GMAT Club

Multiple School Package Reviews

myEssayReview offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience as an English teacher in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011. Since then, Poonam has helped hundreds of students get accepted into their dream schools in the US ( Harvard , Stanford, MIT, Kellogg, Booth, Darden, Wharton, Haas, Duke, Columbia, Kelley, Emory, Tuck, Yale, Rice, UCLA, McCombs , GW, CMU, Foster, Georgia Tech, Mays, Purdue, UNC, and Wisconsin ), in Europe (LBS, HEC, INSEAD, IESE, Oxford, Cambridge, IE, Imperial, RSM, Warwick, Cranfield ,UCL, and Manchester ), in Canada ( Rotman, Schulich, Telfer, DeGroote, Ivey , and Ted Rogers), and in Asia (ISB, IIM, HKU, NUS, NUS, HKUST, and CEIBS).

A full-time consultant since 2011, Poonam works directly with each client , and to maintain the quality she is known for , she works with only 6 clients at a time. Though a majority of her clients are MBA applicants, she has also helped many students get accepted into undergraduate programs, specialized Master's programs and Ph.D. programs. Overall, Poonam has reviewed over 10,000 essays written by students from all over the world. Also, her students have won over $13,36800 in scholarships.

myEssayReview is a member of AIGAC (Association of International Graduate Admission Consultants) since 2012.

No matter where you are located, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school. Learn more about myEssayReview.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
42
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 44 reviews
May 17, 2019
watermelonisme

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted into Chicago with a scholarship

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I wish to improve the quality of my graduate admission essays and increase my competence in graduate school applications. MER services provided a comprehensive package for me to achieve my goals.

The 1-hour skype session was extremely helpful, and Poonam was very professional and dedicated to her job. We went through every single detail in the resume and admission essays. It was efficient and useful to get verbal feedback. The discussion ended up being a 1 hour and 30 min skype session because of the large amount of content. I gained a lot from the session. Poonam sent me several resume templates before the first review, and they were very helpful. This gave me a better idea of the format, font, content to include in a formal resume.

For essays, Poonam gave me a lot of advice on how to effectively use stories to amplify my skills and experiences. The suggestions on the use of words and descriptions are very professional. My profile was much completer and more qualified after multiple edits. I enjoyed the tracking of changes on the content. It made a big difference when you are able to view the pre and post edits. Poonam was very good at guiding me to adjust my stories and the structures of the content to make the entire essay flow better. Poonam guided me to separate long paragraphs into multiple paragraphs, which helped the structure of the entire content to be clearer. The grammar was corrected or improved after the edits.

Poonam was very responsible and was able to revert within 48 hours and the responses were on point and detailed.

Poonam, I highly appreciate your help on my resume and admission essays. It was a great pleasure working with you, and I have certainly learned a lot. I have received an offer from the University of Chicago with a 70% scholarship and I decided to take it. Apart from that, I have also received interviews from the University of Columbia and UCLA, but the final results are not out yet.

I would like to say thank you for all the help and time you have contributed in the application process! I am impressed by your commitment and professionalism.

I will recommend you to other friends or any other graduate school applicants for the high- quality service.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
Avenger2019

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted into Chicago Booth’s EMBA program. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I needed help with organizing my ideas into a story with which I can make an impression in the Adcom’s mind. MER did exactly that.

1 hour skype session was helpful to discuss my resume and essay questions and how to highlight my background and experience in those essays that would help me stand out from the crowd. Poonam highlighted my areas that stood out and it helped me focus my thoughts on those aspects while writing the essays. Poonam helped me highlight my strengths in my essays and get all my thoughts in a proper story telling format that would paint a picture in the reader’s mind while reading the essays.

The resume review was very detailed, and I enjoyed how Poonam changed my career jargon terms in the resume to a lay man’s language. Her editing skills are absolutely awesome!! Throughout the process, she very promptly answered any queries/questions I had. Also, the turnarounds were very quick. Because of the pace of turnaround times, I literally completed my whole application in less than 10 days from scratch with a number of edits. I am happy to say that I am admitted to Chicago Booth’s Executive MBA program.

It was great working with Poonam, and I would recommend Poonam’s services for anyone hoping to get help with the MBA application package.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
zedyx101

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

I started my application late and there was only about 3 weeks left before the first school's deadline. Poonam accepted my request although it was a very busy time for her. Throughout the 5 weeks that we worked on 3 schools applications, Poonam always delivered her edits within the promised time.

