GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
The Economist GMAT Tutor Deal Page

The Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep
 $1199  $899
Reviews
106
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
 $999  $799
Reviews
163
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep
 $1399  $1099
Reviews
33
Average Rating
4.4
Buy Now

Reviews:

302 Reviews
4.5 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 29, 2013
Hermine

Joined: Mar 19, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Interactive and adaptive, but should not be relied on too strictly

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

If you are looking for magic solutions and easy ways to crack the GMAT, the Economist's GMAT prep course is not the one you need. Yes, it is interactive and self-directed. Yes, it makes the learning experience as comfortable and as fun as it can possibly get. And no, it does not necessarily provide you with higher scores. Overall, if you are not quite the type of a student who would make up a study schedule and religiously follow it, the Economist Tutor can be really of help, as it does all the scheduling for you. It enables monitoring of your own progress and works on your weaker areas. Moreover, its Sentence Correction part is really well structured and enormously useful. That's the good.

The bad: From my point of view, the Economist GMAT prep course overly relies and makes you rely on tricks and "easy" solution ways, which may well work for some students but did not work for me. This particularly concerns the Reading Comprehension part, where it was recommended to read only the selected part of the text depending on the question type. As a result I missed the general idea of the text and ended up rereading the text, losing time and score points. Moreover, the range of the RC texts by Economist is quite limited, texts repeat far too often, which makes the exercises boring and not objective. The similar problem with the "easy ways" occurs in quant section, which overly relies on ballparking.

Concerning my score, on my exam day I did much worse than on simulation tests and even worse than I did before accomplishing 25% of the course.

Read More

August 29, 2013
dlehrner

Joined: May 19, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I decided to finally stop talking about applying to business school and actually do it. The only problem with my decision was the application was due in two months. I immediately went to Amazon and purchased the Official GMAT study guide which is inarguably a great resource. I then found the Veritas Prep videos on the iPad that really helped me understand thinking like the test maker. Unfortanately, thinking like the test maker didn't translate into beating the test maker as my first score was much lower than I anticpated. I think I let my poor performance on the IR section affect me during the Quant and Verbal sections but, regardless, I needed to retake the test in one month and increase my score at least 50 points. At that time I found great reviews and a free trial for the Economist's GMAT Tutor. I bit on the free trial and after being impressed with the teaching style of the online course I purchased the one year subscription. I did not have enough time to complete the entire course but in the 40 hours I was able to get through approximately 40% of the material and raised my GMAT score by 100 points. Overall I was impressed with the layout and teaching style and have recommended it to several other co-workers considering going to B-School next year.

While nothing is perfect, I really only had a few small complaints regarding the Economist GMAT Tutor. The first is more an issue with my lack of time as I did not have time to get to some of the sections that I knew I needed more time with, like Geometry and Combinatorics. I also wanted to review the exponents section a few days before the test but you are unable to select specific topics. I also had two technical issues, the first on my work computer where I am unable to login via IE because of a "no transport" error. However, it is a work computer so who knows what restrictions are causing the issue but Firefox worked without a problem. I also tried to use the course on a first generation iPad and some of the scientific notation fonts would not render which made learning the Quant sections impossible but selecting Verbal only was still available while I was mobile.

The constant interaction required with this course is guaranteed to keep you involved in the learning and forces you to learn the material.

Read More

August 26, 2013
yoavsusz

Joined: Aug 24, 2013

Posts: 11

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V41

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Perfect for people with busy schedules. GMAT tutor really learns about you quickly and is able to quickly assess your strengths and weaknesses and tailor the course to your needs. I would highly reccomend it to people with busy schedules that do not have much time on their hands and need maximum results in minimum time. The only real weakness is the RC part that I believe they could improve. The way that the RC is quized is problematic as you often getting questions from differing passages making the learning tedious. Apart from that, the course is highly recommended. Quant is expecially good, I improved 12 points from the beginning q35 to q47. Ended up getting a 700.

Read More

August 26, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q40 V42

Very useful tool

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

This is a very useful and robust tool to prep for the GMAT. You can go at your own pace and the program provides very clear explanations to all questions.

Unlike some other online programs, I believe that Economist GMAT is particularly interactive. While you can reach out to an actual tutor, the most beneficial aspect is that the program really goes along with you, continuously, every moment. You are not just sitting back and observing, you have to be actively engaged the whole time.

Most material starts with a general lesson overview on how to approach certain types of problems. You then see several example problems and the corresponding explanations. You will then be asked further problems with the aim of answering the question in a reasonable amount of time. After you answer the question, you guess at how much time it took you to answer. You then get feedback on both your answer and the amount of time you thought you took vs. the amount of time you actually needed.

There are several practice exams to go through, although there is also a very deep pool of questions that you go through during normal study.

Read More

August 26, 2013
whvsh2

Joined: Aug 26, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GMAT Tutorial

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT tutorial was by far the simplest and most professional course I found online, and it provided flexibilty for the user without comprising on quality. It manages to be rigorous but not rigid as it adapts to your ability and needs and will tailor questions accordingly. Where you are having difficulties with a certain topic the online tutorials allow you to arrange one-to-one tutorials via skype which I found to be of a high standard and useful for ironing out problems. The smartphone application which you can download with the program is also incredibly useful, with a clean, simple user interface, providing you with the possiblity to practice either quant, verbal or both whenever and wherever you want. Commuting in a big city meant this application was invaluable for me. Although I only had 4 weeks in which to improve my score, the Economist software allowed me to increase my mark by 30 points. You will improve by using this software, by how much depends on the time you have available.

Read More

August 25, 2013
aab5086

Joined: Aug 25, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend - Use with Official Guide Books for More Success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I took this course between Nov 2012 and April 2013 (course is normally 4 months but I bought two 1-month extensions which cost extra).

Great resource to teach you the fundamentals of each topic. Highly recommend buying an Official Guide after you complete this course. The OG does a terrible job explaining why each answer choice is right or wrong. The GMAT Tutor fills this void by helping you understand the fundamentals. I have no regrets about signing up for this course.

Pros:
- the tool works if you have time to devote to acing the GMAT.
- Very thorough with all of the material.
- Tool adapts to your strengths and weaknesses. If you are an all-star in one section, the tool will push you to your limits by giving you tough questions to continuously challenge you in that one section. However, completing a series of difficult questions will make you mentally exhausted, so you'll need study breaks. Similarly, if you are struggling in one section, the tool will spend more time helping you to understand the fundamentals and the reasoning behind why the answers that you select are incorrect.
- I received a one-year subscription to The Economist magazine. I enjoy reading this on my iPad on the weekends. This magazine is more internationally focused than most US newspapers/magazines.

Cons:
- Course is not short. Takes several months worth of commitment to complete the course. Be sure that you have the time to reach your goals.
- Question types are slightly different that the official GMAT questions. So it is essential to use the Official Guide after completing the course. You will still score well if you don't use the official guide, but I added 40 points to my score by going through the Official Guide after taking this course.
- Tutoring sessions are with tutors from Poland, Israel, Taiwan, so the tutoring times are at odd hours for students in North America (i.e. 10PM - 8AM CST).
- The support for the Integrated Reasoning section is very weak. Use the Official Guide to study for IR; the OG is a much better resource.
- The AWA section is weak. GMAT Tutor provides overview of "how" to write an essay, but doesn't give you a list of sample essay topics and doesn't force you to write practice essays. Use the OG for a list of sample essay topics.
- The tool's advice on Reading comprehension did not work well for me. I tried to follow the tool's advice to first do an initial reading by "skimming" through the passage and jotting down notes, and then digging for details later; however, I found that I scored much higher and I spent much less time by reading the entire passage thoroughly the first time. Going back and fourth between the passage and the questions just took way too much time for me. The skimming method may work for you, but if it doesn't, don't let the GMAT Tutor's suggested RC method hurt your GMAT score.
- The tool's advice on "ball-parking" was, in many cases, more time consuming than solving the problem by shorthand arithmetic. If you're terrible at math, then this "ball-parking" (or guessing) method is an ok approach. Again, you really have to determine which method is the most efficient for you. I suggest following the tool's advice at first, but if the tool's advice isn't working for you after you're 75% complete with the course, then use the method that is most effective for you.
- There were only a few Reading comprehension passages and each passage was repeated too often. It would have been more beneficial if there were more passages.

Advice for students:
- Bring a pen/pencil and a pad of paper to each GMAT Tutor session.
- Do not take this course when tired or distracted. At first it is hard to build up an endurance to study for at least an hour straight, so start off with shorter study sessions. Take breaks between study sessions.
- At the end of the course, attempt longer study sessions to build up endurance.
- Try to understand why you answered questions correctly / incorrectly. Just because you guessed and answered a question correctly doesn't mean that you will do the same on a later date with a similar question.
- Read the fine print on the money back guarantee. Not doing so could cost you $700!!
- Buy the OG for use at the end of the course (especially for the verbal section). The OG is a great resource to help build up your stamina/endurance right before you take the test. I studied with the OG for the 3-4 weeks prior to the real exam. Try to answer each OG question in less than 90 seconds to build your endurance.
- Take tutoring sessions towards the end of the course; bring questions to the tutoring sessions. Tutors are willing help you with questions from the OG or other studying resources. I found tutoring sessions were most helpful when I came to the tutoring session with a list of OG questions that were difficult for me.
- Take the mba.com practice tests right before you take the real GMAT.
- Complete at least 90% of the course before you take the test; I still learned new things at 85% progress. How can you expect to "ace" the GMAT without knowing/understanding all subjects tested?
- Take the real GMAT before taking this course. Taking the real GMAT before taking this course will establish a "baseline" for your 70 point score increase guarantee. Study for this initial GMAT test to maximize your baseline score. If you are not familiar with the GMAT prior to taking this course, you are bound to score poorly on your "baseline" examination.

Good luck!! Wishing you the best of success on your GMAT endeavor!!

Read More

March 01, 2016
XavierAlexander

aab5086 -

Amazing unbiased and honest review. Thanks for sharing in depth opinion & suggestion.

August 24, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

It's OK

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT Prep course comes with most, if not all, the material you will need to prepare for the GMAT. Should you choose to complete all the coursework, you will almost certainly be better prepared to take the test than if you had not done so.

In my experience, the frustrations that came with the course balanced its benefits fairly equally. I'll outline them here.

1. Specialized Practice Tests
After completing the probability coursework, I noticed the vast majority of my practice test questions came from that same probability material. That is unrepresentative of the GMAT.

2. Unorganized Tutors
On one occasion, my tutor missed our appointment. On another, the tutor failed to communicate that a new tutor would work with me, and that I should have blindly accepted the random Skype request (with no indication of any affiliation to this program) from that new tutor.

3. Reactive Tutoring
Tutoring here is only reactive, as opposed to proactive. If I had a specific question about a data sufficiency problem, for example, the tutor could do a good job of talking me through it. If I was not stuck on any particular problem, however, the tutors were unable to suggest a relevant topic. I imagine a more valuable experience would come from using my coursework data, or even historical trends, to predict and suggest helpful tutoring topics.

Read More


135 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor