (as highlighted before) to bring the best of you, without influencing your ideas or giving a biased feedback. She will just be like your best friend: honest, because she wants you to succeed and she is expert; but also understanding, because she wants you to be You.

4. She will go beyond
Sophie has shown an extraordinary commitment, doing the extra mile. She truly exceeded my expectations. While Veritas ensures its consultants will reply within 24h and review your docs in 48h, Sophie's feedback was immediate - she used to reply immediately and to provide her feedback in few hours, scheduling meetings from one day to other. She adapted to my busy schedule and was very open to sacrifice her own personal time, working over weekends and late nights. She will also assess you in every detail: for the interview, how to be dressed, how to be mentally prepared; while waiting the answer, how to manage your stress and time...Her assessment will go far beyond what you expect.

5. She TRULY CARES
Last but not least: Sophie cares. When I announced her my admission to HBS, she even cried of emotion.
And she cared throughout the whole process. I found her kindness, patience and understanding truly exceptional, and even inspirational. I have to say that I was not an easy applicant: I got nervous and stressed quite often, I despaired thousands of time, cried...And she was there to calm me down, helping me to step back and move on. I was really not expecting this. But she did, and she did it better than many of my friends. Because she knows the process and she gets to know you. She CARES.

On top of that, Sophie is a wonderful person, with admirable values and principles. I aim to keep in touch with her in the future. She has been a friend and critical to achieving my dream.

So THANK YOU SOPHIE, THANK YOU FOR MAKING MY DREAM COME TRUE!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2017
obviousotter

Joined: Oct 17, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 9

Excellent service for nontraditional applicant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My consultants from Veritas were exemplary. I came from a somewhat less traditional career path (government + comp sci grad school), and I knew almost nobody who had recently been through the business school admissions process. I was therefore looking for someone who could help me navigate the business school admissions process and provide expertise on what I should emphasize in my application. I was accustomed to writing technical publications and government analysis, and I knew I needed some professional guidance to optimize my admissions results.

I was extremely picky because I wanted a consultant who really understood the government world and business. I spoke with ~6 major consulting firms and reviewed a few candidates. Eventually I talked with Veritas and they matched me with Sophie, who shared a similar background and had admissions expertise.

Her advice was exactly what I needed. We thoroughly discussed my background, career interests, and why I wanted an MBA. We discovered that I already had a fairly good idea of the story I wanted to tell in my application, but I needed help grounding my story and essay into the raw information that the adcom needed. For example, my early essay drafts focused far too much on my justification for business school to the detriment of understanding who I was as a person. I knew both were important, but Sophie helped me strike the right balance while simultaneously asking some great probing questions that really helped draw out my story in the essay.

My school specialist was also incredibly helpful, especially during the mock interview, and had detailed and actionable feedback for all of my responses.

Sophie and my specialist's guidance gave me the peace of mind that, regardless of the outcome, I had put my best foot forward. Three months later I learned the good news--admitted to both Harvard and Stanford!

I chose Veritas because they really cared about pairing me with consultants who were a good match for my background and interests, and I was not disappointed. I would absolutely recommend them.

Read More

July 06, 2016
jadnaoum

Joined: Aug 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

Sophie is great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

First of let me say that I very much liked the Veritas Prep approach to admissions consulting. The fact that several people looked at my application allowed me to get different points of view and ultimately strengthened what I put together. As for my head consultant Sophie, I have nothing but praise. She is very knowledgeable about what admissions officers look for in an applicant, and as such, helped me choose the experiences from my life that would best outline my personality strengths. She was always available for calls and would quickly respond to my many emails. I think of her more as a friend than a consultant now. She was patient in working with me on my countless drafts, and I could feel that she thought of my success as her success, thus giving me her best. What I appreciated most was that she was hard on me when she needed to be which lead to an even stronger application. In the end, it paid off and I got into my top choice!! I felt very comfortable working with Sophie, and I would highly recommend her. Good luck!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 01, 2016
Goonr1234

Joined: Jul 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Sophie got me into my top Choice !!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Sophie is a wonderful consultant to work with. She made me feel at ease from the very first session as she was getting to know me and understand what makes me tick. Sophie’s greatest strength is that she is really caring. She really cared about me getting into my top choice. It did not take long before I began to see her as my mentor, rather than a consultant. Sophie was there for me whenever I needed her – she was always available to help me and support me. Another advantage of working with Sophie is that she is really patient. She was supportive and kept her patience. If you are aiming for the very top business schools, you will need someone who will persevere as you work through the many iterations of your essays. As for the essays, her high sense of ethics means she would not take any ownership of the essays, but she let me ‘own’ my essay as she would say. Her candor is what I needed when I was going off-track in my essay writing or when I needed genuine feedback for my interviews. She successfully guided me thoroughly through the whole process and she helped me get in my first choice. Without her, I wouldn’t have been able to do it. If you are looking for a great mentor, I recommend Sophie.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 16, 2016
andreaww

Joined: May 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

AWESOME SERVICE

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The whole package provides essential service that I think one absolutely needs to get into a top tier business school. I got advice on the resume, had over 15 drafts of my essay revised, heard advice from very knowledgeable alums who provided insider information on the clubs, culture, and what Admissions is looking for in a successful applicant. I also had two hours of mock interviews after I received an invitation to interview. The best part is working with Sophie, who is very knowledgeable, prompt with responses, and very patient with so many rounds of revision and provided me with the best advice.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 12, 2016
autob

Joined: Apr 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The best consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I worked on my grad school applications with Veritas Prep. Vertias matched me with the consultants who graduated from the very schools that I intended to apply to, which was extremely helpful because they could provide first-hand experience and insight. My head consultant was Sophie, and I could not have asked for a better consultant. After a few months of prep with her under a school package, I applied to both MBA and public policy programs and I got accepted into Harvard Business School and Harvard Kennedy School, which were my first choice for each program.

Sophie is an excellent consultant. She was quick in understanding my background and goals. She made me feel comfortable throughout the initial conversations and, through a number of insightful questions, she allowed me to understand myself better and come up with better ideas for my applications. Her help did not stop at merely essay levels. She gave me a few suggestions including choosing a right recommender, an idea that truly helped me with not only strengthening my application but also managing right relationships at my workplace and school.

Working on school applications could have been extremely stressful, but Sophie helped me make sure that I am on the right track. She is also very responsive over emails and she happily joined Skype calls with me whenever I needed her in-depth advice and view.

Lastly, she is candid and trustworthy. After reading my essay drafts, she would often say that I should start over again to write more compelling stories. While it wasn't easy to start from the scratch again, thanks to her, my essays improved a lot after a few iterations and I was comfortable in submitting my final essays in the end.

I strongly recommend Sophie and Veritas Prep. Yes, the cost is very expensive, but it is certainly more than worthy when I look back.

Read More