Since the first video consulting session, she gave me a lot of recommendations on how to improve my resume. She paid attention to details and provide helpful suggestions to make my resume look less technical. Her questionnaires helped me to brainstorm all my past achievements and goals that later greatly helped me when I wrote essays.

Due to the very tight deadline, we didn’t have much time to discuss the content of the essays before I wrote the first drafts. However, Poonam did a wonderful job in organizing the essays and cutting unnecessary words or sentences to fit my essays within the word count. When some points were not clear, she would ask questions and helped me to better convey my thoughts.

I highly recommend Poonam’s service to other prospective candidates.

Read More

April 07, 2019
dennis10093

Joined: Sep 25, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
580 Q44 V26
690 Q48 V35

Best MBA admissions service w/o burning your savings

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Poonam is hands down the best MBA consultant I have ever come across. She doesn't sugar code anything - she will give it to you straight, which is what you need and why you are paying for a consultant. The initial Skype session was very information, provided helpful advice for my essays and answered questions about the application process. She also knows a lot about the programs I was applying to, which made my essays stand out even more. I particularly liked the initial questionnaire, which asked just about everything about my life. It forced me to write and helped me understand my own story, which helped a lot when during the actual essay-writing process. In addition to the normal editing (sentence structure, grammar, punctuation), Poonam restructured my essays to make them flow better, tried to make them stay on topic by deleting unnecessary sentences, and asked questions to make my essays more complete.

Read More

March 31, 2019
said1920

Joined: Jan 17, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Accepted at Said!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The reason why I signed up for the MER services is because I needed help in building my essay narratives and guidance throughout the MBA application process. The service is also recommended by many previous applicants based on online reviews and it is the most budget-friendly service out of all MBA consultants.

The one hour skype session we had was helpful especially for the initial application process. It helped me pick the suitable schools and gave me information on how to manage my expectation for the schools that I am applying to. In addition, it helped me find weak spots that I need to work on for my application such as employment gap and career switch. Poonam really took her time in understanding the stories. She has a keen eye in choosing the best stories to be presented to the admission committee. She also provided both good and bad critics on many parts of my essays throughout the editing process.

Poonam feedbacks helped me in terms of giving me a sense of how good/bad my stories are. The structure of the edited essay was definitely better. Poonam was able to re-organize sentences (or even paragraphs in some cases) to make my story more coherent. I think the editing skills were very good. She was able to reduce many redundancies on my essays and allow me to include more points in my essay.

Poonam answers queries within 1-2 days as promised. The response time for edits is as promised, which is about 1-2 days. However, if it is beyond that timeframe, it must have been caused by technical issue, so if you have not heard from her beyond 3 days, you should follow her up and she will kindly explain the reason for delay.

Overall, it has been a pleasant experience. She is very resourceful and always replies in a timely manner. Yes, I will recommend the services to prospective applicants. I am looking forward to join Oxford SAID MBA program in Fall.

Read More

March 31, 2019
DineshKumarJ

Joined: Jul 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q48 V31

myEssayReview - The perfect gateway to your dreams

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for MER services to seek support and guidance to apply for full time MBA program for fall 2019 intake. I signed up for comprehensive package for 3 universities and additionally 6 essays package to apply for other universities. I was a student of e-GMAT online courses and MER was referred by e-GMAT. However, I made an extensive research on the gmat club forum and found out that though she is among the top 5 consultants globally for MBA admission services, the fare charged by her for her services was half of that charged by other equally qualified consultants. Secondly, other equally renowned consultants were firms that employed writers whereas in MER, the founder, Madam Poonam took up the job herself and attended each candidate individually.

I had a one-hour counseling session on 18.09.2018. The session was really fruitful. Madam Poonam patiently listened to my entire story on education, work experience and community service experience and broadly outlined the list of universities that I could target. She strongly conveyed in the first counseling session that I should not apply to the same universities that I applied last year but failed to get through because I could not improve my GMAT score from the score I had secured the previous year.

Resume building was the most challenging part of my application as I not only have 9 years of work experience but also have a few outside of work interests. Consequently, I had a lot to list in my resume, but she took tremendous efforts to ensure that only the best of my experiences found its place in my resume. My resume underwent at least 4 edits and 2 layout changes. In the entire process, she was only suggestive and did not enforce her ideas on me. Finally, we prepared an impressive one-page resume with quality content and with balanced view on my work and outside of work experiences.

Understanding the profile starts with a questionnaire of 17 questions.. She starts this process well in advance so that we do not miss out important contents even while applying to the first university. This sets up the base for a complete understanding of the profile of any candidate which will come handy in the later stages of application. Maximum disclosure of information during this stage can result into a best application as she positions stories from the information that candidates furnish at this stage.

She often said that for my work experience I had a lot to write but the real challenge was to present the story within prescribed word limits. So whenever I wrote essays, I presented her with at least 100 words more than that prescribed by the university and left a tough task for her to work on. She would realign the content, trim the sentences short, and paraphrase the content to make the story more compelling and effective. Though I always tried to present full story to ensure not to miss out anything, she knew better on what to present and what to eliminate. This helped us in preparing exciting stories.

She is excellent in her editing skills. The most interesting aspect of working with her was that she never dismissed any of the word that I used in my essay for the sake of improving the essay or using an English rich in vocabulary. The final draft of any essay remained purely mine but just improvised in grammar and punctuation. Her qualification in English, her experience in this field and her students getting admitted to top B-schools stand testimony to her editing and persuasive story-writing skills.

Poonam promptly addressed all my queries during the essay writing phase and later. Whenever my suggestions were acceptable, she incorporated them in her edits. Whenever I experimented or thought a better content and questioned her on the suitability of the new content, she constantly encouraged me to think new and think better. I asked her numerous questions on low GMAT score, choice of universities and job prospects overseas even before starting the application. But she addressed all queries to my satisfaction.

She is very particular in maintaining the turnaround time. She not only maintains strict timeline but also expects candidates to adhere to the timelines. Any draft that I sent for edit returned back within 48 hours. Strict devotion to timelines helped us complete application for 7 universities in 75 days.

She was highly helpful in my interview preparation. She provided me with a brief on do’s and don’ts during the interview along with a list of probable questions. This information material provided me a clear framework as to how I should structure my interview response. The mock interview was an exact simulation of the interview by admissions committee of any B-School. She gave me a detailed oral and written feedback on each question raised during the interview and my responses to those questions. This detailed feedback helped me to work on my weaknesses and perform better during the real interview.

LOR is one of the crucial components of application. I worked with her on a common GMAC prescribed LOR form which had four questionnaires with responses up to 500 words. As the admissions committee highly values the opinion of the direct supervisor, endorsement of the candidate’s qualities by the direct supervisor is very important. She was instrumental in highlighting my strengths, unmatched contribution in key areas and unique qualities through the eyes of my supervisors.

Mitigating weaknesses and highlighting strengths is the real strength of Madam Poonam, I would say. I availed the services of another consultant and applied for two universities last year, but I did not get through. This year, though my profile has not bettered much, I have applied for universities that are better in terms of ranking and reputation. I have been interviewed by 5 schools, waitlisted by two (Simon and Georgetown), and accepted by one (Schulich) . The only aspect that created a difference in my candidature this time was the ability to highlight my strengths and mitigate the weaknesses while preparing my application. She had a very important role in that. Through the application process, she already gave me a glimpse of how an MBA program would be and partly prepared me for the program.


I am very happy to have worked with one of the best experts and mentors in the admissions process for an affordable price. My only suggestion to my fellow aspirants is that it depends on each individual candidate to get the best out of her as a qualified director extracts superior performance from an actor. I highly recommend Madam Poonam to my fellow MBA aspirants.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2019
MBA2019Admit

Joined: Jan 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Last year, I decided to do a second MBA as I realized I needed the extra push to further my career. Given the complicated nature of applications and the additional emphasis needed to convince admission committees on "why" I wanted to pursue a second MBA, I signed up for MER services for my essays.

At the end of the day, that was the best decision I made. Her one-hour session on skype was very productive, and I learnt a significant amount on how to best present my resume and essays. During this session, we developed an action plan for the essays which was helpful when I started drafting them.

Poonam gave me very good advice on presenting content to effectively answer the questions asked. One specific recommendation that was very helpful was on the ‘failure’ essay. I had a ‘weak’ failure and Poonam encouraged me to think deeper and present a different one. From a structure perspective, I really liked how my ECA essay was revamped from being reverse chronological to chronological. I think it brought out different aspects of my personality really well.

Her editing skills are impeccable. English is not my native language, so I sometimes get confused on grammar rules. Poonam, in addition to being super helpful in her reviews, went out of her way to explain certain subject verb agreement issues . Impeccable and detailed.

Poonam is a stickler of turnaround timelines and sticks to her schedule of 24-48 hr turnaround time. This turned out to be very helpful in maintaining timelines.

Poonam is a pro at MBA essays! My overall experience working with her was great as explained !! Yes, I got accepted into CEIBS with ~40% scholarship!!! I sure will recommend her to prospective candidates known to me.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 24, 2018
UTAustin001

Joined: Nov 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted into McCombs MBA program. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Reason I used a service: I decided late in the cycle and wanted to put my best foot. So there was a time crunch for my situation.
Format: Skype/email/phone. Poonam was available in all 3 formats and that helped me as I was travelling at the time.

Biggest Strength: Organizing & structuring my thoughts flow to the specific questions asked in Essay. This helped me focus well on how to flow the essays/resume. Poonam was happy to review it multiple times, to get the best out of you.

Poonam was very quick in providing the feedback as I was in time crunch and replying to my queries.

For example, I was struggling at a time to reduce my resume length as it was over flowing more than 2 pages. Helping put a concise, yet powerful message within a page.

I highly recommend her for anyone looking to refine their essays/resumes for school admissions.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2018
mansi20081990

Joined: Nov 30, 2013

Posts: 7

Kudos: 32

Verified score:
770 Q51 V42

I gave my GMAT in end June 2017 and started the application process in early July. The next step was choosing an admissions consultant and this was not an easy process. I talked to some 5-6 consultants and was really disheartened when they didn't believe in my passion and dream of getting into HBS. They asked me to apply to more "safe" schools. When I had an introductory talk with Poonam, she sounded really encouraging and yet practical. And I knew that I found my companion for this journey.

The next few months were not easy and I worked extremely hard to achieve my aim. At all times, Poonam worked equally hard right from reviewing my essays in time and putting extra time and effort whenever I got demanding.

I was keen on applying to HBS in Round 1 but Poonam suggested me to keep HBS for round 2 and give enough time to my dream school. Now when I look back, I feel that this was most valuable advice she gave me. It gave me enough time to work on my essays and be confident about my application.

Poonam's USP is that she is a convincing story teller and with her, I learnt this art. Not only this, but also she gave me valuable advice for all parts of my application process, such as bringing more clarity on my goals, getting my recommendations inline with my qualities, identifying my failures etc.

I will strongly recommend MER to all those who are struggling to find an encouraging consultant and are really passionate about their dream school!

Read More

March 15, 2018
vchikyala

Joined: Dec 23, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

When I decided to apply to EMBA programs, only two programs stood out to me: Kellogg EMBA in Evanston and Wharton EMBA in Philadelphia. It was early December and I was hoping to send my application to Wharton and meet their Round 1 deadline , which was at the end of that month. I was obviously in a hurry to make the deadline. Although my academic and professional credentials were decent, my application package was a mess and needed help to create a competitive application.

I reached out to Poonam at MER over a weekend and asked her whether she would be willing to help me with my application. She responded within a day and gave me information on MER's services. I chose the package with 3 essays and resume review. Poonam setup a 1 hr call with me to go over my profile and walked me through the timing constraints and made clear how quickly and efficiently we needed to work to make the deadline.

I sent her my essays, which had good content but lacked an overall narrative and good structure. Poonam reviewed and sent me edits on the first essay within a day. We repeated this with other essays. Overall, it took us 2-3 rounds of drafting and editing to arrive at excellent essays. When it came to my resume, I believed that I had written an excellent resume until Poonam pointed out that the resume appeared to be geared towards a technical job application instead of a business school application. She gave me a list of items that can be found in a good resume and explained which items to highlight. Her feedback helped me create a resume that will serve as a template for any of my applications, school or job, in the future.

With Poonam’s help, I was able to submit my application a week in advance of the Round 1 deadline at Wharton. Her guidance and feedback helped me get the offer of admission from Wharton EMBA program. The essays and resume I developed with her help proved invaluable in my application to Kellogg EMBA.

Poonam’s dedication to her clients and her emphasis on creating an excellent final product are what struck me as the factors that separate her from some of the other consultants. Her prompt responses and her punctuality is something I believe helped me meet my timeline. Overall, I was very pleased with Poonam’s services and would recommend MER to anyone who wants to create a great application to some of the best business schools in the world.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

15 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview