GMAT Club

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

MER (myEssayReview) offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience as an English teacher in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011 to provide highly personalized and dedicated consulting services to Business School applicants. Since then, Poonam, a Ph.D. in English, has supported hundreds of students get accepted into top 20 MBA, EMBA, and other Masters programs in the US, Europe, Canada, and Asia. The fact that Poonam is the only admission consultant who does not possess an MBA degree highlights the extent to which her storytelling prowess and commitment to her clients have helped them stand out.

A full-time consultant, Poonam works directly with each client, and to maintain the quality she is known for, she works with only six clients at a time. Since 2011, Poonam has achieved excellent success with her students, and 90% of them have been accepted into the top 20 B-schools. Additionally, her students have received scholarships (30% to 100%) from prestigious schools internationally. See the complete listing here.

No matter where you are, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school.

Visit our website and contact us for a free profile evaluation.

Learn more about myEssayReview.
myEssayReview Deal Page

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

myEssayReview Multiple School Package
 $2199  $2099
Reviews
55
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed myEssayReview Consultants

Poonam Tandon
Reviews
121
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

121 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
March 02, 2020
pravin1707

Joined: Jun 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q49 V31

I signed up for a 3- schools comprehensive package with MER for getting better guidance and support from an expert to shape up the resume and write essays. I was happy with the services from day one. The counseling session for school selection was beneficial as she pointed out how various other factors besides the GMAT score range plays a role in shortlisting Schools. After selecting schools, we started working on stories. The initial questionnaire Poonam made me fill out was extremely helpful as it already had all the questions which ultimately provided stories for almost all the B school essays that I applied to.

For all the essays, the initial idea on what to write, how to proceed, and what stories to select through the questionnaire was beneficial in writing the best possible version of my stories. It was beyond my imagination how she helped with the structure and organization of all of my essays and made the story flow so smoothly. MER's editing skills are excellent- not only in correcting my grammar part but also in trimming the essays to the specified word limit. Most of the time I thought it was not possible to remove a particular sentence or reduce the word limit. Still, She edited and reorganized it in such a way that none of my stories were unsaid and yet everything was well within the word limit. The resume building was excellent. In the course of 4 edits, my resume was transformed into a robust one-page MBA resume that highlighted my professional growth, accomplishments, academic career, extracurricular activities, and volunteer work. I liked how she made me write three to four lines for each role and then edited it to just one-liner, making my resume look incredibly professional.

To me, MER is a complete professional when it comes to answering queries. Even though she said she wouldn't get back on weekends, on more than one instance, she replied to my emails even on weekends, which was extremely helpful to me, given my time constraints at work. As stipulated on the MER website, her response time was never more than two days, and at the same time, she never compromised on the quality of work. In many essays, she helped me with mitigating weaknesses, which I did not realize were pulling down my writing. It is those small corrections and nuances that have helped me develop my writing skills in the long run. Initially, I had a tough time making my recommenders take time and write my LOR, but she was very supportive and understanding even when there was a delay on my part. All the corrections and suggestions have helped me submit a great LOR from my recommenders. The mock interview was spot on. The comprehensive feedback on the mock interview, both verbal and written, was constructive in correcting my mistakes before the real one. I was fortunate that the interviewers in the actual interviews asked me only those questions that we had already discussed in the mock interview

I appreciate the professionalism Poonam maintained during the entire duration of this process. Even when there was a delay from my side due to unavoidable reasons, she ensured she did her best to make sure that I submitted my applications well before the deadlines.

Poonam, I cannot thank you enough for your guidance, support, and patience throughout the application process. I have been accepted into Terry School of Business with Scholarships and Assistant-ship worth around $30,000) and Maryland Smith with 50,000$ Scholarship totally for two years.

Without a doubt, if I come across any prospective students, I will recommend MER services to them.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2019
ivorycoast

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q49 V33

While looking for a Consultant, I wanted someone who knows MBA programs well in the USA and has long experience in editing MBA essays. I got a recommendation from my friend and read some comments from other applicants that MER provides quality essay service and found Poonam to be the right person to work with. Poonam’s suggestions and guidance gave me a general idea about the workflow and what I needed to improve on my essays. Poonam was very patient to give me support even when I faced some problems in seeing comments because of tech issues. Going through the comments one by one gave me a clear idea about how to make edits on my stories. I got many insightful reviews and suggestions throughout my application process, which made me believe that Poonam had a good understanding of my profile. She provided a clear structure of the essay organization and pointers of each paragraph. Her logical feedback on how to structure the essay and organize details was exceptionally helpful as I had no clue about how to even start the essay. Poonam answered all my questions, replied to my comments in the essay, and provided me feedback about the decisions to be made. The turnaround was very fast, and I got feedback on the edits within 24-48 hours. It maintained a good workflow and encouraged me to keep pace with her.
My overall working experience with Poonam was great. So far, I have received admits from 3 schools - Kelley, Simon and Questrom with huge scholarships. My success would not have been possible without Poonam’s help and support. I greatly appreciate every bit of work she has helped me with. I would gladly recommend her services to prospective MBA candidates. Thank you very much, Poonam, and I wish you well in every aspect of your life!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 25, 2019
CBS21

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted Into Columbia Business School! - Thanks Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Poonam helped me put the finishing touches on my essays, which gave me the engaging story I needed to earn a place at a coveted M7. While another consultant helped me get started crafting drafts of my essays, I wasn't satisfied with the final product. Poonam was recommended to me based on her creative writing style. After an in-depth Skype discussion to understand content and structure, Poonam began helping me edit and revise my essays to be more poignant and convincing. Her turnaround time was impressive and her edits always moved the ball forward. I would highly recommend her services for anyone struggling with their essay writing.

Read More

July 14, 2019
Username1738

Joined: May 03, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Top- Tier Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Poonam on both my essay and my resume for the USC part time program and I was accepted with a scholarship. I had a very tight deadline so USC was the only school that I applied to and Poonam was absolutely amazing in helping me perfect both my essay and resume in less than 2 weeks.

She took the time to schedule two initial 45 minute video calls so she could truly understand me. She expects a lot out of her clients, which is what makes her so successful, and really pushed me on several occasions to think outside the box when drafting my story. Her greatest strength is her creativity and her ability to help you brainstorm to create a compelling story. My essay started off at 750-800 words and with Poonam's help, we got it to down to the 500 limit without losing any meaning. Poonam helped me create a masterpiece essay that I was proud of.

I was a little reluctant at first to also pay for the resume service but I'm so glad that I did because she completely transformed my resume by removing the industry jargon that Adcom has no interested in and pushed me to add the necessary content that Adcom wanted to see.

Her prices are very competitive given the amount of time that she puts into each service. I wholeheartedly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for an MBA consultant.

Read More

May 17, 2019
watermelonisme

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted into Chicago with a scholarship

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I wish to improve the quality of my graduate admission essays and increase my competence in graduate school applications. MER services provided a comprehensive package for me to achieve my goals.

The 1-hour skype session was extremely helpful, and Poonam was very professional and dedicated to her job. We went through every single detail in the resume and admission essays. It was efficient and useful to get verbal feedback. The discussion ended up being a 1 hour and 30 min skype session because of the large amount of content. I gained a lot from the session. Poonam sent me several resume templates before the first review, and they were very helpful. This gave me a better idea of the format, font, content to include in a formal resume.

For essays, Poonam gave me a lot of advice on how to effectively use stories to amplify my skills and experiences. The suggestions on the use of words and descriptions are very professional. My profile was much completer and more qualified after multiple edits. I enjoyed the tracking of changes on the content. It made a big difference when you are able to view the pre and post edits. Poonam was very good at guiding me to adjust my stories and the structures of the content to make the entire essay flow better. Poonam guided me to separate long paragraphs into multiple paragraphs, which helped the structure of the entire content to be clearer. The grammar was corrected or improved after the edits.

Poonam was very responsible and was able to revert within 48 hours and the responses were on point and detailed.

Poonam, I highly appreciate your help on my resume and admission essays. It was a great pleasure working with you, and I have certainly learned a lot. I have received an offer from the University of Chicago with a 70% scholarship and I decided to take it. Apart from that, I have also received interviews from the University of Columbia and UCLA, but the final results are not out yet.

I would like to say thank you for all the help and time you have contributed in the application process! I am impressed by your commitment and professionalism.

I will recommend you to other friends or any other graduate school applicants for the high- quality service.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 06, 2020
felicityatwood11

How much time do you have for preparation?

May 04, 2019
checkinsaheli

Joined: Jan 25, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
680 Q48 V34

Loved working with Poonam Mam, #Myessayreview

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am an egmat student and I got to know about Poonam Mam from a free session via egmat. I instantly liked it, then I read a few more reviews about her and her dedication towards admission consulting. I wanted to work with her the day I got over with my GMAT.
After my GMAT, I contacted Poonam mam. She was on a work tour but nevertheless she replied to my email and said that she would have free session with me, the first thing when she comes back. I was still left with another attempt to my GMAT exam and was in a dilemma whether to start the application work. She kept her promise, she remembered me and set up a session with me. The session lasted well beyond the stipulated time. She was so very patient and heard my confusion, my various questions and tried to answer them all. She advised me to finish off with my exam and then concentrate on my applications as I could not have managed both. She never tried to persuade me to take her services instead gave me all knowledge she could impart about applications so that I take the best decisions. Not many consultants do such a thing!
She was so warm and honest
i decided that day that I will work her. We finally started working on my Oxford Application and LORs. She was so very punctual about the work she delivers, she was always before time, answered all queries over mail, our first essay drafting session was so useful: she explained each and everything we could put in the essay, all the changes she wanted me to make, the positives and negatives. I felt very confident about the final product. After I reworked the essay I could feel the difference. She was so detailed in her reviews that you would not have any doubts. The final product was crisp and perfect. I was very happy with my application from within. I joined her on a very short notice but even then she made sure I had my essays perfectly written and before time. I admire the fact that she is so organised. I am a very anxious person who is not very organised and very fussy about the products I need to make. Poonam mam was very patient, structured and knew the art of perfection. She was also worried about the sleepless nights I was spending for application and took out time to inquire about my health, advised me to take care and not be so stressed.
Though I did not make it to Oxford, I was very happy with my application and confident too.[I knew essays were not the reason I could not get in]. I got admits from a number of universities where I used the LORs edited by her.
Even now, when I mail her regarding which university to join, she promptly replies, gives suggestions and asks me for further queries .
Poonam mam is one of the best persons I have come across, along with the professionalism and commitment she is a wonderful person besides being the best consultant. I will work with her in future when needed and do recommend her services!

