GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
4.5 /5 Average Rating
5 star
95
4 star
57
3 star
9
2 star
2
1 star
0
Based on 163 reviews
November 27, 2018
KSBridges

Joined: Nov 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Insightful preparation tool, easy to use

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

When I first took the GMAT a year ago, I was struggling with the methodology for certain (quantitative) topics. My 660 (Verbal 85th percentile, Quant 50th percentile) was below my target score, mainly because I apparently had not prepared in the most effective way.

3 months ago, I started with the GMAT Complete Prep, which helped me to better structure my preparation and to point out which topics I needed to practice again. I improved my score to 740 [Verbal 96th percentile, Quant 74th percentile].

Pros:
- Clear theory and methodology per topic
- Practice tests help you spot weaknesses and accurately mimic the actual GMAT [I scored 760, 720, 770 on my last 3 practice tests and scored a 740 on the actual test]
- Friendly and helpful customer service and tutors

Cons
- After completing a topic, only a brief summary is shown. Not all different topics can be practiced again, and the ones that can sometimes use the same practice questions. This can erroneously make you think you fully comprehend the topic, while you actually just memorized the answer/question.
- For Verbal (Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning), no concrete tips are given regarding taking notes when deconstructing the argument/passage
- Less focus on IR and AWA.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 15, 2018
mfeola137

Joined: Sep 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q45 V48

Comprehensive and well worth it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I couldn't recommend this program enough - after scoring 650 on the initial diagnostic I dedicated several hours a day towards completing 100% of the guided study. I ended up with a 750, which I was more than happy with.

I thought the Quant sections were easy to understand and full of great time-saving tricks. For example, I learned several tricks on sequences that saved me valuable minutes on the real exam. The Verbal sections were intuitive and QUICK - I felt super confident going into the Verbal section even though it was maybe 20% of the overall course content.

I used two of the live tutoring sessions to brush up on a few concepts, and I found them more useful than I'd predicted. The tutors were diligent in taking notes and emailing them out after our video sessions. Finally, the practice exams (I found) were an accurate predictor of my final score on test day. This program was intuitive and well-worth it. I barely glanced at any other prep materials and got a great result

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 13, 2018
OllieO

Joined: May 30, 2017

Posts: 12

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Disconcertingly helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

My overall progress review is available here:

https://gmatclub.com/forum/680-to-740-native-english-speaker-265496.html

I purchased the Economist GMAT course for 3 months , and genuinely did NOT expect to get a 50 point increase. I thought that I had reached my peak of maths / quant knowledge, and was fully expecting to be asking for a refund after I retook the GMAT. My focus was now 90% on the Economist course, occasionally (and less than I should have) dipping back to OG questions, looking at Magoosh lessons, or doing the odd CAT with MGMAT or Veritas. My theory was that they would not put together the course in that fashion and with that guarantee unless they had faith that their system worked. Clearly it did! I worked 1-3 hrs per day, taking a complete day off every other week or so. The Quant stuff was really good, and I picked up some great techniques and explanations for concepts I'd really struggled with ; the Verbal stuff was "meh" (I never really got into the idea of learning a whole bunch of rules - I'd always done fairly well simply going by what sounded right); I largely ignored IR; and I had little faith in their AWA assessments (one scored me a 3 for an essay which in my mind was at least a 5). The Ask-a-tutor facility was very useful, and the online tutoring sessions depended entirely on who was tutoring at the other end.

Read More

April 12, 2018
TryHardScoreHigh

Joined: Feb 19, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
780 Q50 V48

Great for Sentence Correction

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I used Economist to boost my verbal score through sentence correction. It was very helpful. I ultimately scored V48.

I am a native English speaker and do a lot of proofreading for work. So with minimal studying, my Verbal scores were already around 44. However, I was having trouble getting to the next level.

Many people recommend MGMAT book for SC. I actually think economist is better for native speakers. The economist user experience gives you really quick feedback on your work and easy-to-digest lessons, without diving into many of the technical grammar terms that are not useful for people that grew up speaking English. Instead, the Economist teaches a set of "stop signs" that cue you into the warning signs of a sentence. This method worked for me. (In addition, I drilled SC questions on my own from the OG.)

I wish the Economist would sell the SC section on its own. It's very good. However, I think their quant section is designed a bit more for people that are trying to break high 600s or low 700s rather than gain a really top score. I used Target Test Prep for their quant section, because they go very in-depth on the math material. In contrast, the Economist quant is more focused on a "good enough" review of the math and then teaches you hacks and tips that can get you to a good score quickly rather than a great score a bit more slowly.

Read More

December 27, 2017
qbecheau

Joined: Dec 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

An excellent platform for total beginners

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Generally a mediocre test taker, I found The Economist's Complete GMAT Prep software to be an excellent platform to learn.
Fully interactive, you begin with courses that include relevant exercises. As you progress and after taking your first practice test, the exercises become harder, and more tailored to your profile.
The lessons and tricks they teach helped me tremendously in my progression.
After one month of practice, I took my first practice test, and got a mere 630, which was quite demoralizing. Yet, after completing half of the course, I began taking practice tests every two weeks, and continuing the course itself. Eventually, I scored 740 on the actual GMAT.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is completely unfamiliar with the GMAT.
The only one drawback, however, is that there is no way to select the topics of the exercises you want to work on. This could have been tremendously helpful in the later stages of my prep. Something I hope they will improve on!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 07, 2017
rawatar

Joined: Jan 22, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Great learning experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I used the Economist GMAT Tutor to prepare and I have to say that it gives a one of a kind & exceptional experience to the process of preparation. The portal to very well designed and organized, making everything simple to consume.

I am a non-native English speaker and started using the Economist portal especially to improve my verbal score. When I started I was around 27-30 range in verbal. That jumped to 40 by the time I took the test (in 4 months).

Eventually, the portal also gave me many hacks for quants which I could use in the practice tests. When used in combination with OGs, The Economist GMAT Tutor can work wonders.

Highly recommended for non-native English speakers!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 02, 2017
KirillKiev

Joined: Aug 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q49 V33

Preparation with Economist

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

My first GMAT score was 510 with strong quant, but very low verbal. In addition to lessons with tutor I decided to purchase Economist GMAT preparation for 3 months.
The structure of the Economist class is very nice – you go through different topics starting from easy staff and moving to harder. The system adapts to your progress and will not propose difficult tasks to you until you deal well and are comfortable with easier tasks.
What I like most about Economist online GMAT preparation is the tips they give to answering the questions. It is not right to rely on your intuition, you need to know the rules and answer exactly what is asked. The tricks that GMAC may use to make you think the wrong answer is right are also discussed, which helped me a lot to improve my score.
Finally, I could improve my score to 680 with quant score stable compared to my first try and very much improved verbal score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2017
warnrl6

Joined: Mar 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Economist GMAT - Best for Efficient Studying!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I decided to apply to Business school 3 months before the application was due. I knew that I wouldn't have time to take the GMAT multiple times and had to ensure the my studying was as efficient as possible. The Economist GMAT course exceeded my expectations. The lessons were concise and easy to understand, and the one-on-one tutoring sessions were extremely valuable.

The best part about the course are all of the practice problems. When you get a question wrong, it not only tells you what the correct answer is, but also why the answer you selected is wrong. You have the opportunity to send an "ask a tutor" inquiry if there are questions that you still don't understand after reading the explanation. I ended up only needing to use about 20 out of 50 available "ask a tutor" inquiries because the explanations provided are so thorough.

After completing the Economist GMAT Prep Course in 2.5 months, I improved my score by 130 points and achieved my target score of 720. I highly recommend the Economist GMAT course!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 29, 2017
Thracerus

Joined: Mar 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q42 V38

Flexible and time efficient GMAT prep course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

First of all I have to say that my initial goal was to score 700 points in the GMAT which I did not achieve. In my first, and so far only, official try I scored 650 after scoring not more than 580 in the test exams during preparation. After 2 months of classic studying with books I decided to go for the basic Economist GMAT Tutor option. I thought it might be more time efficient in order to support me for an intensive preparation in the last month before my official GMAT (and it was indeed).

I felt really comfortable working with the desktop version as well as the mobile app e.g. on my way to work. You can choose between 5 minute and 60 minute sessions on either quant or verbal or both combined. Tasks that were not answered correctly can be reviewed instantly and are noted by the software. Then, over time it gives you less of your strong tasks and more new topics with your weak spots frequently in between.

I started with a text exam right away and so the adaptive nature of the software got hold of my strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly. Obviously this is generally a huge advantage of software over classic book learning. Unfortunately I realized that far too late, otherwise I would have spend all 3 months of prep just with the Economist app. On the other hand I does make a lot of sense to work at least with GMAT material from two different companies in order to have a comparison.

Due to the insights from the test exam I focused solely on improving the quantative section, where the Economist app provides a massive amount of excercises. Although I spent three weeks only in the quant section I hardly managed to finish 50% of the quant section.

I am sure that the app it helped me to especially work on my weaknesses and that it deserves a huge part of the credits for my 650. Since I just got accepted to my first BS choice I can say that the 350$ were a good investment. They have different payment plans from which my option was the cheapest. It is valid for three months (one week free trial in advance) and comes with the study material + 3 test GMATs, 1 essay review, 20 ask a tutor questions via a chat interface.

Since then I have always recommended this app to anybody who asked me for GMAT prep recommendations.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 09, 2017
Blouby

Joined: May 01, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
690 Q51 V34

I strongly recommend the Economist GMAT course to ace the quant section

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT is the best material to beat the quant section of the GMAT. I am an engineer with a strong mathematics background. However my mathematics knowledge is completely different from the one that is needed for the GMAT quant. In fact I've learned how to do calculus steps by steps and prove difficult mathematics theories, but not how to guess , nor to do basic computations in the most effective way and solve problems in 2 mins. Therefore my results on the quant on the very first simulation tests were frustrating. I then decided to take a course to improve my score. I tried the Economist GMAT tutor for 7 days (there is a week free trial ) and noticed at the very first day that it is the application that I needed. The availability of the apps on Android and Windows devices is very useful. I was able to practice in the train while going to work every day...
The course is computer adapative. You will have the questions on the same topic until you ace it. You cannot move to another chapter if you don't do reasonnably well on the previous. The one to one tutor session via skype is really valuable. I was abe to talk to my tutors who gave me precious advice to strenghen my weaknesses , to manage efficiently the time. They even go through my simulation tests and tell me how to do improve my score.
It proposes a really time saving template to write essays.
I found the verbal courses good too but less effective as I am not a native.
I highly recommend the Economist GMAT to learn the technics to solve the quant problems and the essay.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

93 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor