GMAT Club

Taniel Chan Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 17 reviews
June 04, 2020
AKRHead

Joined: Jun 04, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Experience with Deferred MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The decision to work with Taniel was a wonderful one. From the get-go, Taniel took the time to understand my unique experiences and how they would impact my business school application. He was able to identify my strengths and weaknesses, including many smaller details that I had not considered, and provided actionable advice based on his analysis. We worked together to develop a game plan that allowed me to put my best foot forward. In addition, Taniel provided details on each of the schools I was considering applying to that would not be found in a typical Google search and which were extremely valuable when it came time to decide which schools to apply to. I have had an excellent experience with Taniel and regardless of the outcome of my application, I am very satisfied with the service he has provided.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2020
gmatprep98

Joined: May 31, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V45

Thank you so much!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend Taniel. He was very responsive and efficient throughout the process. He was always able to give me very helpful and insightful feedback for working on each draft of my essay. Since he attended HBS recently, I felt he could give me advice that other consultants could not. When I initially contacted him, I was very stressed, and had a lot of work to do on my essays. However, with every draft, it got much better, with Taniel's detailed comments for editing and continued support. My essay came a long way with his help, and couldn't have imagined applying without him.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2020
hc294

Joined: Apr 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing consultant with spot-on and up-to-date advice!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a fantastic time working with Taniel, seeking his advice on both my MBA/MPP applications. While Taniel is an amazing consultant overall, there are three things that really stood out for me:

1) His comments and advice are very spot-on, where he is able to point out areas for improvement immediately to make the story a lot more tied together

2) He graduated not too long ago so he is close to a lot of ongoing developments in the school and knows exactly what one should add to his/her application to make it as relevant as possible

3) He truly values your development, even if that means putting in more time than was initially discussed. E.g. sometimes when our chat went over time he'd still continue, if something we were discussing wasn't completed. He even just chatted with me as a friend more about his experience recently after I was admitted.

I'd highly recommend everyone to reach out to Taniel! He was crucial in my applications' success.

Read More

August 02, 2019
Spectacles20

Joined: Aug 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to HBS!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The excellent consulting services from Veritas Prep were a defining factor and made a world of difference that helped me get into Harvard Business School!

Applying to business school can be overwhelming, and my Veritas consultants, Kevin and Taniel, were the reason the process felt so much more manageable. They added tremendous value to my application and weren't afraid to challenge me, which ultimately resulted in my submitting a confident, well thought-out application that really illuminated my story, goals and values.

Taniel Chan, my HBS specialist, knocked it out of the park! As a recent HBS / HKS alum himself, he is especially in touch with the current pulse of the school and what resonates with the admissions office. He's incredibly quick / smart and has an eye for both the tactical (essay pointers, diction, logic flaws) and the big picture. I was especially impressed by his mock interviewing and interviewing advice, which both gave me the confidence boost I needed and turned out to be spot on!

And a special shout-out to my head consultant, Kevin Richardson, who at times seemed less like an admissions consultant and more like a career / life coach! He's exactly the tough critic my application needed, and once you've passed his incredibly high standards, you can be confident that you have put your best candidacy forward.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 12, 2018
berniech

Joined: Apr 11, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q51 V41

Great experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My experience with Taniel was extremely positive. I originally bought only 3-hours, but decided to add on several more hours given how helpful his help was. Taniel was of huge help in writing the essays. His comments were always spot-on and relevant. He would catch flaws that I hadn't even thought about, showing me he was very experienced in what he does. Taniel was very good at communicating over email and responding in a prompt manner, which was extremely important to me. I fully recommend Taniel if you're looking for help or guidance in the application process due to his targeted and methodical approach.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 27, 2018
rb12345

Joined: Sep 06, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V47

Thank You Taniel!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

From start to finish, Taniel was with me every step of the way as I successfully gained admission to HBS!! He actually offered to first meet me on campus so we could get to know each other while he gave me a tour (he was about to graduate from HBS himself).

I had originally anticipated working with an older, more experienced consultant, but I was quickly impressed with Taniel's knowledge of the application process and felt that his fresher perspective and personal experience would be valuable.

Particularly for HBS, I felt like Taniel was well-equipped and extremely helpful throughout the essay writing process and interview prep. He was instrumental in helping me craft a story that would resonate with the admissions team. For the interview, Taniel immediately sent me a list of questions to think through, and we scheduled an hour long session for a mock with some time for feedback. He structured it exactly like my actual interview and dug deeply into each of my answers. Taniel was candid, direct, and very engaged, and I felt that the hour we spent together was critical in preparing me for my interview.

Overall, I had a great experience with Veritas and would highly suggest working with Taniel. Thanks again!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 27, 2018
ny2mba

Joined: Dec 23, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The Best Decision I've Ever Made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Purchasing a VP school package is the largest purchase I’ve ever made. I can say without a doubt that because of Taniel’s help, it was also the best decision I’ve ever made. I would highly recommend Taniel as a Head Consultant and as a School Specialist to any applicant.

VP connected me to Taniel based upon my background and our collaboration styles. Before speaking to Taniel I was skeptical of how this matching process could possibly work, but the match was absolutely perfect. As a non-traditional applicant coming from the public sector, Taniel helped me believe that I was capable of going to a top school, and helped me craft my story to make that dream a reality. After my first call with Taniel I decided to apply to six top-10 programs (four M7).

Despite the time difference and a hectic workload, Taniel was incredibly responsive and went above and beyond his role as a head consultant. Taniel gave me the organizational structure I needed to be successful for what could have been an overwhelming process. His consistently detailed feedback pushed me to think deeply about my motivations, not only helping me put forward a strong application, but also helping me articulate my long-run aspirations in a way I couldn’t before working with him. Admissions consulting isn’t about crafting a narrative, it’s about helping put forward the truth in the most compelling way possible, and Taniel truly made that possible for me. Most of all, it was clear that Taniel truly cared about my success in this process, which helped me stay level-headed throughout when things could have been nerve-wracking.

With Taniel’s support, I received interviews to three M7 schools, SOM, and Haas. I’m humbled to say that in the end I will be headed to an M7 on a full-tuition scholarship. Taniel truly changed my life, and I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with him.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 28, 2018
ga01

Joined: Jan 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Wonderful experience working with Taniel and Veritas Prep!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I reached out to Veritas early on in my business school journey and it ended up being one of the best decisions I made last year.

I worked with Taniel on the school-specific consultation for HBS and ended up being admitted. Taniel constantly emphasized the importance of telling my story, being realistic with my goals, and making sure my narrative and the way I described my past experiences made sense. When we first started working together, he encouraged me to not just stick to my original writing because I had already written it - he pushed me to rethink the entire process and rewrite. That ended up being one of the best pieces of advice I received in the whole process.

Taniel was always accessible, very quickly gave feedback, and was motivating and direct throughout. When I received an interview for HBS, Taniel helped me thoroughly prep and answer interview questions through a practice run - this was fantastic!

Overall, I am very grateful that I was able to work with Taniel. I highly recommend working with him!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2018
Cryupto8

Joined: Feb 23, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Head Consultant, Strong Recommendation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Taniel was my Head Consultant on a 4 school package (Wharton, MIT, Haas, Booth) and provided ancillary tips for me to apply to an additional 3 schools on my own (LBS, HBS, GSB).

Taniel was instrumental in helping me navigate and tackle this large task; writing seven Round 1 applications was never going to be an easy task, but Taniel helped me overcome it one sentence and paragraph at a time.

During the application writing phase, Taniel provided extensive support and guidance on how to optimise my written application. He certainly helped me put my best foot forward and I have no regrets about the final outcome (Offer for London Business School MBA 2020 class; still on MIT Sloan waitlist).

Overall, I feel Taniel did a fantastic job and I would highly recommend him as a Head Consultant and as a School Specialist, due to his in-depth, insider perspective at HBS & GSB.

Taniel is:
1) Very creative and strong at story telling - extremely helpful in crafting and structuring my application narrative arc by spending extensive time carefully listening to my stories and experiences. He picked out and highlighted the most pertinent points to include in my essays, which I would have struggled to do on my own. Through his suggestions and insights, my original draft essay evolved significantly throughout the process.

2) Eloquent and expressive - helped me bring my stories to life with great suggestions on vivid wording and phrasing of certain paragraphs. This allowed my personality to fully shine through in the right way.

3) Structured and supportive - created timeline and objectives “gant chart” to keep track of progress. Continuously encouraged me to stay focused on making progress, which enabled me to complete all 7 applications with time to spare. Helped me navigate this big task in a minimal stress manner.

4) Highly knowledgable about the HBS & GSB processes - was kind enough to give me tips and tricks on how to navigate these extremely specific processes. His experience and familiarity gave me confidence and comfort in my application; he helped demystify these blackbox processes.

5) Direct and candid with feedback - always had a substantiated/reasoned opinion on why he liked / disliked any sentences or paragraphs I had written. Gave thoughtful suggestions on how to improve the essays.

6) Always cheerful and positive - always a pleasure to interact with, was a big factor in why I chose to work with him over many other consultants I spoke with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2018
CanDo1909

Joined: Sep 19, 2017

Posts: 9

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
650 Q42 V38

Interview Prep w/ Taniel Chan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

During my long GMAT process, I found Veritas Prep a few days before my exam and loved their Verbal content (I was hovering at like 38 and couldn't go higher. Went up 1 point with three days of their verbal content)

I wish I had prepared for the GMAT with them, but remembering that online content and that a coworker of mine had worked with their admissions consultants for her Wharton interview, I reached out to them for interview prep. I worked with Taniel for a 3 hour package as follows:

1st Hour: Crafting answers to tough questions/general career journey story telling.
2nd Hour: 30 minute mock interview + 30 minutes of feedback on answers and guidance on how to improve
3rd Hour: 30 minute mock interview + 30 minutes of feedback on answers and guidance on how to improve

Taniel was super helpful, supportive, and positive throughout. He spent time trying to understand what were core parts of my personality and my story to bring out and was honest about the process, what to expect, and especially in feedback. I don't really have "stage fright" and usually interview well, but my nerves and tendencies to ramble were tackled head on by Taniel. Additionally, the first two hours were over the phone, but since we were in the same city for the last hour, Taniel went out of his way to meet me and do an in-person mock interview which was particularly invaluable.

I am grateful for the experience because I think it made me more focused, relaxed, and confident. All important interview things! Fingers crossed it came through.

I recommend Veritas Prep for their consulting, but particularly Taniel, as he was so knowledgeable and supportive.

Read More