Read More

April 26, 2019
Avenger2019

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted into Chicago Booth’s EMBA program. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I needed help with organizing my ideas into a story with which I can make an impression in the Adcom’s mind. MER did exactly that.

1 hour skype session was helpful to discuss my resume and essay questions and how to highlight my background and experience in those essays that would help me stand out from the crowd. Poonam highlighted my areas that stood out and it helped me focus my thoughts on those aspects while writing the essays. Poonam helped me highlight my strengths in my essays and get all my thoughts in a proper story telling format that would paint a picture in the reader’s mind while reading the essays.

The resume review was very detailed, and I enjoyed how Poonam changed my career jargon terms in the resume to a lay man’s language. Her editing skills are absolutely awesome!! Throughout the process, she very promptly answered any queries/questions I had. Also, the turnarounds were very quick. Because of the pace of turnaround times, I literally completed my whole application in less than 10 days from scratch with a number of edits. I am happy to say that I am admitted to Chicago Booth’s Executive MBA program.

It was great working with Poonam, and I would recommend Poonam’s services for anyone hoping to get help with the MBA application package.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
GMCR

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q37 V38

My experience with MER was great. I had initially brainstormed and written 10 pages of content. I then had to choose the best parts and condense those 10 pages into 500 and 750 word essays. A few days before the 1 hour skype call, I sent this 10 page document to Poonam. She reviewed it and had a better understanding of my story. During the skype call we went over which parts of those 10 pages would fit together to form a good story. We also discussed how we would be tackling different essays from different institutions. We then started working on essays from one school at a time. The turnaround was quick. I usually responded within a day and Poonam did the same. If she was unable to respond with the 24-48 hour period due to prior commitments, she let me know in advance. Poonam also did a great job in reducing the word count and bringing it within the limit. It was hard to decide which parts to cut, but we managed to keep most of it by changing the sentence structure. She also helped me with an optional essay to explain my education gap of a year and a half.
I ended up getting admitted to all the three schools on which we worked together (GW, University of Sydney, and DeGroote at McMaster University), getting scholarships from two (GW, Sydney). Overall, it was a great experience working with Poonam, and I would recommend her services to anyone looking for guidance and help getting their essays ready.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
zedyx101

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

I started my application late and there was only about 3 weeks left before the first school's deadline. Poonam accepted my request although it was a very busy time for her. Throughout the 5 weeks that we worked on 3 schools applications, Poonam always delivered her edits within the promised time.

Since the first video consulting session, she gave me a lot of recommendations on how to improve my resume. She paid attention to details and provide helpful suggestions to make my resume look less technical. Her questionnaires helped me to brainstorm all my past achievements and goals that later greatly helped me when I wrote essays.

Due to the very tight deadline, we didn’t have much time to discuss the content of the essays before I wrote the first drafts. However, Poonam did a wonderful job in organizing the essays and cutting unnecessary words or sentences to fit my essays within the word count. When some points were not clear, she would ask questions and helped me to better convey my thoughts.

I highly recommend Poonam’s service to other prospective candidates.

Read More

April 08, 2019
iue232

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Authentic Guidance

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After reading Poonam’s profile and testimonials, I was sure that Poonam would guide me to retain a personal touch in the essays and help portray ‘me’. I did not feel that MER is very commercially focused, rather a service that ensures proper guidance and genuine support during the tedious yet thrilling application process. I got a clear understanding of the work function methodology of MER that helped us to set appropriate expectations, areas of improvement, understanding the application from the viewpoint of ad-com. The most exciting part was connecting the dots to build a story flow.

Poonam had a very good understanding of my profile; this was evident from her suggestions during the editing process. She asked questions whenever she felt something was vague. Her manner of editing the stories while adhering to the key components in the challenging word limit keeps the message intact. The structure was logical and helped me understand the flow. Actually, Poonam’s suggestion for organizing the essays helped me learn this technique, which I have started applying to my professional work emails – the lengthy ones. I remember during one school’s essay editing process, she separated paragraphs, and that made the essay more comprehensible. For all essays, the sentence structure was crisp, and punctuations positioning were sensible. This was also very helpful during the resume preparation.

Poonam is very prompt in answering any queries and followed up if I missed any of the ongoing points of suggestion/discussion during the editing process. Poonam was very professional in turnarounds. She sent all edits within two days’ period as promised.

I am happy to say that I have received an admit offer from one of the top 20 US B-schools, and I have accepted it. Thanks, Poonam, for your guidance. Yes, I would definitely recommend MER to any of my friends looking for an admission consultant to help with their MS/MBA application process.

Read More


37 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview