GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
The Economist GMAT Tutor Deal Page

The Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep
 $1199  $899
Reviews
106
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
 $999  $799
Reviews
163
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep
 $1399  $1099
Reviews
33
Average Rating
4.4
Buy Now

Reviews:

302 Reviews
4.5 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
February 27, 2018
justin7705

Joined: Aug 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
760 Q49 V47

Amazing Prep Software

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I used the manhattan books and 4 months of study to get to a score of 690. Two years later, the economist tutor brought me up to a 760. The difference is in the amount of practice available on your toughest topics. Instead of rereading the same section of a book over and over, this software presents more and more questions, all at your target score level, until it finally clicks.

The verbal sections are broken down well into bite-sized chunks that can be easily cross-referenced with the solutions in the official guide, so the synergy between the two is great. I relied less on the quant section than I did the verbal, but it does a great job of introducing difficult topics and easy ones alike.

The practice tests are different than GMATPrep, but effective. They always seemed to focus on topics that I struggled with. There was about a 70-100 point difference between these and my final official score.

Lastly, for those topics that you just can't figure out, the one-on-one tutoring sessions are amazing. I highly recommend Jake Wengroff not only as an excellent instructor, but as an avid supporter of my success. He took personal interest in me and my weaknesses, and gave me motivation when I needed it most. Especially useful sessions included a review of GMATPrep practice test questions that I missed. It was great to observe his question-answering process.

Overall, highly recommend. Especially if you are looking to dramatically improve your verbal score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 13, 2018
alqatamiya

Hi @justin7705

Your situation sounds much like my current one. I last took the GMAT in august 2016 and got a 680 (can't remember the exact Q & V scores as I cancelled the score due to disappointment in the result). I now have about two months before I start a job at an MBB consulting firm but want to take the GMAT again and aim for 720+ so that I don't have to study while working long hours. I haven't touched any material in 2 years so am a bit unsure whether to start again with the books or go with this tutor. I'm personally looking to improve my Quant rather than verbal, do you think this course would still be useful? And is it a set day by day study guide or can you take it at a faster pace if you need to.

Thanks for any tips you might have in advance, its much appreciated

July 14, 2018
justin7705

Yes I still think the course will be useful. It will do a full refresh of every topic and then allow you to focus on what your weak points are. It lets you go as fast or as slow as you want to, but it gates certain content so that you finish in order and don't skip around too much.

October 20, 2018
philipkim101

If your score is 690, does economist GMAT 70+ guarantee ensure a 750 or a money-back? Or do they limit your improvement to 50+ because of their terms and conditions? Their wording is very ambiguous so just wanted to clarify.. thanks for your time.

October 20, 2018
justin7705

Before I purchased the product I reached out to their support staff about this exact question and they were very helpful.

February 20, 2018
mbasuccess2020

Joined: May 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q49 V32

Overpriced - Will not take you where you want to go

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I started my GMAT journey excited with the Economist Gmat product. At first, it looks like the best option with a great user interface, customer service and real interaction with an actual human. But it never gets you to the place you want. I stagnated at a very frustrating point and the platform would not give me challenging questions, so whilst you believe you are going to ace the exam, when you do the CATs the results are just frustrating. It is EXTREMELY overpriced and did not gave me the results I wanted. I am just very mad at myself for not looking at other great options before and as someone who does not have the economic capacity to really be wasting money, I was extremely sad with this product.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 28, 2018
allatham

Joined: Jan 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q44 V35

Good Program for Independent Self-Studiers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

Pros: I really liked how the Economist GMAT Prep Program allows for independent study, when convenient for you both on the computer and app. The material is comprehensive, allowing for users to select a time or topic to study for. The repetitive practice really drills concepts and approaches into your head (and I had taken Manhattan Prep before!). The individual tutor sessions were very useful but certainly depends on the tutor you are assigned to.

Cons: I don't think the tutors who respond to the "Ask a Question" feature always provide clear answers so I found it a bit of a waste. Additionally, I was very convinced I would improve more than the 30 points I did, so be sure not to let that mentally distract you. Also, there is so much content and practice problems, so it is hard to complete all for those on a time crunch.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2018
Rathi1992

Joined: Nov 24, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V39

Amazing Verbal section

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

The CR part was really helpful. After completing the entire CR part - I felt really confident and it became my strongest link. I could solve all levels very easily.RC/SC are moderate. Good for basing a strong foundation.

Maths is okay. If Math is your strong point then Economist course will be redundant. The course starts at a very basic level and is slow paced. However, if you are weak in Math - then this could be a good foundation course.

In all the course was helpful. My score improved from 620 to 720.
The coaches are really helpful and go out of the way to help you.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 03, 2018
sahilbhel

Joined: Apr 26, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q50 V33

Overall Satisfied - Got a 40 points increse

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I bought the ultimate prep package which comes with 70+ point increase guarantee I got a 650 on my first practice test. This was my baseline score.

I had 7 days of free trial before I pay for the course. At the end of the free trial I completed almost 10% of the course and was definitely convinced that it's worth spending.

Overall, the course content and methods explained in both Verbal and Quant were very helpful. I was comfortable with the format and my course progress. However, 25% down the course I took the second practice test and got 640. This got me worried and I decided to use the live strategy sessions with GMAT tutors. I got some good advice from Isaac who helped me improve my time management issues. Although, it took me 2 more GMAT practice test to figure out the most optimal way to manage the time, once I figured my score was consistently over 670.

I scored a 690 on my last practice test with Economist and scored 690 and 710 on 2 mba.com tests. Eventually, on the D day, I got 690 (V33 Q50).

I was able to cover most of the topics (although took me 6 months since I am a busy full-time working professional). The tests were great and similar to the real test. Also, the live sessions were helpful in assessing the practice tests and discussing customized strategies based on the performance.

Overall, my experience with Economist was good. I would recommend this course to people who are busy working professionals and prefer to prepare at their own pace.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2017
qbecheau

Joined: Dec 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

An excellent platform for total beginners

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Generally a mediocre test taker, I found The Economist's Complete GMAT Prep software to be an excellent platform to learn.
Fully interactive, you begin with courses that include relevant exercises. As you progress and after taking your first practice test, the exercises become harder, and more tailored to your profile.
The lessons and tricks they teach helped me tremendously in my progression.
After one month of practice, I took my first practice test, and got a mere 630, which was quite demoralizing. Yet, after completing half of the course, I began taking practice tests every two weeks, and continuing the course itself. Eventually, I scored 740 on the actual GMAT.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is completely unfamiliar with the GMAT.
The only one drawback, however, is that there is no way to select the topics of the exercises you want to work on. This could have been tremendously helpful in the later stages of my prep. Something I hope they will improve on!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2017
jzila

Joined: Oct 28, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V42

630 to 750

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I took the GMAT twice without any prepwork and got a 630 and a 650. Both times I blindly guessed on the last 5-10 questions of the quantitative section because I ran out of time, so I felt like I had room for improvement if I worked more efficiently. The Economist GMAT Tutor uses personalized, rapid fire questions to expose you to all types of questions while gradually raising the difficulty level. I really think the course played a big part in my score improvement. The result speak for itself — I would recommend the course to anyone serious about improving their score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 07, 2017
oayoub

Joined: Dec 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

from 590 to 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I took my first practice test after a few hours of class and got a 590, and after I finished my class I got a final 730. I took a 6 month course since I have an irregular work schedule requiring to work overtime. For this reason, I could not study for 2 or 3 months and it was not until the last 3 months that I started studying almost everyday after work and on weekends.

The pros of the course would be :
- It starts from the basics. It is not necessary to be familiar with mathematical concepts or be strong in grammar to follow the course. I loved that the explanations are very detailed and the course does not assume you have prior knowledge.
- Another point I liked was the "ask a tutor" feature. It is possible to ask a tutor whenever you have a question. I did not use this feature a lot but I think it's very important.
- The tutoring sessions are a strong point in this course. you can schedule up to 6 sessions in quant, verbal, IR or AWA sections. I used all my sessions and they proved to be useful. I recommend to take a strategy tutoring sessions after few hours of studying. My tutor Jake gave me several advices on how to study, when to take the practice exams..etc
- Each time you can choose from a selection of 5 subjects from Quant or verbal section.
- It is also very helpful to submit AWA essay for correction. It is basically simple if you know the basics and stick with the provided template.
- Sentence correction !! This section is excellent. Even as a non-native speaker, this section became my strong point in the gmat. The course has extensive explanations and treats all the points and traps you could encounter in the exam.
- Quant section is also very well made. As a "science" person, I kind of knew the concepts in the quants but I forgot some of them. the course explains the basics and gives tricks on how to solve most types of questions you would encounter. and just to clarify, I don't think a person who is good at maths has a great advantage. If you follow the course, you can learn ways to solve these problems fast and different from how you were used to do.

The cons :
- It would be great if they offer a search option to search for the subjects already studied
- It is not possible to come back to previously solved questions (except for the exams). but you can always screenshot an interesting question to review for later
- After finishing the course, you cannot choose which part to review. the review is categorized as per the gmat sections ( Critical reasoning, Data sufficiency etc), but you cannot choose which type of questions to review.

Other comments I would like to add
- The IR section is hard compared with the real exam (at leas in my case). I had a hard time with the multi source reasoning of the Economist. However, the real Gmat exam IR section was not that hard, so the course kind of trains
- Don't hesitate to use the tutor's feature, tutoring sessions, AWA correction
- I don't recommend taking practice exams before finishing around 70% of the course. You can take maybe one exam to see your initial level but not more.
- Personally I think reading comprehension was the hardest part for me, and I think it's very hard to improve quickly. So, I focused on sentence correction, critical reasoning, and quant section.
- The course needs dedication and spending enough time for each subject

Bottom line : I enjoyed this course and it helped me get from a 590 to a 730.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 11, 2017
juanialmarza

Joined: Jul 11, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

From 480 to 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

In the first practice exam I took I got a score of 480. After 5 months studying with The Economist GMAT tutor I improved to 730 in the real test.
Pros:
- You choose when and where to study. I work 9 hours a day I would have hated to have had to go to a class room. I would study sentence correction on my phone on my way to work, Quant and Verbal on my lunchtime at the office and again Quant and Verbal in my pajamas at home.
- The whole experience is similar to the GMAT test. Since you are always in front of a screen, doing timed exercises, when you do the practice exams or the real test, you already it works. No surprises and I guess you get less nervous.
- Superb in sentence correction. Even as a non-native speaker, there is little you can do to improve Reading C and Critical R, but when it comes to SC this tutor makes a difference.
- Good explanations. In Quant and Verbal the explanations to the problems are complete and easier to understand compared to what I have seen in other tutors.
- Top level tutors. The Skype sessions that come with the TE are very useful when you feel weak at a particular subject.

Cons
- The only thing I can think of is that when you feel that you want to do exercises of a Quant certain topic (lets say probabilities), the TE does not let you choose that topic. Anyways, you can always go to the GMAT Club forums and get an overdose of the kind of problems you are looking for.

Bottomline
I truly recommend TE tutor. I am sure I could not have gotten 730 without it.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 01, 2017
mjlim

Joined: Jul 22, 2017

Posts: 6

Kudos: 4

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Great for self learners!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

Since I travel a lot for work, I was looking for a GMAT prep program that could accommodate my hectic schedule and my particular style of learning. I prefer to learn by reading and completing exercises on my own, and do not do well in a classroom setting. I also have no patience for videos since I like to skip ahead. Economist GMAT Tutor was perfect since I could zip ahead on lessons I was already familiar with. It has over 5000 practice questions across all the GMAT topics, so I was able to sufficiently practice my weakest topics. My favorite part of the app is the predicted score. The program accurately predicted my performance both times I took the GMAT. The only thing I would improve is that some of the explanations for quant questions did not provide enough stepwise logic. The good thing is that you can "ask a tutor" whenever some of the explanations were vague. Overall, would recommend!

Read More


135 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor